输入搜索

非洲

埃塞俄比亚和厄立特里亚结束了20岁的边境战争

厄立特里亚和埃塞俄比亚结束了数十年的战争

针对埃塞俄比亚和厄立特里亚之间边界争端的20年度敌对行动于周一正式结束。 T据“纽约时报”报道 埃塞俄比亚星期一晚些时候要求联合国解除对厄立特里亚的制裁,厄立特里亚已经对厄立特里亚实施武器禁运和部分旅行禁令,理由是它与邻国发生边界争端。

古特雷斯先生 回应 制裁可能会“过时”。

厄立特里亚总理和埃塞俄比亚总统在厄立特里亚机场拥抱

厄立特里亚曾经是埃塞俄比亚的一部分,但在1993获得独立。 厄立特里亚有一个蓬勃发展的港口阿萨布,但它与埃塞俄比亚的独立使后者成为内陆国家。 埃塞俄比亚对厄立特里亚港口阿萨布的关键利益发展成边界冲突,两国很快陷入战争。 为了进入红海,埃塞俄比亚依靠邻近的吉布提港口。

埃塞俄比亚总理阿比艾哈迈德周日在厄立特里亚首都阿斯马拉。 阿比在机场迎接厄立特里亚总统伊萨亚斯·阿费沃基,并受到热烈欢迎。 到周一,Abiy和Afwerki都发表了一份联合声明,宣布厄立特里亚和埃塞俄比亚之间的战争。

阿比先生是在厄立特里亚战争中服役的数千名埃塞俄比亚士兵之一。 当他在2018四月当选总理时,他承诺进行多项改革,包括与厄立特里亚接触以解决数十年前的边界争端。

阿比先生兑现了他的承诺,在几个月内结束了与厄立特里亚的战争,释放了数千名政治犯,开辟了国有垄断私有化,宣布打算建立一个埃塞俄比亚证券交易所等等。 改革使他在埃塞俄比亚受欢迎,但更传统的政治家指责他做得太快了。

“爱之桥已经被摧毁”厄立特里亚和埃塞俄比亚之间的任何边界

“埃塞俄比亚和厄立特里亚之间的战争状态已经结束,”领导人在一篇文章中表示 联合声明。 “和平与友谊的新时代已经开启。”

为了实现邻国之间的和解,厄立特里亚和埃塞俄比亚都同意 -

  • 恢复航空公司航班
  • 在端口上使用协作
  • 重新开放封闭的大使馆
  • 自由参与开放贸易
  • 交换战俘,和
  • 恢复直拨电话

据“纽约时报”报道,一个与埃塞俄比亚政府有联系的网站称,东非邻国将在不久的将来重新开放大使馆,埃塞俄比亚的国家航空公司将在下周恢复飞往阿斯马拉的航班。

两国还表示,他们将继续努力建立一个双方同意的边界,并正在进行谈判以交换战俘。

“厄立特里亚和埃塞俄比亚之间不再有边界,因为爱情的桥梁已经摧毁了它,”阿比先生说。

联合国报告:战争,暴力和迫害使68的2017百万人流离失所

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

The 20-year hostilities over a border dispute between Ethiopia and Eritrea officially came to an end on Monday. The New York Times reported that later in the day Monday, Ethiopia asked the United Nations to lift sanctions on Eritrea, which had imposed an arms embargo and a partial travel ban on Eritrea citing its border disputes with neighbors.

Mr. Guterres responded that the sanctions might “become obsolete.”

Eritrean Prime Minister and Ethiopia’s President Embrace at Eritrean Airport 

Eritrea used to be a part of Ethiopia but gained independence in 1993. Eritrea has a booming port, Assab, but its independence from Ethiopia made the latter landlocked. Ethiopia’s critical interest in Eritrea’s port Assab developed into a border conflict, and both countries soon sank into war. In order to gain access to the Red Sea, Ethiopia relied on a port in neighboring Djibouti.

Ethiopia’s Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed was in Eritrea’s capital Asmara on Sunday. Abiy embraced Eritrea’s President Isaias Afwerki at the airport and received to a warm welcome in return. By Monday, both Abiy and Afwerki issued a joint statement declaring the war between Eritrea and Ethiopia over.

Mr. Abiy was one of thousands of Ethiopian soldiers who served in the war with Eritrea. When he was elected prime minister in April of 2018, he promised a multitude of reforms, including reaching out to Eritrea to solve the decades-old border dispute.

Mr. Abiy has lived up to his promises and in just a matter of months ended the war with Eritrea, released thousands of political prisoners, opened up state-owned monopolies to privatization, announced the intention to create an Ethiopian stock exchange and more. The reforms have made him popular in Ethiopia, but the more traditional politicians have accused him of doing too much too fast.

“Bridge of Love Has Destroyed” Any Supposed Borders between Eritrea and Ethiopia

“The state of war between Ethiopia and Eritrea has come to an end,” the leaders said in a joint declaration. “A new era of peace and friendship has been opened.”

In pursuance of the reconciliation between the neighboring countries, both Eritrea and Ethiopia agreed to –

  • Resume airline flights
  • Collaborate on ports use
  • Reopen closed embassies
  • Freely engage in open trade
  • Exchange prisoners of war, and
  • Restore direct telephone lines

The New York Times reported that a “website linked to the Ethiopian government said that the East African neighbors would reopen embassies in the near future and that Ethiopia’s national airline would resume flights to Asmara next week.”

Both countries also said they would continue to work on establishing a mutually agreed on border and that negotiations were underway to exchange prisoners of war.

“There is no longer a border between Eritrea and Ethiopia because a bridge of love has destroyed it,” Mr. Abiy said.

UN Report: War, Violence and Persecution Displaced 68 Million People in 2017

Comments

Join Our List

Subscribe to our mailing list and get all the news corporate media won't give you.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.