اكتب للبحث

AMERICAS

احتياطيات النفط المتدفقة التي عثر عليها قبالة غيانا ، هل ستكون طفرة أم نقمة؟

صورة العلم الأخضر والأحمر والأصفر
غيانا على وشك تجربة مفاجئة للنفط ، ولكن هل سترفع مستويات المعيشة أو تؤدي إلى الفساد والتدهور البيئي؟ الصورة عبر Pixabay.

لقد ربحت غيانا يانصيب الذهب الأسود ، ولكن ماذا سيحدث للأمة في أمريكا الجنوبية التي يبلغ عدد سكانها فقط 800,000 وأصغر الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في القارة الآن بعد أن تم العثور على النفط في الخارج؟

في 2015 ExxonMobil عثرت على النفط قبالة ساحل جويانا وحفرت ثمانية آبار للاكتشافات وجدت جميعها من قبل ExxonMobil احتياطي نفط كبير بما يكفي لتحويل اقتصاد جويانا. يتوقع الخبراء أنه بحلول نهاية العقد القادم ، يمكن أن تدر احتياطيات غيانا النفطية ما يصل إلى مليار دولار من دولارات الولايات المتحدة سنويًا ، وهو رقم مذهل لبلد يبلغ إجمالي الناتج المحلي السنوي فيها مليار دولار.

في شهر يونيو الماضي ، أعلنت إكسون موبيل عن الانتهاء من بئر الاكتشاف الثامن ، بئر Longtail-1 ، وقالت إنها خلقت إمكانية تطوير موارد إضافية في المنطقة.

"اكتشاف Longtail على مقربة من اكتشاف Turbot جنوب شرق حقل Liza" قال ستيف جرينليرئيس شركة إكسون موبيل للتنقيب. "نتائج حفر ذيل طويل هي قيد التقييم. ومع ذلك ، فإن الموارد التقديرية القابلة للاسترداد مجتمعة لـ Turbot و Longtail ستتجاوز 500 مليون برميل من المكافئ النفطي ، وستساهم في تقييم خيارات التطوير في هذا الجزء الشرقي من الكتلة. "

تتمثل الخطة الأولية لمشروع البئر 17 المتصل بسفينة "الإنتاج والتخزين والتفريغ العائم (FPSO) المصممة لإنتاج ما يصل إلى 120,000 من براميل النفط يوميًا." تقوم ExxonMobil باستهداف 2020 لأول إنتاج للنفط. من المتوقع أن تكون المرحلة 2 من خطة ExxonMobil مشابهة للمرحلة 1 ولكن مع قدرة إنتاج تبلغ 220,000 برميل يوميًا. تم التخطيط أيضًا لتطوير ثالث ، لكن لم يتم الإعلان عن الطاقة الإنتاجية المتوقعة.

هل غيانا مستعدة للنفط؟

إن اكتشاف النفط في غيانا يمكن أن يعني تحقيق الأحلام وزيادة في نوعية الحياة لشعب غيانا كما أعلن وزير الموارد الطبيعية في غيانا رافائيل تروتمان. بينما عبر آخرون عن قلقهم إزاء قلة الخبرة في البلاد في إدارة مشاريع البتروكيماويات الكبرى ، والتفاوض مع الشركات العالمية الكبرى ، وتنظيم صناعة النفط.

ومع ذلك ، يعتقد تروتمان أن البلاد مستعدة لمواجهة أي تحديات تنظيمية أو بيئية.

هذه هي المخاطر وهذه هي المخاطر التي يجب أن نستعد لها. لا ينبغي لنا أن نعتبرهم أمرا مفروغا منه أو نعتقد أننا نتعامل مع شيء بعيد عن وعينا أو واقعنا أننا لا نضطر إلى الاستعداد ". قال تروتمان مشاورة وطنية حول صياغة الخطة الوطنية للطوارئ لمواجهة تسرب النفط في لجنة الدفاع المدني.

"يجب أن تؤخذ على محمل الجد ، وفي حين أن معايير الصناعة مرتفعة للغاية ، لدينا خطر. نحن ندرك أن هناك خطر. ومع ذلك ، تبذل الحكومة كل جهد ممكن للاستعداد لهذا الخطر. نتوقع أنه في شهور 24 عندما نذهب إلى الإنتاج في الربع الأول من 2020 ، فإننا لن نلتزم بالحد الأدنى من المعايير المتوقعة فحسب ، ولكننا سنتجاوز ذلك ونتجرأ على أن نقول لأنفسنا وخاصة العالم أننا مستعدون لأي في النهاية ، "قال.

حكايات تحذيرية من شحوم النفط

يوفر الانهيار الاقتصادي الذي حدث مؤخراً في فنزويلا المجاورة لجزيرة جويانا قصة تحذيرية عن خلق اقتصاد يعتمد بدرجة كبيرة على النفط. في حين اكتشفت فنزويلا النفط منذ قرون ، تطورت البلاد إلى اقتصاد مزدهر ولكن اعتمدت بالكامل تقريبًا على صناعة النفط. انهارت أسعار النفط ، وذهب الاقتصاد الفنزويلي معها.

الـ توقع صندوق النقد الدولي أن التضخم في فنزويلا سيصل إلى 1,000,000 بالمائة في 2018 ، مما يجعله أحد أسوأ الأزمات الاقتصادية في التاريخ.

شهدت غينيا الاستوائية ، وهي دولة صغيرة في غرب إفريقيا ، زيادة هائلة في النفط في السنوات الأخيرة ، لكن حكايتها تحذر من احتمال الفساد بمجرد اكتشاف النفط. جلبت البلاد في 45 مليار دولار في عائدات النفط بين 2000 و 2013 ، ولكن ظلت البلاد واحدة من أفقر دول العالم بسبب الفساد في الحكومة مما أدى إلى إنفاق الإنفاق على المنازل الفاخرة والسيارات وغيرها من السلع الفاخرة.

بليز بلد آخر يوصي أحد الخبراء غيانا بالبحث عن التوجيه. تيرون هول ، دكتوراه يحث المرشح في جامعة يورك الذي يتابع اكتشاف غيانا ، غيانا على النظر في الكيفية التي تعاملت بها بليز مع نمو محتمل يغير الاقتصاد في صناعة النفط.

تمت إزالة جزء بليز من نظام الحاجز المرجاني لأمريكا الوسطى ، وربما كان أطول حاجز مرجاني يعيش في العالم ، من فئة مواقع التراث العالمي المهددة بالانقراض في يونيو من 2018 بعد ما يقرب من عقد من الزمن على القائمة. تم اتخاذ القرار بعد أن ألغت بليز خطط توسيع صناعتها النفطية.

"هناك دروس يمكننا استخلاصها من تجربة Belizean لرفع العائق وإعادة تصور الاستجابات البيئية بجرأة في مواجهة إعادة توجيه النفط البترولي" قال هول.

"وبعبارة أخرى ، بينما من غير المرجح أن تتوقف عمليات التنقيب عن النفط في غيانا في هذه المرحلة ، فإن المجتمع البيئي والمجتمع المدني الأوسع يجب ألا يستقروا في التصرفات مثل المستفيدين من المساعدات".

قد يتم تحديد الكيفية التي يتم بها كل ذلك في 2020 ، عندما يُتوقع أن يبدأ إنتاج النفط أولاً وعندما تنتخب البلاد انتخاباتها القادمة. نتائج الانتخابات يمكن أن تحدد مصير النفط المفاجئ ومصير البلاد.

ماذا يحدث في فنزويلا؟ أزمة دستورية ونقص في الغذاء ومبارزة الأحزاب السياسية

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
لورين فون بيرنوث

لورين هو أحد مؤسسي منظمة Citizen Truth. تخرجت بشهادة في الاقتصاد السياسي من جامعة تولين. أمضت السنوات التالية في ظهور حقائب الظهر حول العالم وبدء نشاط تجاري أخضر في مجال الصحة والعافية. وجدت طريقها إلى السياسة واكتشفت شغفها بالصحافة المكرسة لإيجاد الحقيقة.

    1

4 تعليقات

  1. جميع أنواع الوقود الأحفوري هي لعنة. RLS

    رد
  2. لاري ل. كننغهام سبتمبر 7، 2018

    لعنة! الأشخاص الاعتباريين سوف يغتصبون الشعب والأرض اقتصاديًا!

    رد
  3. مايكل سبنس سبتمبر 7، 2018

    انظروا إلى الدول الأخرى التي تهيمن عليها إنتاج النفط.

    رد
  4. شيرلي هوكينز سبتمبر 7، 2018

    لعنة الآخرين.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AMERICAS

Gushing Oil Reserves Found off Guyana, Will it be a Boom or Curse?

Image of green, red and yellow Guyanese flag
Guyana is about to experience an oil windfall, but will it raise living standards or lead to corruption and environmental degradation? Image via Pixabay.

Guyana has won the black gold lottery, but what will happen to the South American nation with a population of only 800,000 and the continent’s smallest GDP now that oil has been found offshore?

In 2015 ExxonMobil found oil off of Guyana’s coast and has drilled eight discovery wells since which all suggested ExxonMobil has found an oil reserve large enough to potentially transform Guyana’s economy. Experts predict by the end of the next decade Guyana’s oil reserves could generate as much as $20 billion annually, a staggering number for a country with an annual GDP of $6 billion.

Last June ExxonMobil announced the completion of the eighth discovery well, the Longtail-1 well, and said it created the potential for additional resource development in the area.

“The Longtail discovery is in close proximity to the Turbot discovery southeast of the Liza field,” said Steve Greenlee, president of ExxonMobil Exploration Company. “Longtail drilling results are under evaluation. However, the combined estimated recoverable resources of Turbot and Longtail will exceed 500 million barrels of oil equivalent, and will contribute to the evaluation of development options in this eastern portion of the block.”

The initial plan is for a 17 well project connected to a “floating production, storage and offloading (FPSO) vessel designed to produce up to 120,000 barrels of oil per day.” ExxonMobil is targetting 2020 for the first production of oil. Phase 2 of ExxonMobil’s plan is expected to be similar to Phase 1 but with a production capacity of 220,000 barrels a day. A third development is also planned, but expected production capacity has not been announced.

Is Guyana Ready for Oil?

The discovery of oil off of Guyana could mean the fulfillment of dreams and an increase in the quality of life for Guyanese people as Guyana’s minister of natural resources Raphael Trotman declared. While others have expressed worry at the country’s lack of experience managing major petrochemical projects, negotiating with large international companies, and regulating an oil industry.

Trotman, however, believes the country is prepared for any regulatory or environmental challenges.

“These are the jeopardies and these are the perils that we have to prepare for. We should not take them for granted or believe that we are dealing with something that is so far removed from our consciousness or our reality that we don’t have to be prepared,” Trotman told a national consultation on the drafting of the National Oil Spill Response Contingency Plan at the Civil Defence Commission.

“It has to be taken seriously and whilst the industry standards are very high, we do have a risk. We recognize that there is a risk. However, government is making every effort to prepare for that risk. We expect that in 24 months when we go to production in the first quarter of 2020, we will meet not only minimum standards expected, but we will go past that and dare to say to ourselves and particularly to the world that we are ready for any eventuality,” he said.

Cautionary Tales of Oil Windfalls

The recent economic collapse of Guyana’s nearby neighbor Venezuela provides a cautionary tale of creating an economy too dependent on oil. While Venezuela discovered oil centuries ago, the country developed into a prosperous economy but almost entirely dependent on the oil industry. Oil prices crashed, and Venezuela’s economy went with it.

The IMF predicted that inflation in Venezuela would hit 1,000,000 percent in 2018, making it one of the worst economic crises in history.

Equatorial Guinea, a small West African nation, experienced an oil windfall in recent years as well, but its tale warns of the potential for corruption once oil is discovered. The country brought in $45 billion in oil revenue between 2000 and 2013, but the country remained one of the world’s poorest reportedly because of corruption in government that resulted in spending sprees on luxury homes, cars, and other luxury items.

Belize is another country one expert is recommending Guyana look to for guidance. Tyrone Hall, a Ph.D. Candidate at York University who is following Guyana’s discovery, urges Guyana to look at how Belize handled a potential economy-changing growth in its oil industry.

Belize’s portion of the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System, perhaps the world’s longest living barrier reef, was removed from the World Heritage Sites’ endangered category in June of 2018 after almost a decade on the list. The decision was made after Belize scrapped plans to expand its oil industry.

“There are lessons we can draw from the Belizean experience for raising the bar and boldly re-imagining environmental responses in the face of a petro-economic reorientation,” Hall said.

“In other words, while oil exploration is unlikely to be halted in Guyana at this point, the environmental community, and broader civil society must not settle into vassal like, aid-recipient disposition,” Hall added.

How it all plays out may well be decided in 2020, when oil is expected to first go into production and when the country has its next election. The results of the election could determine the fate of the oil windfall and the fate of the country.

 

What is Happening In Venezuela? A Constitutional Crisis, Food Shortages and Dueling Political Parties

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

4 Comments

  1. Patricia Gulifield Segal September 7, 2018

    All fossil fuels are a curse. RLS

    Reply
  2. Larry L. Cunningham September 7, 2018

    Curse! Corporate persons will economically rape the people and the land!

    Reply
  3. Michael Spence September 7, 2018

    Look at the other nations w/ economies dominated by oil production.

    Reply
  4. Shirley Hawkins September 7, 2018

    The curse by others.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.