اكتب للبحث

أفريقيا

"تسريبات موريشيوس" تكشف عن ملاذ ضريبي جديد للشركات لأكبر الشركات في العالم

الشركات في موريشيوس تدفع معدل أقل بكثير حتى عند ممارسة الأعمال التجارية في البلدان ذات الضرائب المرتفعة مثل أوغندا. (الصورة: بيكسباي)
الشركات في موريشيوس تدفع معدل أقل بكثير حتى عند ممارسة الأعمال التجارية في البلدان ذات الضرائب المرتفعة مثل أوغندا. (الصورة: بيكسباي)

تُظهر مجموعة جديدة من المستندات التي تم تسريبها ، والتي يطلق عليها "تسريبات موريشيوس" ، كيف تهرب الشركات متعددة الجنسيات من الضرائب من خلال إنشاء متجر لها في مواقع نائية ضريبية للشركات.

نشر الاتحاد الدولي للصحفيين الاستقصائيين (ICIJ) تقريراً عن انفجار قنبلة في عالم التهرب الضريبي للشركات العالمية يوم الثلاثاء ، حيث سلم "تسرب موريشيوس"، نافذة على كيفية استخدام الشركات الأجنبية والمستثمرين لقانون الضرائب الجزئي للمحيط الهندي لتجنب دفع الضرائب في الدول الإفريقية الفقيرة التي يمارسونها.

يُظهر التحقيق ، استنادًا إلى مجموعة من المستندات السرية الخاصة بـ 200,000 من مكتب موريشيوس لشركة المحاماة الخارجية Conyers Dill & Pearman التي تتخذ من برمودا مقراً لها ، كيف تستفيد الشركات من معدلات الضرائب التي تصل إلى 3٪ عن طريق حجز أرباحها في الدولة الجزيرة ، التي تطلق على نفسها "بوابة" بين الشركات متعددة الجنسيات والعالم النامي.

لا تأتي حالة "البوابة" في موريشيوس فقط من معدلات الضرائب المنخفضة للغاية ، ولكن من خلال معاهداتها الضريبية المثيرة للجدل مع 46 في معظمها من البلدان الفقيرة. تتيح اتفاقيات الازدواج الضريبي ، التي دفعتها منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية وغيرها من المؤسسات المالية الغربية في 1990s ، للشركات دفع سعر أقل بكثير في موريشيوس حتى عند ممارسة الأعمال التجارية في البلدان ذات الضرائب المرتفعة مثل أوغندا.

وقال ألفين موسيوما ، المدير التنفيذي لشبكة العدالة الضريبية غير الربحية في إفريقيا ، "ما تقدمه موريشيوس ليس بوابة وإنما سيارة مهرب للشركات عديمي الضمير تتهرب من التزاماتها الضريبية". ICIJ.

مؤسس المعونة الحية متورط في تسرب موريشيوس

يعد الموسيقي الأيرلندي بوب غيلدوف ، المشهور بجهوده الإنسانية بما في ذلك Live Aid ، أحد أكثر الشخصيات البارزة التي تخضع للتدقيق بعد التسريبات. شركة 8 Miles التابعة لشركة Geldof التي تركز على إفريقيا تركز على علامة تجارية واعية اجتماعياً تدعي أنها تدعم البلدان الفقيرة ، ولكن وثائق مسربة وجدت صندوق Geldof مقرها في موريشيوس في جزء كبير منه "لأسباب ضريبية".

"ما تظهره القصة هو أن كونك قانونيًا وبما يتماشى مع معايير الشركات الدولية لم يعد حماية ضد كابوس العلاقات العامة" ، كتب فاينانشال تايمز ردا على التسريبات. "لا سيما عندما يقوم شخص مثل Anand Giridharadas ، وهو ناقد صريح لـ" غسل السمعة "ومؤلف كتاب" الفائزون خذوا كل شيء ، يضخّم القصة إلى متابعي تويتر البالغ عددهم نصف مليون. "

كتاب جيريدهراداس ، الفائزون يأخذون كل شيء، له صلة خاصة بالموقف لأنه يستهدف نفاق المليارديرات الخيرية الذين توفر حملاتهم الإيثارية ضد الظلم الاجتماعي دعاية جيدة مع التعتيم على دورهم في خلق تلك المظالم من خلال التهرب الضريبي والضغط.

صندوق الاستثمار في Geldof يفخر بالاستثمار من قبل "رمز أميال 8" الذي يعد بـ "المساهمة في التنمية الاقتصادية للبلدان التي يستثمر فيها الصندوق". ولكن نظرًا لأن 8 Miles تتعامل في بعض من أفقر البلدان في العالم ، فإن استراتيجيتها الضريبية تحرم الحكومات التي تعتمد على فرض الضرائب على الشركات "أكثر بكثير من الدول الغربية"من الموارد الأساسية اللازمة لتطوير مجتمعاتهم.

في أوغندا ، حيث اشترى Geldof مزرعة دواجن ، يعيش أكثر من 40٪ من السكان على أقل من 2 دولار في اليوم. وقال مسؤول ضرائب أوغندي: "يمكن أن يكون هناك القليل من المال هو الفرق بين بلد فقير يبني بنية تحتية كبيرة أم لا" ICIJ.

500 مليار دولار تكلفة الإلغاء الضريبي

"تجنب الضرائب ، والذي يكلف الحكومات والمجتمعات مبالغ لا تحصى من المال يمكن أن تذهب إلى التعليم والرعاية الصحية ، وما إلى ذلك ،" تغريد رداً على التسريبات ، "يعد أمرًا فظيعًا بشكل خاص بالنسبة للشركات التي تصف نفسها بالصالح الاجتماعي"

يجادل النقاد بأن الشبكة الواسعة من الملاذات الضريبية الدولية ، التي لفتت انتباهها في وقت سابق أوراق بنما وأوراق الجنة ، تؤدي إلى تفاقم عدم المساواة العالمية وسلب الموارد من أولئك الذين يوفرون البنية التحتية والعمالة التي تسمح للشركات بالربح في المقام الأول.

وقالت ليندا أمبروسي ، الباحثة بجامعة كالجاري في ألبرتا: "إن مسألة الضرائب هي أولاً وقبل كل شيء". ICIJ"لأن كل ما تحاول القيام به لجعل الوجهة أكثر استدامة ، مثل توفير المياه العذبة أو الطرق الجيدة ، يحتاج إلى ضرائب لدفع ثمنها".

يُفقد ما يقدر بـ 500 مليار دولار سنويًا حيث تتجنب الشركات متعددة الجنسيات دفع الضرائب إلى الدول التي تتعامل معها ، تقرير صدر في مايو من قبل شبكة العدالة الضريبية.

وقال أليكس كوبهام ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشبكة العدالة الضريبية ، "إن البلدان ذات الدخل المنخفض هي التي تخسر الجزء الأكبر من إيراداتها الضريبية بسبب تجنب الضرائب للشركات متعددة الجنسيات". قناة الجزيرة. "إلى أن يتم وضع القواعد الضريبية الدولية في الأمم المتحدة ، بدلاً من منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية ، من الصعب أن نرى كيف سيتم معالجة التفاوتات العالمية في الحقوق الضريبية".

وقال كوبهام قناة الجزيرة أن قلة مختارة من "الحكومات تبطن جيوبها الخاصة على حساب مجرى تمويل حاسم للتقدم البشري المستدام" ، مضيفة أن القدرة على "دفع أجور المعلمين ، وبناء المستشفيات وضمان ملعب متكافئ للشركات المحلية تم عن عمد و تقويض بلا رحمة ".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

3 تعليقات

  1. لاري ستاوت يوليو 26، 2019

    الشخص الذي يكتب عن الجرائم الكبيرة والمجرمين الكبار - بما في ذلك أولئك المجرمين الكبار الذين يمارسون جرائم كبيرة ذات الوقت القانوني - لا ينفد من أي مادة ، هل هو وبيتر؟ جيد عليك يا صديقي! استمر في الكتابة!

    رد
  2. بيتر كاستانيو يوليو 26، 2019

    شكرا لاري! انا حقا اقدر دعمك!

    رد
  3. لاري ستاوت يوليو 26، 2019

    "لا شيء يحرض على جرائم المال مثل الفقر الكبير أو الثروة الكبيرة." - مارك توين

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AFRICA

‘Mauritius Leaks’ Expose New Corporate Tax Haven For World’s Biggest Companies

Corporations on Mauritius pay a much lower rate even when doing business in higher tax countries like Uganda. (Photo: Pixabay)
Corporations on Mauritius pay a much lower rate even when doing business in higher tax countries like Uganda. (Photo: Pixabay)

A new batch of leaked documents, dubbed the Mauritius Leaks, shows how multinational corporations dodge taxes by setting up shop in corporate tax-friendly remote locations.

The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) published a bombshell report into the world of global corporate tax dodging on Tuesday, delivering the “Mauritius Leaks,” a window into how foreign corporations and investors use the tiny Indian Ocean island’s tax code to avoid paying taxes in the poor African nations they do business.

The investigation, based on a trove of 200,000 confidential documents from the Mauritius office of the Bermuda-based offshore law firm Conyers Dill & Pearman, shows how companies take advantage of tax rates as low as 3% by booking their profits in the island country, which calls itself a “gateway” between multinational corporations and the developing world.

Mauritius’ “gateway” status comes not only from its extremely low tax rates, but through its controversial tax treaties with 46 other mostly poor countries. These double-tax agreements, which were pushed by the OECD and other Western financial institutions in the 1990s, allow corporations to pay the much lower rate in Mauritius even when doing business in higher tax countries like Uganda.

“What Mauritius is providing is not a gateway but a getaway car for unscrupulous corporations dodging their tax obligations,” Alvin Mosioma, executive director of the nonprofit Tax Justice Network Africa, told ICIJ.

Live Aid Founder Implicated in Mauritius Leaks

Irish musician Bob Geldof, famous for his humanitarian efforts including Live Aid, is one of the most high-profile figures under scrutiny after the leaks. Geldof’s Africa-focused private equity firm 8 Miles is built on a socially-conscious brand that claims to support poor countries, but the leaked documents found Geldof’s fund set up its headquarters in Mauritius in large part for “tax reasons.”

“What the story shows is that being legal and in line with international corporate norms is no longer a protection against a PR nightmare,” wrote Financial Times in response to the leaks. “Especially when someone such as Anand Giridharadas, a vocal critic of ‘reputation laundering’ and the author of Winners Take All, amplifies the story to his half-million Twitter followers.”

Giridharadas’ book, Winners Take All, is particularly relevant to the situation because it targets the hypocrisy of philanthropic billionaires whose altruistic campaigns against societal injustices provide good publicity while obfuscating their own role in creating those injustices through tax evasion and lobbying.

Geldof’s investment fund prides itself on investing by the “8 Miles code,” which promises to “contribute to the economic development of the countries in which the Fund invests.” But because 8 Miles does business in some of the poorest countries in the world, its tax strategy deprives governments that rely on corporate taxation “far more than Western states” of essential resources needed to develop their societies.

In Uganda, where Geldof bought a chicken farm, more than 40% of the population lives on less than $2 a day. “One little wad of cash can be the difference between a poor country building big infrastructure or not,” a Ugandan tax official told ICIJ.

$500 Billion Cost of Tax Avoidance

“Tax avoidance, which costs governments and societies uncountable amounts of money that could go to education and healthcare, etc.,” tweeted Giridharadas in response to the leaks, “is especially egregious for companies that brand themselves on social good.”

Critics argue the vast network of international tax havens, earlier brought to attention by the Panama Papers and the Paradise Papers, exacerbates global inequality and siphons off resources from those who provide the infrastructure and labor that allow companies to profit in the first place.

“Sustainably is, first and foremost, a tax issue,” Linda Ambrosie, a researcher at the University of Calgary in Alberta, told ICIJ, “because whatever you try to do to make a destination more sustainable, like providing fresh water or good roads, needs taxes to pay for it.”

An estimated $500 billion is annually lost as multinationals avoid paying taxes to the countries they do business in, according to a report released in May by the Tax Justice Network.

“It is lower-income countries that lose the greatest share of their tax revenues to multinational companies’ tax avoidance,” Alex Cobham, the Tax Justice Network’s chief executive, told Al Jazeera. “Until the international tax rules are set at the United Nations, rather than the OECD, it’s hard to see how the global inequalities in taxing rights will be redressed.”

Cobham told Al Jazeera that a select few “governments line their own pockets at the expense of a crucial funding stream for sustainable human progress”, adding that the ability to “pay teachers’ wages, build hospitals and ensure a level playing field for local businesses has been deliberately and ruthlessly undermined”.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

3 Comments

  1. Larry Stout July 26, 2019

    A guy who writes about big-time crime and big-time criminals — including those big-time criminals who engage in legalized big-time crime — never runs out of material, does he, Peter? Good on you, mate! Keep on writing!

    Reply
  2. Peter Castagno July 26, 2019

    Thank you Larry! I really appreciate your support!

    Reply
  3. Larry Stout July 26, 2019

    “Nothing incites to money-crimes like great poverty or great wealth.” — Mark Twain

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.