اكتب للبحث

الشرق الأوسط اتجاه الشرق الأوسط

البيت يحقق في اتفاق البيت الأبيض لمنح السعودية تكنولوجيا نووية

الرئيس دونالد ترامب يتحدث مع محمد بن سلمان بن عبد العزيز آل سعود ، نائب ولي عهد المملكة العربية السعودية ، خلال لقائهما الثلاثاء ، مارس 14 ، 2017 ، في المكتب البيضاوي للبيت الأبيض في واشنطن ، العاصمة (الصورة الرسمية للبيت الأبيض بواسطة شيلا كريجيد) )
الرئيس دونالد ترامب يتحدث مع محمد بن سلمان بن عبد العزيز آل سعود ، نائب ولي عهد المملكة العربية السعودية ، خلال لقائهما الثلاثاء ، مارس 14 ، 2017 ، في المكتب البيضاوي للبيت الأبيض في واشنطن ، العاصمة (الصورة الرسمية للبيت الأبيض بواسطة شيلا كريجيد) )

يبحث تحقيق جديد في مجلس النواب في محاولة إدارة ترامب نقل التكنولوجيا النووية الحساسة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية ، ربما في انتهاك للقانون الأمريكي.

وفقا ل repor صدر مؤخرااستعدادًا للنائب إيليا كامينغز ، رئيس لجنة الرقابة والإصلاح ، سارعت إدارة ترامب ببيع التكنولوجيا النووية الحساسة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية - وهو انتهاك محتمل للقانون الأمريكي ودون سلطة الكونغرس المطلوبة قانونًا.

يثير احتمال نقل التكنولوجيا النووية القلق من أن البيع قد يمكّن الرياض من صنع أسلحة نووية في المستقبل وقد يؤدي إلى سباق تسلح في الشرق الأوسط. الصفقة مثيرة للقلق أيضا لأنها ستنتهك قانون الطاقة الذرية (AEA).

وفقًا لتقرير مجلس النواب ، بموجب اتفاقية AEA ، "لا يجوز للولايات المتحدة نقل التكنولوجيا النووية إلى بلد أجنبي دون موافقة الكونغرس ، من أجل ضمان تلبية الاتفاقية التي تم التوصل إليها مع الحكومة الأجنبية لتسعة متطلبات محددة لمنع الانتشار النووي."

قبل إصدار التقرير ، أعرب أعضاء الكونغرس عن قلقهم بشأن استقرار الإدارة السعودية والعلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية في عهد ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان (MBS) منذ مقتل الكاتب السعودي جمال خاشقجي والحرب اليمنية.

ادعى التقرير أن العديد من المصالح التجارية الأمريكية الخاصة مع الكثير للاستفادة من عملية نقل دفعت البيت الأبيض لعقد الصفقة.

"داخل الولايات المتحدة ، كانت المصالح التجارية الخاصة القوية تضغط بقوة من أجل نقل التكنولوجيا النووية الحساسة للغاية إلى المملكة العربية السعودية - وهو خطر محتمل على الأمن القومي الأمريكي في غياب الضمانات الكافية. وقال تقرير مجلس النواب إن هذه الكيانات التجارية ستجني مليارات الدولارات من خلال العقود المرتبطة ببناء وتشغيل المنشآت النووية في المملكة العربية السعودية ، ويبدو أنها كانت على اتصال وثيق ومتكرر مع الرئيس ترامب وإدارته حتى يومنا هذا.

وقال تقرير الكونجرس إنه تمت كتابته استجابةً لعدد من المخبرين الذين تحدثوا عن جهود البيت الأبيض لدفع نقل التكنولوجيا النووية الحساسة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية.

"لقد حذر القائمون على الإبلاغ عن تضارب المصالح بين كبار مستشاري البيت الأبيض الذين يمكن أن يتورطوا في قوانين جنائية اتحادية" ، قالت الممثلة إيليا كامينغز ، رئيسة اللجنة الديمقراطية ، كتب في بريد إلكتروني إلى البيت الأبيض يوم الثلاثاء.

جادل بعض المسؤولين في إدارة ترامب بأنه إذا لم تبيع الولايات المتحدة تقنيتها النووية إلى المملكة العربية السعودية فإن الصين أو روسيا ستنتهزان الفرصة - مستنتجين أن الرياض يمكن أن تشكل شراكة استراتيجية مع أي من الدولتين ، وهو أمر لا تريد واشنطن حدوثه .

رداً على التقرير ، قالت لجنة مجلس النواب إنها ستوسع تحقيقها "لتحديد ما إذا كانت الإجراءات التي تتبعها إدارة ترامب تخدم مصالح الأمن القومي للولايات المتحدة أو ، بدلاً من ذلك ، تخدم أولئك الذين سيحققون مكاسب مالية".

مايكل فلين ، NSC يقود الصفقة السعودية

كما زعم التقرير أن الجهود المبذولة لمشاركة التكنولوجيا النووية مع المملكة العربية السعودية دفعها مايكل فلين ، مستشار الأمن القومي السابق في حكومة ترامب حتى استقالته من شركة 2017 في فبراير. وبحسب ما ورد يتابع مسؤول مجلس الأمن القومي المقرب من فلين والذي ما زال في البيت الأبيض الخطة.

احتوى تقرير اللجنة على تفاصيل محددة حول احتمال نقل التكنولوجيا النووية وتضمن العديد من الاتصالات عبر البريد الإلكتروني. وأظهرت رسائل البريد الإلكتروني كيف حذر مجلس الأمن القومي ومسؤولو الأخلاقيات مرارًا وتكرارًا من أن النقل قد ينتهك القوانين الفيدرالية المتعلقة بتضارب المصالح واللوائح المتعلقة بنقل التكنولوجيا النووية إلى دول أخرى.

يشبه تقرير اللجنة تقريبًا الملف الذي أصدرته ProPublica في 2017 ، والذي وصف بشكل صريح المخاوف المتعلقة بنقل التكنولوجيا النووية المسماة "خطة مارشال للشرق الأوسط".

إيران تصف بيع التكنولوجيا النووية لواشنطن بالسعي إلى "النفاق"

وبخ وزير الخارجية الإيراني محمد جواد ظريف واشنطن لكونها منافقة في ضوء التقرير والانسحاب الأمريكي من الصفقة الإيرانية.

"يصبح يومًا بعد يوم أكثر وضوحًا للعالم ما كان دائمًا واضحًا بالنسبة لنا: لا حقوق الإنسان ولا البرنامج النووي كان الشاغل الحقيقي للولايات المتحدة أولاً ، الصحفي الذي تم تقسيمه ؛ الآن بيع غير المشروع للتكنولوجيا النووية إلى المملكة العربية السعودية فضح تماما #USHypocrisy" ظاهر تغريد.

حذر عضو بارز في البرلمان الإيراني من أن خطة الولايات المتحدة لتسليم التكنولوجيا النووية إلى السعودية قد تكون كارثية على إسرائيل.

"إن مصير تاج الملكية والقنبلة النووية السعودية لا يمكن التنبؤ بها بالمثل. حشمت الله فلاحبيشة ، رئيس لجنة الأمن القومي والسياسة الخارجية الإيرانية ، سوف تمحو إسرائيل بالقنابل النووية السعودية. قال في تغريدة له.

تم تقييد برنامج إيران النووي بموجب صفقة 2015 الإيرانية ، التي تسمى رسميًا JCPOA ، لكن الولايات المتحدة انسحبت من الاتفاقية بموجب إدارة ترامب. تزعم طهران أن التكنولوجيا النووية للأغراض السلمية. ومع ذلك ، زعمت الولايات المتحدة أن إيران تستخدم فقط برامجها النووية المدنية كغطاء لبرنامج أسلحة نووية ، وهو ادعاء نفته إيران مرارًا وتكرارًا.

هل تمتلك السعودية تكنولوجيا نووية بالفعل؟

في مارس من العام الماضي ، قال ولي العهد السعودي MBS في مقابلة أن المملكة العربية السعودية مستعدة لتصنيع أسلحة نووية إذا فعلت إيران ذلك أولاً. وشبه الأمير الزعيم الإيراني الأعلى آية الله علي خامنئي بالزعيم النازي السابق أدولف هتلر.

يناير السابق، واشنطن بوست وذكر التقرير أن صور الأقمار الصناعية أظهرت أن المملكة العربية السعودية قد صنعت أول مصنع للصواريخ البالستية في قاعدة الوطية بالقرب من الرياض. غالبا ما يتم تصميم الصواريخ البالستية مع القدرة على حمل رؤوس حربية نووية.

اتفق العديد من خبراء الصواريخ الذين يدرسون الصور على أن الصور عالية الدقة يُزعم أنها أظهرت مرافق إنتاج واختبار الصواريخ.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الصور لا يمكن أن أقول ما إذا كانت المنشأة كاملة أو غير قادرة على صنع الصواريخ بعد. تم الكشف أولاً عن وجود قاعدة صاروخية استراتيجية في الوطح في منتصف 2013 بعد أن نشرت جين ويكلي ديفنس أقمارًا صورية لمنشأة عسكرية يزعم أنها تحتوي على صواريخ باليستية تم شراؤها من الصين.

كان الدعم العسكري الصيني للمملكة في ذلك الوقت مفاجئًا. باعت الصين طائرات بدون طيار مسلحة للسعودية ودول الشرق الأوسط الأخرى. كما باعت الصين بدائل متفاوتة من صاروخ دونغفنغ الباليستي إلى المملكة العربية السعودية ، وهو الصاروخ الوحيد الذي يعتقد سابقًا أنه موجود في ترسانة المملكة.

في 1990s ، بنت باكستان سرًا مصنعًا للصواريخ متوسطة المدى باستخدام مخططات ومعدات من الصين. قيل إن المصنع الباكستاني قد جذب انتباه كبار المسؤولين السعوديين. ومع ذلك ، فمن غير الواضح ما إذا كانت الصين أو باكستان متورطة في تطوير قاعدة الوطن.

على الرغم من كونها واحدة من أغنى دول النفط في العالم ، فمن المرجح أن المملكة العربية السعودية تدرك أنها لا تستطيع الاعتماد على النفط فقط إلى الأبد. تتمثل إحدى الطرق للحفاظ على إمدادات الذهب الأسود لتصدير أكثر ربحية في إضافة موارد طاقة بديلة ، وقد وضعت البلاد خططًا للقيام بذلك.

المملكة العربية السعودية هي تخطط لبناء محطات الطاقة النووية 16 في سنوات 25 القادمة. حصلت الدولة على عطاءات لأول مفاعلين من الصين وروسيا وفرنسا وكوريا الجنوبية والولايات المتحدة

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ياسمين رشيدي

ياسمين كاتبة وخريجة العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الوطنية بجاكرتا. وهي تغطي مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع لحقيقة المواطن ، بما في ذلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والصراعات الدولية وقضايا حرية الصحافة. عملت ياسمين في وكالة شينخوا الإندونيسية و GeoStrategist سابقًا. تكتب من جاكرتا ، اندونيسيا.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST TRENDING-MIDDLE EAST

House Investigating White House Deal to Give Saudi Arabia Nuclear Tech

President Donald Trump speaks with Mohammed bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, Deputy Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, during their meeting Tuesday, March 14, 2017, in the Oval Office of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)
President Donald Trump speaks with Mohammed bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, Deputy Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, during their meeting Tuesday, March 14, 2017, in the Oval Office of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)

A new House investigation is looking into the Trump administration’s push to transfer sensitive nuclear technology to Saudi Arabia, possibly in violation of U.S. law.

According to a recently released report prepared for Rep. Elijah E. Cummings, the Chairman of the Committee on Oversight and Reform, the Trump administration has rushed the sale of sensitive nuclear technology to Saudi Arabia – a potential violation of U.S. law and without the legally required congressional authority.

The potential transfer of nuclear technology sparks concern that the sale may enable Riyadh to create nuclear weapons in the future and could trigger an arms race in the Middle East. The deal is also alarming as it would violate the Atomic Energy Act (AEA).

According to the House report, under the AEA “the U.S. may not transfer nuclear technology to a foreign country without the approval of Congress, in order to ensure that the agreement reached with the foreign government meets nine specific nonproliferation requirements.”

Prior to the report’s release members of Congress had expressed worry about the stability of the Saudi administration and relations between the U.S. and Saudi Arabia under Saudi crown prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS) since the killing of Saudi columnist Jamal Khashoggi and the Yemen War.

The report claimed that several private U.S. commercial interests with much to benefit from a transfer were pushing the White House to make the deal.

“Within the United States, strong private commercial interests have been pressing aggressively for the transfer of highly sensitive nuclear technology to Saudi Arabia—a potential risk to U.S. national security absent adequate safeguards. These commercial entities stand to reap billions of dollars through contracts associated with constructing and operating nuclear facilities in Saudi Arabia—and apparently have been in close and repeated contact with President Trump and his Administration to the present day,” said the House report.

The congressional report said it was written in response to several whistleblowers who spoke up about the White House’s efforts to advance the transfer of sensitive nuclear technology to Saudi Arabia.

“The whistleblowers who came forward have warned of conflicts of interest among top White House advisers that could implicate federal criminal statutes,” Representative Elijah Cummings, the Democrat chairman of the committee, wrote in a letter to the White House on Tuesday.

Some of the officials in the Trump administration argued that if the U.S. does not sell its nuclear technology to Saudi Arabia either China or Russia would grab the opportunity – inferring that Riyadh could form a strategic partnership with either country, something Washington does not want to happen.

In response to the report, the House committee said it would expand its investigation “to determine whether the actions being pursued by the Trump administration are in the national security interests of the US or, rather, serve those who stand to gain financially”.

Michael Flynn, NSC Leading Saudi Deal

The report also claimed that the efforts to share nuclear technology with Saudi Arabia were pushed by Michael Flynn, the former national security adviser under Trump until his resignation in February of 2017. A National Security Council (NSC) official close to Flynn who is still at the White House is reportedly carrying on with the plan.

The Committee report contained specific details on the potential transfer of nuclear technology and included several email communications. The emails showed how the National Security Council (NSC) and other ethics officials had repeatedly warned that the transfer could violate the federal laws on Conflict of Interest and regulations on nuclear technology transfers to other countries.

The report from the Committee is almost similar to the file released by ProPublica in 2017, which explicitly described concerns over nuclear technology transfer called “Marshall Plan for the Middle East.”

Iran Calls Washington’s Nuclear Technology Sale to Saudi a ‘Hypocrisy’

Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif scolded Washington for being hypocritical in light of the report and U.S. withdrawal from the Iran deal.

“Day by day it becomes clearer to the world what was always clear to us: neither human rights nor a nuclear program have been the real concern of the U.S. First a dismembered journalist; now illicit sale of nuclear technology to Saudi Arabia fully expose #USHypocrisy,” Zarif tweeted.

An Iranian senior parliament member warning that the U.S.’ plan to hand over nuclear technology to Saudi Arabia could be disastrous for Israel.

“The fate of the monarchy’s crown and Saudi Arabia’s nuclear bomb are similarly unpredictable. Israel will be wiped out by Saudi nuclear bombs,” Heshmatollah Falahatpisheh, the chairman of Iran’s National Security and Foreign Policy Commission, said in his tweet.

Iran had its nuclear program restricted by the 2015 Iran deal, formally called the JCPOA, but the U.S. pulled out of the agreement under the Trump administration. Tehran claims its nuclear technology is for peaceful purposes. However, the U.S. has claimed Iran is only using its civilian nuclear programs as a cover for a nuclear weapons program, an allegation which Iran had repeatedly denied.

Does Saudi Arabia Have Nuclear Technology Already?

In March last year, Saudi crown prince MBS said in an interview that Saudi Arabia was ready to build nuclear weapons if Iran did it first. The prince also likened Iranian’s Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei to former Nazi leader Adolf Hitler.

Last January, The Washington Post report said that satellite images showed that Saudi Arabia had made its first ballistic missile factory at the al-Watah base near Riyadh. Ballistic missiles are often designed with the capability to carry nuclear warheads.

Several missile experts studying the images agreed that the high-resolution pictures allegedly showed the missile production and testing facilities.

However, the images could not tell whether the facility is complete or able yet to make missiles. The existence of a strategic missile base at al-Watah was first made publicly known in mid-2013 after Jane Weekly Defense published imagery satellites of a military facility which allegedly housed ballistic missiles bought from China.

China’s military support for the kingdom came at the time as no surprise. China has sold armed drones to Saudi Arabia and other Middle Eastern nations. China also sold variants of the Dongfeng ballistic missile to Saudi Arabia, the only missile previously believed to be in the kingdom’s arsenal.

In the 1990s, Pakistan secretly built a factory of intermediate-range missiles using blueprints and equipment from China. Pakistan’s factory has reportedly attracted attention from Saudi’s high ranked officials. However, it is unclear whether China or Pakistan was involved in developing the al-Watah base.

Despite being one of the richest oil countries in the world, Saudi Arabia likely realizes it cannot rely on only oil forever. One way to maintain the black gold supply for a more profitable export is to add alternative energy resources, and the country had made plans to do so.

Saudi Arabia is planning to build 16 nuclear power plants in the next 25 years.  The country has secured bids for the first two reactors from China, Russia, France, South Korea and the U.S.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.