输入搜索

分析 反战 亚太

中国新国防白皮书的五个关键点

人民解放军空军成员在欢迎仪式上举行欢迎仪式,以纪念空军参谋长马克·A·威尔士三世,由中国人民解放军空军司令官马晓天将军,25,2013在中国北京主持。 (图片:美国空军,Scott M. Ash)
人民解放军空军成员在欢迎仪式上举行欢迎仪式,以纪念空军参谋长马克·A·威尔士三世,由中国人民解放军空军司令官马晓天将军,25,2013在中国北京主持。 (图片:美国空军,Scott M. Ash)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

“如果有人敢把台湾从中国分开,中国军队一定会打,坚决捍卫国家的主权统一和领土完整。”

7月3日星期三,中国24发布了题为“防务”的白皮书中国在新时期的国防,“这在很大程度上突显了该国军费开支激增,并指责美国造成世界混乱。

“世界还不是一个安静的地方。 国际安全体系和秩序受到日益增长的霸权主义,强权政治,单边主义以及持续的地区冲突和战争的破坏,“ 文件说。

该报纸的发布是在涉及来自中国,俄罗斯,日本和韩国的东亚水域战机的空中对抗中发生的。 俄罗斯声称它正在与中国进行联合空中巡逻,此前首尔指责莫斯科侵犯了韩国的领空。

以下是该报的五篇摘要,这是自习近平主席召开大规模军事改革以来第一份此类论文。

美国应该归咎于世界的不稳定

北京抨击华盛顿破坏全球稳定,并补充说美国引发了各国之间的竞争。

“美国已经调整了国家安全和国防战略,并采取了单边政策。 它引发并加剧了各国之间的竞争,大大增加了国防开支......并破坏了全球战略稳定,“该文件说。

52页面文件引用了韩国终端高海拔地区防御系统(THAAD)作为对地区安全的威胁。 中国还引用了日本和澳大利亚等美国“盟友”为建立军队所做的努力。

“日本已经调整了军事和安全政策,并相应增加了投入,从而在其军事努力中变得更加外向,”而“澳大利亚继续加强与美国的军事联盟及其在亚太地区的军事行动,寻求在安全事务中发挥更大作用。“

北京誓言要走台湾

根据该报,中国的一个主要优先事项是将台湾与西藏和新疆西北部的分离主义分子进行战争。

“台独”分裂势力及其行动仍然是对台海和平与稳定的最严重直接威胁,也是阻碍国家和平统一的最大障碍,“该报说。

中国拒绝排除使用武力重新统一台湾,誓言采取任何军事措施来打击分裂分子。

中国国防部发言人吴谦警告说,台湾支持独立的活动人士不断增加威胁,并指出任何寻求台湾独立的人都会毁掉他们的意愿。

“如果有人敢把台湾从中国分开,中国军队一定会战斗,坚决捍卫国家的主权统一和领土完整,”吴说, Business Insider报道.

该报还指责台湾总统蔡文文利用外国势力袭击大陆,并加剧了紧张局势。

台湾是一个民主统治的岛屿,在新西兰民族解放运动的内战期间,由共产党统治下的中国分裂。 中国仍然认为台湾是大陆的一部分,从未承认它是一个独立国家,而是采用了一种称为“一个中国政策”的学说。

华盛顿和北京之间的紧张局势加剧,后者威胁要惩罚三家向台湾出售武器的美国公司。 中国外交部将军售视为违反国际法。

中国寻求与俄罗斯的军事合作,而非联盟

星期二,7月24,来自俄罗斯,中国,韩国和日本的战斗机罕见的对峙袭击了韩国和日本沿海一个有争议的小岛。 日本和韩国指责中国和俄罗斯侵犯其领空。

中国声称其轰炸机正在参加与俄罗斯的联合空中巡逻,并认为它符合国际法。 据美国有线电视新闻网报道,俄罗斯声称,韩国军用飞机“在计划飞越中立水域时已经危险地拦截了两架轰炸机。”韩国对300的警告开枪作出回应。

中国国防部阐述了中俄军事合作的重要性,即“中俄军事关系继续高速发展,丰富中俄全新战略协作伙伴关系,开创新局面,发挥重要作用维持全球战略稳定。“

一些专家看到星期二早上发生的事情发生在日本和韩国声称是华盛顿,首尔和东京的警告标志的贫瘠小岛附近 - 这是一个警告,俄中军事合作进入了一个新的水平,旨在扩大他们在亚太地区的影响力。

“这次事件最重要的战略方面是它突出了中俄新军事合作的新水平,”前美国海军上尉,美国太平洋司令部联合情报中心前行动主任卡尔舒斯特, 告诉 美国有线电视新闻网.

然而,正如吴所说,中国只想要一个伙伴关系,而不是一个联盟,这意味着没有希望达成一个正式的协议,承诺中国和俄罗斯在战争中保护彼此。

俄罗斯和中国仍然认为彼此是一种威胁,因为他们有着共同的雄心壮志,成为全球军事强国。

中国拥有核武器进行自卫

中国白皮书强调,它纯粹为了自卫而采取核战略,旨在阻止其他国家用核武器威胁北京。

北京还声称它支持全面禁止核武器,并将其核武库保持在国防所需的最低水平。

“中国始终致力于在任何时候,任何情况下都不首先使用核武器的核政策,不对无核武器国家或无核武器区使用或威胁使用核武器。 中国主张最终全面禁止和彻底销毁核武器。 中国不与任何其他国家进行任何核军备竞赛,并将其核能力保持在国家安全所需的最低水平,“该报说。

根据SIPRI的最新数据美国和俄罗斯控制着全球核弹头的90百分比(超过6,000),而中国估计总共拥有280弹头。

军事开支激增

中国通过增加军费来继续实现军事装备的现代化。 从2012到2017,北京的军费开支增加了1,459%。

“从2012到2017,中国的国防开支从XXUMX亿元增加到669.192亿元。 中国国内生产总值按当年年均增长率10,432.37%增长,全国财政支出年均增长率为9.04%,国防支出年均增长率为10.43%,国防支出增长占白银国内生产总值的平均百分比,“白皮书透露。

斯德哥尔摩国际和平研究所(SIPRI)的数据 表明中国是继美国之后的第二大军事消费国(其次是沙特阿拉伯,印度和法国)。 在2018,中国将2018连续第十年的军费开支提高了24%。

尽管中国努力改善其军事力量,北京承认它仍然远远落后于美国和俄罗斯等军事超级大国。

中国武装部队的前上校阎光表示,与俄罗斯和美国军方的微小比较是为了怠慢对中国的威胁,并补充说北京的国防开支仍处于正常水平。

“我们可以看到,军事开支在人员,培训和设备三个方面均匀分配。 整体增长稳定,没有急剧增加或减少。 这是为了表明它[解放军]采取了防御性,稳定和理性的方法,“ 据韩国先驱报报道,他说。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 31, 2019

    “这个世界还不是一个安静的地方。”有一则消息传来。 “尚未”意味着世界将以某种方式成为“一个安静的地方”吗? 结束所有战争的战争是哪一个? 阅读世界历史 - 包括昨天的历史 - 并没有激发乐观情绪。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS ANTI WAR ASIA/PACIFIC

Five Key Points From China’s New Defense White Paper

People's Liberation Army Air Force members march during a welcome ceremony in honor of Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. Mark A. Welsh III, hosted by PLAAF Commander Gen. Ma Xiaotian Sept. 25, 2013, in Beijing, China. (Photo: U.S. Air Force, Scott M. Ash)
People's Liberation Army Air Force members march during a welcome ceremony in honor of Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. Mark A. Welsh III, hosted by PLAAF Commander Gen. Ma Xiaotian Sept. 25, 2013, in Beijing, China. (Photo: U.S. Air Force, Scott M. Ash)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“If anyone dares to separate Taiwan from China, the Chinese army will certainly fight, resolutely defending the country’s sovereign unity and territorial integrity.”

On Wednesday, July 24, China released its white paper on defense titled “China’s National Defense in The New Era,” which largely highlighted the country’s surge in military spending and blamed the U.S. for causing world chaos.

“The world is not yet a tranquil place. The international security system and order are undermined by growing hegemonism, power politics, unilateralism, and constant regional conflicts and wars,” said the document.

The paper’s release came amid an air confrontation involving warplanes from China, Russia, Japan and South Korea in East Asian waters. Russia claimed it was carrying out a joint air patrol with China following an accusation from Seoul that Moscow had violated South Korea’s airspace.

Below are five takeaways from the paper, the first such paper since 2015 when President Xi Jinping called for a massive military overhaul.

The US Is to Blame for the World’s Instability

Beijing slammed Washington for ruining global stability, adding that the U.S. has triggered competition among countries.

“The U.S. has adjusted its national security and defense strategies and adopted unilateral policies. It has provoked and intensified competition among countries, significantly increased its defense expenditure … and undermined global strategic stability,” the document said.

The 52-page paper cited the placement of the Terminal High Altitude Area Defense (THAAD) system in South Korea as a threat to regional security. China also referenced the efforts of U.S. “allies” such as Japan and Australia to build up their military.

“Japan has adjusted its military and security policies and increased input accordingly, thus becoming more outward-looking in its military endeavors,” while “Australia continues to strengthen its military alliance with the U.S. and its military engagement in the Asia-Pacific, seeking a bigger role in security affairs.”

Beijing Vows to Take Taiwan

According to the paper, one of China’s main priorities is to integrate Taiwan and wage war against what it calls separatists in Tibet and the northwest province of Xinjiang.

“The ‘Taiwan independence’ separatist forces and their actions remain the gravest immediate threat to peace and stability in the Taiwan Strait and the biggest barrier hindering the peaceful reunification of the country,” said the paper.

China has refused to rule out the use of military force to re-unify Taiwan, vowing to take any military measures needed to combat the separatists.

China’s Defense Ministry spokesman Wu Qian warned against a growing threat from Taiwan’s pro-independence activists, adding that whoever seeks Taiwan’s independence from China will have their wishes ruined.

“If anyone dares to separate Taiwan from China, the Chinese army will certainly fight, resolutely defending the country’s sovereign unity and territorial integrity,” Wu said, as Business Insider reported.

The paper also blamed Taiwanese President Tsai-ing Wen for using foreign influence to attack the mainland and also escalating tensions.

Taiwan, a democratically-governed island, split from China ruled under the Communist Party amid the civil war in 1949. China still considers Taiwan a part of the mainland and never recognized it as an independent state and instead adopted a doctrine called the “One China Policy.”

Tensions between Washington and Beijing have intensified after the latter threatened to punish three American companies that sell arms to Taiwan. China’s Foreign Ministry saw the arms sales as a violation of international law.

China Seeks Military Cooperation With Russia, Not an Alliance

On Tuesday, July 24, a rare face-off involving fighter jets from Russia, China, South Korea and Japan struck near a small, disputed island off the coast of South Korea and Japan. Japan and South Korea accused China and Russia of violating their airspace.

China claimed its bombers were taking part in a joint air patrol with Russia and argued it complied with international law. According to CNN, Russia claimed that South Korean military jets “had dangerously intercepted two of its bombers during a planned flight over neutral waters.” South Korea fired over 300 warning shots in response.

The Chinese defense paper stated the importance of Sino-Russia military cooperation saying that “the military relationship between China and Russia continues to develop at a high level, enriching the China-Russia comprehensive strategic partnership of coordination for a new era and playing a significant role in maintaining global strategic stability.”

Some experts saw what happened on Tuesday morning near the barren tiny island that both Japan and South Korea lay claim to as a warning sign to Washington, Seoul and Tokyo – a warning that Russia-China military cooperation has entered a new level and is aimed at expanding their influence in the Asian Pacific.

“The most significant strategic aspect of this incident is it highlights a new and higher level of Sino-Russian military cooperation,” Carl Schuster, a former U.S. Navy captain and former director of operations at the U.S. Pacific Command’s Joint Intelligence Center, told CNN.

However, China only wants a partnership, as Wu said, not an alliance, meaning there is no desire for a formal pact committing both China and Russia to protecting one another in case of war.

Russia and China still see each other as a threat, given that they share the same ambition to be the global military powerhouses.

China Has Nuclear Weapons For Self-Defense

China’s white paper emphasized its pursuit of a nuclear strategy purely for self-defense, aimed at preventing other countries from threatening Beijing with their nuclear arms.

Beijing also claimed it supported a total ban on nuclear weapons and it keeps its nuclear arsenal at a minimum level needed for national defense.

“China is always committed to a nuclear policy of no first use of nuclear weapons at any time and under any circumstances, and not using or threatening to use nuclear weapons against non-nuclear-weapon states or nuclear-weapon-free zones unconditionally. China advocates the ultimate complete prohibition and thorough destruction of nuclear weapons. China does not engage in any nuclear arms race with any other country and keeps its nuclear capabilities at the minimum level required for national security,” said the paper.

According to the latest figures from SIPRI, the U.S. and Russia control around 90 percent of the world’s total nuclear warheads (over 6,000 each), whereas, China is estimated to have 280 warheads in total.

A Surge in Military Spending

China continues to modernize its military equipment by increasing its military expenditure. From 2012 to 2017, Beijing hiked its military spending by 1,459 percent.

“From 2012 to 2017, China’s defense spending increased from 669.192 billion yuan to 10,432.37 billion yuan. China’s GDP grew at an average annual rate of 9.04 percent at the current year’s price, the national fiscal expenditure grew at an average annual rate of 10.43 percent, the national defense expenditure grew at an average annual rate of 9.42 percent, and the national defense expenditure accounted for an average of 1.28 percent of GDP,” the white paper revealed.

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) data showed that China was the second-largest military spending country in 2018 after the U.S. (followed by Saudi Arabia, India and France). In 2018, China raised its military spending for the 24th consecutive year by 5 percent.

Despite China’s efforts to improve its military force, Beijing admitted it is still far behind military superpowers like the U.S. and Russia.

Yan Guang, a former colonel in China’s armed forces, said the diminutive comparison to the Russian and the U.S.’ military was meant to snub allegations of China as a threat, adding that Beijing’s defense expenditure is still at a normal level.

“We can see that the military expenditure was allocated evenly among the three areas of personnel, training and equipment. And the overall growth has been stable with no dramatic increases or decreases. This is meant to show that it [the PLA] has taken a defensive, stable and rational approach,” he said, as the Korea Herald reported.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 31, 2019

    “The world is not yet a tranquil place.” There’s a news flash for you. Does “yet” imply that the world is somehow going to become “a tranquil place”? The War to End All Wars was which one? Reading world history — including yesterday’s — does not inspire optimism.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.