输入搜索

公司文化 精选

“学校选择”运动如何在种族主义中扎根

美国教育部长Betsy DeVos在马里兰州国家港口举行的2018保守政治行动大会(CPAC)上发表讲话。
美国教育部长Betsy DeVos在马里兰州国家港口举行的2018保守政治行动大会(CPAC)上发表讲话。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“我们在教育方面对贫困儿童进行了实验,这些儿童是有色人种的,他们去的是资金不足的学校。 我们想出了一些教学方法,这些方法都是实验,并且在研究方面绝对没有任何基础。“

特许学校和“学校选择”运动近年来已成为美国教育体系结构的重要组成部分,但这些机构和这种教育意识形态的起源是什么?

在美国,大约有3百万学生就读于7,000特许学校 全国各地而且,由于美国目前普遍的政治和经济趋势,这个数字似乎很可能会继续增长。

教育与特朗普政府

在他的2016活动中, 唐纳德特朗普承诺 如果当选,他将成为“全国最大的学校选择啦啦队长”,并且已经在这方面做出了许多大胆的举动,包括任命学校选择倡导者Betsy DeVos为他的教育部长。 五月2017, DeVos被引用 他说,特朗普政府的目标是制定“我们国家历史上最雄心勃勃的教育选择扩展”。

DeVos一直是“学校选择”运动中最具声望的支持者之一,推动了有关该主题的各种立法,包括最近的联邦税收抵免,这将提供5十亿美元的联邦资金来资助私立学校的奖学金。 该计划遭到了保守派和自由派的反对,他们将其视为一种不同名称的代金券计划,以及从公共学校中榨取公共资金的方法。

特许学校的成长

芝加哥教师联盟成员和盟军纠察队芝加哥公立学校总部以外芝加哥市中心伊利诺伊州9-26-18

芝加哥教师联盟成员和盟军纠察队芝加哥公立学校总部以外芝加哥市中心伊利诺伊州9-26-18。 (照片:Charles Edward Miller)

全国许多城市已经开始支持特许学校而不是传统的公立学校,而且特许学校入学率高的大多数城市都是财政紧张的地区,这些地区正处理经济动荡和公共教育体系断裂的问题。

关于特许学校的重要事实 出版物,在弗林特,55学区的学生百分比都在特许学校就读,而在底特律,53的学生百分比在特许机构接受教育。 新奥尔良的特许学校学生人数最多,达到了极高的93%。

那么,特许学校的好处是什么? Shaelyn Macedonio在全国公立特许学校联盟管理媒体关系的人士告诉公民真理,“特许学校通过提供当地高质量的公立学校选择,为家长提供更多的公立学校选择。 每个特许学校都有一个独特的章程,可以培养特定的学校文化,课程或重点,可以更好地满足孩子的需求,而不是当地的区域学校。“

然而,导致特许学校创建的“学校选择”运动的起源有些令人不安,许多专家担心基于特许学校和学券的教育模式对美国学生不利。

学券的种族主义根源,基准和“学校选择”

南部各州的特许学校和学校选择计划比该国其他任何地区都多,这一事实源于该地区过去在歧视和种族隔离方面的斗争。 虽然在公立学校从1954到1965进行了废除种族隔离,但南方各州通过了数百项法律,试图保持隔离做法,即使联邦法律正式禁止将这些做法编入法律。 许多法律都是基于将公共资金转用于私立学校的原则,这些私立学校仍然是隔离的。

法律如阿拉巴马州 学生安置法案 为决定哪些公立学校的学生提供了严格的标准。 标准化测试 用于测试学生的智力和知识水平,并考虑学生的家庭生活和社区等因素。 这是开始使用基准标准,如标准化测试,将某些学生降级到更差的学校和分区学区,以剥夺低收入社区的公民权。

在1954,由于由州参议员William M. Rainach领导的Rainach委员会的建议,路易斯安那州通过了全面的代金券立法。 这项立法启动了一项优惠券计划,白人学生可以使用该计划参加隔离的私立学校,同时也让希望保持隔离的公立学校选择 重建自己 作为“私立教育合作社”。

截至4月1956,差不多两年后 布朗诉教育。董事会 决定,北卡罗来纳州的Pearsall委员会 宣布了它的意图 “保持一个隔离的学校系统”,并试图找到聪明的方法来做到这一点,而不违反新的联邦法规。

Pearsall委员会的报告包括诸如此类的语言 要求 最高法院的裁决 布朗诉教育。董事会 无法阻止学区根据“自然种族偏好和对孩子最有利的行政决定”来安排学生。它还声称法院的决定在法律上不能要求“混合种族”。

在弗吉尼亚州,支持种族隔离灰委员会的报告 经常提到 关于学校安置的“选择自由”。 这开始了今天通过“学校选择”运动继续发展的轨迹。

在1963的1月份,南卡罗来纳州州长唐纳德拉塞尔公布了该州新的优惠券计划。 他声称 这将促进私立和公立学校之间的竞争,从而“刺激公共教育的进步。”这种说法在Betsy DeVos这样的学校选择倡导者的论点中得到了回应。

联邦法院承认这些伎俩是为了保持事实上的隔离措施,但由于1960中期,大多数州代金券计划都被裁定为违宪。 尽管有代金券计划和学校选择运动的种族主义历史,但许多保守的教育改革者声称,这些变化实际上将改善少数民族学生的教育机会。

“学校选择”和代金券计划的另一个早期倡导者是芝加哥大学经济学家米尔顿弗里德曼,因其极端的自由主义经济原则以及对智利凶残皮诺切特独裁统治的支持而臭名昭着。 他对代金券计划和私营营利性教育机构的信仰源于他的一个观点,这个观点经常受到现代保守派政治家的嘲讽,认为“竞争性私营企业在满足消费者需求方面可能比国有化更有效率企业“。

俄克拉荷马州的问题

俄克拉荷马州有大量的特许学校,因此,由于这些教育机构的不足,正面临同样大的问题。 俄克拉荷马州最大的包机组织之一是Epic Charter Schools,这是一个目前在线学习的利维坦 在调查中 由俄克拉荷马州调查局和联邦执法机关负责。

曾在Epic伞下学校工作过的老师 声称 为了鼓励退出表现不佳的学生,使用迟到的学生注册和采用其他策略来操纵测试结果并加强学校的地位,“教师奖金像胡萝卜一样悬挂”。 Epic Charter Schools的前任教师起诉该公司,声称他们因反对这些做法而遭到解雇。

Epic Charter Schools的情况凸显了围绕特许学校,在线学校和其他替代教育机构的模糊和复杂的规定。 继Epic之后 标准政策如果在九周内完成少于31的在线作业,则可以自动撤销在线学生。

公立学校受到更多监管,并有更严格的学生退学和开除程序。 但是目前的俄克拉荷马州法律允许虚拟或在线学校在记录出勤方面有很大的余地,这使得这些机构能够利用不同的策略来使这些统计数据符合他们的目标。

由于Epic的政策以学生完成的作业数量为中心,教师被指示超载学生不要通过额外作业通过州标准化考试,以使他们无法跟上课程负荷。

Angie Wren,Epic Charter Schools的前任教师, 告诉俄克拉荷马观察,“我的校长会指示我提供额外的补救任务和强制性的在线家庭作业 - 帮助会议,使孩子们几乎不可能跟上。 当学生无法跟上指定的额外事情时,我的校长开始向我施加压力,迫使他退学。

亿万富翁资助特许学校课程

比尔和梅琳达盖茨在6月2009访问奥斯陆歌剧院期间。

比尔和梅琳达盖茨在6月2009访问奥斯陆歌剧院期间。 比尔和梅林达盖茨基金会是全国特许学校的最大捐助者和支持者之一。 (照片:Kjetil Ree)

Noliwe Rooks博士是康奈尔大学美国和非洲研究教授,他撰写了大量关于教育不平等的文章,最近在她的书中 削减学校:私有化,隔离和公共教育的终结。 她开始想知道为什么这么多亿万富翁有兴趣为美国贫困和农村社区的特许学校和其他类似项目提供资金,并开发了一种她称之为“隔离学”的理论。

这个概念是基于这样一个事实,即教育中的许多“创新”,例如特许学校和在线教室,从未真正经过精确测试以确定其功效。 鲁克斯 解释,“我们已经在教育方面对贫困儿童进行了实验,这些儿童是有色人种的,他们去的是资金不足的学校。 我们想出了一些教学方法,这些方法都是实验,并且在研究方面绝对没有任何基础。“

然而,当人们记得推动特许学校扩张的所有亿万富翁以及这些公司通过这些实验所赚取的巨额资金时,情况似乎更加险恶。 作为鲁克斯 指出“对于少数公司来说,资金不足和实验实际上是非常有利可图的,这些公司每年赚取数亿美元从未受教育和实验中获利。”

DeVos在去年夏天的一次演讲中告诉听众,“我在30学习期间的教育工作主要围绕投入外部的时间”, 华盛顿邮报。 “教育部门以外。 在系统外面。 华盛顿外面。 我认为这是件好事。 不是吗?“

这是一些政治家推动缺乏经验和知识作为积极因素的大趋势的一部分,但也突出了教育中使用贫困,贫困学生作为豚鼠的实验。

学券计划和特许学校免除公共教育

特许学校通常是营利性机构,几乎没有法规和监督。 总部位于马萨诸塞州的公立教育倡导组织公民学校公民执行主任丽莎·吉斯邦德说 公民真相 特许学校如何威胁公共教育。

“由于特许学校需要公共资金,但由私人董事会管理,他们违反了我们的公共教育目标:公共资金,民主责任,包容性学校,以及维持充足和公平的资金。 由于缺乏对州和地方资源的投资,公立学校已经受到挤压。 特许学校通过转移现有公立学校的公共资金来改善这种情况。“

特许学校和其他教育方式被吹捧为父母和学生更多的自由和选择,往往对这些课程实施的公立学区产生破坏性影响。

调查人员在调查加利福尼亚州West Contra公立学区的监督组织In the Public Interest完成的一项研究中发现 学区每年损失1000万新西兰元 由于资金被转用于资助在学区范围内运营的特许学校。 由于这种惊人的财政支持损失,学校被迫减少在辅导服务和ESL教师等重要课程上的支出。

当被问及如何解决问题时,Guisbond告诉Citizen Truth,充足的资金至关重要。

“拥有充足和公平资源的美国公立学校往往在教育学生方面做得很好,所以工作一是确保我们在联邦,州和地方层面投入足够的资源,让学校完成工作。 我们需要解决影响我们这么多学生和社区的重新隔离和种族隔离问题。 我们需要投资我们的潜在和现有教师,这样他们才能负担得起他们所需的培训并得到足够的补偿,这样他们就不需要工作两到三个工作就可以了,“Guisbond说。

美国的教育历史因隔离,不平等和缺乏机会而受到扭曲和破坏。 儿童在美国接受教育的方式将继续发生巨大变化,如果目前的趋势普遍存在,公共教育机构的核心将受到威胁。


*编者注:本文发表后,我们收到了国家公共宪章学校联盟编辑的一封信. 我们在下面列出了他们的回复:

给编辑的信

Bacha最近的作品,“学校选择运动如何在种族主义中扎根“,对学校选择的起源做出宣言,这不能说明真相。 建立特许学校是为公立学校学生服务的 - 特别是那些几代人一直被公立学校系统性失败的学生。 这些学生大多数是低收入学生和有色人种学生。 根据法律,所有的特许学校都是公立学校,所以说他们从公立学校转移公共资金实际上是不正确的。 任何负责任的成年人都会同意,无论学校类型如何,公共教育都没有失败或不透明的学校。 特许学校由其授权人,董事会和家长遵守高度问责制标准,并且他们正在为孩子们取得学业成功。 根据2015 研究 在斯坦福大学的CREDO,在城市特许学校,低收入的西班牙裔学生每年在数学和48额外几天的阅读中获得25额外的天数。 此外,低收入黑人学生每年在数学和59额外几天的阅读中获得44额外的天数。 在美国的许多地方,特许学校是一个高质量的公立学校解决方案,适用于学校需求仍未得到满足的家庭。 特许学校授权黑人和西班牙裔家庭为其子女提供优质教育,无论其邮政编码如何。 任何想要阻碍这种现实的人都与我们的家庭想要的东西脱节。

艾米威尔金斯 是全国公立宪章学校联盟的倡导高级副总裁。 在加入国家联盟之前,艾米在教育信托基金会工作了近20年。 艾米是民权领袖的女儿,也是另一个人的侄女。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

3评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 21, 2019

    世界上“多元文化主义”究竟在哪里发挥作用?

    回复
  2. 罗伯特扎科尼 July 26, 2019

    我们再次将不平等的武器伸向最需要帮助的人。 作为美国人,我们忘记了美国的原罪是种族主义。 它在我们的文化和生活中根深蒂固。 但是当存在反对意见的时候,我们会看到有罪恶和否认人员尖叫🙀犯规。 作为一个国家,我们需要为我们的不端行为和公然缺乏尊重而忏悔和忏悔,并将所有人纳入我们的社会。 没有投入金钱的秘密行动,教育穷人的真正原因。

    回复
  3. Eshal Fatima 八月19,2019

    很好!

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE FEATURED

How the ‘School Choice’ Movement Has its Roots in Racism

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos speaking at the 2018 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland.
U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos speaking at the 2018 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“We have experimented educationally on children who are poor, who are of color, who go to underfunded schools. We come up with ways of teaching them that are experiments and have absolutely no kind of basis in research.”

Charter schools and the “school choice” movement have become a major part of the fabric of the American education system in recent years, but what are the origins of these institutions and this educational ideology?

In America, there are about 3 million students attending more than 7,000 charter schools around the country, and with the current prevailing political and economic tendencies in the United States, it seems highly likely that this number is only going to continue to grow.

Education and the Trump Administration

During his 2016 campaign, Donald Trump promised that if elected, he would be the “nation’s biggest cheerleader for school choice,” and has already made many bold moves on this front, including appointing school choice advocate Betsy DeVos as his Secretary of Education. In May 2017, DeVos was quoted as saying that the goal of Trump’s administration is to enact “the most ambitious expansion of education choice in our nation’s history.”

DeVos has been one of the most vocal champions of the “school choice” movement, pushing all sorts of legislation on the topic, including most recently a federal tax credit that would provide 5 billion dollars in federal money to fund private school scholarships. The plan has faced opposition from both conservatives and liberals who see it as a voucher program by a different name and a way to siphon public funds away from struggling public schools.

Growth of Charter Schools

Chicago Teachers Union Members and Allies Picket Outside Chicago Public Schools Headquarters Downtown Chicago Illinois 9-26-18

Chicago Teachers Union Members and Allies Picket Outside Chicago Public Schools Headquarters Downtown Chicago Illinois 9-26-18. (Photo: Charles Edward Miller)

Many cities around the country have begun to favor charter schools over traditional public schools, and most of the cities with high rates of enrollment in charter schools are financially strapped areas that are dealing with economic turmoil and a fractured public education system.

According to the Key Facts About Charter Schools publication, in Flint, 55 percent of students in the district attend charter schools, and in Detroit, 53 percent of students are educated at charter institutions. New Orleans has the highest number of students enrolled in charter schools, at a whopping 93 percent.

So, what are the benefits of charter schools? Shaelyn Macedonio, who manages media relations at the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools, told Citizen Truth that “Charter schools give parents more public-school choices by providing a local high-quality public-school option. Each charter school has a unique charter that can foster a specific school culture, curriculum or focus that may better meet a child’s needs than their local zoned district school.”

However, the origins of the “school choice” movement that led to the creation of charter schools are somewhat troubling, and many experts are concerned that an educational model based on charter schools and vouchers is not good for American students.

The Racist Roots of School Vouchers, Benchmarking and ‘School Choice’

The southern states have more charter schools and school choice programs than any other region of the country, a fact which stems from the area’s past struggles with discrimination and segregation. While desegregation was occurring in public schools from 1954 to 1965, hundreds of laws were passed by southern states in an attempt to keep the practices of segregation in place, even if federal law officially prohibited that these practices be codified in laws. Many of the laws were based around the principle of diverting public funds to finance private schools that would remain segregated.

Laws such as Alabama’s pupil placement bill provided strict criteria for deciding which public schools students would attend. Standardized tests were used to test students’ intellectual capacity and level of knowledge, and factors such as students’ home lives and neighborhoods were also taken into account. This was the beginning of using benchmarks such as standardized tests to relegate certain students to worse schools and zoning school districts in order to disenfranchise lower-income communities.

In 1954, Louisiana passed comprehensive voucher legislation due to the recommendations of the Rainach Committee, headed by state senator William M. Rainach. This legislation initiated a voucher program that white students could use to attend segregated private schools while also giving public schools that wished to remain segregated the option to reestablish themselves as “private education cooperatives.”

As late as April 1956, nearly two years after the Brown v. Board of Education decision, the Pearsall Committee in North Carolina announced its intention to “preserve a segregated school system” and attempted to find clever ways to do this without violating new federal regulations.

The Pearsall Committee’s report included language such as the claim that the Supreme Court’s ruling in Brown v. Board of Education couldn’t prevent school districts from placing students based on “natural racial preference and the administrative determination of what is best for the child.” It also claimed that the Court’s decision could not legally require “mixing of the races.”

In Virginia, reports from the pro-segregation Gray Commission make frequent mention of “freedom of choice” regarding school placement. This began the trajectory that is being continued today with the “school choice” movement.

In January of 1963, then governor of South Carolina Donald Russell unveiled the state’s new voucher program. He claimed that this would foster competition between private and public schools and therefore “stimulate progress in public education.” This rhetoric is echoed in the arguments of school choice advocates like Betsy DeVos to this day.

Federal Courts recognized these ploys as thinly disguised attempts to keep de facto segregation in place, and as a result by the mid-1960s, most state voucher programs had been ruled to be unconstitutional. Despite the racist history of voucher programs and the school choice movement, many conservative education reformers claim that these changes will actually improve educational opportunities for minority students.

Another early advocate of “school choice” and voucher programs was University of Chicago economist Milton Friedman, infamous for his extreme libertarian economic principles and support of the murderous Pinochet dictatorship in Chile. His faith in voucher programs and private, for-profit educational institutions stemmed from one of his ideas that is often parroted by modern-day conservative politicians, the belief that “competitive private enterprise is likely to be far more efficient in meeting consumer demands than nationalized enterprises.”

Problems in Oklahoma

Oklahoma has a massive amount of charter schools, and as a result, is facing an equally large problem due to the shortfalls of these educational institutions. One of the biggest charter organizations in Oklahoma is Epic Charter Schools, an online-based learning leviathan that is currently under investigation by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and federal law enforcement authorities.

Former teachers who worked at schools under the Epic umbrella claimed “teacher bonuses were dangled like a carrot” in order to incentivize withdrawing underperforming students, using late student enrollment and employing other tactics in order to manipulate test results and bolster the schools’ standing. Former teachers at Epic Charter Schools have sued the company, claiming that they were fired as a result of speaking up against these practices.

The situation with Epic Charter Schools highlights the murky and convoluted regulations surrounding charter schools, online schools and other alternative education institutions. Following Epic’s standard policy, an online student can be automatically withdrawn if less than 31 online assignments are completed over a nine-week period.

Public schools are subject to more regulation and have more stringent procedures regarding student withdrawal and expulsion. But current Oklahoma state laws allow virtual or online schools a massive amount of leeway with regards to documenting attendance, which allows these institutions to utilize different strategies to make these statistics fit their goals.

Since Epic’s policy centers on the amount of assignments that students complete, teachers are instructed to overload students not expected to pass state standardized tests with extra assignments in order to make it impossible for them to keep up with the course load.

Angie Wren, a former teacher at Epic Charter Schools, told Oklahoma Watch, “My principal would instruct me to give additional remediation assignments and mandatory online homework-help sessions that made it almost impossible for the kids to keep up with. When students couldn’t keep up with the extra things assigned, my principal began pressuring me to withdraw them for truancy.”

Billionaires Funding Charter School Programs

Bill and Melinda Gates during their visit to the Oslo Opera House in June 2009.

Bill and Melinda Gates during their visit to the Oslo Opera House in June 2009. The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation is one of the biggest donors and supporters of charter schools across the country. (Photo: Kjetil Ree)

Noliwe Rooks, Ph.D., is a professor of American and Africana studies at Cornell University who has written extensively about educational inequality, most recently in her book Cutting School: Privatization, Segregation, and the End of Public Education. She began to wonder why so many billionaires were interested in funding charter schools and other similar programs in poor and rural communities in the United States and developed a theory that she calls “segrenomics.”

This concept is based on the fact that many “innovations” in education, such as charter schools and online classrooms, have never really been accurately tested to determine their efficacy. Rooks explains, “We have experimented educationally on children who are poor, who are of color, who go to underfunded schools. We come up with ways of teaching them that are experiments and have absolutely no kind of basis in research.”

However, when one remembers all the billionaires pushing for charter school expansion and the huge amount of money these corporations are making as a result of these experiments, the situation seems even more sinister. As Rooks points out, “The underfunding and the experimentation are actually very lucrative for a handful of companies that make hundreds of millions of dollars a year profiting from the undereducation and experimentation.”

In a speech she gave last summer, DeVos told listeners, “My work in education over 30 years has revolved around time invested on the outside,” as The Washington Post reported. “Outside the Department of Education. Outside the system. Outside Washington. I think that’s a good thing. Don’t you?”

This is part of the larger trend of some politicians promoting lack of experience and knowledge as positive attributes, but also highlights the experiments in education that are using poor, underprivileged students as guinea pigs.

Voucher Programs and Charter Schools Defund Public Education

Charter schools are often for-profit institutions and operate with little to no regulations and oversight. Lisa Guisbond, Executive director of Citizens for Public Schools, a Massachusetts-based public education advocacy organization, told Citizen Truth how charter schools threaten public education.

“Since charter schools take public funds but are managed by private boards, right away, they go against two of our goals for public education: keeping public funds in public, democratically accountable, inclusive schools and maintaining adequate and equitable funding. Public schools are already being squeezed by a lack of investment of state and local resources. Charter schools worsen the situation by diverting public funding from existing public schools.”

Charter schools and other educational alternatives that are touted as giving parents and students more freedom and options often have a devastating effect on the public-school districts where these programs are put into place.

In a study completed by the watchdog group In the Public Interest investigating the West Contra Public School District in California, investigators found that the school district loses $27.9 million every year due to money being diverted to fund charter schools operating within the boundaries of the school district. As a result of this staggering loss of financial support, the school has been forced to reduce spending on important programs like tutoring services and ESL teachers.

When asked what can be done to fix the problem, Guisbond told Citizen Truth that adequate funding is paramount.

“U.S. public schools that have adequate and equitable resources tend to do a great job of educating their students, so job one is to make sure we are investing enough resources at the federal, state and local level to allow schools to get the job done. We need to tackle the re-segregation and racial isolation that afflicts so many of our student and communities. And we need to invest in our prospective and current teachers, so they can afford to get the training they need and get compensated enough so they don’t need to work two or three jobs to get by,“ Guisbond said.

The history of education in the United States is twisted and marred by a history of segregation, inequality and lack of opportunities. The way that children are educated in America is going to continue to change drastically, and if current trends prevail, the institution of public education is threatened at its very core.


*Editor’s Note: After the publishing of this article we received a letter to the editor from the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools. We have included their response below:

Letter to the Editor

Will Bacha’s recent piece, “How the School Choice Movement Has its Roots in Racism”, makes a declaration over the origin of school choice that could not be further from the truth. Charter schools were created to serve public school students – particularly those who have been systemically failed by their public schools for generations. Most of these students are low-income students and students of color. By law, all charter schools are public schools, so to say that they divert public dollars from public schools is factually incorrect. Any responsible adult would agree that regardless of a school type, there is no room for failing or non-transparent schools in public education. Charter schools are held to high accountability standards by their authorizers, boards and parents and are they are bringing kids academic success. According to a 2015 study by Stanford University’s CREDO, in urban charter schools, low-income Hispanic students gained 48 additional days in math and 25 additional days in reading per year. In addition, low income Black students gained 59 additional days in math and 44 additional days in reading per year. In many places in America, charter schools are a high-quality public-school solution for families whose school needs continue to be unmet. Charter schools empower Black and Hispanic families to provide their children with an excellent education regardless of their zip code. Anyone that wants to stand in the way of that reality is out of touch with what our families want.

Amy Wilkins is the senior vice president of advocacy at the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools. Prior to her time at the National Alliance Amy spent almost two decades at Education Trust. Amy is the daughter of a civil rights leader and the niece of another.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

3 Comments

  1. Larry Stout July 21, 2019

    Where in the world does “multiculturalism” actually work?

    Reply
  2. Robert zacconi July 26, 2019

    Again we c the arms of inequality reach out to the most needy. We forget as Americans that the original sin of America is RACISM. It is ingrained in our culture and lives . But when there is dissenting points of view we have the haves and deniers screaming 🙀 foul . We as a nation need to go to confession and repent for our misdeeds and blatant lack of respect and include of all people into our society. Without the covert action of putting money , the real reason to educate the poor.

    Reply
  3. Eshal Fatima August 19, 2019

    Great Job!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.