اكتب للبحث

حضاره

أول اطلالة له على هارييت توبمان الجديدة السيرة الذاتية كما مقطورة صدر هذا الاسبوع

سينثيا إريفو من نجوم "The Color Purple" الموسيقية في دور هارييت توبمان في سيرة حياة جديدة ستصدر في نوفمبر. (الصورة: يوتيوب)
سينثيا إريفو من نجوم "The Color Purple" الموسيقية في دور هارييت توبمان في سيرة حياة جديدة ستصدر في نوفمبر. (الصورة: يوتيوب)

مقطورة للسيرة القادمة هارييتحول إلغاء عقوبة الإعدام المشهور ، تم الإفراج عن حق الاقتراع والموصل لسكة الحديد تحت الأرض هذا الأسبوع.

ستصور الممثلة الحائزة على جائزة توني سينثيا إريفو ("اللون الأرجواني") Harriet Tubman ، العبد الهارب الذي أصبح رائدًا في تحرير العبيد الآخرين خلال النصف الثاني من 1800s.

من إخراج كاسي ليمونز (حواء بايو) سوف تستكشف السيرة أيضًا أجزاء أقل شهرة من حياة المرأة التاريخية ، مثل معركتها مع الصرع ، وتورطها في وحدة من جيش الاتحاد خلال الحرب الأهلية ، وزواجها المحكوم برجل أسود حر يدعى جون توبمان بينما كانت لا تزال عبدا. في ظل هذه الظروف ، سيتم استعباد أي أطفال يولدون لمثل هذا الزواج.

ولدت هارييت توبمان في ولاية ماريلاند ، وهربت في نهاية المطاف إلى فيلادلفيا في 1849 وعادت عدة مرات لمساعدة العائلة وزملائها العبيد على القيام بنفس الرحلة إلى الحرية. يجب أن تحدث مثل هذه الرحلات السرية في الليل ، ومن ثم يُطلق عليها اسم "خط السكة الحديدية تحت الأرض". كان الزميلون الذين ألغوا عقوبة الإعدام يطلقون على توبمان باسم "موسى" ، بعد النبي التوراتي الذي قاد العبرانيين إلى التحرر من مصر - رغم أن هويتها كانت محمية بعناية لمنع الاعتقال.

ستعيش Tubman طويلاً بعد الإلغاء الرسمي للرق في الولايات المتحدة ، عندما توفيت في 1913 في سن 91.

في سنواتها الأخيرة ، أصبحت أيضًا نشطة في حركة الاقتراع النسائية ، حيث عملت جنبًا إلى جنب مع حقوق المرأة الشهيرة مثل سوزان ب. أنتوني وإميلي هاولاند. سافرت توبمان إلى نيويورك وبوسطن وواشنطن العاصمة للتحدث لصالح حقوق المرأة في التصويت.

إرث Tubman عميق بما يكفي لدرجة أنها تم اختيارها كبديل للرئيس أندرو جاكسون على مشروع قانون 20 ، في استطلاع أجرته وزارة الخزانة خلال رئاسة باراك أوباما. هذا من شأنه أن يجعلها أول امرأة سوداء تظهر على العملة الأمريكية. ومع ذلك ، خطط لهذا أن يحدث في 2020 كانت تأخر لعقد آخر.

حاصر الجدل العملية ، بما في ذلك انتقاد الرئيس ترامب لبوبمان كبديل خلال حملته الانتخابية الرئاسية لـ 2016 ، معتبرا ذلك "صوابًا سياسيًا خالصًا".

ومنذ ذلك الحين أصر وزير الخزانة ستيفن منوشين على أن التأخير يرجع فقط إلى قضايا التزوير وليس لأسباب سياسية.

هارييت سيُقام العرض العالمي الأول في مهرجان تورنتو السينمائي الدولي في سبتمبر 2019 ، ومن المقرر أن يتم إطلاقه في الولايات المتحدة في نوفمبر 1 ، 2019 ، بواسطة Focus Features. كما شارك في الفيلم ليزلي أودوم جونيور وجو ألوين وجنيفر نيتلز وجانيل موناي.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

First Look at New Harriet Tubman Biopic as Trailer Released This Week

Cynthia Erivo from the musical "The Color Purple" stars as Harriet Tubman in a new biopic to be released this November. (Photo: YouTube)
Cynthia Erivo from the musical "The Color Purple" stars as Harriet Tubman in a new biopic to be released this November. (Photo: YouTube)

The trailer for the upcoming biopic Harriet, about the famed abolitionist, suffragette and conductor of the underground railroad was released this week.

Tony-award winning actress Cynthia Erivo (the musical “The Color Purple”) will portray Harriet Tubman, a runaway slave who became a leader in freeing other slaves during the second half of the 1800s.

Directed by Kasi Lemmons (Eve’s Bayou) the biopic will also explore lesser-known parts of the historic woman’s life, such as her battle with epilepsy, her involvement in a unit of the Union Army during the Civil War, and her doomed marriage to a free black man named John Tubman while she was still a slave. Under such conditions, any children born to such a marriage would be enslaved.

Born into slavery in Maryland, Harriet Tubman eventually escaped to Philadelphia in 1849 and returned numerous times to help family and fellow slaves make the same journey to freedom. Such covert treks would have to occur at night, hence the nickname “the underground railroad”. Fellow abolitionists would nickname Tubman as “Moses”, after the biblical prophet who led the Hebrews to freedom from Egypt—although her identity was carefully guarded to prevent capture.

Tubman would live long past the official abolishment of slavery in the U.S., when she passed away in 1913 at the age of 91.

In her later years, she had also become active in the women’s suffrage movement, working alongside famed suffragettes such as Susan B. Anthony and Emily Howland. Tubman traveled to New York, Boston, and Washington, D.C., to speak in favor of women’s voting rights.

Tubman’s legacy is profound enough that she was picked as the replacement for President Andrew Jackson on the $20 bill, in a survey conducted by the Treasury Department during Barack Obama’s presidency. This would make her the first black woman to appear on U.S. currency. However, plans for this to happen in 2020 have been delayed for another decade.

Controversy has surrounded the process, including President Trump criticizing Tubman as a replacement during his 2016 presidential campaign—deeming it as “pure political correctness”.

Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin has since insisted that the delay is solely due to counterfeiting issues and not political reasons.

Harriet will have its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September 2019, and is scheduled to be theatrically released in the United States on November 1, 2019, by Focus Features. Also starring in the film are Leslie Odom Jr., Joe Alwyn, Jennifer Nettles and Janelle Monáe.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.