输入搜索

国家

北卡罗来纳州投票权利活动家的竞选胜利

随着大法官听到马里兰州和北卡罗来纳州关于分析的案件,在3 / 26 / 19上结束了最高法院以外的分歧。
由于大法官听取了马里兰州和北卡罗来纳州关于分析的案件,在3 / 26 / 19上结束了最高法院以外的分歧。 (照片:Victoria Pickering)

“选民应该选择他们的代表,而不是相反。 这一胜利证明,变革总是在我们的范围内,在分散,投票权等方面。“

北卡罗来纳州法院裁定该州的立法区是违宪的,并且必须在2020选举之前立即重新划定。

“这对北卡罗来纳州人民来说是一次历史性的胜利,” 说过 Bob Phillips,北卡罗来纳州Common Cause的执行董事。 “由于法院的具有里程碑意义的决定,罗利的政治家将不再能够通过党派分歧来进行选举。”

共和党北卡罗来纳州参议院领导人菲尔伯杰表示,他的政党不会对这一决定提出上诉。

“我们不同意法院的裁决,因为它违反宪法和具有约束力的法律先例。 但我们打算尊重法院的决定,并最终将这场分裂的战斗抛在脑后,“伯杰 在一份声明中说:。 “近十年来无情的诉讼使这个国家的制度的合法性以及其领导人之间的关系陷入了困境。 是时候继续前进了。“

之后 最高法院的5-4裁决 6月份,由于“党派分歧的主张提出了联邦法院无法企及的政治问题”,批评人士担心,在2020大选中,严重扭曲的州地图仍将存在。 法学教授理查德·皮尔德斯(Richard H. Pildes)等专家认为,其他州法院现在可能会“认为国家法院可以而且应该采取这个问题的观点得到加强。”皮尔德斯告诉 “华盛顿邮报” 那些反对的gerrymandering“现在有一个关于如何做的300-plus页面路线图”,指的是 州法院的357页面决定.

该判决推断,该州的选举竞选“受到严重污染,因为他们违宪地剥夺了每个公民的大选成员的选举权,并自由和诚实地公正和公正地确定了人民的意愿。”

领导北卡罗来纳州在2016的重新划分计划时, 共和党众议员大卫刘易斯说:“我建议我们绘制地图,为10共和党人和三位民主党人提供党派优势,因为我不相信可以用11共和党人和两位民主党人绘制地图。”

那一年,尽管民主党赢得了10的州选票百分比,但NC共和党人赢得了13众议院席位的47。 在2018选举之后,民主党人只获得参议院席位的42百分比,尽管获得了NC参议院的50百分比票数。 “虽然他们获得了NC House的50.5百分比票数,但他们只获得了45百分比的席位,” 每日焦油脚跟.

在此 夏洛特观察家 上周在北卡罗来纳州报道了种族歧视的程度,包括将威尔明顿的许多黑人选民与主要是白人的社区分开:

“今天,威尔明顿和新汉诺威县的其他地区都在一个州的参议院区,除了市中心以南的一个非洲裔美国人地区。 这些房屋被拆除并放置在一个不同的地区,该地区主要由布拉登,不伦瑞克和彭德县的郊区,海滩城镇和农村农业社区组成。

前总统巴拉克•奥巴马(Barack Obama)上个月发起一项打击党派分歧的倡议,庆祝该裁决:

“昨天的裁决对于北卡罗来纳州和我们所有人来说都是一个巨大的胜利,” 啾啾 奥巴马。 “选民应该选择他们的代表,而不是相反。 这一胜利证明了变革总是在我们的范围内,在分散,投票权等方面。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Gerrymandering Victory For Voting Rights Activists in North Carolina

A rally to end gerrymandering outside the Supreme Court on 3/26/19, as the Justices hear a Maryland and North Carolina case on gerrymandering.
A rally to end gerrymandering outside the Supreme Court on 3/26/19, as the Justices heard a Maryland and North Carolina case on gerrymandering. (Photo: Victoria Pickering)

“Voters should choose their representatives, not the other way around. This win is proof that change is always within our reach, on gerrymandering, voting rights, and much more.”

A North Carolina court ruled the state’s legislative districts were unconstitutionally gerrymandered and must be redrawn immediately before the 2020 election.

“This is a historic victory for the people of North Carolina,” said Bob Phillips, the executive director of Common Cause in North Carolina. “Thanks to the court’s landmark decision, politicians in Raleigh will no longer be able to rig our elections through partisan gerrymandering.”

The Republican North Carolina state Senate leader Phil Berger said that his party would not appeal the decision.

“We disagree with the court’s ruling as it contradicts the Constitution and binding legal precedent. But we intend to respect the court’s decision and finally put this divisive battle behind us,” Berger said in a statement. “Nearly a decade of relentless litigation has strained the legitimacy of this state’s institutions, and the relationship between its leaders, to the breaking point. It’s time to move on.”

After the Supreme Court’s 5-4 ruling in June, which held that “partisan gerrymandering claims present political questions beyond the reach of the federal courts,” critics feared heavily skewed state maps would remain in place for the 2020 election. Experts, such as law professor Richard H. Pildes, believe other state courts might now “feel strengthened in the view that state courts can and should take on this issue.” Pildes told the Washington Post that opponents of gerrymandering “now have a 300-plus page road map for how to do it,” referring to the state court’s 357-page decision.

The decision reasoned that electoral contests in the state had been “significantly tainted in that they unconstitutionally deprive every citizen of the right to elections for members of the General Assembly conducted freely and honestly to ascertain, fairly and truthfully, the will of the People.”

When leading North Carolina’s redistricting initiative in 2016, Republican Rep. David Lewis said: “I propose that we draw the maps to give a partisan advantage to 10 Republicans and three Democrats because I do not believe it’s possible to draw a map with 11 Republicans and two Democrats.”

That year, NC Republicans won 10 of 13 House seats, even though Democrats won 47 percent of the state vote. After the 2018 election Democrats received only 42 percent of Senate seats, despite receiving 50 percent of the votes for the NC Senate. “And while they received 50.5 percent of the votes for the N.C. House, they received only 45 percent of seats,” noted The Daily Tar Heel.

The Charlotte Observer reported the extent of racial gerrymandering in NC last week, including splitting many black voters in Wilmington from predominantly white neighborhoods:

“Today, all of Wilmington and the rest of New Hanover County are in a single state Senate district, except for a heavily African-American area just south of downtown. Those homes were carved out and placed into a different district, which is mostly made up of suburbs, beach towns and rural farming communities in Bladen, Brunswick, and Pender counties.”

Former President Barack Obama, who launched an initiative last month to fight partisan gerrymandering, celebrated the ruling:

“Yesterday’s ruling is a big win for North Carolina—and for all of us,” tweeted Obama. “Voters should choose their representatives, not the other way around. This win is proof that change is always within our reach, on gerrymandering, voting rights, and much more.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.