输入搜索

亚太

林嘉玲正式撤回引渡条例草案,问题仍然存在于香港

3月31,2019的抗议者在民间人权阵线组织的抗议活动中进行抗议,反对香港提出的引渡法,这将允许中国引渡香港人,当地居民和外国国民,以指控违反中国法律。
3月31,2019的抗议者在民间人权阵线组织的抗议活动中进行抗议,反对香港提出的引渡法,这将允许中国引渡香港人,当地居民和外国国民,以指控违反中国法律。 (照片:Etan Liam)

虽然全面撤销引发破纪录的全港抗议活动的引渡法案非常重要,但许多活动人士仍将其定为“太少,太迟”。

“香港领导人林嘉欣表示,她的政府将正式撤回引渡法案,该法案引发数月的抗议活动,并使该地区陷入数十年来最严重的政治危机之中,”卫报 报道 上个星期。 引渡法案被认为极具争议性,因为民主抗议者将其视为极权主义中国共产党政府将其意志强加于香港半自治地区的渠道。

“随着周三的宣布,林先生现在承认示威者的五个关键要求之一。 然而,首席执行官没有回应抗议者的其他要求,其中包括对警察行为进行独立调查,对被捕者实行特赦以及为香港居民提供普选权的民主改革,“卫报的报告继续说,这意味着抗议者和林氏的怨恨行政将继续下去。

退出意味着什么

Carrie Lam,香港政府,在香港香港会议展览中心RISE 2018第一天的中心舞台上。

Carrie Lam,香港政府,在香港香港会议展览中心RISE 2018第一天的中心舞台上。 (照片:Seb Daly / RISE通过Sportsfile)

中国南方晨报邮报 报道“撤回该法案的决定将意味着政府终于加入抗议者的五项要求中的至少一项,他们在过去的13周上走上街头,不仅表达了对立法的反对意见,而且在越来越暴力的示威游行中,城市的整体治理。“

但是,没有调查 警方的行为 在长达数月的抗议运动中,林政府并没有对亲民主的香港成员有任何好感。

尽管有这一消息,但中国政府仍在继续宣传活动人士。 例如,“反政府狂热分子计划在9月11在香港发起大规模的恐怖袭击,包括炸毁天然气管道”,在其Facebook页面上阅读香港版的“中国日报”。 实际上,香港抗议者取消任何因9 / 11而受到尊重的事件是“团结起来反对恐怖主义”。

“我们甚至不需要做事实检查就知道这是假新闻,”其中一个 活动家 对路透社说。 “国家媒体并不关心其可信度。 每当他们声称在WhatsApp或朋友的朋友那里听到的消息时,他们就会立即传播它。“

Lam和Current Events的回应

2014民主运动的领导人之一Joshua Wong接着在接下来的推文中说:“前几周警察的残暴行为给整个香港社会带来了不可逆转的伤痕。 因此,就在此刻,当林嘉欣宣布撤军时,人们不会相信这是一种“真诚的”举动。“

Wong继续说道,“相反,香港人非常了解她臭名昭着的记录。 每当有迹象表明发送棕榈树枝时,他们总是会更加严格地行使民权。 今天早些时候,Ronny Tong已经建议使用秘密警察。“

Wong还鼓励国际旁观者不要被来自Lam或中国政府的有关正在进行的抗议活动的信息“欺骗”。

随着紧张局势继续升级,除非林书豪决定调查警察部门并同意更民主的改革和抗议者的要求,否则在不久的将来不太可能会有解决方案或协议。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Carrie Lam Formally Withdraws Extradition Bill, Problems Remain in Hong Kong

Hong Kong protesters on March 31, 2019, marching in a protest organized by The Civil Human Rights Front to oppose Hong Kong's proposed extradition law, which would have allowed China to extradite people in Hong Kong, local residents and foreign nationals alike, for allegation of violating China laws.
Hong Kong protesters on March 31, 2019, marching in a protest organized by The Civil Human Rights Front to oppose Hong Kong's proposed extradition law, which would have allowed China to extradite people in Hong Kong, local residents and foreign nationals alike, for allegation of violating China laws. (Photo: Etan Liam)

While the full withdrawal of the extradition bill that sparked record-breaking protests across Hong Kong is highly significant, many activists still condemn it as “too little, too late.”

“Hong Kong’s leader, Carrie Lam, has said her government will formally withdraw an extradition bill that has ignited months of protests and plunged the territory into its biggest political crisis in decades,” The Guardian reported last week. The extradition bill was seen as highly controversial as pro-democracy protesters saw it as a conduit for the totalitarian Communist Chinese government to impose its will on the semi-autonomous region of Hong Kong.

“With Wednesday’s announcement, Lam has now conceded to one of five key demands of the demonstrators. However, the chief executive did not respond to protesters’ other demands, which include an independent inquiry into police behavior, amnesty for those arrested and democratic reforms to give Hong Kong residents universal suffrage,” the Guardian’s report continued, meaning resentment between protesters and Lam’s administration will continue.

What Withdrawal Means

Carrie Lam, Hong Kong Government, on Centre Stage during day one of RISE 2018 at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre in Hong Kong.

Carrie Lam, Hong Kong Government, on Centre Stage during day one of RISE 2018 at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre in Hong Kong. (Photo: Seb Daly / RISE via Sportsfile)

The South China Morning Post reported, “The decision to withdraw the bill will mean that the government is finally acceding to at least one of the five demands of the protesters, who have taken to the streets over the past 13 weeks to voice not just their opposition to the legislation, but the overall governance of the city in demonstrations that have become increasingly violent.”

However, without investigations into police conduct during the months-long protest movement, Lam’s administration doesn’t gain any favor with pro-democratic members of Hong Kong.

Despite the announcement, the Chinese government has continued to spread propaganda about activists. For example, “Anti-government fanatics are planning massive terror attacks, including blowing up gas pipes, in Hong Kong on September 11,” read the Hong Kong edition of the China Daily on its Facebook page. In actuality, Hong Kong protesters called off any events out of respect for 9/11 to be “in solidarity against terrorism.”

“We don’t even need to do a fact check to know that this is fake news,” one activist said to Reuters. “The state media doesn’t care about its credibility. Whenever something they claimed to have heard on WhatsApp or friends’ friends, they will spread it right away.” 

Responses to Lam & Current Events

Joshua Wong, one of the leaders of the 2014 pro-democracy movement, went on to say in subsequent tweets, “The intensified police brutality in the previous weeks have left an irreversible scar to the entire HK society. And therefore, at this very moment, when Carrie Lam announced withdrawal, people would not believe it is a ‘sincere’ move.”

Wong continued, “Instead, HK people are well-aware of her notorious track record. Whenever there are signs of sending a palm branch, they always come with a far tighter grip on exercising civil rights. Earlier today Ronny Tong has already advised using secret police.”

Wong also encouraged international onlookers to not be “deceived” by information coming from Lam or the Chinese government in relation to the ongoing protests.

With tension continuing to escalate, it’s unlikely there will be a resolution or an agreement in the near future unless Lam decides to investigate the police department and agrees to more democratic reforms and protestors’ demands.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.