اكتب للبحث

البيئة تتجه للبيئة

التصدع قد يكون في طريقنا إلى الأزمة المالية القادمة

بئر غاز طبيعي ينفجر بالقرب من شريفبورت ، لويزيانا. (تصوير دانيال فوستر)
بئر غاز طبيعي ينفجر بالقرب من شريفبورت ، لويزيانا. (الصورة من تصوير

أدت الثورة المذهلة إلى تخصيص أعلى استثمارات الأسهم الخاصة في الوقود الأحفوري في سنوات 20 ، ولكن هل هي في الأساس مخطط Ponzi؟

الولايات المتحدة استهلاك الغاز الطبيعي زيادة 10٪ في 2018. لقد كانت طفرة الطاقة في الولايات المتحدة مدفوعة إلى حد كبير بالتكسير الهيدروليكي ، أو التكسير الهيدروليكي ، وهي عملية تكسير الصخور مع سائل مضغوط لاستخراج محتويات الوقود الأحفوري الداخلية ، لكن بعض الخبراء حذروا مؤخرًا من أن التكسير من المقرر أن يخلق الأزمة الاقتصادية التالية.

هل تكسير الفقاعة؟

من المتوقع أن ينمو التكسير 44 في المئة بين 2011 و 2040 ، نظرًا لأن التطورات التكنولوجية منحت المضاربين إمكانية الوصول إلى المواقع التي لم يكن الوصول إليها ممكنًا في السابق.

أشارت بيثاني ماكلين ، الصحفية الاستقصائية التي كشفت لأول مرة عن ممارسات المحاسبة الاحتيالية التي قامت بها إنرون في كتابها "أذكى الرجال في الغرفة" ، إلى التصدع باعتبارها فقاعة اقتصادية جديدة في قطاع الوقود الأحفوري.

ماكلين يزعم أنه في حين أن التكسير يتطلب مبالغ ضخمة من الاستثمار ، فإنه ليس مربحًا بالفعل. سمحت أسعار الفائدة المنخفضة في العقد الماضي للمستثمرين بضخ رأس المال في ثورة الولايات المتحدة المدمرة ، التي دفعها السياسيون الساعين إلى الاستقلال المحلي في مجال الطاقة عن واردات الوقود الأحفوري.

أدت الثورة المذهلة إلى تخصيص أعلى استثمارات الأسهم الخاصة في الوقود الأحفوري في سنوات 20. لكن وفقًا لتقديرات ماكلين ، فإنهم يستثمرون في ما هو مخطط بونزي. ا تقرير حديث من وكالة التصنيف الائتماني Moody's تبين أن 90٪ من الديون الصادرة عن الأسهم الخاصة تم تصنيفها على أنها B2 أو أقل ، مما يضع هذا الدين ضمن أدنى سبعة تصنيفات ممكنة (بما في ذلك التقصير).

توضيح التكسير الهيدروليكي والأنشطة ذات الصلة

توضيح التكسير الهيدروليكي والأنشطة ذات الصلة. (الرسم عبر EPA)

مواقع التكسير فقد 69٪ من مكاسبها بعد سنة واحدة ، و 85٪ بعد ثلاث سنوات ، مما يجبرهم على مواصلة جمع رأس المال من أجل فتح مواقع جديدة لتوسيع الإنتاج وسداد الدائنين. أشار مدير صندوق التحوط جيم تشانوس إلى شركات النفط الصخري باسم "مخلوقات أسواق المال"لأنه بدون أموال من وول ستريت (التي تم تزويدها بأموال فائدة قريبة من الصفر من بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي) فإنها لن تكون موجودة. لتسليط الضوء على سخافة الموقف ، إليك اقتباس من الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Anadarko Petroleum يطالب المضاربين بإبطاء الإقراض لصناعه في مؤتمر للمستثمرين:

"المشكلة الأكبر التي تواجه صناعتنا اليوم هي يا رفاق. يمكنك يا رفاق مساعدتنا في مساعدة أنفسنا. انها نوع من مثل الذهاب إلى AA. أنت تعرف ، نحن بحاجة إلى شريك. نحتاج حقًا إلى مجتمع الاستثمار لإظهار الانضباط. "- الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Anadarko آل ووكر، 2017

Fracking له مؤيديه

يتحدى أنصار التكسير تأكيدات ماكلين ، بحجة أن الغاز الطبيعي هو انتقال مثالي إلى الطاقة المتجددة التي تدعم أكثر من مليون وظيفة أمريكية. ولكن مع الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح الآن أرخص من الفحم (والتحسن المطرد في الكفاءة) ، والإلحاحية اللازمة لخفض الانبعاثات لتحقيق أهداف الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ ، وإنشاء البنية التحتية للوقود الأحفوري كجسر للطاقة "للطاقة المتجددة" أمر غير مرغوب فيه أقل من الاستثمار المباشر في الطاقة النظيفة.

وفقا لالاقتصادي دين بيكر، كانت مكلين محقة في تحليلها بشأن الأسس الاقتصادية الضعيفة لطفرة الطاقة في الغاز الطبيعي ، لكنها تعتقد أن قفزة أسعار النفط إلى 2014 ستجعل التكسير مربحًا. وتابع التعليق أنه لا يتوقع أن يحدث هذا.

يعكس إنتاج الغاز الصخري والغاز الطبيعي في الولايات المتحدة مأزقًا اقتصاديًا أكبر - حيث يتم ضخ مبالغ كبيرة من القروض منخفضة الفائدة في قطاعات الاقتصاد غير الفعالة التي لا يمكنها دعم نفسها دون دعم. نظرًا لأن الشركات العامة مطالبة بالسعي إلى التوسع الفصلي ، يجب استخدام تراكم الديون الضخم لتهدئة الحاجة إلى "نمو" لا ينتهي أبدًا. وقد أدى ذلك إلى اقتصاد مثقل بالديون حيث يتم سداد الديون غالبًا عن طريق تحمل المزيد من الديون.

من التسبب في التلوث إلى الصلة المباشرة بين التكسير وزيادة تواتر الزلازلوالتكاليف الخارجية للتكسير تتجاوز مخاطر الديون المعدومة. حتى مع ربحية التكسير في السؤال ، هي عواقب إدامة إنتاج الوقود الأحفوري ، وتأخير التحول إلى مصادر الطاقة المتجددة التي خبراء يرون حيوية لتجنب كارثة المناخ يستحق التكلفة؟


صورة مميزة: بئر من الغاز الطبيعي يقع بالقرب من شريفبورت ، لويزيانا. (تصوير دانيال فوستر)

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT TRENDING-ENVIRONMENT

Fracking Could be Heading Us Into the Next Financial Crisis

A natural gas fracking well near Shreveport, Louisiana. (Photo by Daniel Foster)
A natural gas fracking well near Shreveport, Louisiana. (Photo by

The fracking revolution has led to private equity’s highest allocation of investment in fossil fuels in 20 years, but is it basically a Ponzi scheme?

United States natural gas consumption increased 10% in 2018. The U.S. energy boom has been largely driven by hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, the process of breaking rock with pressurized liquid to extract internal fossil fuel contents, but some experts have recently warned fracking is set to create the next economic crisis.

Is Fracking a Bubble?

Fracking is expected to grow another 44 percent between 2011 and 2040, as technological advancements have granted speculators access to previously inaccessible sites.

Bethany Mclean, the investigative journalist who first revealed Enron’s fraudulent accounting practices in her book “The Smartest Guys in the Room”, has pointed to fracking as a new economic bubble in the fossil fuel sector.

Mclean contends that while fracking demands huge amounts of investment, it is not actually profitable. The low-interest rates of the past decade have allowed investors to pump capital into the U.S. fracking revolution, spurred by politicians seeking domestic energy independence from fossil fuel imports.

The fracking revolution has led to private equity’s highest allocation of investment in fossil fuels in 20 years. But according to Mclean’s estimations, they’re investing in what is basically a Ponzi scheme. A recent report by the credit rating agency Moody’s shows that 90% of the debt issued by private equity is rated B2 or lower, putting that debt within the seven lowest possible ratings possible (including default).

Illustration of hydraulic fracturing and related activities

Illustration of hydraulic fracturing and related activities. (Graphic via EPA)

Fracking locations lose 69% of their gains after one year, and 85% after three years, forcing them to continue raising capital in order to open new locations to expand production and pay off creditors. Hedge Fund Manager Jim Chanos referred to shale oil companies as “creatures of the capital markets,” because without money from Wall Street (which has been provided with near-zero interest money from the fed) they would not exist. To highlight the absurdity of the situation, here is a quote from the CEO of Anadarko Petroleum imploring speculators to slow lending to his industry at an investor conference:

“The biggest problem our industry faces today is you guys. You guys can help us help ourselves. It’s kind of like going to AA. You know, we need a partner. We really need the investment community to show discipline.” – Anadarko CEO Al Walker, 2017

Fracking Has its Supporters

Proponents of fracking challenge Mclean’s assertions, arguing that natural gas is an ideal transition to renewable energy that supports over a million American jobs. But with solar and wind now cheaper than coal (and steadily improving in efficiency), and the urgency required to cut emissions to meet IPCC targets, setting up fossil fuel infrastructure as an “energy bridge” to renewables is less desirable than investing directly in clean energy.

According to economist Dean Baker, Mclean is correct in her analysis on the weak economic foundations of the natural gas energy boom, but believes a jump back to 2014 oil prices would make fracking profitable. He proceeded to comment he does not predict this will happen.

U.S. shale and natural gas production reflects a larger economic predicament – large amounts of low-interest credit pumped into inefficient sectors of the economy that cannot support themselves without subsidies. Because public companies are required to pursue quarterly expansion, huge debt buildups must be used to placate the need for never-ending “growth.” This has resulted in a debt-laden economy where debt is often paid off by taking on more debt.

From causing pollution to the direct link between fracking and an increased frequency of earthquakes, the external costs of fracking surpass the risk of bad debt. With even the profitability of fracking in question, are the consequences of perpetuating fossil fuel production, and delaying the shift to renewables that experts deem vital to avoid climate catastrophe worth the cost?


Featured Image: A natural gas fracking well near Shreveport, Louisiana. (Photo by Daniel Foster)

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.