输入搜索

环境

各国同意“规则手册”实现巴黎气候目标的巨大进步

绿色风景照片与煤电植物的
(图片来源)

巴黎的气候目标已经接近现实,因为各国已就如何实现目标达成了“规则手册”。

波兰的气候代表最终达成了一项协议,以使巴黎气候协议在2020全面运作的几个步骤,其中包括所有参与国家的共同规则手册(美国退出了特朗普总统领导下的巴黎协议)。

该协议被称为卡托维兹协议,并在波兰卡托维兹举行的COP24国际会议上达成,该会议是波兰的主要煤炭中心。

关于碳市场的最后一刻辩论迫使会议延迟了一天,但代表们认为新法规可以确保各国兑现承诺减少碳排放。

“将巴黎协议工作计划放在一起是一项重大责任,”会谈主席Michal Kurtyka表示, 说过。 卡托维兹协议旨在实现“巴黎气候协议”的主要目标,即将全球气温升高限制在2摄氏度以下。

联合国政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)10月份发布的一份报告2017,新规则手册在某种程度上基于此,表明保持地球温度上升到1.5摄氏度将需要以前从未发生的各方面变化人们的日常生活。 IPCC表示,为了维持1.5摄氏度的目标,世界各国政府必须通过45减少2030排放量,以防止全球变暖导致进一步的灾难。

什么是这个新的“规则手册”?

欧盟气候专员Miguel Arias Canete解释了规则手册将如何帮助,“我们有一个透明的系统,我们有一个报告系统,我们有衡量排放的规则,我们有一个衡量我们政策影响的系统。科学推荐。“

规则手册中的规定包括如何衡量每个国家的排放量以及如何报告和核实测量数据。 其他规定包括各国在实现可再生能源目标方面需要提供哪些信息,如何计算财务信息等等。

由于每个国家如何衡量和追踪自己的气候目标和财务信息存在巨大差异,因此取得的成就非常重要。 随着各国实现巴黎目标,商定的框架将确保透明度。

除了就规则手册达成一致之外,卡托维兹峰会与会者同意确保为贫困国家提供财政支持,并表示每个国家都愿意加紧努力减少碳排放。 它还同意每个成员必须在指定时间提交报告以表明遵守情况。

一些国家在削减排放方面仍然面临挑战

中国,加拿大和欧盟(EU)在卡托维兹会议之前宣布其雄心勃勃的议程,表明了对巴黎条约的支持。 中国去年推出了自己的碳市场,并正在努力扩大它。 加拿大上周表示,其更加雄心勃勃的减排将很快完成。 欧盟宣布32的可再生能源2030能源新目标,高于之前的27百分比目标。 但实现这些目标的道路并非易事。

而中国的CO2排放量 下降 2014中国的CO2016排放,由于增长放缓,健康和环境问题,从2017到2 增长 由于煤炭生产的增长,1.4百分比。 在2017中,中国贡献了全球CO2产量的四分之一。

根据通过其“全球煤电厂跟踪器”收集全球13,000现有和拟建煤电厂信息的宣传和研究组织Coalswarm,中国实际上将为其电网增加更多的煤电容量。 去年九月, Coalswarm 卫星图像显示中国将增加259 GW的煤电容量,这将与美国的煤炭总发电量相匹配。

在加拿大,萨斯喀彻温省和安大略省对总理贾斯汀特鲁多的计划提起诉讼,该计划利用对污染征收的全国碳税来加强排放控制。 自1992以来,加拿大未能实现控制温室气体排放的每个目标,该国不太可能达到2020的目标, 凯瑟琳阿布瑞说,气候行动网络执行主任。

欧盟和欧洲议会未能就减少汽车CO2排放的法规达成妥协,这是第四次。 由于德国汽车制造商的反对以及欧盟成员国之间的分歧,谈判失败了。

“欧盟正在就卡托维兹更大的野心进行辩论,但现在我们正在扼杀汽车'CO2'的雄心壮志,”一位参与谈判的欧盟外交官说。 依赖煤炭的欧盟成员国也反对议会阻止2025向污染最严重的工厂提供补贴的努力。

正如法国的国家示威所证明的那样,减少排放和减少排放的努力仍然存在很大争议。

为了减少CO2的排放,法国实施了大量的柴油税,但作为回应,“黄背心运动”出现了。 “黄色背心”抗议者的名字来自黄色背心,所有汽车都需要携带,抗议者在燃油税抗议期间穿着。 抗议活动涉及燃油税,但也涉及法国生活成本上升的较大问题。

卡托维兹协议为环保主义者带来了希望

尽管各国在努力实现巴黎气候目标时面临挑战,但许多人都受到卡托维兹协议成就的鼓舞。

巴黎协议的主要设计师劳伦斯·图比亚纳告诉BBC新闻,卡托维兹协议向前迈出了重要一步。

“关键是要有一个良好的透明度系统,因为它建立了国家之间的信任,因为我们可以衡量正在做什么,而且足够精确,” 她告诉BBC新闻.

“我很满意。 没有人能说不清楚,我们不知道该怎么做,或者说它不再是真的了。 很清楚。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

The Paris climate goals are closer to a reality now that countries have agreed upon a ‘rulebook’ on how to get there.

Climate delegates in Poland finally reached an agreement on several steps to make the Paris Climate Agreement fully operational in 2020 among which was a common rulebook for all participating countries (the U.S. pulled out of the Paris Agreement under President Trump).

The agreement is being called the Katowice Agreement and was reached at the international conference known as COP24 in Katowice, Poland which is Poland’s main coal hub.

A last-minute debate about the carbon market forced the meeting to delay for one day, but the delegates believe the new regulations can ensure countries keep their promises to cut their carbon emissions.

“Putting together the Paris agreement work program is a big responsibility,” Michal Kurtyka, the chairman of the talks, said. The Katowice agreement aims to achieve the main goal of the Paris Climate Agreement to limit the global temperature increase to below 2 degrees Celsius.

A report released by the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) in October 2017, which the new rulebook is somewhat based on, indicated that maintaining the Earth’s temperature rise to 1.5 degrees Celsius will need changes that have never happened before in all aspects of people’s daily lives. The IPCC said that to maintain the target of 1.5 degrees Celsius, all the world’s governments must cut emissions 45 percent by 2030 to prevent global warming from causing further disaster.

What’s This New ‘Rulebook’?

EU climate commissioner Miguel Arias Canete explained how the rulebook would help, “We have a system of transparency, we have a system of reporting, we have rules to measure our emissions, we have a system to measure the impacts of our policies compared to what science recommends.”

Provisions included in the rulebook include how emissions from each country should be measured and how the measurements should be reported and verified. Other provisions include what information countries need to provide regarding their movement towards renewable energy goals, how financial information should be accounted for and more.

The achievements are significant because of the large discrepancies in how each country measures and tracks their own climate goals and financial information. The agreed upon framework will ensure transparency as countries move towards the Paris goals.

In addition to agreeing upon the rulebook, the Katowice summit attendees agreed to ensure financial support for impoverished countries, as well as signal that each country is ready to step up its effort to reduce carbon emissions. It also agreed that each member must submit a report at an appointed time to show compliance.

Some Countries Still Face Challenges in Cutting Emissions

China, Canada and the European Union (EU) showed their support for the Paris treaty by announcing their ambitious agendas ahead of the Katowice meeting. China launched its own carbon market last year and is trying to expand it. Canada last week said that its more ambitious emissions cut will be done soon. The EU announced a new target of 32 percent of energy from renewable sources by 2030, up from the previous target of 27 percent. But the road towards achieving these goals is not an easy path.

While China’s CO2 emissions dropped from 2014 to 2016 due to slowed growth and health and environmental problems, in 2017 China’s CO2 emissions grew by 1.4 percent due to growth in coal-powered production. In 2017 China contributed a quarter of the global CO2 production.

According to the advocacy and research group Coalswarm, which gathers information on 13,000 existing and proposed coal plants worldwide via its “Global Coal Plant Tracker”, China is actually set to add more coal-powered capacity to its grid. Last September, Coalswarm said its satellite imagery shows China will add 259 GW of coal-powered capacity which would then match the total coal-powered capacity in the U.S.

In Canada, Saskatchewan and Ontario filed a lawsuit against Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s plan to strengthen emissions control using a national carbon rate imposed on pollution. Canada has failed to achieve every target to contain greenhouse gas emissions set up since 1992, and it is unlikely the country will meet the target in 2020, said Catherine Abreu, Executive Director of the Climate Action Network.

The EU and the European Parliament failed to reach a compromise on regulations to reduce car CO2 emissions for the fourth time. Negotiations failed due to opposition from German carmakers and the differences among the member countries of the EU.

“The EU is debating on a bigger ambition in Katowice, but now we are killing that ambition on cars’ CO2,” said one of the EU diplomats who was involved in the negotiation. EU member countries that are reliant on coal are also against the parliament’s effort to stop subsidies to the most polluting factories by 2025.

The effort to cut emissions and how to cut emissions is still highly controversial, as evidenced by the national demonstrations in France.

France implemented a significant diesel fuel tax in hopes of reducing CO2 emissions, but in response, the “Yellow Vest Movement” sprang up. “Yellow Vest” protestors got their name from the yellow vests that all cars are required to carry and protestors wore worn during protests of the fuel tax. The protests were about the fuel tax but also about the larger issue of the rising cost of living in France.

Katowice Agreement Gives Hope for Environmentalists

Despite the challenges facing countries as they try to meet the Paris climate goals, many were buoyed by the achievements of the Katowice agreement.

Laurence Tubiana, a key architect of the Paris agreement, told BBC News that the Katowice agreement was a significant step forward.

“The key piece was having a good transparency system because it builds trust between countries and because we can measure what is being done and it is precise enough,” she told BBC News.

“I am happy with that. Nobody can say that’s not clear, we don’t know what to do, or that it’s not true anymore. It’s very clear.”

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.