输入搜索

警察/监狱

众议院和参议院通过十亿美元边境援助票据,但支持限制

肯塔基州参议员Mitch McConnell在马里兰州国家港口的2014保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。
肯塔基州参议员Mitch McConnell在马里兰州国家港口的2014保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“我们不能继续向功能失调的系统投钱。”

国会两院均通过立法,为日益严重的边境危机提供数十亿美元援助,但众议院民主党人担心参议院通过的版本不足以保障对移民家庭和子女的保护。

周四,众议院领导人试图与参议员多数党领袖米奇麦康奈尔进行谈判,在迅速耗尽资金和提高公众对移民拘留设施的不人道条件的认识方面,这种情况正在变成高风险的僵局。

“对于孩子们,我们必须确保问责制和透明度,以便我们知道真相:要求在24小时内报告任何儿童死亡事件,要求国会议员不需要提前通知设施和资金只能用于议案中具体描述的目的,“众议院议长佩洛西说 声明,详细说明众议院版本法案要求的一些条款。“

白宫已经暗示它将否决众议院的版本,并且只表现出对参议院法案的冷淡接受。 两个版本都禁止将援助资金用于边境墙。

民主党人 寻求要求 医疗和卫生标准,90天限制无人陪伴的未成年人可以留在临时边境避难所,恢复对中美洲的外国援助削减,以及要求在24小时内将被拘留的儿童死亡。

“这是一个无处不在的提案,里面装满了毒丸车手,总统已经表示他会否决,”麦康奈尔 说过。 参议院在通过57-37要求不太严格的版本之前,通过84-8投票拒绝众议院法案。 参议院版本还为众议院民主党人拒绝的五角大楼和移民与海关执法局(ICE)拨款。

僵局代表了对危机性质的争议。 一些人认为这只是一个可以通过增加资金来解决的资源问题,而另一些人认为这是特朗普政府零容忍议程中蓄意残忍和忽视的结果。 进步的立法者争论最近的监管机构报告 怪诞的条件 在移民设施中,需要更多的监督以及公共资金。

“我们不能继续在功能失调的系统上投钱,” 众议员Ilhan Omar (D-Minn)说。 “我们不只是要求对这项法案进行简单的修改,而是要回到绘图板,并从人道主义问题中真正解决这个问题。”

随着众议院将于周四开始的7月4th休会,民主党只有一个小窗口可以进行谈判。 这种情况的紧迫性以及白宫对参议院领导的措施的支持似乎给了众议院民主党人较弱的一面,但佩洛西议长表示她决心将移民保护纳入其中,或拒绝参议院法案。

参议院少数党领袖舒默(D-NY)说:“我原本希望众议院的版本能够通过,这会让事情变得简单。” 说过。 “我希望他们有一个会议并达成协议。 我们现在准备坐下来。“

私人监狱公司为大约三分之二被美国移民和海关执法局拘留的人提供住房,同样面临私人融资的损失, 美国银行宣布 它将在周三停止向这些设施提供贷款。 今年早些时候,活动人士迫使摩根大通和富国银行做出类似的决定,并且对私人监狱提供的非人道条件的强烈抗议导致 股价下跌 对于这个行业。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

House and Senate Pass Billion Dollar Border Aid Bills, But Standoff Ensues

Senator Mitch McConnell of Kentucky speaking at the 2014 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland.
Senator Mitch McConnell of Kentucky speaking at the 2014 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“We cannot continue to throw money at a dysfunctional system.”

Both chambers of Congress passed legislation to provide billions in aid for the growing border crisis, but House Democrats are concerned the Senate-passed version does not do enough to guarantee protections for migrant families and children.

House leadership sought to negotiate with Sen. Majority Leader Mitch McConnell on Thursday, in what is turning into a high-stakes standoff amidst rapidly depleting funds and growing public awareness of inhumane conditions at migrant detention facilities.

“For the children, we must ensure accountability and transparency so we can know the truth: requiring that any death of a child be reported within 24 hours, that there be no advance notice required for a member of Congress to visit a facility and that funding can only be used for the purposes specifically described in the bill,” House Speaker Pelosi said in a statement, detailing some of the provisions the House version of the bill would require.“

The White House has signaled it would veto the House version, and has shown only lukewarm acceptance of the Senate bill. Both versions prohibit aid funds from being spent on a border wall.

Democrats are seeking to require medical and sanitation standards, a 90-day limit on the time unaccompanied minors can be kept in temporary border shelters, the restoration of foreign aid cuts to Central America and a requirement for the death of a child in detention to be reported within 24 hours.

“It’s a go-nowhere proposal filled with poison-pill riders which the president has indicated he would veto,” McConnell said. The Senate rejected the House bill by a 57-37 vote, before passing a version with less strict requirements 84-8. The Senate version also allocates funding for the Pentagon and Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), which House Democrats reject.

The impasse represents a dispute over the nature of the crisis. Some argue it is merely a resource problem that could be solved with increased funding, while others view it as the result of deliberate cruelty and neglect from the Trump administration’s zero-tolerance agenda. Progressive lawmakers argue the recent watchdog reports of grotesque conditions at migrant facilities prove more oversight is needed alongside public funding.

“We cannot continue to throw money at a dysfunctional system,” Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-Minn) said. “We are not just asking for simple changes to be made into this bill, but to go back to the drawing board and really address this from a humanitarian issue.”

With the House set for July 4th recess to begin on Thursday, Democrats have only a small window to negotiate. The urgency of the situation and the White House’s support for the Senate-led measure appear to give House Democrats the weaker hand, but Speaker Pelosi has signaled her determination to include migrant protections or reject the Senate bill.

“I had hoped that the House version would pass, that would have made it easy,” Sen. Minority Leader Schumer (D-NY) said. “I hope they have a conference and come to an agreement. We’re prepared to sit down right now.”

Private prison companies, which provide housing for around two-thirds of people detained by U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, are facing the loss of private financing as well, as after Bank of America announced it would stop lending to the facilities on Wednesday. Activists pressured JP Morgan and Wells Fargo to make similar decisions earlier in the year, and growing outcry against the inhumane conditions provided by private prisons has resulted in falling shares for the industry.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.