输入搜索

欧洲

谁是'英国特朗普' - 英国新首相鲍里斯约翰逊?

新英国首相鲍里斯约翰逊。 (照片:Arno Mikkor EU2017EE)
新英国首相鲍里斯约翰逊。 (照片:Arno Mikkor EU2017EE)

“他很强硬,而且很聪明。 他们说'英国特朗普'。 他们称他为“英国特朗普。”

周二,鲍里斯·约翰逊取代特蕾莎·梅成为英国新总理,继承了当前的挑战,包括英国脱欧即将到来的最后期限以及与伊朗的军事紧张局势升级。

作为前伦敦市长和英国外交大臣,约翰逊在欧洲政治的聚光灯下有着悠久的历史。 在整个历史中,支持英国退欧的领导人已经做了无数次 种族主义和分裂的言论,从称黑人“picaninnies”与“西瓜笑了“指的是欢迎约翰逊访问一首歌的非洲儿童”小艾滋病缠身的唱诗班,“这使人们对新总理统一日益分裂的英国的能力产生怀疑。

当选,但不是英国人民

约翰逊在保守党党内直接当选,引起观察者们的批评,他们对英国公众在选择领导人方面没有发言权感到沮丧。

由于 拦截的罗伯特麦基 注意到,只有0.3%的人口参与了投票,公众意志的代表性很差:“几乎一半的保守党成员都超过了65,71百分比是 ,97百分比是白色的。“

“鲍里斯·约翰逊(Boris Johnson)通过承诺为最富有的人提供减税政策,赢得了少于100,000不具代表性的保守党成员的支持,成为银行家的朋友,并推动破坏性的”无政策脱欧“。 啾啾 工党领袖Jeremy Corbyn。 “但他没有赢得我们国家的支持。”

约翰逊被许多评论家认为是一个脱离接触的精英主义者,曾参加伊顿和牛津,并且属于独一无二的全男性“Bullingdon Club”, 报告启动仪式 涉及在无家可归者面前烧掉一张50钞票。

在他接受教育之后,约翰逊在那里担任记者 因报价而被解雇.

在议会驳回Theresa May与欧盟谈判的条款后,约翰逊将承担退出英国退欧的职责,促使她辞职。 尽管约翰逊一直是离开欧盟的最有声望的活动家之一,但他承诺在10月31st之前退出欧盟将是困难的。 欧盟坚持认为它与梅的交易将会成立,并且不会与约翰逊重新谈判。

经济学家警告说 英国脱欧将使英国陷入衰退,而其他分析师认为英国将重新点燃爱尔兰边境的敌意。

希望'英国特朗普'将形成友好的美国关系

唐纳德·J·特朗普总统和英国外交和联邦事务大使鲍里斯·约翰逊出席联合国大会(白宫官方摄影:D。Myles Cullen)

唐纳德·J·特朗普总统,然后是英国外交和联邦事务大使鲍里斯·约翰逊出席联合国大会(白宫官方摄影:D。Myles Cullen)

保守的党员,如热情的Brexiteer Nigel Farage,希望约翰逊能够通过与美国总统唐纳德特朗普建立牢固的关系,避免因英国脱欧造成的经济冲击。 周二,总统似乎通过称赞新总理为“支持他们的愿望”英国特朗普“。

特朗普说:“现在英国首相鲍里斯约翰逊将成为一名真正的好人。” “他很强硬,而且很聪明。 他们说'英国特朗普'。 他们称他为“英国特朗普”。 人们说这是件好事。 他们喜欢我那边,这就是他们想要的。 这就是他们所需要的。“

但实际上,约翰逊 谴责 特朗普在2016声称穆斯林移民英国已经使伦敦部分地区成为“禁区”,称特朗普“背叛了一种令人尴尬的无知,使他坦率地不适合担任美国总统职务”。

伦敦前市长补充说:“我会邀请他前来看看整个伦敦并把他带到城市周围。”除了我不想让伦敦人暴露在与唐纳德特朗普会面的任何不必要的风险之外。

鉴于总统倾向于对那些对他说话不好的人抱怨(最近美国前驻美大使) 迫于压力辞职 在泄露的消息显示他对总统的不利看法之后,对于美国和英国之间关系的未来来说,这是一个不确定的时刻。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 24, 2019

    “在他接受教育之后,约翰逊担任记者,在那里因为报价而被解雇。”

    政治家是专业的骗子。 像约翰逊和特朗普这样的一些人是如此傲慢,以至于他们不在乎是否被谎言所困扰,他们的支持者也不在乎,他们是自私的精英主义者和无知的无知者。他们是无知的人,他们聚集在民众中。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Who is ‘Britain Trump’ – UK’s New Prime Minister Boris Johnson?

New UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson. (Photo: Arno Mikkor EU2017EE)
New UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson. (Photo: Arno Mikkor EU2017EE)

“He’s tough and he’s smart. They’re saying, ‘Britain Trump.’ They call him ‘Britain Trump.’”

Boris Johnson replaced Theresa May to become the new prime minister of the United Kingdom on Tuesday, inheriting immediate challenges including the looming deadline for Brexit and escalating military tensions with Iran.

As the former Mayor of London and British foreign secretary, Johnson has a long history in the spotlight of European politics. Throughout that history, the pro-Brexit leader has made countless racist and divisive remarks, from calling black people “picaninnies” with “watermelon smiles” to referring to African children who welcomed Johnson’s visit with a song as “little AIDs-ridden choristers,” that cast doubt on the new prime minister’s ability to unify an increasingly divided UK.

Elected, But not by the British People

Johnson was elected directly within the Tory party establishment, drawing criticism from observers who are frustrated that the British public had no say in choosing their leader.

As the Intercept’s Robert Mackey notes, only 0.3% of the population was involved in the vote, a poor representation of the public’s will: “almost half of the Conservative members are over 65, 71 percent are male, and 97 percent are white.”

“Boris Johnson has won the support of fewer than 100,000 unrepresentative Conservative Party members by promising tax cuts for the richest, presenting himself as the bankers’ friend, and pushing for a damaging No Deal Brexit,” tweeted labor party leader Jeremy Corbyn. “But he hasn’t won the support of our country.”

Johnson is viewed by many critics as an out-of-touch elitist, having attended both Eton and Oxford and belonged to the exclusive, all-male “Bullingdon Club,” whose reported initiation ritual involves burning a £50 note in front of a homeless person.

After his education Johnson worked as a journalist, where he was fired for making up quotations.

Johnson will take up the mantle of delivering Brexit after Parliament rejected the terms Theresa May negotiated with the E.U., prompting her resignation. While Johnson has been one of the most vocal campaigners for leaving the European Union, his pledge to exit the bloc by October 31st will be difficult. The Union insists its deal with May will stand and it will not renegotiate with Johnson.

Economists warn a no-deal Brexit would plunge the U.K. into recession while other analysts believe it would reignite hostilities on the Irish border.

Hope ‘Britain Trump’ Will Forge Friendy US Ties

President Donald J. Trump and the British Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs Boris Johnson at the United Nations General Assembly (Official White House Photo by D. Myles Cullen)

President Donald J. Trump and then British Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs Boris Johnson at the United Nations General Assembly (Official White House Photo by D. Myles Cullen)

Conservative party members, such as ardent Brexiteer Nigel Farage, hope Johnson can avert economic shock caused by a hard-Brexit by forging strong ties with U.S. President Donald Trump. On Tuesday, the president seemed to bolster their aspirations by praising the new P.M. as ‘Britain Trump.’

“A really good man is going to be the prime minister of the U.K. now, Boris Johnson,” Trump said. “He’s tough and he’s smart. They’re saying, ‘Britain Trump.’ They call him ‘Britain Trump.’ And people are saying that’s a good thing. They like me over there, that’s what they wanted. That’s what they need.”

However, Johnson actually condemned Trump in 2016 for his claims that Muslim immigration to the U.K. had made parts of London “no-go zones,” saying Trump was “betraying a quite stupefying ignorance that makes him frankly unfit to hold the office of president of the United States.”

“I would invite him to come and see the whole of London and take him round the city,” the former mayor of London added, “except that I wouldn’t want to expose Londoners to any unnecessary risk of meeting Donald Trump.”

Given the president’s tendency to hold grudges against people who speak badly of him (the former ambassador to the U.S. was recently pressured to resign after leaked messages showed his unfavorable views of the president) it is an uncertain time for the future of the relationship between the United States and the United Kingdom.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 24, 2019

    “After his education Johnson worked as a journalist, where he was fired for making up quotations.”

    Politicians are professional liars. Some, like Johnson and Trump, are so arrogant that they don’t care if they’re caught out in lies, and neither do their supporters, who are a mix of self-serving elitist plutocrats and the ignoramuses who are too stupid to know that they are ignoramuses, who throng in the populace.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.