输入搜索

欧洲

欧洲的罗姆人歧视始于隔离和不平等的学校

保加利亚中部的吉普赛人,2006。
保加利亚中部的吉普赛人,2006。 (照片:Dominic Rivard)

这是关于欧洲罗姆人的三部分系列的第二部分。 罗姆人通常被称为“吉普赛人”,虽然这个词通常被认为是贬义的,但却面临着广泛而且经常受到国家批准的歧视。 在这里阅读第一部分。

事实上的教育隔离被称为“21中影响罗姆社区的最危险的癌症”st 世纪。”

罗姆人是一个长期歧视的人群,起源于印度西部,现在被视为无国籍人士。 对罗姆人的歧视已经存在了几个世纪,但罗姆人面临的主要挑战之一是不平等和低等教育。

不平等的教育使年轻一代无法实现其个人目标,并确保贫穷和绝望的循环持续几代人。 它也可以使负面的刻板印象和种族主义观点永久化。 在整个欧洲,罗姆人在教育环境中受到公开歧视,往往接受极差的教育。

西班牙的隔离

罗姆社区在西班牙和其他欧洲国家遭受的一个主要问题是学校的隔离问题。 西班牙没有法律规定让罗姆学生不能像其他西班牙儿童一样上学,但由于罗姆人社区通常生活在可能属于低收入地区的紧密社区,因此罗姆学生经常离开别无选择,只能去西班牙一些最差的公立学校。

Paqui Perona,来自巴塞罗那的罗马女性,是该集团的总裁 Voces Gitanas (吉普赛之声),尽可能地 叫这个系统 事实上的隔离“是影响21罗姆社区的最危险的癌症st 世纪。”

西班牙在教育不平等方面存在重大问题。 最近由马德里自治大学(马德里自治大学)的Javier Murillo和CynthiaMartínez-Garrido进行的一项研究 发现 西班牙的教育体系是欧洲第六大隔离教育体系。 马德里的自治社区比整个西班牙更糟糕。 如果社区被视为一个国家,那么马德里学校的不平等率只会超过匈牙利。

匈牙利的罗马人隔离

罗马女孩在乌克兰

罗马女孩在乌克兰,2014。 (照片:Steve Evans)

尽管教育前景可能对西班牙的罗姆儿童造成严重影响,但匈牙利的罗姆青年情况更糟。 匈牙利陷入政治和社会腐败之中,其教育系统即使对非罗姆儿童也是一场灾难。 隔离很普遍,而且 匈牙利近一半的罗姆儿童 在隔离的学校或班级接受教育。

由于2010的经济动荡和Fidesz党的重新掌权, 许多公立学校变成了教会经营的机构。 1月2013法律要求所有由地方市政府管理和资助的教育机构必须将权力移交给匈牙利国家,从而加速了这一趋势。

农村地区的许多当地学校意识到,匈牙利政府既没有资源也没有专业知识,无法像以前那样在同一水平上正确运营这些学校。 结果,他们设计了一个新颖的解决方案:他们将成为由宗教组织管理的私人机构,而不是保留公共机构并放弃对匈牙利政府的权力。 这些由教会管理的机构主要由天主教会管理,但改革宗教会和福音派路德教会也经营学校。

在匈牙利参加教会学校的儿童人数从2001急剧上升到2011,在这些机构接受教育的儿童人数 增加了60百分比。 这个数字在未来三年继续上升,增加了47百分比。 匈牙利的许多农村城市现在没有学校,除了国家管理的学校。

问题在于宗教组织开办的学校不一定能提供符合公立学校或非宗教私立学校标准的教育。 许多罗姆儿童生活在匈牙利的农村地区,他们的经历报告表明,教会经营的机构和其他学校公开歧视这个有风险的群体。

许多这些学校的前学生声称他们从未被教过如何阅读,写作或执行基本算术。 在Csörög的一所学校,由于Sződ没有任何学校,来自邻近Sződ的罗姆儿童被送往 学生声称 他们在整个上学期间与非罗马同学隔离,不仅在上课期间,而且在午餐和休息时间也是如此。 许多罗姆儿童也只上过学 一周三天下午不到三个小时 由于学校实施的歧视歧视做法。 通常这些下午的课程都是 举行到三点钟, 当所有其他非罗姆儿童已经回家的时候。

罗马诉讼提起匈牙利

在儿童机会基金会这样的团体的帮助下,罗姆学生能够向佩斯县法院提起诉讼,但案件在匈牙利法院系统的各个层面反复反弹,没有任何正义服务。 然而,各种法律程序的证词描绘了这些儿童忍受的教育暴行的生动画面。

其中一名原告,名叫Atilla Berki的罗马人, 告诉法庭 他甚至不能写出自己的名字。 然后,他解释了几乎所有罗姆儿童,无论年龄或学术水平,都被送往所谓的“吉普赛阶级”。

“有七年级学生,四年级学生,我们都研究过同样的事情,”他详细说道。 他还透露 虽然在匈牙利共产党统治结束后建造的新的现代化学校建筑中,民族匈牙利儿童上课,从四年级起,罗马儿童被迫参加旧共产主义学校摇摇欲坠的破旧教育课程。 像Berki这样的前学生现在成年人几乎没有工作机会,因为他们无法读写足以填写必要的文书工作来申请即使是最基本的工作。

Berki描述的教育隔离类型经常被学校称为这些罗姆儿童有教育残疾,因此应该被安排在“补习班”。全世界许多教育专业人士质疑将特殊需要儿童安置在补习班的方法。一般情况下,罗马儿童似乎除了种族之外没有任何理由被安排在这些班级。

统计数据各不相同 特殊需要班级的匈牙利儿童约占70至80%的比例为罗姆人。 这种高度不成比例的罗姆儿童似乎极不可能表现出智力障碍。 许多匈牙利人认为罗姆人的父母告诉他们的孩子不要去上学,但似乎更有可能的是,如果罗姆儿童不上学,这是因为他们被嘲笑,遭受教育虐待或被视为他们是在教室里有弱智。

歧视继续进入成年期

罗姆人父母无法正确抚养自己孩子的想法是匈牙利共同的思路,导致人们产生歧视性结论。 当被问及在她的国家可以采取哪些措施来帮助罗姆人的情况时,一位匈牙利妇女回答说:“除了带走孩子并将他们送到寄养之外,你甚至可以做些什么来帮助这些人? 你还有什么可以帮助那些没有成为有证据,受过良好教育的人的无证,没有受过教育的人呢?“

匈牙利罗姆人甚至在有机会证明自己的资格之前就经常被剥夺工作。 LászlóLakatos,来自布达佩斯的20岁罗马男子, 告诉EUROVIEWS 大约有一段时间,一位朋友告诉他与他所在公司的空缺职位。 当这位朋友告诉他的雇主拉卡托斯的名字时,他的老板立刻说他不会雇用他。 “他没有见过或跟我说话,但由于我的名字,他的老板知道我来自一个罗马家庭,所以立即说'不',”拉卡托斯说。

学校中罗姆儿童的隔离也是塞尔维亚,马其顿,乌克兰和阿尔巴尼亚等非欧盟国家的一个主要问题,他们都试图加入欧盟。 在欧洲联盟内,由于罗姆儿童在学校中的隔离,匈牙利,斯洛伐克和捷克共和国都受到欧洲委员会的法律诉讼。 不幸的是,这些法律诉讼似乎没有帮助这种情况; 相反,它似乎在恶化,特别是在斯洛伐克。

匈牙利不是东欧唯一对罗姆人有深层次文化仇恨的国家。 与乌克兰和平队合作的美国人保罗告诉公民真相,乌克兰对罗姆人的普遍定型与匈牙利几乎相同。 人们认为“他们偷了,他们很脏。 不赞成与他们互动。 除非绝对必要,否则社区完全被隔离,乌克兰人不会与罗姆人互动。“

许多东欧国家面临经济动荡

匈牙利和乌克兰等大多数东欧国家也面临一定程度的经济动荡,据保罗说,“政府并没有足够的资金为每个人提供足够的社会服务,而且大多数乌克兰人在经济上都没有好转而罗姆人则更加紧张。“

这种情况不仅使罗姆人几乎无法获得医疗保健和教育服务,而且还助长了生活在东欧的不同种族之间的敌意。 教育的重要性不容小觑。 教育使人们有机会打破贫困循环,更多地了解自己和世界,为更大的利益做出贡献。

由于他们被迫面对的教育障碍,罗姆人不仅被剥夺了机会; 由于每天都有负面的刻板印象,他们也面临着普遍的偏见。 这些陈规定型观念和障碍使罗姆人找到体面的工作和谋生活得非常困难,如果不是不可能的话,这进一步助长了将罗姆人视为不想过诚实生活的懒惰罪犯的陈规定型观念。

虽然欧洲法律保护不同群体免受出于种族动机的歧视可能有所帮助,但法律保护不足以充分保护罗姆人免受偏见,歧视和仇恨。 罗姆人的偏见是深刻的陈规定型观念和种族主义信仰,这种观念在欧洲存在了几个世纪,改善了罗姆人的困境意味着面对这一历史。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Europe’s Roma Discrimination Starts in Segregated and Unequal Schools

Gypsies in Central Bulgaria, 2006.
Gypsies in Central Bulgaria, 2006. (Photo: Dominic Rivard)

This is the second part, in a three-part series on the Roma people in Europe. Roma, who are commonly referred to as “gypsies” though the term is often considered derogatory, face widespread and often state-sanctioned discrimination. Read part one here.

De facto education segregation has been called “the most dangerous cancer affecting the Roma community in the 21st century.”

The Roma are a long-discriminated against group of people that originated out of western India and is now considered stateless. Discrimination against Roma has existed for centuries, but one of the primary challenges facing Roma is unequal and inferior education.

Unequal education keeps younger generations from having the means to realize their personal goals and ensures the cycle of poverty and despair continues for generations. It can also perpetuate negative stereotypes and racist views. Across Europe, Roma are openly discriminated against in education settings and often receive vastly inferior education.

Segregation in Spain

A major problem that Roma communities suffer in Spain and other European countries is the issue of segregation in schools. Spain does not have laws in place to keep Roma students from attending the same schools as other Spanish children, but because Roma communities typically live in close-knit, insular communities that are likely to be in lower-income areas, Roma students are often left with no choice but to attend some of the worst public schools in Spain.

Paqui Perona, a Roma woman from Barcelona who is the president of the group Voces Gitanas (Gypsy Voices), goes as far as to call this system of de facto segregation “the most dangerous cancer affecting the Roma community in the 21st century.”

Spain has major problems with education inequality. A recent study conducted by Javier Murillo and Cynthia Martínez-Garrido of the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Autonomous University of Madrid) revealed that Spain’s education system is the sixth most segregated in Europe. The autonomous community of Madrid fares even worse than Spain as a whole. If the community were treated as a country, the rates of inequality in Madrid’s schools would only be surpassed by Hungary.

Roma Segregation in Hungary

Roma girl in Ukraine

Roma girl in Ukraine, 2014. (Photo: Steve Evans)

As dire as educational prospects may be for the Roma children of Spain, the situation is even worse for Roma youth in Hungary. Hungary is mired in political and social corruption, and its education system is a disaster even for non-Roma children. Segregation is widespread, and nearly half of Roma children in Hungary are educated in segregated schools or classes.

As a result of economic turmoil and the return to power of the Fidesz party in 2010, many public schools were transformed into church-run institutions. This trend was accelerated by a January 2013 law mandating that all educational institutions managed and financed by local municipal governments had to transfer power to the Hungarian state.

Many local schools in rural areas realized that the Hungarian government had neither the resources nor the expertise to properly operate these schools at the same level as they had been run previously. As a result, they devised a novel solution: instead of remaining public institutions and giving up power to the Hungarian government, they would become private institutions run by religious organizations. These church-run institutions are primarily run by the Catholic church, but the Reformed Church and the Evangelical-Lutheran Church also operate schools.

The number of children attending church-run schools in Hungary skyrocketed from 2001 to 2011, with the number of children being educated at these institutions increased by 60 percent. The number continued to rise over the next three years, growing an additional 47 percent. Many rural municipalities in Hungary now have no schools except those run by the state.

The problem with this is that schools run by religious organizations do not necessarily offer education that fits the standards employed by public school or non-religious private schools. Many Roma children live in Hungary’s rural areas, and reports of their experiences suggest that the church-run institutions and other schools are openly discriminating against this at-risk group.

Former students of many of these schools claim that they were never taught how to read, write or perform basic arithmetic. At one school in Csörög, where Roma children from neighboring Sződ were sent due to the fact that Sződ did not have any schools, students claimed that they were segregated from their non-Roma peers throughout the school day, not just during classes, but also during lunch and recess breaks as well. Many of the Roma children also only attended school for less than three hours in the afternoon three days a week as a result of discriminatory practices of segregation enforced by their school. Often these afternoon classes were held as late as three o’clock, when all the other non-Roma children had already gone home for the day.

Roma Lawsuit Filed in Hungary

With help from groups such as the Chance for Children Foundation, Roma students were able to file a lawsuit with the Pest County Court, but the case has bounced back and forth throughout the various levels of the Hungarian Court System without any justice being served. However, testimony from the various legal proceedings paints a vivid picture of the educational atrocities that these children endured.

One of the plaintiffs, a Roma man named Atilla Berki, told the court that he can’t even write his own name. He then explained how almost all the Roma children, regardless of age or academic level, were sent to what was known as the “gypsy class.”

“There were seventh graders, fourth graders, we all studied the same thing,” he elaborated. He also disclosed that while ethnically Hungarian children attended class in the new, modern school building constructed after the end of Communist rule in Hungary, from fourth grade onwards Roma children were forced to attend classes in the crumbling, decrepit shell of the old Communist school. Former students like Berki are now adults that have little chance of employment, as they are unable to read and write enough to fill out the necessary paperwork to apply for even the most basic of jobs.

The type of educational segregation described by Berki is often justified by schools claiming that these Roma children have educational disabilities and therefore should be placed in “remedial classes.” Many educational professionals around the world question the method of placing special needs children in remedial classes in general, but it appears that Roma children are being placed in these classes for no reason other than their ethnicity.

Statistics vary, but approximately 70 to 80 percent of Hungarian children in special needs classes are Roma. It seems highly unlikely that such a highly disproportionate number of Roma children display intellectual handicaps. Many Hungarians believe that Roma parents tell their children not to go to school, but it seems more likely that if Roma children are not attending school, it is because of the fact that they are ridiculed, subjected to educational abuse or treated as if they are mentally handicapped in the classroom.

Discrimination Continues Into Adulthood

The idea of Roma parents not being able to raise their own children right is a common train of thought in Hungary, leading people to discriminatory conclusions. When asked about what could be done to help the situation of Roma in her country, one Hungarian woman responded by asking “What can you even possibly do to help these people other than take the children away and put them in foster care? What else can you even to help undocumented, uneducated people who have no desire to become documented, educated people?”

Hungarian Roma are often denied work even before they have the opportunity to demonstrate their qualifications. László Lakatos, a 20-year-old Roma man from Budapest, told EUROVIEWS about a time when a friend told him about an open position with the company he worked for. When the friend told his employer Lakatos’ name, his boss immediately said that he would not hire him. “He hadn’t seen or spoken to me, but because of my name his boss knew that I was from a Roma family so instantly said ‘no,’” said Lakatos.

Segregation of Roma children in schools is also a major problem in non-European Union states such as Serbia, Macedonia, Ukraine and Albania, all of whom are attempting to join the European Union. Within the European Union, Hungary, Slovakia and the Czech Republic have all been subject to legal action from the European Commission due to segregation of Roma children in schools. Unfortunately, these legal proceedings have not seemed to help the situation; rather, it seems to be worsening, especially in Slovakia.

Hungary isn’t the only country in Eastern Europe with a deep-seated cultural animosity towards the Roma. Paul, an American who works with the Peace Corps in Ukraine, told Citizen Truth that common Ukrainian stereotypes regarding the Roma are almost the same as in Hungary. People think that “they steal and they’re dirty. It’s frowned upon to interact with them. The communities are completely segregated and the Ukranians don’t interact with the Roma unless absolutely necessary.”

Many Eastern European Countries Facing Economic Turmoil

Most Eastern European countries such as Hungary and Ukraine are also facing some degree of economic turmoil, and according to Paul, “the government doesn’t really have the funds to provide adequate social services for everyone and most ethnic Ukrainians are not much better off financially than the Roma, which leads to even more tension.”

This situation not only makes it nearly impossible for Roma to access healthcare and educational services, but also fuels the enmity between the different ethnicities living in Eastern Europe. The importance of education cannot be overstated. Education gives people the opportunity to break cycles of poverty, learn more about themselves and their world and contribute to the greater good.

Roma are not only being denied opportunities as a result of the educational barriers they are forced to confront; they also face widespread prejudice as a result of negative stereotypes every day. These stereotypes and obstacles make it incredibly difficult, if not impossible, for Roma to find decent jobs and make a living, which further fuels stereotypes depicting Roma individuals as lazy criminals who don’t want to make an honest living.

While European laws protecting different groups from racially motivated discrimination can help, legal protection is not enough to fully protect the Roma people from prejudice, discrimination and hate. Roma prejudices are deeply held stereotypes and racist beliefs that have existed in Europe for centuries, improving the Roma plight means confronting that history.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.