اكتب للبحث

AMERICAS

صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي على استعداد لمساعدة فنزويلا بمجرد تقرير من هو القائد

العضو المنتدب لصندوق النقد الدولي كريستين لاجارد.
العضو المنتدب لصندوق النقد الدولي كريستين لاجارد. (الصورة: الكرملين)

"سوف يشارك البنك الدولي بعمق ، ونحن نستعد لذلك ، لكن الوضع لا يزال مزعجًا على الأرض".

كلا المقرضين العالميين ، البنك الدولي (WB) وصندوق النقد الدولي (IMF) ، على استعداد لتقديم المساعدات لفنزويلا. ومع ذلك ، فإن أزمة القيادة في البلاد تثبت أنها العقبة الرئيسية أمام أي مساعدة.

تعاني فنزويلا حاليًا من أزمة اقتصادية حادة بسبب عوامل متعددة بما في ذلك الانخفاض الحاد في أسعار النفط العالمية وسوء إدارة قطاع النفط الفنزويلي والمحاولات الأجنبية المزعومة لزعزعة استقرار البلاد وفرض العقوبات من قبل الولايات المتحدة. توقع صندوق النقد الدولي أن التضخم الجامح في البلاد يمكن أن تصل إلى 10M٪ في المئة هذا العام والاقتصاد سينكمش 25٪ آخر.

تم إلقاء اللوم على حكومة نيكولاس مادورو الحالية لتدهور الوضع من خلال تطبيق سياسات اشتراكية باهظة الثمن ورثتها عن رئيسه السابق الراحل هوجو شافيز. رفض مادورو المساعدة المالية من صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي ، مضيفًا أن كلا من المقرضين متعددي الجنسيات لعبوا دورًا في وضع سياسات تقشفية أضرت أكثر مما تنفع البلدان التي تتلقى عمليات إنقاذ.

أثار فوز مادورو في انتخابات العام الماضي الغضب ، واتهمت أحزاب المعارضة مادورو باستخدام التخويف للفوز في الانتخابات. ومع ذلك ، مجموعة من المراقبين الدوليين الذين حضروا خلال الانتخابات الفنزويلية قال لقد أجريت الانتخابات بنزاهة ودون تحيز.

في حين أن الكثيرين في فنزويلا ما زالوا موالين لمادورو ، فقد أثارت الأزمة في فنزويلا أيضًا احتجاجات ضد قيادة مادورو وأدت إلى إعلان زعيم المعارضة خوان غايدو نفسه رئيسًا مؤقتًا للبلاد.

رفضت الولايات المتحدة وحلفاؤها الغربيون الاعتراف بمادورو كزعيم لفنزويلا ، وبدلاً من ذلك دعموا خوان غايدو. روسيا وإيران والصين تدعم مادورو.

يزعم أنصار مادورو أن غايدو هو دمية محاولة لتغيير النظام المدعوم من الولايات المتحدة في فنزويلا و أشر إلى روابط Guaido إلى الولايات المتحدة - واحد فقط من بين كل خمسة فنزويليين سمعوا عن غويدو قبل أن يعلن نفسه رئيسًا مؤقتًا.

تسببت الأزمة في انقطاع التيار الكهربائي ونقص الغذاء وأزمة المياه وأجبرت الملايين من الفنزويليين على البحث عن حياة أفضل في البلدان المجاورة مثل كولومبيا ، أكثر من 3 مليون فنزويلي غادروا البلاد منذ 2015.

كل من صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي على استعداد للمساعدة

لم تقرر كلتا المؤسستين الماليتين العالميتين ما إذا كانت ستدعم مادورو أو غايدو المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة. وقال ديفيد مالباس ، رئيس مجموعة البنك الدولي المنتخب حديثًا ، إن مصرفه سيشارك بعمق ويتابع آخر الأوضاع في فنزويلا ، مضيفًا أن أصحاب المصالح الرئيسيين للمقرض لهم الحق في الاعتراف إما بمدورو أو غايدو.

"سوف يشارك البنك الدولي بعمق ، ونحن نستعد لذلك ، لكن الوضع لا يزال مزعجًا على الأرض" وذكر Malpass.

تتمتع الولايات المتحدة بأكبر قدر من القوة في أي بلد في صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي حيث تحصل على 16٪ من الأصوات. في مارس / آذار ، اعترف دائن دولي آخر ، هو بنك التنمية للبلدان الأمريكية ، بتعيين ريكاردو هاوسمان ، الذي عينه غايدو ، ممثلاً لفنزويلا.

العضو المنتدب لصندوق النقد الدولي كريستين لاغارد وقال في مؤتمر صحفي أن صندوق النقد الدولي قد قام "بالكثير من الأعمال التحضيرية قدر الإمكان ، بالاعتماد على المعلومات الموجودة هناك ، من أجل أن نكون مستعدين للعمل بأسرع ما يمكن".

وأضاف لاغارد أنه بالنظر إلى حجم الأزمة الفنزويلية ، فإن الاستجابة ستتطلب "بذل جهد متعدد المهام ومتعدد الجوانب من جانب الكثيرين".

وفي الوقت نفسه ، تحاول الولايات المتحدة إرسال حزمة مالية خاصة بها إلى الدولة التي كانت غنية بالنفط في السابق ، لكن لدى الولايات المتحدة شرط مسبق واحد: لن يتم إرسال المساعدات إلا إذا شكلت فنزويلا حكومة جديدة.

وقال وزير الخزانة ستيفن منوشين: "سنعمل على محاولة تجميع كونسورتيوم من حوالي 10 مليار دولار من التمويل التجاري الذي سيكون متاحًا للحكومة الجديدة لإطلاق التجارة". قال.

حلول صندوق النقد الدولي في أمريكا اللاتينية ليست فعالة في الغالب

يعود تاريخ مشاركة صندوق النقد الدولي في أمريكا اللاتينية إلى 1980s وما يُعرف باسم "العقد الضائع". وينبثق اللقب عن الأزمات الاقتصادية الحادة التي عصفت بأمريكا اللاتينية خلال فترة 80 ، وهي الأسوأ منذ الكساد العظيم. تم الضغط على دول أمريكا اللاتينية لتجنب التقصير واعتماد برنامج الاقتصاد الكلي للمقرض.

لكن نفوذ صندوق النقد الدولي انتقد لأنه غير فعال. كما كتب الاقتصادي مارك ويسبروت في ورقته قد يكون النمو مفيدًا للفقراء - ولكن هل سياسات صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي مفيدة للنمو ؟، لم تحقق معظم دول أمريكا اللاتينية سوى القليل من النمو بعد أن وضع صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي سياسة التكيف الهيكلي في 1980s.

في أمريكا اللاتينية ، على سبيل المثال ، نما نصيب الفرد من إجمالي الناتج المحلي بنسبة 75٪ من 1960-1980 ، بينما ارتفع من 1980-1998 بنسبة 6٪ فقط. في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى ، نما نصيب الفرد من إجمالي الناتج المحلي بنسبة 36 في الفترة الأولى ، بينما انخفض منذ ذلك الحين بنسبة 15 في المئة.

"باختصار ، لا توجد منطقة في العالم يمكن أن يشير إليها البنك أو الصندوق على أنها نجحت من خلال تبني السياسات التي يروج لها - أو في كثير من الحالات ، تفرضها على البلدان المقترضة."

غالبًا ما يعتبر صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي "أدوات حرب مالية" تنفذها واشنطن لإجبار الدول على تبني سياسات مواتية للولايات المتحدة

يشرح دليل عسكري أمريكي تم تسريبه بواسطة ويكيليكس كيف أن "بعضًا من أفضل الأسلحة لا تطلق النار" ، كما يشير الدليل الذي تم تسريبه في إشارة إلى كيفية اعتماد الولايات المتحدة على المؤسسات المالية مثل صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي للعمل كأسلحة "غير تقليدية".

قسم واحد على وجه الخصوص في وثيقة صفحة 248 بعنوان "الأداة المالية للقوة الوطنية الأمريكية والحرب غير التقليدية". وهي تصف كيف تمارس حكومة الولايات المتحدة قوتها المالية وتأثيرها باستخدام ليس فقط البنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي ولكن أيضًا البنك الدولي التسويات ومنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية كأدوات لإنجاز مهمتها من خلال القروض والمنح وغيرها من الدعم المالي.

هل ستتحول فنزويلا إلى قرض صندوق النقد الدولي؟

إذا حدث تغيير في النظام في كاراكاس وتولى جايدو السلطة ، فمن المرجح أن تسعى البلاد للحصول على دعم مالي من صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي ، كما كتب الكاتب البارز كينيث رابوزا لصالح مجلة فوربس في العاشر من فبراير.

لكن الشيء هو المساعدات المالية. سيأتي ذلك من صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي ، والذي سيتطلب إصلاحات هيكلية ضخمة ، بما في ذلك عودة الاستثمارات الأجنبية والشركات الأجنبية إلى سوق النفط الفنزويلي ". كتب Rapoza.

إذا تمسك مادورو بالسلطة ، فمن المرجح أن يبحث عن مصادر بديلة للمساعدات بما في ذلك الصين وروسيا وإيران.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ياسمين رشيدي

ياسمين كاتبة وخريجة العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الوطنية بجاكرتا. وهي تغطي مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع لحقيقة المواطن ، بما في ذلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والصراعات الدولية وقضايا حرية الصحافة. عملت ياسمين في وكالة شينخوا الإندونيسية و GeoStrategist سابقًا. تكتب من جاكرتا ، اندونيسيا.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. كورت أبريل 16

    مرة أخرى نرى الأموال المستخدمة كسلاح ضد الإنسانية.
    مرة أخرى أقول إن كانت البشرية تريد دائرة الحرب ، الفقر. يجب القضاء على الجوع والإبادة الجماعية لإنهاء النقود والبنوك إلى الأبد ، ويجب تأميم كل شيء.
    مفهوم الثروة هو شكل من أشكال الجنون.
    لا أحد يحتاج إلى كل شيء. بما فيه الكفاية هي مجموعة العقل السليم.
    سيكون العالم مكانًا أكثر هدوءًا إلى حد بعيد بدون الرأسمالية. لن يكون لدى القلة أي سلطة بدون أموال.
    المال ليس ضروريا في حضارة حقيقية
    لأن الحضارة هي مجموعة من الناس يجتمعون من أجل تحسين الجميع.
    نحن جميعا نعمل للحفاظ على هذه الحضارة من الانهيار. حضارة بلا رأس مال
    سيتم تمويله من قبل عمالنا. لأنه لا يوجد أحد في ذلك للحصول على زوايا قطع الغنية ، وتدمير بيئتنا لخط القاع أكبر لن يكون من الضروري.
    يمكن أن نكون صديقين للبيئة ولدينا نمط حياة أفضل للإقلاع.
    تخيل عالما يمكنك القيام فيه بكل ما تحتاج إليه من خلال القيام بعملك. لا أحد سيحصل على شهر كبير ولا أموال كافية. لأن المال لن يكون مطلوبا.
    ستكون الكلية متوقفة فقط على درجاتك. لن يكون هناك شيء اسمه طالب القرض.
    والأفضل من ذلك كله أننا لم يكن لدينا مصرفيون جشعون للاستثمار يرشون سياسيينا
    لبدء الحروب حتى يتمكنوا من سرقة لنا من خلال ميزانية الدفاع لدينا.
    لمرة واحدة في تاريخ هذا الكوكب الإنسانية يمكن أن تسعى لمزيد من التفاهم بدلا من القتال من أجل البقاء.
    الشيء الوحيد الذي يقف بين امتلاك الإنسانية لـ UTOPIA وعدم الاضطرار إلى ضرب بعضها البعض حتى يتمكن المصرفيون الاستثماريون من الحصول على خلاصة أكبر هي رأس المال والبنوك والمال. لكن هذا لن يحدث إذا كان كل ما نفعله هو الحلم به.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AMERICAS

IMF, World Bank Ready to Aid Venezuela Once They Decide Who’s the Leader

Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund Christine Lagarde.
Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund Christine Lagarde. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

“The World Bank will be deeply involved, and we are preparing for that, but the situation is still troublesome on the ground.”

Both global lenders, the World Bank (WB) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF), are ready to deliver aid to Venezuela. However, the country’s leadership crisis is proving to be the main obstacle to any aid.

Venezuela is currently enduring a severe economic crisis due to multiple factors including a drastic drop in global oil prices, mismanagement of Venezuela’s oil sector, alleged foreign attempts to destabilize the country and the imposition of sanctions by the U.S. The IMF predicted that the country’s hyperinflation could reach 10M% percent this year and the economy would shrink another 25%.

The incumbent Nicolas Maduro government has been blamed for worsening the situation by implementing costly socialist policies inherited from his late former boss Hugo Chavez. Maduro has rejected financial assistance from the IMF and the WB, adding that both multinational lenders have played a role in setting austerity policies that did more harm than good to countries receiving bailouts.

Maduro’s victory in last year’s election sparked anger, and opposition parties accused Maduro of using intimidation to win the election. However, a group of international observers present during the Venezuelan election said the election was conducted fairly and without bias.

While many in Venezuela remain loyal to Maduro, the crisis in Venezuela has also sparked protests against Maduro’s leadership and led to opposition leader Juan Guaido declaring himself the country’s interim president.

The U.S. and its Western allies have refused to recognize Maduro as Venezuela’s leader and instead back Juan Guaido. Russia, Iran and China back Maduro.

Maduro’s supporters claim Guaido is a puppet of an attempted U.S. backed regime change in Venezuela and point to Guaido’s ties to the U.S. – only one in five Venezuelans had ever heard of Guaido before he declared himself interim President.

The crisis has caused a blackout, a food shortage and a water crisis and forced millions of Venezuelans to seek a better life in neighboring countries such as Colombia, more than 3 million Venezuelans have left the country since 2015.

Both the IMF and the WB Ready to Aid

Both global financial institutions have yet to decide whether to back Maduro or the U.S.-supported Guaido. Newly elected World Bank Group President David Malpass said his bank would be deeply involved and follow the latest situations in Venezuela, adding that the lender’s top stakeholders have the right to recognize either Maduro or Guaido.

“The World Bank will be deeply involved, and we are preparing for that, but the situation is still troublesome on the ground,” Malpass stated.

The U.S. has the most power of any single country at the IMF and WB as it holds 16% of the vote. In March another international creditor, the Inter-America Development Bank, recognized Guaido-appointed Ricardo Hausmann as Venezuela’s representative.

IMF Managing Director Christine Lagarde said at a press conference that the IMF has done “as much preparatory work as we could, drawing on information that is out there, in order to be prepared to act as quickly as we can.”

Lagarde added that given the magnitude of the Venezuelan crisis, the response will require “a multi-task and multi-pronged effort on the part of many.”

Meanwhile, the U.S. is trying to send their own financial package to the once oil-rich nation, but the U.S. has one pre-condition: the aid will be sent only if Venezuela sets up a new government.

“We’re going to be working on trying to put together a consortium of about USD 10 billion of trade finance that would be available for the new government to spark trade,” Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said.

IMF Solutions in Latin America Are Often Not Effective

The history of IMF involvement in Latin America traces back to the 1980s and what is known as “the lost decade.” The moniker stems from the severe economic crises that plagued Latin America during the 80s, the worst since the Great Depression. Latin American nations were pressured to avoid default and adopt the lender’s macro-economic program.

But the IMF’s influence was criticized as being ineffective. As economist Mark Weisbrot wrote in his paper Growth May Be Good for the Poor– But are IMF and World Bank Policies Good for Growth?, most Latin American nations’ had little to zero growth after the IMF and WB instituted their structural adjustment policy in the 1980s.

“In Latin America, for example, GDP per capita grew by 75% from 1960-1980, whereas from 1980-1998 it has only risen 6%. For sub-Saharan Africa, GDP per capita grew by 36 percent in the first period, while it has since fallen by 15 percent,” Weisbrot wrote.

“In short, there is no region of the world that the Bank or Fund can point to as having succeeded through adopting the policies that they promote– or in many cases, impose on borrowing countries.”

The IMF and the WB are often considered Washington “instruments of financial warfare” implemented to force countries to adopt policies favorable to the U.S.

A U.S. military guidebook leaked by WikiLeaks detailed how “some of the best weapons do not shoot,” as the leaked guidebook states in reference to how the U.S. relies on financial institutions such as the IMF and WB to act as “unconventional” weapons.

One section in particular in the 248-page document is titled “Financial Instrument of U.S. National Power and Unconventional Warfare.” It describes how the U.S. government exerts its financial power and influence by using not only the WB and IMF but also the Bank for International Settlements and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development as tools to accomplish its mission through loans, grants and other financial support.

Will Venezuela Turn to the IMF Loan?

Should the regime change happen in Caracas and Guaido takes over, the country will likely seek financial support from the IMF and the WB, as senior writer Kenneth Rapoza wrote for Forbes on Feb. 8.

“But the thing is financial aid. That will come from the International Monetary Fund and World Bank, which will require massive structural reforms, including a return of foreign investment and foreign companies into the Venezuelan oil market,” Rapoza wrote.

If Maduro holds onto power, he will likely look to alternative sources for aid including China, Russia and Iran.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Kurt April 16, 2019

    Once again we see money used as a weapon against humanity.
    Once again I say if humanity wants the cycle of war, poverty. Starvation and GENOCIDE to end money and banks must be forever done away with, and everything must be nationalized.
    The concept of wealth is a form of insanity.
    No one needs it all. Enough is the proper mind set.
    The world will be a more peaceful place by far without CAPITALISM. The Oligarchs will have no power with out money.
    Money is not necessary in a true civilization
    because a civilization is a group of people coming together for the betterment of all.
    We all labor to keep this civilization from crumbling. A civilization without CAPITALISM
    would be funded by our labors. Because no one is in it to get rich cutting corners, and destruction of our environment for a bigger bottom line would not be necessary.
    We could be environment friendly and have a better lifestyle to boot.
    Imagine a world where by doing your job, what ever it is, you could have all you ever need. No one would ever have too much month, and not enough money. Because money would not be required.
    College would only be contingent on your grades. There would be no such thing as student loand.
    Best of all we wouldn’t have greedy investment bankers bribing our politicians
    to start wars so they can robb us through our defence budget.
    For once in the history of this planet humanity could strive for more understanding instead of fighting to survive.
    The only thing that stands between humanity having a UTOPIA and never having to koll each other so the investment bankers can have a bigger bottom line is CAPITALISM, banks and money. But it won’t happen if all we do is dream about it.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.