输入搜索

国家

Jayapal在华盛顿9th支持正义民主党同伙的对手

国会女议员Pramila Jayapal(华盛顿 - 7)和国会议员亚当史密斯(WA - 9)通过house.gov

特色图片:国会女议员Pramila Jayapal(华盛顿 - 7)[左]和国会议员亚当史密斯(WA - 9)[右]通过house.gov

华盛顿的9th区

美国国会女议员Pramila Jayapal延长了她的职务 背书 现任民主党现任亚当史密斯,首次当选为华盛顿9区1997的国会代表。 国会议员史密斯在众议院的2016竞选活动中支持Jayapal,“我们很少有机会选出一位能够带来这种水平的愿景,经验,领导力和关系的人来到众议院,”他 同年8月,同时提到Jayapal。

Jayapal将赢得她的竞选,成为美国国会华盛顿7区的众议院代表。 如果不是因为他的顶级挑战者萨拉史密斯,她对国会议员史密斯的支持不会引起人们的注意。 华盛顿州有一个独特的“前两名”小学,前两名投票者; 无论党派如何,都要继续参加11月的大选。

WA - 9th美国国会候选人Sarah Smith通过votesarahsmith.com

萨拉史密斯参加了草根运动,这使得她获得了许多进步组织的支持,包括我们的革命华盛顿伯纳克斯联盟(WABC),华盛顿进步党,我们的革命金县(Jayapal代表金县),进步投票,需求普遍医疗保健(DUH)和司法民主党人。 预计萨拉将在8月7小学之后与众议员史密斯一起进入大选。

众议员贾亚帕尔也得到司法民主党的支持,民主党最近获得了全国头条新闻 Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez 击败了现任的乔克劳利。 该组织非常进步 平台; 要求获得批准的人不要从公司超级政治行动委员会(Super PACs)那里拿钱。 众议员收到来自PAC的70百分之百的竞选捐款,包括来自各种的大约$ 130,500 国防工业 从2017到现在的团体。 有争议的航空航天和国防承包商 诺斯罗普·格鲁曼公司 在同一时期给了国会议员$ 19,000。 相比之下,Open Secrets的报告几乎是Sarah Smith的79% 捐款 来自'小型个人贡献(<$ 200)。

在2018周期中分析亚当·斯密的竞选捐款。 通过opensecrets.org

“我认为看这个并说我们必须摆脱ICE是错误的,”国会议员史密斯告诉记者 西雅图补丁 在六月下旬。 众议员史密斯是来自华盛顿的两位众议院民主党人之一,他们投票支持2002的国土安全法案,该法案为移民和海关执法(ICE)的设立制定了框架。 “鉴于ICE的声誉,我想我希望看到那个特定的代理商消失,”他说 科莫新闻 大约两个星期后,当他谈到“废除ICE”法案时,他正与众议员Jayapal合作,完成了一个无法解释的问题。

为什么Jayapal对代言感到沉默

尽管没有公开提及众议员贾亚帕尔在其网站之外通过Jayapal竞选对国会议员史密斯的支持, 西雅图周刊 在WA-9th活动的专题文章中引用了她的认可:

......该地区的现任众议员亚当史密斯是一个强大的对手。 众议员首次在新西兰国立大学中当选,他以近乎巨大的利润赢得了他最近的竞选连任。 他得到了大多数地方民主党组织,几个工会,华盛顿参议员Maria Cantwell和Patty Murray以及国会女议员Pramila Jayapal的支持。 众议员史密斯还拥有超过$ 1997的大规模竞选战,这让Sarah的420,000相形见绌。

Jayapal和她的工作人员很可能意识到正义民主党人Ro Khanna(CA-17th)在他最初支持现任乔克劳利之后收到的批评浪潮,尽管他的对手是亚历山大·奥卡西奥·科尔特斯,他也是一名司法民主党人。 批评导致众议员Khanna尴尬地支持两者 克劳利和奥卡西奥 - 科尔特斯。 众议员贾亚帕尔对亚当·斯密的支持反映了罗·卡纳最初决定谴责司法民主党的平台,并支持一位更为保守的民主党现任总统而不是正在崛起的进步明星。

渐进式冲床 是一个网站,衡量国会的进步成员如何通过权衡他们在办公室,过去一年中的投票,他们如何在关键问题上投票,以及他们如何匹配他们所在地区的意识形态倾斜。

通过progressivepunch.org,众议员史密斯的进步冲击评级

根据Progressive Punch的方法,亚当·斯密在他任职期间按重要的累进投票排序,成为众议院最具进步成员的142nd成员,而众议员Jayapal排名第9th。 在比较他的'Progressive Score vs. State Tilt'时,他的排名是146th最差的 解释 如:

“Progressive Score vs. State Tilt”下面的“%”和“Rating”列是衡量同一事物的两种不同方式。 他们都衡量一个国会议员的投票记录是多么顽皮或好看,相对于他/她的国家对温和自由民主党的好客态度。 我们正在曲线上评分。 “评级”栏中的A表示在投票方面做得最好的国会议员比他们的州更加可能的预期。 那些具有F等级的人在他们的状态方面表现最差。

金县是西雅图的所在地,也是区议会女议员Jayapal所代表的地区。 虽然莎拉史密斯没有得到参议员伯尼桑德斯(I - VT)的公开支持,但她的平台几乎与他的平台相同。 桑德斯在67.3中击败了希拉里克林顿的32.6-2016秘书 华盛顿州小学 在金县内,意味着对史密斯的开放拥抱可能导致她的选民反对。 桑德斯赢得了该州的每个国会选区以及席卷克林顿国务卿的72.7-27.1席位,这是华盛顿选民进步的基调。

虽然Jayapal对她在华盛顿5th区竞选的Lisa Brown表示支持,但她没有向华盛顿司法民主党人多萝西·加斯克(Dorothy Gasque)致敬,他正在3rd区竞选众议院。 获得现任总统认可的唯一正义民主党人是在密歇根州13区开办的Rashida Tlaib。

Pramila Jayapal和她的竞选活动都没有回复评论请求。

相关新闻:

玫瑰之波:这些候选人可能会成为国会中的进步之星,与Ocasio-Cortez合作

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

0评论

  1. 匿名 July 17, 2018

    5

    回复
  2. 沃尔特耶茨 July 26, 2018

    5

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Jayapal Endorses Opponent Of Fellow Justice Democrat In Washington 9th

Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal (WA - 7) and Congressman Adam Smith (WA - 9) via house.gov

Featured Image: Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal (WA – 7) [Left] and Congressman Adam Smith (WA – 9) [Right] via house.gov

 

Washington’s 9th District

United States Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal extended her endorsement to Democratic incumbent Adam Smith, who was first elected as the congressional representative of Washington’s 9th district in 1997. Congressman Smith endorsed Jayapal in her 2016 run for the House, “Rarely do we have the opportunity to elect someone to the House who brings this level of vision, experience, leadership, and relationships to the table,” he stated in August of that year while referring to Jayapal.

Jayapal would win her race to become the House representative for Washington’s 7th district in the United States Congress. Her endorsement for Congressman Smith would not raise eyebrows if not for his top challenger, Sarah Smith. Washington state has a unique ‘top-two’ primary where the top two vote earners; regardless of party, move on to the November general election.

WA – 9th United States Congressional Candidate Sarah Smith via votesarahsmith.com

Sarah Smith has run a grassroots campaign which has led to her receiving endorsements from numerous progressive organizations including Our Revolution Washington Berniecrats Coalition (WABC), Progressive Party of Washington, Our Revolution King County (Jayapal represents King County), The Progressive Ballot, Demand Universal Healthcare (DUH), and Justice Democrats. Sarah is expected to advance to the general election along with Rep. Smith after the August 7th primary.

Rep. Jayapal is also endorsed by Justice Democrats, which recently gained national headlines after Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez defeated long-time incumbent Joe Crowley. The organization has an extremely progressive platform; requiring those receiving their endorsement to refrain from taking money from corporate Super Political Action Committees (Super PACs). Rep. Smith receives over 70 percent of his campaign contributions from PACs, including approximately $130,500 from various Defense Industry groups from 2017 until the present date. Controversial aerospace and defense contractor Northrop Grumman has given the congressman $19,000 during the same time period. By comparison, Open Secrets reports nearly 79% of Sarah Smith’s donations are from ‘Small Individual Contributions (<$200).’

Breakdown of Adam Smith’s Campaign Contributions during the 2018 cycle. via opensecrets.org

“I think it’s a mistake to look at this and say we have to get rid of ICE,” Congressman Smith told the Seattle Patch in late June. Rep. Smith was one of two House Democrats from Washington to vote for the Homeland Security Act of 2002, which set the framework for the creation of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). “Given ICE’s reputation, I think I’d like to see that particular agency go away,” he told Komo News approximately two weeks later when speaking about the ‘abolish ICE’ bill he is working on with Rep. Jayapal, completing an unexplained flop on the issue.

Why Is Jayapal Silent Regarding Endorsement

Despite finding no public reference of Rep. Jayapal’s endorsement for Congressman Smith by the Jayapal campaign outside her website, Seattle Weekly referenced her endorsement in a feature article on the WA – 9th campaign:

…The District’s incumbent, Rep. Adam Smith, is a formidable opponent. First elected in 1997, Rep. Smith has won his recent re-election campaigns by massive margins. He has the endorsements of most local Democratic organizations, several labor unions, and Washington Senators Maria Cantwell and Patty Murray, as well as Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal. Rep. Smith also boasts a massive campaign war chest of more than $420,000, which dwarfs Sarah’s $36,000.

Jayapal and her staff are likely aware of the wave of critique Justice Democrat Ro Khanna (CA – 17th) received after his initial endorsement of incumbent Joe Crowley, despite his opponent being Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, who is also a Justice Democrat. The criticism led Rep. Khanna to awkwardly endorse both Crowley and Ocasio-Cortez. Rep. Jayapal’s endorsement of Adam Smith mirrors the initial decision of Ro Khanna to buck the Justice Democrats platform and endorse a far more conservative Democratic incumbent over a rising progressive star.

Progressive Punch is a website which measures how progressive members of Congress are by weighing their votes throughout their time in office, during the past year, how they vote on crucial issues, and how well they match the ideological tilt of their district.

Rep. Smith’s Progressive Punch Ratings via progressivepunch.org

According to the Progressive Punch methodology, Adam Smith ranks as the 142nd most progressive member of the House of Representatives when sorted by crucial progressive votes throughout his time in office, while Rep. Jayapal ranks 9th. He ranks as the 146th worst when comparing his ‘Progressive Score vs. State Tilt” which is explained as:

The “%” and “Rating” columns underneath the “Progressive Score vs. State Tilt” are two different ways of measuring the same thing. They both measure how naughty or nice a member of Congress’ voting record has been relative to how hospitable his/her state is to a moderate to liberal Democrat. We’re grading on a curve. An A in the “Rating” column indicates members of Congress who are doing the best in terms of voting MORE progressively than could necessarily be expected given their states. Those with an F rating are performing the worst in relation to their states.

King County is the home of Seattle, the hub of the district Congresswoman Jayapal represents. While Sarah Smith has not been publicly endorsed by Senator Bernie Sanders (I – VT), her platform is nearly identical to his. Sanders defeated Secretary Hillary Clinton 67.3-32.6 in the 2016 Washington state primary within King County, meaning an open embrace of Rep. Smith could lead to backlash from her constituents. Sanders won every congressional district in the state and a sweeping 72.7-27.1 final tally over Secretary Clinton, underlying the progressive tone of Washington voters.

While Jayapal gave her endorsement to Lisa Brown who is running in the 5th district in Washington, she did not extend one to another Washington Justice Democrat Dorothy Gasque who is running for House in the 3rd district. The only Justice Democrat to receive an endorsement from the incumbent is Rashida Tlaib who is running in Michigan’s 13th district.

 

Neither Pramila Jayapal nor her campaign responded to a request for comment.

 

Related:

The Wave Of Roses: These Candidates Could Become Progressive Stars In Congress With Ocasio-Cortez

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

0 Comment

  1. Anonymous July 17, 2018

    5

    Reply
  2. Walter Yeates July 26, 2018

    5

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.