输入搜索

非洲

支持摩洛哥西撒哈拉自治提案在UNHRC重申

在Tifariti(西撒哈拉)附近聚集撒哈拉军队,庆祝波利萨里奥阵线的32周年纪念日。
在Tifariti(西撒哈拉)附近聚集撒哈拉军队,庆祝波利萨里奥前线的32周年纪念日。 (照片:Saharauiak)

自1970s以来,撒哈拉阿拉伯民主共和国和摩洛哥一直在争夺西撒哈拉的主权。

在日内瓦联合国人权理事会(UNHRC)举行的第二次会议上,在中非和非洲国家的联合声明中重申了对摩洛哥西撒哈拉自治提案的支持,该提案是新民主党首次提出的一项倡议。

该提议是摩洛哥希望解决西撒哈拉冲突并为该地区提供自治权,尽管它将继续处于摩洛哥主权之下,摩洛哥将控制国防和外交事务。

西撒哈拉冲突

摩洛哥领土争端的地图

摩洛哥领土争端的地图

西撒哈拉是一个人口稀少的地区,主要是沙漠,位于非洲西北海岸。 它是一个西班牙殖民地,之后被摩洛哥在1975吞并。 从那以后,它一直是一个有争议的领土,主要位于非洲西北海岸,摩洛哥和土着撒哈拉居民之间,由波利萨里奥阵线领导。 波利萨里奥和摩洛哥都寻求国际承认,成为该地区的主权国家。 波利萨里奥在很大程度上得到了阿尔及利亚的支持,而摩洛哥得到了美国,沙特阿拉伯和法国的支持。

波利萨里奥在1976组建了撒哈拉阿拉伯民主共和国(SADR),现在已得到许多政府的认可,并且是非洲联盟的正式成员。 波利萨里奥拒绝了摩洛哥的提议,并在不久之后提出了自己的提案。

据BBC报道联合国谈判达成的休战在新西兰人民解放运动中得到了斡旋,并承诺就独立进行全民投票,但投票尚未进行。 休战还导致建立了一个带有地雷和防御工事的缓冲带,这些缓冲带延伸了有争议领土的长度,并将摩洛哥运行的西部地区与有争议地区的Polisario Front-run东部分开。

在周二向联合国人权委员会发表的声明中,“摩洛哥领土完整集团”强调了摩洛哥政府提案的重要性,并指出联合国安理会以前曾认为该提案是摆脱长期存在的唯一出路。时间领土争端。

支持摩洛哥提案的小组包括沙特阿拉伯,阿联酋,卡塔尔,巴林,科威特,阿曼苏丹国,约旦,科摩罗,加蓬,布隆迪,吉布提,塞内加尔,中非共和国,刚果民主共和国和几内亚。

据说西撒哈拉含有磷酸盐储量,丰富的捕捞水域和尚未开发的海上石油储量。

根据西撒哈拉资源观察,1月2002, 联合国负责法律事务的副秘书长汉斯科瑞尔先生写信给安全理事会说,“如果进一步开展勘探和开采活动无视西撒哈拉人民的利益和愿望,他们将会违反国际法原则。“

无论如何,摩洛哥的国有石油公司ONHYM已经为西撒哈拉的石油勘探和生产提供了许多许可证。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari是加沙地带的自由撰稿人,记者和讲师。 拉米为全球多家媒体提供英语服务,包括印刷,广播和电视。 他可以在Facebook上作为Rami Munir Almeghari和电子邮件联系 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

Support for Morocco’s Western Sahara Autonomy Proposal Reiterated at UNHRC

Gathering of Saharawi troops, near Tifariti (Western Sahara), celebrating the 32nd anniversary ot the Polisario Front.
Gathering of Saharawi troops, near Tifariti (Western Sahara), celebrating the 32nd anniversary of the Polisario Front. (Photo: Saharauiak)

The Saharan Arab Democratic Republic and Morocco have battled for sovereignty over Western Sahara since the 1970s.

At a Tuesday meeting of the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) in Geneva, support for Morocco’s Western Sahara Autonomy proposal, an initiative first proposed in 2006, was reiterated in a joint statement of Middle Eastern and African countries.

The proposal is Morocco’s hoped-for solution to the Western Sahara conflict and would grant autonomy to the region, though it would remain under Moroccan sovereignty and Morocco would control defense and foreign affairs.

Western Sahara Conflict

Map for the Morrocan territorial dispute

Map for the Morrocan territorial dispute

Western Sahara is a sparsely-populated area of mostly desert, situated on the northwest coast of Africa. It was a Spanish colony before it was annexed by Morocco in 1975. Since then, it has been a disputed territory, mostly situated on the northwest coast of Africa, between Morocco and its indigenous Sahrawi inhabitants, who are led by the Polisario Front. Both Polisario and Morocco have sought international recognition as sovereigns of the region. The Polisario are largely supported by Algeria while Morocco is backed by the U.S., Saudi Arabia and France.

The Polisario formed the Saharan Arab Democratic Republic (SADR) in 1976, which is now recognized by many governments and is a full member of the African Union. The Polisario rejected the Moroccan proposal and put forth their own proposal shortly after.

According to the BBC, a U.N.-negotiated truce was brokered in 1991 and promised a referendum on independence, but the vote has yet to occur. The truce also led to the creation of a buffer strip with landmines and fortifications that stretch the length of the disputed territory and separates the Moroccan-run western part from the Polisario Front-run eastern part of the disputed area.

In the statement delivered Tuesday to the UNHRC, “the group for the territorial integrity of Morocco” emphasized the significance of the Moroccan government proposal and pointed out that the United Nation’s Security Council had previously regarded the proposal as the only way out of the long-time territorial dispute.

The group supporting the Moroccan proposal includes Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, the Sultanate of Oman, Jordan, Comoros, Gabon, Burundi, Djibouti, Senegal, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Guinea.

Western Sahara is said to contain phosphate reserves, rich fishing waters and untapped offshore oil deposits.

According to Western Sahara Resource Watch, in January 2002, the UN Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs, Mr. Hans Corell, wrote to the Security Council that “if further exploration and exploitation activities were to proceed in disregard of the interests and wishes of the people of Western Sahara, they would be in violation of the principles of international law.”

Regardless, Morocco’s state oil company ONHYM has given numerous licenses for oil exploration and production in Western Sahara.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.