输入搜索

欧洲

意大利的极权派系调查俄罗斯关系,武器缓存

利玛窦Salvini
Matteo Salvini,2015中心。 (照片:Fabio Visconti,CC BY-SA 3.0)

“我们有我们的盟友。 我们真的希望与这些赞成俄罗斯的政党建立良好的联盟,但不是俄罗斯支持俄罗斯,而是支持我们的国家。“

意大利的极右翼正在加强公众监督,因为不仅有检察官 开了一个调查 据称揭露内政部长马泰奥·萨尔维尼的联盟党寻求从俄罗斯获得融资,但警察泄密 也发现了 星期一袭击极端主义团体时发现大量战斗武器。

2月,意大利媒体报道 在咖啡 据报道,Gianluca Savoini是意大利内政部长马泰奥·萨尔维尼的亲密助手,于10月在莫斯科会见了俄罗斯商人,讨论了一项将非法石油资金汇集到萨尔维尼联盟党的计划。 上周三, Buzzfeed 发表了一个录音记录,据称可以听到萨沃伊谈到与俄罗斯商人达成协议的条款。

“从萨沃尼在莫斯科周围移动的方式判断,这是他的第二故乡,”记者Giovanni Tizian告诉 “华盛顿邮报”。 “他可能对自己非常肯定,并且不受不受欢迎的听众的影响。”

萨尔维尼否认了这一说法,宣称他“从来没有从俄罗斯那里拿过卢布,欧元,1美元或一升伏特加酒。” “华盛顿邮报” or 英国广播公司 已经能够独立验证录音,但它已导致 舆论哗然 在意大利,反对派成员呼吁进行议会调查和内政部长的辞职。

反对党民主党领袖Paolo Gentiloni在推文中说:“谎言涉及欺诈的人不能成为一个主要民主国家的内政部长。”

萨尔维尼长期以来一直公开支持俄罗斯的立场,一再呼吁欧盟解除对该国的制裁。

武器缓存发现

星期一,意大利极右翼受到进一步审查,意大利警方宣布,他们在袭击意大利北部极端主义极右翼团体时发现了大量战斗武器。 这些武器包括各种突击步枪和空对空导弹, 据称来自卡塔尔,该集团正试图出售。

据警方称,袭击事件是对在俄罗斯支持乌克兰叛乱活动的意大利极右翼国民进行调查的一部分。 除武器和数百发子弹外,警方还发现了新纳粹用具。

三名男子被捕,包括前参议院候选人为新法西斯主义者Forza Nuova党。 虽然袭击与任何意大利政党没有联系,但它们是外国参与意大利极右翼的另一个令人震惊的指标。 都灵警察局长Giuseppe De Matteis 称它为 查获“意大利几乎没有先例的战争武器”。

“在[上次调查]期间,民兵与提出购买导弹的武器专家之间发现了电话联系,”都灵反恐部队主任卡罗·安布拉告诉他们 天意。 “调查导致发现了相当大的武器库,具有很高的进攻能力。 我们将向后追溯链条,以了解它在哪里引领我们。“

欧洲极右民族主义的复兴

建立在反移民和反欧盟情绪基础上的极右民族主义团体近年来在欧洲复兴。 民粹主义主要受到难民危机和欧盟经济失败的驱动,也受到克里姆林宫的直接影响和 其他外国演员.

根据亨利·杰克逊协会俄罗斯和欧亚大学研究主任安德鲁·福克索尔的说法,“几乎所有的欧洲民粹主义政党都与俄罗斯有直接关系,尽管这通常是通过个人关系而不是制度关系。” 美国参议院少数派报告 去年,俄罗斯试图影响至少15欧盟国家的民主进程。

批评者认为,联盟强硬的反移民立场和其他成功的民粹主义政党导致该国日益增长的敌意。 2月,意大利情报官员 警告 2017和2018之间的种族动机攻击增加了两倍。

大多数政治分析人士认为这一丑闻不会损害萨尔维尼在国内的声望,但可能会使他的政党与反腐败联盟党五星的关系紧张。

“我不认为这会损害萨尔维尼的受欢迎程度,”Daniele Albertazzi博士,意大利政治专家 大学 伯明翰在英国告诉 “新闻周刊”.

“意大利人还有其他的担忧,无论如何,很多人都会购买这些都是假的。 无论如何,到目前为止还没有吸烟枪 任何钱 实际上已经付出了,不,我认为他不会辞职,也不会损害他成为总理职位的机会,我认为明年春天的预期是现实的,“艾伯塔齐说。

其中一位俄罗斯商人 记录 萨尔维尼称之为“欧洲特朗普”,因为他现在是欧洲最右翼的领军人物。

“我们想改变欧洲。 一个新的欧洲必须像以前一样接近俄罗斯,因为我们希望拥有自己的主权,“萨沃尼可以在 记录,指的是萨尔维尼希望在欧洲组建极右翼政党联盟。 “我们有我们的盟友。 我们真的希望与这些赞成俄罗斯的政党建立良好的联盟,但不是俄罗斯支持俄罗斯,而是支持我们的国家。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Italy’s Far Right Factions Investigated For Russia Ties, Weapons Cache

Matteo Salvini
Matteo Salvini, center, in 2015. (Photo: Fabio Visconti, CC BY-SA 3.0)

“We have our allies. We really want to begin to have a great alliance with these parties that are pro Russia, but not pro Russia for Russia but for our countries.”

Italy’s far-right is under intensifying public scrutiny, as not only have prosecutors opened an investigation into leaks allegedly revealing Interior Minister Matteo Salvini’s League party sought financing from Russia, but police also discovered a large cache of combat weapons during raids on extremist groups Monday.

In February, Italian media outlet L’Espresso reported that Gianluca Savoini, a close aide to Italian Interior Minister Matteo Salvini, met with Russian businessmen in Moscow in October 2018 to discuss a scheme that would funnel illicit oil money to Salvini’s League party. Last Wednesday, Buzzfeed published a transcript of an audio recording where Savoini can allegedly be heard speaking about the terms of the deal with the Russian businessmen.

“Judging by the way Savoini moves around Moscow, that is his second home,” journalist Giovanni Tizian told the Washington Post. “He probably felt quite certain of himself and protected from unwanted listeners.”

Salvini has denied the claims, declaring he has “never taken a ruble, a euro, a dollar or a liter of vodka in financing from Russia.” Neither the Washington Post or BBC have been able to independently verify the recording, but it has led to public outcry in Italy, with opposition members calling for a parliamentary inquiry and the interior minister’s resignation.

“Someone who tells lies to cover fraud can’t be the interior minister of a major democratic country,” tweeted Paolo Gentiloni, a leader of the opposition Democratic Party.

Salvini has long held an openly pro-Russia stance, having repeatedly called on the E.U. to lift sanctions on the country.

Weapons Cache Discovery

On Monday, Italy’s far-right came under further scrutiny as Italian police announced they had uncovered a large cache of combat weapons during raids on extremist far-right groups in northern Italy. The weapons included a variety of assault rifles and an air-to-air missile, allegedly from Qatar, that the group was trying to sell.

The raids were part of an investigation into Italian far-right nationals who fought in the Russia-supported insurgency in Ukraine, according to police. In addition to weapons and hundreds of rounds of ammunition, police also found Neo-Nazi paraphernalia.

Three men were arrested, including a former Senate candidate for the neofascist Forza Nuova party. While the raids have not been connected to any Italian political parties, they represent another alarming indicator of foreign involvement with Italy’s far-right. Giuseppe De Matteis, Turin’s chief of police, called it a seizure “of weapons of war with few precedents in Italy.”

“During the [previous investigation], telephone contacts were found between a militiaman and an arms expert who proposed the purchase of a missile,” Carlo Ambra, director of Turin’s counterterrorism unit, told Sky Italia. “The investigations led to the discovery of a considerable arsenal, with a high offensive capacity. We will retrace the chain backwards, to understand where it leads us.”

Europe’s Resurgence of Far-Right Nationalism

Far-right nationalist groups, founded on anti-immigrant and anti-E.U. sentiment, have enjoyed a European resurgence in recent years. Populism has been driven largely by the refugee crisis and the economic failures of the European Union, but also through direct influence from the Kremlin and other foreign actors.

According to Andrew Foxall, director of the Russia and Eurasia studies at the Henry Jackson Society, “Almost all European populist parties have direct ties to Russia, although this is most often through individual connections rather than institutional ones.” According to a U.S. Senate minority report last year, Russia sought to influence the democratic process of at least 15 E.U. states.

Critics argue the hardline anti-immigration stance of the League and other successful populist parties has contributed to growing hostility in the country. In February, Italian intelligence officials warned racially motivated attacks had tripled between 2017 and 2018.

Most political analysts don’t believe the scandal will damage Salvini’s domestic popularity, but may strain his party’s relations with anti-corruption coalition party Five Star.

“I do not see this harming Salvini’s popularity,” Dr. Daniele Albertazzi, an expert on Italian politics at the University of Birmingham in the U.K., told Newsweek.

“Italians have other worries, and anyway, a lot of people will buy the line that this is all fake. In any case, there is no smoking gun—so far—that any money has in fact been paid, and no, I don’t think he will resign, nor that it will harm his chances of becoming PM, which I think it is realistic to expect by spring next year,” said Albertazzi.

One of the Russian businessmen in the recording called Salvini “the European Trump,” because he is now the far-right’s leading figure in Europe.

“We want to change Europe. A new Europe has to be close to Russia as before because we want to have our sovereignty,” Savoini can be heard saying in the recording, referring to Salvini’s desire to form an alliance of far-right parties across Europe. “We have our allies. We really want to begin to have a great alliance with these parties that are pro Russia, but not pro Russia for Russia but for our countries.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.