输入搜索

环境

特朗普政府撤销加州燃料排放标准

加利福尼亚州路线1-太平洋海岸公路 - 南部在拉古纳海滩附近,在南加州奥兰治县。
加利福尼亚州路线1-太平洋海岸公路 - 南部在拉古纳海滩附近,在南加州奥兰治县。 (图片:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:PCH_Near_Laguna_Beach.jpg)

“这将是自清洁能源计划以来最大的环境法斗争。 也许更大。“

特朗普总统表示,他的政府将在周三取消奥巴马时代的豁免,允许加州制定自己的汽车排放标准,这是总统反对环境法规及其前任遗产的最新举措。

“将根据新的统一标准生产更多的汽车,意味着更多的JOBS,JOBS,JOBS! 汽车制造商应抓住这个机会,因为如果没有加利福尼亚的这种替代方案,你就会失业,“ 特朗普推文 上周三。

特朗普对加利福尼亚采取的行动是他支持化石燃料行业和消除应对气候变化努力的努力的一部分,因为加州长期以来一直是调节汽车排放的全国领导者。 汽车制造商 广泛反对 特朗普政府努力取消排放目标,因为它们将取消监管确定性并严重扰乱市场。

然而,司法部已经反对汽车制造商的请求, 本月早些时候开展反垄断调查 汽车制造商福特,大众,本田和宝马以及加利福尼亚州之间就燃油经济性标准达成协议。 批评人士认为,没有足够的理由将企业与州政府之间的协议视为违反反托拉斯法的行为,并认为调查是对总统尴尬的报复。

“虽然白宫已放弃对减少排放和应对全球变暖的世界其他地区的责任,但加利福尼亚已加强,”加州州长 Gavin Newsom说。 “如果加利福尼亚要翻身,那么这一举动可能对我们孩子的健康和我们呼吸的空气造成破坏性影响。 但我们不会。“值得注意的是,来自运输的温室气体是美国最大的单一排放源。

纽瑟姆谈到了这一变化将如何使美国落后于其他国家的遏制,因为世界上每个其他国家都承认气候变化的现实,并且是“巴黎协定”的成员。 据纽瑟姆称,这一变化还将导致消费者在天然气上花费更多,导致“超过十亿加仑的石油燃烧并喷射到我们的空气中”。 “并且损害了汽车公司在全球市场竞争的能力。 这对我们的空气来说很糟糕。 对我们的健康不利。 对我们的经济不利。“

评论家,如加州检察长 泽维尔 贝塞拉, 描述了此举 作为对国家权利的侵犯,据说是共和党平台的核心原则。 环境保护局局长安德鲁·惠勒(Andrew Wheeler)在加入该机构之前曾担任煤炭说客,并一直致力于削减环境法规, 回应了这种批评:“我们接受联邦制和各州的作用,但联邦制并不意味着一个国家可以规定国家的标准。”

贝塞拉不相信这一论点,称特朗普政府此举是“绝望的计划,在周三的新闻发布会上剥夺我们长期以来设定车辆排放标准的权力”。

“我们向那些声称支持国家权利的人发出的信息是:不要践踏我们的权利,”贝塞拉说。

A 华盛顿Post-Kaiser家庭基金会 周五公布的民意调查结果显示,加州的68百分比反对特朗普削减里程标准,而61百分比支持加州强制执行。

民意调查还发现,全美的66百分比反对特朗普终止燃油效率标准的努力,而不是维持奥巴马政府对2025的目标。 67百分比的美国人也表示他们支持各州制定比联邦政府更加雄心勃勃的燃油效率规则。

分析人士认为,即将到来的加利福尼亚州与特朗普政府之间的法律斗争可能会让它一直到最高法院。

“这将是自清洁能源计划以来最大的环境法斗争。 也许更大,“ 啾啾 南卡罗来纳大学法学院的Nathan Richardson。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Trump Administration To Revoke California Fuel Emission Standards

California State Route 1—Pacific Coast Highway — south-bound near Laguna Beach, in Orange County, Southern California.
California State Route 1—Pacific Coast Highway — south-bound near Laguna Beach, in Orange County, Southern California. (Photo: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:PCH_Near_Laguna_Beach.jpg)

“This will be the biggest fight in environmental law since the Clean Power Plan. Maybe bigger.”

President Trump said his administration would revoke an Obama-era waiver on Wednesday that allowed California to set its own automobile emission standards, the latest step in the president’s campaign against environmental regulations and his predecessor’s legacy.

“Many more cars will be produced under the new and uniform standard, meaning significantly more JOBS, JOBS, JOBS! Automakers should seize this opportunity because without this alternative to California, you will be out of business,” tweeted Trump on Wednesday.

Trump’s move against California is part of his efforts to support the fossil fuel industry and kill efforts to fight climate change, as California has long been a national leader in regulating auto emissions. Automakers widely oppose the Trump administration’s efforts to strip emission targets, as they would remove regulatory certainty and severely disrupt the market.

The Department of Justice has fought against the automakers’ pleas, however, opening an antitrust investigation earlier this month into an agreement on fuel economy standards between auto-manufacturers Ford, Volkswagen, Honda and BMW and the state of California. Critics argue there are no sufficient grounds for viewing the agreement between businesses and a state government as an antitrust violation, and believe the investigation is retaliation for embarrassing the president.

“While the White House has abdicated its responsibility to the rest of the world on cutting emissions and fighting global warming, California has stepped up,” California Governor Gavin Newsom said. “It’s a move that could have devastating consequences for our kids’ health and the air we breathe, if California were to roll over. But we will not.” Notably, greenhouse gases from transportation are the single largest source of emissions in the United States.

Newsom spoke of how the change would put the U.S. behind the curb of other countries, as every other nation in the world acknowledges the reality of climate change and is a member of the Paris Agreement. The change would also cause consumers to spend more on gas, resulting “in 320 billion more gallons of oil burned and spewed into our air,” according to Newsom. “And hurt car companies’ ability to compete in a global market. It’s bad for our air. Bad for our health. Bad for our economy.”

Critics, such as California Attorney General Xavier Becerra, described the move as an infringement on state’s rights, supposedly a core tenet of the Republican platform. Environmental Protection Agency head Andrew Wheeler, who worked as a coal lobbyist before joining the agency and has been committed to slashing environmental regulations, responded to this criticism: “We embrace federalism and the role of the states, but federalism does not mean that one state can dictate standards for the nation.”

Becerra was unconvinced by this argument, calling the Trump administration’s move a “desperate plan to rob our state of its longstanding authority to set vehicle emissions standards” at a news conference on Wednesday.

“Our message to those who claim to support states’ rights: don’t trample on ours,” said Becerra.

A Washington Post-Kaiser Family Foundation poll released Friday found that 68 percent of Californians oppose Trump’s move to slash mileage standards, while 61 percent support California’s stronger enforcements.

The poll also found that 66 percent of Americans nationwide oppose Trump’s efforts to end fuel efficiency standards rather than maintain the Obama administration’s targets for 2025. 67 percent of Americans also said they support states setting more ambitious fuel efficiency rules than the federal government.

Analysts believe the coming legal battle between California and the Trump administration could make it all the way to the Supreme Court.

“This will be the biggest fight in environmental law since the Clean Power Plan. Maybe bigger,” tweeted Nathan Richardson of the University of South Carolina School of Law.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a staff writer and assistant editor at Citizen Truth.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *