输入搜索

分析 中东 趋势 - 中东

伊朗对朝鲜:华盛顿的双重标准

2016的美国和伊朗外交团队会议(由Wikimedia Commons提供)
2016的美国和伊朗外交团队会议(照片:美国国务院)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

“伊朗最近扩大其核计划将导致进一步的孤立和制裁。”

7月7日星期天,伊朗外交部副部长阿巴斯·阿拉奇在新闻发布会上告诉记者,德黑兰将生产超过7百分比的铀 - 这是伊朗核协议所允许的最高水平 - 也称为联合综合行动计划(JCPOA) - 几个小时。

这种增强需要作为伊朗布什尔核电厂的燃料。 此前,伊朗表示将把铀提高到5%。

阿拉奇表示伊朗曾想挽救JCPOA,但指责欧洲国家在美国退出特朗普政府下的JCPOA之后,没有采取足够措施保护德黑兰免受美国制裁。 他补充说,德黑兰将不再遵守该协议的条款,除非该协议的签署者找到解决方案 - 指的是法国,中国,德国,俄罗斯和英国,他们都是根据巴拉克奥巴马政府在2015与美国签署条约的。 。

伊朗原子能机构发言人Behrouz Kamalvandi证实,伊朗不会将铀浓缩至为德黑兰反应堆提供燃料所需的20百分比。

“我们将根据我们的需求浓缩铀......现在我们不需要浓缩德黑兰反应堆所需的铀,”Kamalvandi说。 Euronews写道。

唐纳德·J·特朗普总统在新泽西州贝德明斯特签署了一份行政命令,题为“重新对伊朗实施某些制裁。”(白宫官方摄影:Shealah Craighead)

唐纳德·J·特朗普总统在新泽西州贝德明斯特镇的特朗普国家高尔夫俱乐部周日,8月5,2018签署了关于伊朗制裁的行政命令。 (白宫官方摄影:Shealah Craighead)

伊朗增加铀浓缩的举措是为了回应华盛顿退出2018的JCPOA。 唐纳德特朗普总统认为,JCPOA在禁止伊朗发展核武器方面效果不够, 需要90浓缩铀.

对伊朗铀浓缩的反应

中国表示,对德黑兰超越JCPOA的铀限制表示遗憾,但指责美国的恐吓是因为挑起与伊朗的紧张局势并创造了当前的情况。

“事实表明,单方面欺凌已经成为一种恶化的肿瘤,”中国外交部发言人耿爽, 周一在北京举行的新闻发布会上说.

欧盟(EU)签署的协议之一也对德黑兰的宣布表示深切关注。 正如布鲁塞尔发言人Maja Kocijancic告诉美联社的那样,该集团计划召开紧急会议。

Aragchi也赞同Kocijancic的声明,称与欧洲大国的谈判仍在继续。 Aragchi的高级外交部长Mohammad Javad Zarif, 发了一封正式的信 向欧盟外交政策负责人Federica Mocherini解释德黑兰采取的措施。

美国国务卿迈克庞培在一则关于伊朗的推文中警告称,打破核协议将导致进一步的制裁。

“伊朗最近扩大核计划将导致进一步的孤立和制裁。 各国应该恢复伊朗核计划的长期标准。 拥有核武器的伊朗政权将对世界构成更大的危险,“ Pompeo发推文。

伊朗对朝鲜:为何双重标准?

尽管去年2月特朗普 - 金正日在越南举行首脑会议失败,但几个月后,特朗普邀请朝鲜领导人金正恩在参加G-20峰会后,在强化非军事区(DMZ)举行会议,该区域将朝鲜和韩国分开。大阪。

在最后一刻的峰会期间,特朗普表示,只要平壤拆除其所有核武库,就可以取消对朝鲜的制裁。 但是双方都没有在会议中提到“无核化”一词,也没有详细说明无核化进程将如何进行。

尽管在实现朝鲜无核化方面明显缺乏进展,但两位领导人都对会议取得成功表示欢迎。

此外,此次峰会是在朝鲜试射两枚导弹后几周发布的,这一举动引起了亚洲,欧洲,非洲和拉丁美洲国家的谴责,但特朗普基本上对此表示不满。

“他们是短程的,我根本不认为这是违反信任的。 而且,你知道,在某些时候我可能会。 但此时没有。 这些是短程导弹和非常标准的东西。 很标准,“ 特朗普告诉Politico.

虽然特朗普在任期间对朝鲜实施了长期制裁,但他仍然坚持认为,如果朝鲜放弃核武器,他将取消美国的制裁。 值得注意的是,他还在DMZ张开双臂迎接Kim, 说明, “我的朋友! ......这是我的荣幸。“

特朗普还一再提到他与金正日的独特关系,尽管朝鲜未能实现无核化以及最近试射导弹。 特朗普从来没有对伊朗说过这样的话,如果伊朗试射导弹,很难相信美国会淡化这一场合。

那么为什么明显的双重标准呢?

美伊历史

首先,与伊朗不同,美国和朝鲜的历史要简单得多。 朝鲜战争在美朝关系中占据了一席之地,此后一直相对直截了当。

然而,伊朗和美国的历史很复杂,首先是美国和英国领导的政变以及伊朗民主选举的总理穆罕默德·摩萨德在1953中的推翻。 自从1979伊朗革命推翻了美国支持的穆罕默德·礼萨·巴拉维(Mohammad Reza Pahlavi)的君主统治以来,这位受欢迎的领导人的罢免煽动了一种反美意识形态,这种意识形态植根于伊朗政治。

伊朗革命的支持者绑架了52美国公民,并在444-1979的1981天内将他们扣押在美国驻德黑兰大使馆。 人质危机使美国人与一名学者一起反对伊朗人 描述它 作为“两国之间发生过的最具破坏性的非战争相关事件之一”。

在1979华盛顿特区,学生抗议伊朗人质危机期间,一名男子正在举起一个标语,上面写着“驱逐所有伊朗人,让我的国家出境”。

在1979华盛顿特区,学生抗议伊朗人质危机期间,一名男子正在举起一个标语,上面写着“驱逐所有伊朗人,让我的国家出境”。 (照片:美国国会图书馆)

此外,美国在长达八年的伊朗 - 伊拉克战争期间对伊拉克的介入和支持(1980-1988)使伊朗与美国的关系恶化。

当美国海军舰艇击落伊朗航空公司655时,美国和伊朗的历史也变得更加复杂,这是一架载有290人的乘客航空公司,包括66儿童,在1988飞机飞越伊朗领空的波斯湾。

两国之间的动荡关系从未正常化。

其他因素

其次,沙特阿拉伯和以色列因素融入了美国与伊朗的关系。 这两个国家都是美国的亲密盟友,并将伊朗视为中东的主要威胁和对手。

虽然沙特阿拉伯被认为是逊尼派穆斯林和伊朗什叶派穆斯林 - 伊斯兰教的两个主要教派 - 沙特阿拉伯大部分不喜欢伊朗,这可以追溯到推翻伊朗君主制的新西兰革命伊朗革命。 沙特阿拉伯有着悠久的君主统治历史,伊朗革命威胁要出口威胁沙特阿拉伯自己君主制的新型伊斯兰教。

在冷战结束后两国关系恶化之前,以色列和伊朗多年来一直保持友好关系。 在伊朗和伊拉克战争期间,尽管伊朗在伊朗革命后切断了与以色列的关系,但伊斯兰派还向伊朗出售了价值数千万美元的武器。

在冷战结束后,在中东不断变化的性质中,伊朗开始认为Isreal是中东的“癌症”,并且不赞成Isreal对巴勒斯坦的立场,加大了对巴勒斯坦事业的支持力度。 Isreal谴责伊朗参与和支持哈马斯,如果加沙地带自2007以来的统治当局,以及真主党,一个驻扎在黎巴嫩的什叶派伊斯兰组织。

值得注意的是,华盛顿并没有对以色列实施制裁,以色列有一个估计的200核弹,正如前美国外交大臣科林鲍威尔在2016泄露的电子邮件所述。 美国也有 绕过了必要的国会批准 向沙特阿拉伯出售高度敏感的核技术。

影响特朗普对伊朗的敌意的一个至关重要的第三个因素是特朗普在其内阁(国家安全顾问约翰博尔顿和国务卿迈克庞培)周围的鹰派,亲战争的助手。 特朗普成立的国家安全小组一再倡导强硬的伊朗立场,夸大了伊朗的威胁。

特别是约翰博尔顿有一个 悠久而有据可查的历史 强调“伊朗威胁”对美国的紧迫性

去年五月,国会议员鲁本加勒戈在一次机密通报中称,共和党人不负责任地夸大了伊朗的威胁。

“我所看到的是很多误解,并希望来自行政和情报界的冲突。 英特尔没有显示存在的威胁。 即便如此,它也不会对美国利益构成威胁,“ 加勒戈接受电话采访时对华盛顿邮报说。

在伊朗最近宣布增加铀浓缩之前,国际原子能机构(IAEA)证实伊朗遵守了JCPOA。 与朝鲜不同,伊朗一再坚称它没有核武器,其核能力是出于和平目的。 美国从未证明伊朗拥有核武器的证据。

实际上,与伊朗的对抗与伊朗未能遵守JCPOA或该协议的内在弱点无关,正如特朗普一再声称的那样。 与伊朗的对抗是关于权力,迫使一个国家屈服于美国的意志。 这是关于推翻反美政府以换取伊朗政府乐于接受美国外交政策。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 12, 2019

    优秀报道!

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS MIDDLE EAST TRENDING-MIDDLE EAST

Iran vs North Korea: Washington’s Double Standard

American and Iranian Diplomatic Team Meeting in 2016 (Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons)
American and Iranian Diplomatic Team Meeting in 2016 (Photo: U.S. State Department)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“Iran’s latest expansion of its nuclear program will lead to further isolation and sanctions.”

On Sunday, July 7, Iran’s Deputy Foreign Secretary Abbas Araqchi told reporters in a press conference that Tehran would produce uranium above 3.67 percent – the maximum level permitted in the Iran Nuclear Deal also known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) – within a few hours.

Such an enhancement is needed as fuel for Iran’s Bushehr Nuclear Power Plant. Previously, Iran stated it would enhance uranium to five percent.

Araqchi stated that Iran had wanted to salvage the JCPOA, but blamed European countries for not doing enough to protect Tehran from U.S. sanctions applied after the U.S. pulled out of the JCPOA under the Trump administration. He added that Tehran would no longer abide by the provisions of the agreement unless the pact’s signatories found solutions – referring to France, China, Germany, Russia and the U.K., who all signed the treaty along with the U.S. in 2015 under the Barack Obama administration.

An Iranian Atomic Energy Body spokesperson, Behrouz Kamalvandi, confirmed that Iran would not enrich uranium to the 20 percent needed to fuel the Tehran reactor.

“We will enrich uranium based on our needs … right now we don’t need to enrich uranium needed for Tehran reactor,” said Kamalvandi as Euronews wrote.

President Donald J. Trump signs an Executive Order in Bedminster, New Jersey, entitled “Reimposing Certain Sanctions with Respect to Iran.” (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)

President Donald J. Trump signs an Executive Order on Iran Sanctions in the Green Room at Trump National Golf Club Sunday, August 5, 2018, in Bedminster Township, New Jersey. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)

Iran’s move to increase uranium enrichment is in response to Washington’s withdrawal from the JCPOA in 2018. President Donald Trump argued that the JCPOA was not effective enough in banning Iran from developing nuclear weapons, which need 90 percent enriched uranium.

Reactions to Iran’s Uranium Enrichment

China said it regretted Tehran’s move to surpass the JCPOA’s uranium limit but blamed U.S. intimidation for provoking tension with Iran and creating the current scenario.

“The facts show that unilateral bullying has already become a worsening tumor,” Geng Shuang, spokesman for China’s foreign ministry, told a press briefing in Beijing on Monday.

One of the deal’s signatories, the European Union (E.U.) also expressed deep concern about Tehran’s announcement. The bloc is planning to have an emergency meeting, as Brussels’ spokeswoman Maja Kocijancic told the Associated Press.

Aragchi also echoed Kocijancic’s statement by saying talks with European powers are continuing. Aragchi’s superior, Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif, sent a formal letter to E.U. Foreign Policy Head Federica Mocherini, explaining steps Tehran had taken.

U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo warned in a tweet regarding Iran that breaking the nuclear pact would lead to further sanctions.

“Iran’s latest expansion of its nuclear program will lead to further isolation and sanctions. Nations should restore the longstanding standard of no enrichment for Iran’s nuclear program. Iran’s regime, armed with nuclear weapons, would pose an even greater danger to the world,” Pompeo tweeted.

Iran vs North Korea: Why the Double-Standard?

Despite the failure of the Trump-Kim summit in Vietnam last February, months later Trump invited North Korean leader Kim Jong-un to meet at the heavily fortified demilitarized zone (DMZ) that separates North and South Korea after attending the G-20 summit in Osaka.

During the last-minute summit, Trump said sanctions on North Korea could be lifted as long as Pyongyang dismantles all of its nuclear arsenals. But both sides did not mention the word “denuclearization” in the meeting or elaborate on how a denuclearization process would proceed.

Despite the clear lack of progress in achieving North Korea’s denuclearization, both leaders hailed the meeting a success.

Additionally, the summit came only weeks after North Korea test-fired two missiles, a move that evoked condemnation from countries in Asia, Europe, Africa and Latin America, but was largely downplayed by Trump.

“They’re short-range, and I don’t consider that a breach of trust at all. And, you know, at some point I may. But at this point no. These were short-range missiles and very standard stuff. Very standard,” Trump told Politico.

While Trump has extended sanctions against North Korea during his time in office, he continues to insist that if North Korea gave up its nuclear weapons he would remove U.S. sanctions. Notably, he also greeted Kim at the DMZ with open arms, stating, “My friend! … It’s my honor.”

Trump has also repeatedly referred to his special and unique relationship with Kim, despite North Korea’s failure to denuclearize and the recent test-firing of missiles. Trump has never had such kind words for Iran and if Iran test-fired missiles it’s hard to believe the U.S. would downplay the occasion.

So why the apparent double-standard?

US-Iran History

First, unlike Iran, the U.S. and North Korea have a much simpler history. The Korean War drew a line in U.S.-North Korean relations that has been relatively straightforward ever since.

Iran and the U.S., however, have a complicated history beginning with the U.S. and U.K.-led coup and overthrowal of Iran’s democratically-elected Prime Minister Mohammad Mossadeq in 1953. The ousting of the popular leader fomented an anti-U.S. ideology that has been rooted in Iranian politics since the 1979 Iranian Revolution that overthrew the U.S. backed monarchical rule of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi.

Supporters of the Iranian Revolution kidnapped 52 American citizens and held them hostage at the U.S. embassy in Tehran for 444 days from 1979-1981. The hostage crisis unified Americans in their opposition to Iranians with one scholar describing it as “one of the most devastating non-war related events to have ever occurred between two nations.”

A man is raising a sign that reads "deport all Iranians, get the hell out of my country"during a 1979 Washington, DC, student protest of the Iran hostage crisis.

A man is raising a sign that reads “deport all Iranians, get the hell out of my country”during a 1979 Washington, DC, student protest of the Iran hostage crisis. (Photo: U.S. Library of Congress)

Additionally, the U.S.’ involvement and support of Iraq during the eight-year-long Iran-Iraq war (1980-1988) worsened relations between Iran and the U.S.

U.S. and Iranian history was also further complicated when a U.S. naval ship shot down Iran Air Flight 655, a passenger airline that was carrying 290 people, including 66 children, in 1988 while the plane was flying over Iranian airspace in the Persian Gulf.

The tumultuous relationship between the two countries has never normalized.

Additional Factors

Secondly, Saudi Arabia and Israel factor into the relationship between the U.S. and Iran. Both countries are close allies of the U.S. and see Iran as a major threat and rival in the Middle East.

While Saudi Arabia is considered Sunni Muslim and Iran Shia Muslim – the two major sects of Islam – much of Saudi Arabia’s dislike of Iran traces back to the 1979 Iranian Revolution which overthrew the Iranian monarchy. Saudi Arabia has a long history of monarchical rule and the Iranian Revolution threatened to export a new type of Islam that threatened Saudi Arabia’s own monarchy.

Isreal and Iran were friendly for years before relations worsened between the two countries after the Cold War. During the Iran-Iraq War, Isreal sold Iran $75 million worth of arms, despite Iran cutting off relations with Israel after the Iranian Revolution.

After the end of the Cold War, and the amidst the changing nature of the Middle East, Iran began to consider Isreal a “cancer” in the Middle East and disapproved of Isreal’s position on Palestine, ramping up support for the Palestinian cause. Isreal condemns Iran for its involvement and support of Hamas, the governing authority if the Gaza Strip since 2007, and Hezbollah, a Shia Islamist group based in Lebanon.

Notably, Washington has not imposed sanctions on Israel, which has an estimated 200 nuclear bombs as stated in a leaked email of former U.S. Foreign Secretary Colin Powell in 2016. The U.S. has also bypassed the necessary congressional approval to sell highly sensitive nuclear technology to Saudi Arabia.

A crucial third factor influencing Trump’s hostility towards Iran is the hawkish, pro-war aides Trump is surrounded by in his cabinet (National Security Adviser John Bolton and Secretary of State Mike Pompeo). The national security team Trump established has repeatedly advocated a hardline Iranian stance and has exaggerated the Iranian threat.

John Bolton, in particular, has a long and well-documented history of emphasizing the urgency of the “Iranian threat” to the U.S.

Last May, in a classified briefing, Congress member Ruben Gallego claimed that Republicans had irresponsibly hyperbolized the Iranian threat.

“What I saw was a lot of misinterpretation and wanting conflict coming from the administration and intelligence community. Intel doesn’t show existential threats. Even what it shows, it doesn’t show threats to U.S. interests,” Gallego said to the Washington Post in a phone interview.

Before Iran’s recent announcement of increasing uranium enrichment, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) confirmed that Iran was in compliance with the JCPOA. Iran repeatedly insisted it had no nuclear weapons, unlike North Korea, and its nuclear capabilities were for peaceful purposes. The U.S. has never shown proof that Iran was in possession of nuclear weapons.

The confrontation with Iran, in reality, has nothing to do Iran’s failure to comply with the JCPOA or the inherent weakness of the deal, as Trump has repeatedly claimed. The confrontation with Iran is about power and forcing a country to bend to U.S. will. It’s about the overthrowal of an anti-U.S. government in exchange for an Iranian government happy to oblige by U.S. foreign policy.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 12, 2019

    Excellent report!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.