输入搜索

国家 TRENDING国

LGBTQ报告滥用ICE监管,ACLU调查

释放我们的未来。 家庭属于一起。 废除ICE。 3月和行动日明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯,6月30,2018(斐波纳契蓝图片)
释放我们的未来。 家庭属于一起。 废除ICE。 3月和行动日明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯,6月30,2018(斐波纳契蓝图片)

美国公民自由联盟正在研究在新墨西哥州查帕拉尔附近的ICE拘留中心虐待变性女性和男同性恋者的报道。

美国公民自由联盟(ACLU)撰写 25于3月份发布,其中律师要求与Otero County Processing Center的官员进行磋商,以解决多个LGBTQ寻求庇护者所描述的言语,身体和情感虐待问题。

“我们在过去几周记录的情况引发了关于Otero和ICE遵守”监狱强奸消除法案“(PREA),ICE基于绩效的国家拘留标准和美国宪法的严重质疑,”ACLU-NM的律师写道,与Sante Fe Dreamers项目和Las Americas移民宣传中心合作。 “ICE在Otero的做法为跨性别女性和被关押在那里的男同性恋者创造了一个不安全的环境。”

来自三个法律组织的代表在Otero会见了个人,并记录了不安全的睡眠空间和隐瞒医疗保健以及反复使用单独监禁的报告,这些报告有时被视为报告滥用行为的报复来源。

报告虐待情况的12个人是美国的寻求庇护者,其中一些人因性别和性别身份受到迫害而逃离家园。

ICE准则将单独使用限制在无法向受到性侵犯或受到侵害威胁的人提供其他安全住房的情况。 但在Otero处理中心和全国的拘留中心,ICE监护下的跨性别女性和男同性恋者在单独监禁中花费了大量时间。

“当我抱怨时,我被单独监禁五天,如果再次抱怨,我会受到进一步惩罚的威胁,” 说过 W.,一名20岁男同性恋者逃离洪都拉斯并遭受猖獗的迫害。 “现在我被释放了,我可以自由发言,因为我不担心报复。”

在2018,37国会议员向ICE致函,详细说明了全国各地LGBTQ被拘留者的类似指控和报道。 许多人从他们那里得到了激素治疗。 在13会计年度被拘留的300跨性别人士的2017百分比被单独监禁。

Otero是一个1,000床位的拘留中心,由美国大型私人监狱公司之一的管理和培训公司(MTC)拥有和运营。

根据91.03,ICE内部文件表明该设施每天可以收取ICE扣留任何人的$ 117.71- $ 2018。 报告 被拘留的移民团结委员会。

MTC还运营另外两家 ICE拘留中心:加利福尼亚州Calexico的帝国区域拘留设施和德克萨斯州Livingston的IAH拘留中心。

ICE女发言人Leticia Zamarripa没有回应这些指控,但表示所有拘留设施都遵循国家标准和机构的医疗保健和安全要求,包括LGBTQ被拘留者。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL TRENDING-NATIONAL

LGBTQ Report Abuse in ICE Custody, ACLU Investigating

Free Our Future. Families Belong Together. Abolish ICE. March and Day of Action Minneapolis, Minnesota, June 30, 2018 (photo by Fibonacci Blue)
Free Our Future. Families Belong Together. Abolish ICE. March and Day of Action Minneapolis, Minnesota, June 30, 2018 (photo by Fibonacci Blue)

The ACLU is looking into reports of abusive treatment of transgender women and gay men at an ICE detention center near Chaparral, New Mexico.

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) authored a letter released on March 25 in which lawyers requested a consultation with the officers at Otero County Processing Center to address the verbal, physical and emotional abuse described by multiple LGBTQ asylum-seekers.

“The conditions we have documented over the past several weeks raise serious questions about Otero and ICE’s compliance with the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA), ICE Performance-Based National Detention Standards, and the U.S. Constitution,” wrote the lawyers from ACLU-NM, in conjunction with the Sante Fe Dreamers Project and Las Americas Immigrant Advocacy Center. “ICE’s practices at Otero have created an unsafe environment for transgender women and gay men who are detained there.”

Representatives from the three legal organizations met with individuals at Otero and documented reports of unsafe sleeping spaces and withheld medical care, as well as repeated use of solitary confinement, at times perceived as a source of retaliation for reporting abuse.

The 12 individuals reporting the abusive conditions are asylum-seekers in the United States, and some of them fled their homes due to persecution of their gender and sexual identities.

ICE guidelines limit the use of solitary to situations when no other secure housing can be provided to persons at threat of being sexually assaulted or abused. But at Otero Processing Center and in detention centers nationwide, transgender women and gay men in ICE custody reported extensive time spent in solitary confinement.

“When I complained, I was thrown into solitary confinement for five days and threatened with further punishment if I complained again,” said W., a 20-year-old gay man who fled Honduras and rampant persecution. “Now that I am released from custody, I am free to speak up because I do not fear retaliation.”

In 2018, 37 members of Congress delivered a letter to ICE detailing similar allegations and reports from detained LGBTQ individuals throughout the nation. Many had their hormone treatments denied from them. 13 percent of the 300 transgender people detained in the 2017 fiscal year were kept in solitary confinement.

Otero is a 1,000-bed detention center, owned and operated by the Management and Training Corporation (MTC), one of the nation’s larger private prison companies.

ICE internal documentation indicates the facility receives anywhere from $91.03-$117.71 per day for any person detained by ICE, according to a 2018 report by the Detained Migrant Solidarity Committee.

MTC operates two other ICE detention centers: the Imperial Regional Detention Facility in Calexico, California, and the IAH Detention Center in Livingston, Texas.

ICE spokeswoman Leticia Zamarripa did not respond to the allegations, but said that all detention facilities follow national standards and agency mandates for medical care and safety, including that of LGBTQ detainees.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.