输入搜索

非洲

毛里求斯岛 - 豪华度假胜地和抢救者的避税天堂

毛里求斯不仅是一个豪华的度假胜地,也是一个拥有丰富多样的动植物的地方,仅限于岛屿。 这包括渡渡鸟,一种灭绝的不会飞的鸟,它的大小与鸵鸟一样大。 但毛里求斯也是非法交易的臭名昭着的避税天堂。

毛里求斯的经济

位于印度洋东南部的非洲海岸1200英里,毛里求斯岛是一个相对较小的国家,面积为790平方英里,人口约为1.2万人。 它是 经济上排名很高 国内生产总值(GDP)远超过20亿,人均GDP超过XMUMX万。 这使它成为其中之一 非洲十大最富裕国家。

除了高GDP,世界银行 排名 毛里求斯25th 全球190经济体在2018的经营业务易用性指数中排名第一。 这使其成为中上等收入中的经济体,远远超过大多数非洲国家。

毛里求斯旅游局

毛里求斯的一家酒店

这个国家仍然是一个受欢迎的度假胜地,特别是那些热衷于隐私而不关注奢侈消费的人。 毛里求斯拥有温暖的热带气候,沙滩和各种动植物,成群结队地吸引着众多游客。 在2012,国家 韩元 世界最佳海滩和世界旅游奖的世界领先岛屿目的地锁定在其中的位置 非洲最热门的旅游目的地。

毛里求斯的渡渡鸟

虽然在毛里求斯可以找到许多令人惊奇的动物和植物供这些游客享用,但遗憾的是没有人能看到渡渡鸟。 这仅仅是因为岛上的人类活动,就像在 北方白犀牛的情况, 导致dodos最终灭绝。

渡渡鸟鸟娱乐在博物馆

渡渡鸟是一种原产于该岛的大型不会飞的鸟类,在1662周围灭绝,距离1598的荷兰水手居住不到一百年。 它大约一米高,在23-29 lb之间称重。它的历史,外观和行为不一致,因为没有保留鸟类的记录。 考古学家不得不依靠毛里求斯名为Mare aux Songes的沼泽地的一些图纸和挖掘来描绘渡渡鸟的形象。 由于随时可用的食物而被认为不会飞的鸟类很快就会灭绝,因为荷兰水手们开始寻找食物。 他们无法飞行也很容易抓住他们。

在此 dodos的记忆保持活力 通过各种媒体,如博物馆,艺术品甚至货币等物品。 在毛里求斯,它出现在徽章,硬币和所有钞票的水印中。 生物多样性中心和Durell野生动物保护信托基金等环境保护组织使用dodos来提高环境保护意识。

毛里求斯的政治

在政治上,毛里求斯 排名第一 在非洲实现善政。 在2017中,它排名为16th 全球经济学人信息部的民主指数被宣布为唯一一个拥有“完全民主”的非洲国家。

但是,虽然这个国家似乎做得很好,但也有 被批评为避税天堂 并因此鼓励洗钱达数十亿美元。 公共金库的掠夺者将资金隐藏在毛里求斯的离岸账户中,这是以牺牲其他非洲国家为代价的。

非洲:美国秘密非洲使命

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

0评论

  1. 匿名 六月30,2018

    5

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

The Island of Mauritius – Luxurious Holiday Destination and a Tax Haven for Looters

Mauritius is not only a luxurious holiday destination but also a place with a rich and diverse flora and fauna unique only to the island. This includes the dodo, an extinct flightless bird, which was the size of a small ostrich. But Mauritius is also a notorious tax haven for illicit dealings.

Economy of Mauritius

Located 1200 miles off the African coast to the southeast in the Indian Ocean, the island of Mauritius is a relatively small country covering an area of 790 sq. miles and has a population of about 1.2 million people. It is ranked highly economically with a gross domestic product (GDP) of well over $20 billion and a GDP per capita of more than $16 million. This makes it one of the top ten richest countries in Africa.

Other than a high GDP, the World Bank ranked Mauritius 25th out of 190 economies worldwide in its Ease of Doing Business Index of 2018. This makes it an upper middle-income economy, much farther ahead than a majority of African countries.

Tourism in Mauritius

A hotel in Mauritius

The country remains a popular holiday destination and especially for those keen on privacy and not mindful of luxurious spending. With a warm tropical climate, sandy beaches and diverse flora and fauna, Mauritius attracts tourists in droves. In 2012, the country won the World’s Best Beach and World’s Leading Island Destination at the World Travel Awards locking its position in the list of top tourist destinations in Africa.

The dodo bird of Mauritius

While many amazing animals and plants can be found in Mauritius for these tourists to enjoy, it is unfortunate that none gets to see a dodo. This is simply due to human activity on the island, which like in the case of northern white rhinos, led to the eventual extinction of the dodos.

Dodo bird recreation in a museum

The dodo was a large flightless bird native to the island and became extinct in around 1662, less than a hundred years from when Dutch sailors inhabited the island in 1598. It was roughly a meter tall and weighed between 23 – 29 lb. It’s history, appearance and behavior is not very consistent as records of the birds were not kept. Archaeologists have had to rely on a few drawings and excavations from a swamp in Mauritius named Mare aux Songes to depict an image of the dodo. The birds which are thought to have been flightless due to readily available food quickly became extinct with the onset of the Dutch sailors who hunted them for food. Their inability to fly also made it easy to catch them.

The memory of the dodos is kept alive through various media such as museums, art and even items like currency. In Mauritius, it appears in the coat of arms, coins and as a watermark in all banknotes. Environmental protection organizations such as the Center for Biological Diversity and the Durell Wildlife Conservation Trust use dodos to raise awareness on environmental conservation.

Politics in Mauritius

Politically, Mauritius ranks first in Africa for good governance. In 2017, it ranked 16th globally in the Economist Intelligence Unit’s Democracy Index and was declared the only African country with a “full democracy”.

But while the country appears to be doing great, it has also been criticized for being a tax haven and consequently encouraging money laundering to the tune of billions of dollars. Looters of public coffers hide the money in offshore accounts in Mauritius, which has come at the expense of other African countries.

AFRICOM: US Covert Mission in Africa

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Alex Muiruri

Alex is a passionate writer born and raised in Kenya. He is professionally trained as a public health officer but loves writing more. When not writing, he enjoys reading, doing charity work and spending time with friends and family. He is also a crazy pianist!

    1

You Might also Like

0 Comment

  1. Anonymous June 30, 2018

    5

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.