输入搜索

国家

众议院探针启动特朗普针对庇护城市的提案

男子手持一个标语,上面写着“为生活在庇护城市感到骄傲”。 星期六,二月4,2017人类三月在费城举行,以表示对移民和难民的支持等等。
星期六,二月4,2017人类三月在费城举行,以表示对移民和难民的支持等等。 (照片:7beachbum)

“无法再合法持有的非法移民......将受到国土安全部的限制,将被送往庇护城市和州!”

众议院委员会主席 要求的文件 来自白宫和国土安全部的特朗普总统将被拘留的移民送往“庇护城市”的主张。特朗普总统激起了关于4月13将无证移民送往庇护城市的合法性的争议 鸣叫:

“刚刚出局:美国拥有将非法移民逮捕转移到避难所城市的绝对合法权利。 我们特此要求他们在最高层面得到照顾,特别是加利福尼亚州,这是众所周知的或管理不善和高税收!“

总统周一加强了他的提议, 啁啾,“不再合法持有的非法移民......将受到国土安全部的管辖,将被送往庇护城市和州!”

三个众议院委员会主席,Reps.Elijah Cummings,Bennie Thompson和Jerry Nadler发出一封信,质疑特朗普提案的合法性,并要求提供有关内部决策的文件,并说:“政府不仅缺乏以这种方式转移被拘留者的法定权力,令人震惊的是,总统和政府高级官员甚至考虑出于纯粹的政治原因而操纵释放决定。“

据报道,该计划于11月2018首次被ICE官员拒绝。

特朗普政府的非法移民中心

总统把移民的危险作为他的平台的核心,警告美国人,“他们带毒品,他们带来犯罪,他们是强奸犯”,并声称洪都拉斯的移民大篷车里有恐怖分子。

没有证据 表明移民或寻求庇护者犯下的罪行多于公民,国务院表示有 没有恐怖分子的证据 通过南部边境进入美国。 但如果特朗普总统认真地认为被拘留的移民对美国人民构成严重威胁,批评者质疑他决定在美国城市给予他们庇护。

该政策的支持者表示,移民希望留在他们欢迎的地方,但批评人士认为,这将激励更多的寻求庇护者来到美国,在某些城市保证避难。 移民也可以从他们的避难所城市迁移到美国的其他地区。 批评 他说这项政策与特朗普总统所谓的限制移民的目的相矛盾,纯属政治策略。

白宫副新闻秘书霍根吉德利 告诉NPR 民主党人应该将总统的提议视​​为一种善意的姿态,并说:“这不是政治上的报复。 如果有的话,你应该考虑在民主党那边做橄榄枝。“

庇护城市回应

尽管众议院民主党人反击,一些“庇护城市”市长也有 表达了开放性 总统的想法,并愿意接待移民。

马萨诸塞州剑桥市市长Marc McGovern说:“我很自豪剑桥是一座庇护所。 ......特朗普是一个试图恐吓和威胁人民的校园欺凌者。 我没有被吓倒,如果寻求庇护者找到通往剑桥的路,我们会欢迎他们。“

同样,费城市市长吉姆肯尼说:“这座城市将准备好欢迎这些移民,就像我们几十年来一直接纳我们的移民社区一样。”

然而,纽约市市长Bill de Blasio, 断然拒绝 该提议并表示他将在法庭上质疑总统:

“我很清楚地记得特朗普政府当天早些时候他说要削减我们的保安资金,因为我们没有要求提供文件资料,因为我们不会配合ICE所做的一切。 我们说我们会去法院阻止他,我们做到了。 所以这显然是非法的。 我们会阻止它。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

House Probe Launched Into Trump’s Proposal Targeting Sanctuary Cities

Man holds a sign that says "proud to live in a sanctuary city." On Saturday, February 4, 2017 the March for Humanity was held in Philadelphia to show support for immigration and refugees, among other things.
On Saturday, February 4, 2017 the March for Humanity was held in Philadelphia to show support for immigration and refugees, among other things. (photo: 7beachbum)

“Illegal Immigrants who can no longer be legally held…will be, subject to Homeland Security, given to Sanctuary Cities and States!”

House committee chairs have requested documents from the White House and Department of Homeland Security on President Trump’s proposition to send detained migrants to “sanctuary cities.” President Trump stirred up controversy regarding the legality of sending undocumented migrants to sanctuary cities in an April 13 tweet:

“Just out: The USA has the absolute legal right to have apprehended illegal immigrants transferred to Sanctuary Cities. We hereby demand that they be taken care of at the highest level, especially by the State of California, which is well known or its poor management & high taxes!”

The president reinforced his proposal on Monday, tweeting, “Illegal Immigrants who can no longer be legally held…will be, subject to Homeland Security, given to Sanctuary Cities and States!”

Three House committee chairmen, Reps. Elijah Cummings, Bennie Thompson, and Jerry Nadler, sent a letter challenging the legality of Trump’s proposal and requesting documents on internal decision-making, saying: “Not only does the Administration lack the legal authority to transfer detainees in this manner, it is shocking that the President and senior Administration officials are even considering manipulating release decisions for purely political reasons.”

The plan was reportedly first rejected by ICE officials in November 2018.

Illegal Immigration Central to Trump Administration

The president has made the dangers of migrants a centerpiece of his platform, warning Americans, “they’re bringing drugs, they’re bringing crime, they’re rapists,” and claiming the migrant caravan from Honduras contained terrorists.

No evidence shows migrants or asylum seekers commit more crimes than citizens, and the State Department has said there was no evidence of terrorists entering the United States through the southern border. But if President Trump earnestly feels detained migrants are a grave danger to the American people, critics question his decision to grant them asylum in U.S. cities.

Supporters of the policy say migrants would want to stay where they are welcome, but critics feel it would incentivize more asylum seekers to come to the U.S. with guaranteed refuge in certain cities. Migrants would also be able to move from their sanctuary cities to other areas of the United States. Critics say the policy would contradict President Trump’s alleged aims of restricting immigration and is purely a political maneuver.

White House deputy press secretary Hogan Gidley told NPR Democrats should view the president’s proposal as a gesture of goodwill, saying, “It’s not political retribution. If anything, you should consider it on the Democrat side to be an olive branch.”

Sanctuary Cities Respond

Despite the pushback from major House Democrats, some “sanctuary city” Mayors have expressed openness to the President’s idea and willing to receive the immigrants.

Mayor Marc McGovern of Cambridge, Massachusetts, said, “I am proud that Cambridge is a sanctuary city. … Trump is a schoolyard bully who tries to intimidate and threaten people. I’m not intimidated and if asylum seekers find their way to Cambridge, we’ll welcome them.”

Similarly, Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney, said, “The city would be prepared to welcome these immigrants just as we have embraced our immigrant communities for decades.”

New York City’s Mayor Bill de Blasio, however, categorically rejected the proposal and said he would challenge the president in court:

“I remember vividly the day early in the Trump administration when he said he was going to cut our security funding because we did not ask for documentation status, because we would not cooperate with everything ICE was doing. We said we would go to court to stop him and we did. So this is just patently illegal. We’ll stop it.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.