输入搜索

公司文化

本周新发行的Harriet Tubman Biopic作为预告片发布

来自音乐剧“The Color Purple”的辛西娅·埃里沃(Cynthia Erivo)饰演哈里特·塔布曼(Harriet Tubman)将于今年11月发行一部新的传记片。 (图片:YouTube)
来自音乐剧“The Color Purple”的辛西娅·埃里沃(Cynthia Erivo)饰演哈里特·塔布曼(Harriet Tubman)将于今年11月发行一部新的传记片。 (图片:YouTube)

即将到来的传记片的预告片 哈里特关于着名的废奴主义者,女权主义者和地下铁路的指挥本周被释放。

获得托尼奖的女演员Cynthia Erivo(音乐剧“The Color Purple”)将描绘Harriet Tubman,他是一名失控的奴隶,在1800的后半段成为释放其他奴隶的领导者。

由Kasi Lemmons执导(夏娃的河口该传记片还将探讨历史女性生活中鲜为人知的部分,例如她与癫痫的斗争,她在内战期间参与联盟军的一个单位,以及她与一个名叫John Tubman的自由黑人的婚姻注定婚姻。她还是个奴隶。 在这种情况下,任何这种婚姻所生的孩子都会被奴役。

哈里特·塔布曼(Harriet Tubman)出生于马里兰州的奴隶制,最终在1849逃到了费城,并多次返回,以帮助家人和奴隶同胞走向自由之旅。 这种隐蔽的徒步旅行必须在夜间进行,因此被称为“地下铁路”。 废奴主义者将绰号塔布曼称为“摩西”,这是圣经先知带领希伯来人脱离埃及的自由 - 虽然她的身份得到了谨慎的防范,以防止被捕。

当她在1913时代在91去世时,Tubman将在美国正式废除奴隶制之后长期居住。

在她晚年,她还积极参与妇女选举运动,与苏珊·B·安东尼和艾米莉·豪兰等着名的女权主义者一起工作。 塔布曼前往纽约,波士顿和华盛顿特区,发言支持女性的投票权。

在巴拉克•奥巴马(Barack Obama)担任总统期间,财政部进行的一项调查显示,塔布曼的遗产非常深刻,因此被选为安德鲁•杰克逊总统在20法案上的替代品。 这将使她成为第一个以美元出现的黑人女性。 但是,计划在2020中实现这一点 延迟 再过十年。

争议已经包围了这一过程,包括特朗普总统在他的2016总统竞选期间批评塔布曼作为替代者 - 认为它是“纯粹的政治正确性”。

此后,财政部长史蒂文·姆努辛(Steven Mnuchin)坚持认为,拖延只是因为假冒问题而非政治原因造成的。

哈里特 它将在9月2019的多伦多国际电影节上首次亮相,并计划于11月在1,2019上由Focus Features在美国发行。 同时出演电影的还有Leslie Odom Jr.,Joe Alwyn,Jennifer Nettles和JanelleMonáe。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

First Look at New Harriet Tubman Biopic as Trailer Released This Week

Cynthia Erivo from the musical "The Color Purple" stars as Harriet Tubman in a new biopic to be released this November. (Photo: YouTube)
Cynthia Erivo from the musical "The Color Purple" stars as Harriet Tubman in a new biopic to be released this November. (Photo: YouTube)

The trailer for the upcoming biopic Harriet, about the famed abolitionist, suffragette and conductor of the underground railroad was released this week.

Tony-award winning actress Cynthia Erivo (the musical “The Color Purple”) will portray Harriet Tubman, a runaway slave who became a leader in freeing other slaves during the second half of the 1800s.

Directed by Kasi Lemmons (Eve’s Bayou) the biopic will also explore lesser-known parts of the historic woman’s life, such as her battle with epilepsy, her involvement in a unit of the Union Army during the Civil War, and her doomed marriage to a free black man named John Tubman while she was still a slave. Under such conditions, any children born to such a marriage would be enslaved.

Born into slavery in Maryland, Harriet Tubman eventually escaped to Philadelphia in 1849 and returned numerous times to help family and fellow slaves make the same journey to freedom. Such covert treks would have to occur at night, hence the nickname “the underground railroad”. Fellow abolitionists would nickname Tubman as “Moses”, after the biblical prophet who led the Hebrews to freedom from Egypt—although her identity was carefully guarded to prevent capture.

Tubman would live long past the official abolishment of slavery in the U.S., when she passed away in 1913 at the age of 91.

In her later years, she had also become active in the women’s suffrage movement, working alongside famed suffragettes such as Susan B. Anthony and Emily Howland. Tubman traveled to New York, Boston, and Washington, D.C., to speak in favor of women’s voting rights.

Tubman’s legacy is profound enough that she was picked as the replacement for President Andrew Jackson on the $20 bill, in a survey conducted by the Treasury Department during Barack Obama’s presidency. This would make her the first black woman to appear on U.S. currency. However, plans for this to happen in 2020 have been delayed for another decade.

Controversy has surrounded the process, including President Trump criticizing Tubman as a replacement during his 2016 presidential campaign—deeming it as “pure political correctness”.

Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin has since insisted that the delay is solely due to counterfeiting issues and not political reasons.

Harriet will have its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September 2019, and is scheduled to be theatrically released in the United States on November 1, 2019, by Focus Features. Also starring in the film are Leslie Odom Jr., Joe Alwyn, Jennifer Nettles and Janelle Monáe.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.