اكتب للبحث

الشرق الأوسط

هل سمعت عن مركز مهمة إيران التابع لوكالة الاستخبارات المركزية؟

ختم وكالة المخابرات المركزية الأمريكية في أرضية اللوبي الرئيسي لمبنى المقر الأصلي.
ختم وكالة المخابرات المركزية الأمريكية في أرضية اللوبي الرئيسي لمبنى المقر الأصلي. (الصورة: دوفمان ، ويكيميديا ​​كومنز)

في 2017 ، أنشأت وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية الأمريكية (CIA) وحدة خاصة - مركز مهمة إيران - لتركيز الانتباه على الخطط الأمريكية ضد إيران.

كان ماكين بومبو ، وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ، مصمماً - بعد ساعات قليلة من حدوثه - على أن الانفجارات على ناقلتين نفطيتين نرويجية ويابانية كانت مسؤولية إيران. وقال إن إيران فعلت ذلك وسيتعين على إيران دفع الثمن. لم تقدم حكومة الولايات المتحدة أي دليل على هذا الادعاء ، بصرف النظر عن مقطع فيديو محبب أظهر القليل الذي بدا قاطعا. استغرق بومبيو أي أسئلة.

من المهم أن نعرف أن رئيس الوزراء الياباني شينزو آبي كان في طهران في ذلك الوقت. لم يقدم آبي ، الذي كان يحاول الحفاظ على الصفقة النووية الإيرانية ، أي تعليقات عدوانية ، ولم يخرج من البلاد. قال رئيس شركة الشحن اليابانية إنه لا يوجد دليل على أن هذا الحدث قد أجرته إيران. في الواقع ، شكك في ادعاء أن لغمًا خبيثًا قد تم ربطه بسفينته. وقال إن "الأجسام الطائرة" أصابت السفينة.

شركة الشحن النرويجية لم تصدر أي نوع من التصريحات حول الأحداث ، وبالتأكيد ليس أي شيء أنحى باللائمة على إيران في الحادث. ظلت الحكومة النرويجية صامتة أيضًا - لا تهديدات من أي نوع من أوسلو. وقالت شركة الشحن إن التحقيق سيتم في الوقت المناسب.

تم إنقاذ الطاقم من السفينتين بواسطة القوارب الأمريكية والإيرانية ونقل إلى بر الأمان.

قال رئيس أركان القوات المسلحة الإيرانية اللواء محمد حسين باقري إن جيشه لن يحاول إغلاق مضيق هرمز بالخداع. وقال إنهم إذا أرادوا إغلاق المضيق ، فسيكون ذلك عملية عسكرية مفتوحة. وهو ينفي تمامًا أن تضرب إيران هاتين الناقلتين.

لم يتم الاعتداء على أي سفينة أمريكية. وقعت هذه الحوادث في المياه الدولية - في مضيق هرمز ، قبالة سواحل إيران وعمان. ليس على الأراضي الأمريكية ، ولا على قاعدة عسكرية أمريكية أو على ممتلكات الحكومة الأمريكية. ومع ذلك ، فإن حكومة الولايات المتحدة هي التي قدمت هذه المطالبات وقدمت التهديدات. لقد أصبحت هذه عادة قبيحة.

كما أصبح من المستحيل بالنسبة للمنطقة ، حيث لا يزال هناك شعور كهربائي بالنذير. هل سيكون ترامب مجنونا بما يكفي لإطلاق الصواريخ؟ هل تريد الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية فتح أبواب الجحيم في غرب آسيا على نطاق أوسع ، وهي الأبواب التي فتحتها الولايات المتحدة على مصراعيها بحربها غير الشرعية على العراق؟

مركز مهمة إيران

في 2017 ، أنشأت وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية الأمريكية (CIA) وحدة خاصة - مركز مهمة إيران - لتركيز الانتباه على الخطط الأمريكية ضد إيران. جاءت مبادرة هذه الوحدة من مدير وكالة المخابرات المركزية جون برينان ، الذي ترك منصبه عندما تولت إدارة ترامب منصبه. لقد اعتقد برينان أن وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية بحاجة إلى تركيز الانتباه على ما تعتبره الولايات المتحدة مناطق مشكلة - كوريا الشمالية وإيران ، على سبيل المثال. هذا سبق إدارة ترامب.

خلف برينان - مايك بومبو ، الذي كان مدير وكالة المخابرات المركزية لأكثر من عام بقليل (حتى تم تعيينه وزيرا للخارجية الأمريكية) - واصل هذه السياسة. تم إجراء نشاط وكالة المخابرات المركزية الأمريكية المتعلق بإيران في قسم العمليات الإيرانية (بيت فارس). كان هذا قسمًا مع متخصصين في إيران قاموا ببناء المعرفة حول التطورات السياسية والاقتصادية داخل إيران وفي الشتات الإيراني.

لقد أزعجت الصقور في واشنطن - كما أخبرني أحد المسؤولين - بأن بلاد فارس كانت مليئة بأخصائيين إيرانيين لم يكن لديهم تركيز خاص على تغيير النظام في إيران. بعض منهم ، بسبب تركيزهم الطويل على إيران ، طوروا حساسية للبلاد. أراد الناس ترامب مجموعة أكثر تركيزا وعدائية من شأنها أن توفر هذا النوع من الذكاء الذي دغدغ يتوهم مستشار الأمن القومي جون بولتون.

لرئاسة مركز مهمة إيران ، عينت وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية مايكل داندريا. كان D'Andrea محوريًا في برنامج استجواب ما بعد 9 / 11 ، وأدار مركز مكافحة الإرهاب التابع لوكالة الاستخبارات المركزية. كانت الاغتيالات والتعذيب عنصرين أساسيين في نهجه.

كان D'Andrea هو الذي وسع برنامج CIA لضربة الطائرات بدون طيار ، ولا سيما إضراب التوقيع. يعد توقيع التوقيع أداة مثيرة للجدل بشكل خاص. تم منح وكالة المخابرات المركزية الأمريكية (CIA) بدل قتل أي شخص يناسب ملف تعريف معين - رجل في سن معينة ، على سبيل المثال ، بهاتف تم استخدامه للاتصال بشخص ما في القائمة. الفنون المظلمة التابعة لوكالة الاستخبارات المركزية هي بالتحديد فنون داندريا.

ما قاله محلل سابق بوكالة المخابرات المركزية الأمريكية ، إن الأمر الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة إلى منصبه في مركز إيران للرسالة هو أن أندريا قريبة من عرب الخليج. كان عرب الخليج يضغطون بقوة من أجل التحرك ضد إيران ، وهي وجهة نظر مشتركة بين أندريا وأجزاء من فريقه. بسبب موقفه الصعب تجاه إيران ، فإن أندريا معروفة - ومن المفارقات - باسم "آية الله مايك".

D'Andrea وأشخاص مثل بولتون جزء من نظام بيئي من الرجال الذين لديهم كراهية حامية لإيران والذين هم على مقربة من النظرة العالمية للعائلة المالكة السعودية. هؤلاء هم الرجال المتهورون بالعنف ، وهم على استعداد للقيام به اى شى إذا كان ذلك يعني إثارة حرب ضد إيران. لا شيء يجب أن يوضع وراءهم.

D'Andrea والصقور تفوقت على العديد من خبراء إيران من مركز مهمة إيران ، أشخاص مثل مارجريت ستروميكي - التي كانت رئيسة التحليل. الآخرون الذين يرغبون في تقديم بديل عن وجهة نظر Pompeo-Bolton للأشياء إما انتقلوا أيضًا أو ظلوا صامتين. أخبرني مسؤول سابق أنه لا توجد مساحة في إدارة ترامب للمعارضة بشأن سياسة إيران.

حرب السعودية

التوأم D 'أندريا خارج البيت الأبيض هو توماس كابلان ، الملياردير الذي أنشأ مجموعتين عمياء لتغيير النظام في إيران. والمجموعتان هما يونايتد ضد إيران النووية (UANI) ومشروع مكافحة التطرف. لا يوجد شيء خفية هنا. هذه المجموعات - وكابلان نفسه - تروّج لأجندة من الاستياء الشديد للمسلمين بشكل عام وإيران بشكل خاص.

ألقى كابلان باللوم على إيران في إنشاء داعش ، لأن إيران - كما قال كابلان - هي التي "استخدمت حركة سنية فظيعة" لتوسيع نطاقها من "بلاد فارس إلى البحر المتوسط". هذا العبث يتبعه قراءة خاطئة لمفاهيم الشيعة مثل تقية، وهذا يعني الحكمة وليس - كما يجادل كابلان وآخرون - الخداع. تشترك كابلان بشكل غريب مع داعش أكثر من إيران مع تلك المجموعة - حيث إن كبلان وداعش مدفوعان بكراهيتهم لأولئك الذين يتبعون تقاليد الإسلام الشيعية.

من المناسب أن تجمع مجموعات كابلان المعادية لإيران وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية والمال. رئيس UANI هو مارك والاس ، وهو الرئيس التنفيذي لمجموعة دجلة المالية في كابلان ، وهي شركة مالية ذات استثمارات - والتي تعترف - ستستفيد من "عدم الاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط". العمل مع UANI ومشروع مكافحة التطرف هو نورمان رول ، مدير سابق للمخابرات القومية لإيران في مكتب مدير الاستخبارات الوطنية الأمريكي.

قدم رول دعمه لجهود المؤسسة العربية ، التي يديرها علي الشهابي - رجل له صلات وثيقة بالملكية السعودية. تم إنشاء مؤسسة العربية للقيام بعلاقات عامة أكثر فعالية للسعوديين مما يستطيع الدبلوماسيون السعوديون القيام به. الشهابي هو أحد أكثر الدبلوماسيين في المملكة العربية السعودية ، سمير الشهابي ، الذي لعب دورًا مهمًا كسفير للمملكة العربية السعودية في باكستان خلال الحرب التي خلقت تنظيم القاعدة.

هؤلاء الرجال - كابلان وبولتون وداندريا وشهابي - حريصون على استخدام القوة الكاملة للجيش الأمريكي لتعزيز الأهداف الخطيرة للملكة الخليجية العربية (لكل من المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة). عندما سار بومبيو أمام الكاميرات ، حمل الماء من أجلهم. هؤلاء هم رجال في مهمة. إنهم يريدون الحرب ضد إيران.

الدليل ، السبب. لا شيء من هذا مهم بالنسبة لهم. لن يتوقفوا حتى تودع القاذفات الأمريكية حمولتها القاتلة في طهران وقم وأصفهان وشيراز. سوف يفعلون أي شيء لجعل هذا الواقع الرهيب لدينا.


هذه المادة أنتجتها رحالة، مشروع معهد الإعلام المستقل.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
فيجاي براشاد

فيجاي براشاد مؤرخ ومحرر وصحفي هندي. وهو زميل الكتابة وكبير المراسلين في رحالةمشروع معهد الإعلام المستقل. هو رئيس تحرير كتب LeftWord ومدير Tricontinental: معهد البحوث الاجتماعية. وقد كتب أكثر من عشرين كتابا ، بما في ذلك الأمم المظلمة: تاريخ شعوب العالم الثالث (The New Press، 2007)، الدول الفقيرة: تاريخ محتمل للجنوب العالمي (فيرسو ، 2013) ، موت الأمة ومستقبل الثورة العربية (مطبعة جامعة كاليفورنيا ، 2016) و النجمة الحمراء على العالم الثالث (LeftWord ، 2017). يكتب بانتظام في Frontline و Hindu و Newsclick و AlterNet و BirGün.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Have You Heard of the CIA’s Iran Mission Center?

The seal of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency inlaid in the floor of the main lobby of the Original Headquarters Building.
The seal of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency inlaid in the floor of the main lobby of the Original Headquarters Building. (Photo: Duffman, Wikimedia Commons)

In 2017, the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) created a special unit — the Iran Mission Center — to focus attention on the U.S. plans against Iran.

U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo was adamant — just hours after it happened — that the explosions on two Norwegian and Japanese oil tankers were the responsibility of Iran. Iran did this, he said, and Iran would have to pay the price. The United States government offered no evidence for this claim, apart from a grainy video that showed little that seemed conclusive. Pompeo took no questions.

It is important to know that the Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe was in Tehran at that time. Abe, who has been trying to maintain the Iran nuclear deal, made no belligerent comments, nor did he storm out of the country. The head of the Japanese shipping company said that there was no evidence that this event had been conducted by Iran. In fact, he disputed the claim that a limpet mine had been attached to his ship. He said that “flying objects” had struck the ship.

The Norwegian shipping company did not make any kind of statement about the events either, certainly not anything that blamed Iran for the incident. The Norwegian government remained silent as well — no threats of any kind from Oslo. The shipping company said an investigation would be conducted in due course.

The crew from both the vessels had been rescued by U.S. and Iranian boats and taken to safety.

Chief of Staff of Iranian Armed Forces Major General Mohammad Hossein Baqeri said that his military will not try to close the Strait of Hormuz by deceit. If they want to close the strait, he said, it will be an open military operation. He fully denies that Iran hit those two tankers.

No U.S. ship was assaulted. These incidents took place in international waters — in the Strait of Hormuz, off the coasts of Iran and Oman. Not on U.S. territory, nor on a U.S. military base or on U.S. government property. Yet, it was the U.S. government that made the claims and made the threats. This has become an ugly habit.

It has also become impossible for the region, where there remains an electric sense of foreboding. Will Trump be mad enough to launch missiles? Will the United States of America want to open wider the doors of hell in West Asia, doors that the United States opened wide with its illegal war on Iraq?

Iran Mission Center

In 2017, the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) created a special unit — the Iran Mission Center — to focus attention on the U.S. plans against Iran. The initiative for this unit came from CIA director John Brennan, who left his post as the Trump administration came into office. Brennan believed that the CIA needed to focus attention on what the United States sees as problem areas — North Korea and Iran, for instance. This predated the Trump administration.

Brennan’s successor — Mike Pompeo, who was CIA director for just over a year (until he was appointed U.S. Secretary of State) — continued this policy. The CIA’s Iran-related activity had been conducted in the Iran Operations Division (Persia House). This was a section with Iran specialists who built up knowledge about political and economic developments inside Iran and in the Iranian diaspora.

It bothered the hawks in Washington — as one official told me — that Persia House was filled with Iran specialists who had no special focus on regime change in Iran. Some of them, due to their long concentration on Iran, had developed sensitivity to the country. Trump’s people wanted a much more focused and belligerent group that would provide the kind of intelligence that tickled the fancy of his National Security Adviser John Bolton.

To head the Iran Mission Center, the CIA appointed Michael D’Andrea. D’Andrea was central to the post-9/11 interrogation program, and he ran the CIA’s Counterterrorism Center. Assassinations and torture were central to his approach.

It was D’Andrea who expanded the CIA’s drone strike program, in particular, the signature strike. The signature strike is a particularly controversial instrument. The CIA was given the allowance to kill anyone who fit a certain profile — a man of a certain age, for instance, with a phone that had been used to call someone on a list. The dark arts of the CIA are precisely those of D’Andrea.

What is germane to his post at the Iran Mission Center is that D’Andrea is close to the Gulf Arabs, a former CIA analyst told me. The Gulf Arabs have been pushing hard for action against Iran, a view shared by D’Andrea and parts of his team. For his hard-nosed attitude toward Iran, D’Andrea is known — ironically — as “Ayatollah Mike.”

D’Andrea and people like Bolton are part of an ecosystem of men who have a visceral hatred for Iran and who are close to the worldview of the Saudi royal family. These are men who are reckless with violence, willing to do anything if it means provoking a war against Iran. Nothing should be put past them.

D’Andrea and the hawks edged out several Iran experts from the Iran Mission Center, people like Margaret Stromecki — who had been head of analysis. Others who want to offer an alternative to the Pompeo-Bolton view of things either have also moved on or remain silent. There is no space in the Trump administration, a former official told me, for dissent on the Iran policy.

Saudi Arabia’s War

D’Andrea’s twin outside the White House is Thomas Kaplan, the billionaire who set up two groups that are blindingly for regime change in Iran. The two groups are United Against Nuclear Iran (UANI) and Counter Extremism Project. There is nothing subtle here. These groups — and Kaplan himself — promote an agenda of great disparagement of Muslims in general and of Iran in particular.

Kaplan blamed Iran for the creation of ISIS, for it was Iran — Kaplan said — that “used a terrible Sunni movement” to expand its reach from “Persia to the Mediterranean.” Such absurdity followed from a fundamental misreading of Shia concepts such as taqiya, which means prudence and not — as Kaplan and others argue — deceit. Kaplan, bizarrely, shares more with ISIS than Iran does with that group — since both Kaplan and ISIS are driven by their hatred of those who follow the Shia traditions of Islam.

It is fitting that Kaplan’s anti-Iran groups bring together the CIA and money. The head of UANI is Mark Wallace, who is the chief executive of Kaplan’s Tigris Financial Group, a financial firm with investments — which it admits — would benefit from “instability in the Middle East.” Working with UANI and the Counter Extremism Project is Norman Roule, a former national intelligence manager for Iran in the U.S. Office of the Director of National Intelligence.

Roule has offered his support to the efforts of the Arabia Foundation, run by Ali Shihabi — a man with close links to the Saudi monarchy. The Arabia Foundation was set up to do more effective public relations work for the Saudis than the Saudi diplomats are capable of doing. Shihabi is the son of one of Saudi Arabia’s most well-regarded diplomats, Samir al-Shihabi, who played an important role as Saudi Arabia’s ambassador to Pakistan during the war that created al-Qaeda.

These men — Kaplan and Bolton, D’Andrea and Shihabi — are eager to use the full force of the U.S. military to further the dangerous goals of the Gulf Arab royals (of both Saudi Arabia and of the UAE). When Pompeo walked before cameras, he carried their water for them. These are men on a mission. They want war against Iran.

Evidence, reason. None of this is important to them. They will not stop until the U.S. bombers deposit their deadly payload on Tehran and Qom, Isfahan and Shiraz. They will do anything to make that our terrible reality.


This article was produced by Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Vijay Prashad

Vijay Prashad is an Indian historian, editor and journalist. He is a writing fellow and chief correspondent at Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute. He is the chief editor of LeftWord Books and the director of Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research. He has written more than twenty books, including The Darker Nations: A People’s History of the Third World (The New Press, 2007), The Poorer Nations: A Possible History of the Global South (Verso, 2013), The Death of the Nation and the Future of the Arab Revolution (University of California Press, 2016) and Red Star Over the Third World (LeftWord, 2017). He writes regularly for Frontline, the Hindu, Newsclick, AlterNet and BirGün.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.