输入搜索

环境 TRENDING环境

主要石油公司通过3至1保证金向巴黎协议票据反对者提供资金

周六,成千上万的示威者游行穿过巴黎市中心(和其他法国城镇),呼吁法国政府和国际社会采取更多措施应对气候变化。
周六,成千上万的示威者游行穿过巴黎市中心(和其他法国城镇),呼吁法国政府和国际社会采取更多措施应对气候变化。 十月13,2018。 (照片:Jeanne Menjoulet)

MapLight对联邦竞选活动数据的分析发现,反对该措施的65 House成员自今年年初以来从美国268,965最大的石油和天然气公司获得了10。

(弗兰克巴斯, MapLight反对采取措施阻止特朗普政府放弃减缓气候变化的国际协议的众议院议员从该国的主要石油和天然气公司获得的资金是法案支持者的三倍。

上周由众议院通过的“气候行动现行法” 231-190投票将阻止美国退出2016巴黎协议,这是具有里程碑意义的协议 旨在限制全球温度上升 与温室气体排放有关。 美国总统唐纳德特朗普6月宣布2017 将退出协议。 该法案将要求特朗普政府提交遵守协议的年度计划,包括a 从26温室气体排放水平降低28至2005百分比.

MapLight对联邦竞选活动数据的分析发现,反对该措施的65 House成员自今年年初以来从美国268,965最大的石油和天然气公司获得了10。 自35,300-2019选举周期开始以来,R-Calif。的少数党领袖凯文麦卡锡已从化石燃料巨头那里获得了20,这是所有立法者中最多的。 D-La。的Cedric Richmond公司从石油和天然气公司获得了8,500,这是所有共同赞助商中最多的。 根据FEC数据,该法案的二十五名支持者从石油和天然气公司获得了总计$ 78,850。

马拉松石油公司向不支持该法案的立法者提供了131,000,超过了任何一家顶级10美国公司。 总部位于俄亥俄州Findlay的石油公司出版 关于气候变化带来的风险和机遇的年度报告,向该立法的七名支持者提供了16,750。

世界上最大的石油和天然气公司埃克森美孚公司向气候法案的43,750支持者提供了20,以及向拒绝支持该措施的75,500成员提供了34。 总部位于德克萨斯州欧文的巨人拥有 强烈否认报道 它的科学家 了解温室气体排放的影响 半个世纪并没有采取任何行动。

众议院气候法案由议员Kathy Castor,D-Fla。赞助,现在可由参议院审议。 然而,少数领袖Mitch McConnell,R-Ky。承诺“这种徒劳的姿态给美国经济带来了手铐 通过命运多巴的巴黎协议,参议院将无处可去。“


方法:MapLight分析考虑了2019最大的美国能源公司及其员工的20-10选举周期捐款, 按市值排名 截至5月7,2019。 这些公司包括埃克森美孚公司(Exxon Mobil Corp.)(324.6十亿美元); 雪佛龙公司(225.3十亿美元); 康菲石油($ 68.9十亿); EOG Resources Inc.(53.3十亿美元); Occidental Petroleum Corp.($ 44.7十亿); Marathon Petroleum Corp.(40十亿美元); Phillips 66($ 39.3十亿)Anadarko Petroleum Corp.($ 38.1十亿); Valero Energy Corp.($ 35.2十亿); 和Pioneer Natural Resources Co.($ 24.9十亿)。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Major Oil Companies Bankroll Paris Accord Bill Opponents By 3-to-1 Margin

Tens of thousands of demonstrators marched through central Paris (and other french towns) on Saturday calling on the French government and the international community to do more to tackle climate change.
Tens of thousands of demonstrators marched through central Paris (and other french towns) on Saturday calling on the French government and the international community to do more to tackle climate change. October 13, 2018. (Photo: Jeanne Menjoulet)

A MapLight analysis of Federal Election Campaign data found that 65 House members who opposed the measure received $268,965 from the 10 largest oil and gas companies in the U.S. since the beginning of the year.

(By Frank Bass, MapLight) House members who opposed a measure to block the Trump administration from abandoning an international agreement to mitigate climate change received three times more money from the nation’s major oil and gas companies than the bill’s supporters.

The Climate Action Now Act, passed last week by the House in a 231-190 vote, would bar the U.S. from pulling out of the 2016 Paris Agreement, the landmark accord that seeks to limit global temperature increases tied to greenhouse gas emissions. President Donald Trump announced in June 2017 that the U.S. would withdraw from the agreement. The bill would require the Trump administration to submit an annual plan for complying with the agreement, including a 26 to 28 percent reduction from 2005 greenhouse gas emission levels.

A MapLight analysis of Federal Election Campaign data found that 65 House members who opposed the measure received $268,965 from the 10 largest oil and gas companies in the U.S. since the beginning of the year. Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif., has received $35,300 from the fossil fuel giants since the start of the 2019-20 election cycle — the most of any lawmaker. Rep. Cedric Richmond, D-La., received $8,500 from the oil and gas companies, the most of any cosponsor. Twenty-five supporters of the legislation received a total of $78,850 from the oil and gas companies, according to FEC data.

Marathon Petroleum Corp. contributed $131,000 to lawmakers who didn’t support the bill, more than any of the top 10 U.S. companies. The Findlay, Ohio-based oil company, which publishes an annual report on the risks and opportunities presented by climate change, gave $16,750 to seven supporters of the legislation.

ExxonMobil, the world’s largest oil and gas company, gave $43,750 to 20 supporters of the climate bill, as well as $75,500 to 34 members who declined to support the measure. The Irving, Texas-based giant has vehemently denied reports that its scientists knew about the effects of greenhouse gas emissions for a half-century and took no action.

The House climate bill, sponsored by Rep. Kathy Castor, D-Fla., can now be considered by the Senate. Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., however, has promised “this futile gesture to handcuff the U.S. economy through the ill-fated Paris deal will go nowhere here in the Senate.”


Methodology:The MapLight analysis considered 2019-20 election cycle donations by the 10 largest U.S. energy companies and their employees, ranked by market capitalization as of May 7, 2019. The companies include Exxon Mobil Corp. ($324.6 billion); Chevron Corp. ($225.3 billion); ConocoPhillips ($68.9 billion); EOG Resources Inc. ($53.3 billion); Occidental Petroleum Corp. ($44.7 billion); Marathon Petroleum Corp. ($40 billion); Phillips 66 ($39.3 billion) Anadarko Petroleum Corp. ($38.1 billion); Valero Energy Corp. ($35.2 billion); and Pioneer Natural Resources Co. ($24.9 billion).

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.