输入搜索

非洲 TRENDING-AFRICA

非洲成为猖獗的金融犯罪的温床

一个贫穷的非洲人的照片坐街道。
从中获得。

非洲拥有世界上一些最贫穷的国家,每年因金融犯罪而损失数十亿美元,穷人只会变得更穷。

非洲金融犯罪的上升已成为非洲大陆经济增长受阻的关键因素。 根据安全研究所(ISS)最近的一份报告,金融犯罪对发展产生了不利影响,并使非洲大陆面临风险。 金融罪犯的避风港.

问题有多贵?

尽管非洲拥有大量未开发的资源,但其居民却是地球上最贫穷的人,国际空间站属于高金融犯罪率。 根据国际空间站由于缺乏实际构成金融犯罪的最终清单,非洲的金融犯罪难以量化。

在金融犯罪方面,不同的国家有不同的观点和政策; 这无意中为犯罪提供了漏洞,使政治精英,跨国公司和跨国集团成为这些罪行的主要肇事者。

非洲联盟(AU)估计约 由于腐败,每年损失的148十亿美元,总计约占非洲国家国内生产总值(GDP)的25%。 普华永道(PricewaterhouseCoopers)在2016的一份报告显示,非洲是受洗钱最严重的大陆。 根据该报告,2占全球GDP的5百分比因洗钱而损失,大约相当于1万亿美元和2万亿美元。

经济合作与发展组织2月份发表的另一份报告显示 非洲每年因非法流动而损失近10亿美元。 华尔街日报报道了更高的数据 这笔资金以“可疑”的方式支出,或者仅仅是被盗用,因此是60十亿美元。 国际空间站指出,这些关于非洲金融犯罪的数字只是冰山一角,因为大多数腐败和金融犯罪没有报告,也没有被发现。

非洲金融犯罪的增加归因于过去几十年来技术的巨大进步。 从法定货币到信用卡的使用以及互联网的进入带来了被称为“无现金经济的数字时代”。这些变化又带来了新的欺诈浪潮,非法货币流动和腐败,通常是复杂,复杂和最低的检测率。

打击非洲金融犯罪的主要障碍之一是缺乏对所涉罪行的适当定义。 根据国际空间站的报告,非洲的英语国家,法语国家和葡语国家经常制定不同的法律,对金融犯罪的反应也不同。 加上金融监管的执法不力,为腐败的犯罪分子提供了一个完美的环境,使得公民变得更加贫穷。

有可能改变吗?

为了挽救局势,非洲国家应首先对构成金融犯罪的内容有一个明确和标准的定义。 这与内部合作相结合,将消灭犯罪分子,因为他们将失去他们的藏身之处,反对当前的情况 一个金融犯罪分子可以贪污数十亿纳税人的钱然后逃往另一个国家,在那里他将继续漫无目的地漫游。

恢复的另一个步骤是对这些金融犯罪过程的检测,预防和破坏进行额外投资。

除非有足够的政治意愿,能力建设以及对财务流程和变革的有效监督和评估,否则不会发生变化 需要 即将发生。

毛里求斯岛 - 豪华度假胜地和抢救者的避税天堂

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

4评论

  1. 桑迪冬 八月17,2018

    贫穷和饥饿会造成许多问题。 他们的经济在哪里?

    回复
  2. 里克小 八月22,2018

    就像美国一样。

    回复
  3. Irma Seabury 八月22,2018

    当他们踢出农民时,他们很快就会变得饥肠辘辘。

    回复
  4. RBTnow 八月22,2018

    非洲长期以来一直是金融和其他犯罪的温床 - 从殖民国家开始...... https://t.co/MlnBYctEqQ

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA TRENDING-AFRICA

Africa is Becoming a Hotbed for Rampant Financial Crime

Photo of an impoverished African man sitting on the street.
Obtained from Pixabay.

Africa has some of the poorest nations in the world, and with billions of dollars per year lost through financial crime, the poor are only getting poorer.

Rising financial crime in Africa has become a key element in hampered economic growth for the continent. According to a recent report by the Institute for Security Studies (ISS), financial crime has adversely affected development, and puts the continent at risk for being a haven for finance criminals.

How expensive of a problem is this?

Despite Africa being rich in largely unexploited resources, its inhabitants are among the poorest people on earth, which ISS attributes to the high rates of financial crime. According to the ISS, financial crime in Africa is not easily quantifiable due to the absence of a definitive checklist of what actually constitutes a financial crime.

Different countries have varying views and policies when it comes to financial crime; this inadvertently provides loopholes for crime, to the joy of political elites, multinational companies and transnational syndicates, who serve as the main perpetrators of these crimes.

The African Union (AU) estimates that about $148 billion is lost yearly due to corruption alone, which totals to about 25 percent of the total gross domestic product (GDP) of African countries. A report by PricewaterhouseCoopers in 2016 revealed Africa to be the most affected continent in money laundering. According to the report, 2 to 5 percent of the global GDP was lost to money laundering, which translates to approximately between $1 trillion and $2 trillion.

Another report published in February by the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development revealed that Africa lost almost $50 billion every year through illicit flows. The Wall Street Journal reported a higher figure of $60 billion where the money was spent in “dubious” ways, or was simply embezzled. The ISS notes that these figures on financial crime in Africa are only the tip of the iceberg, as most corruption and financial crimes go unreported and remain undetected.

The rise in financial crimes in Africa has been attributed to the vast advances in technology over the past few decades. The transition from the fiat currency to the use of credit cards and the entrance of the internet brought about what is referred to as the “digital era of a cashless economy.” These changes have in turn brought in a new wave of fraud, illicit money flow and corruption, which is often complex, sophisticated and with minimal rate of detection.

One of the main hindrances to fighting financial crime in Africa is the lack of a proper definition of the offenses involved. According to a report by ISS, Anglophone, Francophone and Lusophone countries in Africa often set different laws and respond differently to financial crimes. This, coupled with lethargic enforcement of financial regulations, provides a perfect circumstance for corrupt criminals to grow richer while the deserving citizens grow poorer.

Is there possibility for change?

To salvage the situation, African countries should first have a clear and standard definition of what constitutes a financial crime. This, coupled with internal cooperation, will flush out criminals as they will lose their hiding places, opposed to the current situation where a finance criminal can embezzle billions of tax payer money then run off to another country where he will continue to roam scot-free.

Another step toward recovery is additional investment toward detection, prevention and disruption of these financial crime processes.

Change will not happen unless there’s adequate political willingness, capacity building and effective monitoring and evaluation of financial processes, and change needs to happen.

 

The Island of Mauritius – Luxurious Holiday Destination and a Tax Haven for Looters

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Alex Muiruri

Alex is a passionate writer born and raised in Kenya. He is professionally trained as a public health officer but loves writing more. When not writing, he enjoys reading, doing charity work and spending time with friends and family. He is also a crazy pianist!

    1

You Might also Like

4 Comments

  1. Sandy Winter August 17, 2018

    Poverty and hunger can create many problems. Where is their ecomomy?

    Reply
  2. Rick Little August 22, 2018

    Just like AMERICA.

    Reply
  3. Irma Seabury August 22, 2018

    They gonna get real hungry soon when they kick out the farmers.

    Reply
  4. RBTnow August 22, 2018

    Africa has long been a hotbed for financial and other crime – starting with the colonial powers who… https://t.co/MlnBYctEqQ

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.