输入搜索

公司文化

从监狱到大屏幕:新惊悚“被监禁”的明星前雇员和好莱坞名人

Juan Pablo Raba在'被监禁'中(照片由Equitas Entertainment提供)
Juan Pablo Raba在'被监禁'中(照片由Equitas Entertainment提供)

“每个人都被困在他们是谁以及他们可能是谁之间。”

随着生活的起起落落,有时我们只需要第二次机会。 Equitas Entertainment的最新电影“被监禁”是一部关于报应,救赎和第二次机会的故事。 虽然这部电影主演了好莱坞的主要演员,但该公司还雇佣了超过40的监禁和以前被监禁的人,他们与资深演员一起工作。

Equitas Entertainment的创始人Paul Kampf在接受Citizen Truth的采访时讨论了这部电影,公司及其对人们生活的影响。

Equitas Entertainment的新电影'被监禁'

在飓风玛丽亚袭击之前在2017的波多黎各拍摄,“被监禁”的主题是监禁,监狱改革,死刑,社会正义,宽恕和第二次机会。 影片由Juan Pablo Raba,Laurence Fishburne和Juana Acosta主演,其中包括Esai Morales和Edward James Olmos。

在“被监禁”中,迪伦·伯克(Juan Pablo Raba)幸福地娶了他的妻子玛利亚(Juana Acosta)。 现在,一个像他一样的前囚犯的渔民,迪伦试图从他过去的错误中继续前进。 正如玛丽亚在电影中所说:“这是他弥补过去的方式。”

当圣地亚哥监狱(当地监狱)的新监狱长丹尼尔·卡尔文(劳伦斯·菲什伯恩)在访问她的咖啡馆时遇见玛丽亚时,他得知她的丈夫是谁。 由于多年前犯下的罪行从未原谅迪伦,监狱长决心报复。 在经过几次不成功的尝试后,他最终将迪伦与他没有犯下的谋杀案联系起来。

Juana Acosta在'被监禁'中(照片由Equitas Entertainment提供)

面对他们生命中最困难的审判,迪伦和玛丽亚必须在宽恕或报复之间做出选择。

“每个人都被夹在他们自己和他们可能是谁之间,”同样是电影作家兼导演的坎普夫告诉公民真理。

有所作为的电影

Equitas Entertainment由Paul Kampf,Holly Levow和Tom Sperry创立,其使命是“制作引人注目且重要的项目,为电影业服务不足提供机会,同时缩小性别工资差距”,正如强调的那样。 Equitas Entertainment的网站。 他们 努力证明 “故事可以娱乐,发人深思,对社会负责,并在财政上有利可图。”

Equitas Entertainment创始人Holly Levow和Paul Kampf(照片由Equitas Entertainment提供)

Equitas Entertainment创始人Holly Levow和Paul Kampf(照片由Equitas Entertainment提供)

Equitas致力于通过捐赠符合其使命的事业来改善社会。 在拍摄“被监禁”时,该公司与之合作 PeaceLove一个心理健康组织,其使命是“创造安心。”通过免费的表达艺术课程,PeaceLove促进健康和心理安宁,给那些受精神疾病影响的人。 Equitas已将几个电影放映活动的收益捐赠给PeaceLove,为每个“监禁”被释放的城市的创造者(公司的培训师)提供资金。

在准备制作“被囚禁的”Equitas改造房屋和用于电影的建筑物时。 当飓风玛丽亚在枪击事件发生后立即击中波多黎各时,该公司向飓风救援工作捐款。

以前被监禁的男子获得第二次机会

就像电影的第二次机会主题一样,很多演员都有机会获得第二次机会。 十几名被关押的超过30以前被监禁的男子参与了电影的制作。

在拍摄这部电影的过程中,这些人沉浸在他们已经存在多年的监狱环境中。 在一天结束时,目前被监禁的男子不得不重返监狱。 根据Kampf的说法,Equitas帮助这些人恢复了他们的希望和尊严 - 一些人通过表演和其他人提供反馈和拍摄建议。

一位特别的绅士此前曾被监禁约15年。 在他获释后,他找不到工作。 回到大学并获得硕士学位后,他仍然无法找到工作。 最终,Equitas娱乐公司让他扮演“被监禁”中的角色之一。自从他在电影中扮演角色后,他已经投入了其他几部电影,现在正以电影业为生。

此外,8名仍在服刑时间的囚犯获准在监狱内获得特别通行证,以参加9月10在波多黎各举行的“监禁”全球首映式。 在首映式上,这些人证明了电影制作所涉及的强大影响对他们的生活产生了影响。

“我在'被监禁'方面有过很好的经历。” 演员和工作人员让我觉得自己像个好莱坞明星,“Nathanahel Arroyo,在电影中扮演Lobo的角色,告诉Citizen Truth。 “我为我们的工作和电影感到非常自豪。”

这部电影已经在波多黎各和纽约首映,将于9月13周五在美国部分城市发行。

与此同时,Equitas Entertainment继续影响个人,社区和演员,一次一部电影。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

From Prison to the Big Screen: New Thriller ‘Imprisoned’ Stars Ex-Felons and Hollywood Celebs

Juan Pablo Raba in 'Imprisoned' (Photo courtesy of Equitas Entertainment)
Juan Pablo Raba in 'Imprisoned' (Photo courtesy of Equitas Entertainment)

“Everyone is caught between who they are and who they could be.”

With all of life’s ups and downs, sometimes we just need a second chance. “Imprisoned,” Equitas Entertainment’s newest film, is a story about retribution, redemption and second chances. While the film stars major Hollywood actors, the company also hired more than 40 incarcerated and formerly incarcerated people who worked alongside the veteran actors.

In an interview with Citizen Truth, Equitas Entertainment’s Founder Paul Kampf discussed the film, the company and the impact it has made on people’s lives.

Equitas Entertainment’s New Film ‘Imprisoned’

Shot in Puerto Rico in 2017 just before Hurricane Maria hit, “Imprisoned” features themes of incarceration, prison reform, capital punishment, social justice, forgiveness and second chances. The film stars Juan Pablo Raba, Laurence Fishburne and Juana Acosta and features Esai Morales and Edward James Olmos.

In “Imprisoned,” Dylan Burke (Juan Pablo Raba) is happily married to his wife, Maria (Juana Acosta). Now a fisherman with a crew of former convicts like himself, Dylan attempts to move on from his past mistakes. As Maria says in the movie, “It’s his way of making up for his past.”

When Santiago Prison’s (the local jail) new warden, Daniel Calvin (Laurence Fishburne), meets Maria while visiting her coffee shop, he learns who her husband is. Having never forgiven Dylan for a crime committed years before, the warden is determined to get revenge. After several unsuccessful attempts, he eventually frames Dylan for a murder he did not commit.

Juana Acosta in ‘Imprisoned’ (Photo courtesy of Equitas Entertainment)

Faced with the most difficult trial of their lives, Dylan and Maria must choose between forgiveness or retribution.

“Everyone is caught between who they are and who they could be,” Kampf, who is also the film’s Writer and Director, told Citizen Truth.

Films That Make a Difference

Founded by Paul Kampf, Holly Levow and Tom Sperry, Equitas Entertainment’s mission is “to produce compelling and important projects that provide opportunities for the under-served in the film industry while closing the gender pay gap,” as emphasized on Equitas Entertainment’s website. They strive to prove that “stories can be entertaining, thought-provoking, socially responsible and fiscally profitable.”

Equitas Entertainment Founders Holly Levow and Paul Kampf (Photo courtesy of Equitas Entertainment)

Equitas Entertainment Founders Holly Levow and Paul Kampf (Photo courtesy of Equitas Entertainment)

Equitas is dedicated to bettering society by donating to causes that align with their mission. While filming “Imprisoned,” the company partnered with PeaceLove, a mental health organization whose mission is to “create peace of mind.” Through free expressive art classes, PeaceLove promotes wellness and peace of mind to those who are affected by mental health disorders. Equitas has donated the proceeds from several film screening events to PeaceLove, funding a Creator (a trainer in the company) in every city in which “Imprisoned” is released.

While preparing for the production of “Imprisoned,” Equitas remodeled houses and buildings used for the film. When Hurricane Maria hit Puerto Rico just after the shooting was complete, the company donated money to hurricane relief efforts.

Formerly Incarcerated Men Receive a Second Chance

Much like the film’s major theme of second chances, many of the cast members are receiving a second chance at life. A dozen incarcerated and more than 30 formerly incarcerated men were involved with the film’s production.

During the making of the film, these men were immersed in the same prison environment that they had been in for years. And at the end of the day, the men who were currently incarcerated had to return to prison. According to Kampf, Equitas helped these men to regain their hope and dignity – some through acting and others by providing feedback and filming advice.

One particular gentleman had previously been incarcerated for about 15 years. Upon his release, he was unable to find a job. After going back to college and earning his master’s degree, he still was unable to find work. Eventually, Equitas Entertainment cast him to play one of the characters in “Imprisoned.” Since his role in the film, he has been cast in a few other movies and is now making a living in the film industry.

Further, eight of the inmates who are still serving time were granted a special pass from prison to attend the world premiere of “Imprisoned” in Puerto Rico on September 10. At the premiere, the men attested to the powerful impact that being involved with the film’s production had on their lives.

“I had a great experience working on ‘Imprisoned.’ The cast and crew made me feel like a Hollywood star,” Nathanahel Arroyo, who played the role of Lobo in the film, told Citizen Truth. “I am extremely proud of our work and the film.”

Having already premiered in Puerto Rico and New York, the film will be released in select U.S. cities on Friday, September 13.

Meanwhile, Equitas Entertainment continues to make an impact on individuals, communities and cast members, one film at a time.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna graduated with a degree in English from Pensacola Christian College. After teaching high school English for five years, she decided to pursue her dream of writing and editing. When not working, she enjoys traveling with her husband, spending time with her dogs, and drinking way too much coffee.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.