输入搜索

警察/监狱

在重启联邦死刑,AG威廉巴尔期待德克萨斯州

执行室的看法在佛罗里达监狱的。
执行室的看法在佛罗里达监狱的。 (照片:佛罗里达州惩教部/ Doug Smith)

美国司法部长威廉巴尔下令处决五名联邦囚犯,他们现在的执行日期定在十二月和一月。

(由朱莉麦卡洛, 德州论坛报)在恢复极少使用的联邦死刑时,美国司法部 周四宣布 它将使用相同的致命药物德克萨斯州 用于执行。

美国司法部长威廉巴尔在12月和1月下令五次处决,他们告诉联邦监狱局采用的执行方法“与德克萨斯州,佐治亚州和密苏里州使用的协议密切相关”。 自2003以来,联邦死刑判决尚未执行,因为在致命注射的合宪性出现问题时,非官方的暂停期开始了。 现代时期只有三次联邦处决。

在此 新协议 取代有争议的三药致死注射组合与德克萨斯州自2012以来的方法 - 仅使用戊巴比妥,一种镇静剂。 德克萨斯州从复杂的药店购买这种药物,这些药品对公众保密,药品在没有联邦监管的情况下混合使用。 该州在79处决中使用戊巴比妥。

在过去十年中,各州难以获得致命的毒品。 在2011,药品制造商开始阻止他们的产品被用于致命注射,使得包括德克萨斯在内的全国各州争相寻找新的执行药物。 近年来,各州已停止处决,因为他们无法获得致命剂量或尝试未经检验的,有争议的混合物 - 有时导致可怕的死亡.

最近根据德克萨斯州法律,其身份已经被公众屏蔽的复合药房使得该州继续执行该国迄今为止最多的处决。 去年,德克萨斯州有13名男子被处死; 根据美国田纳西州,执行次数最多的州有三个 死刑信息中心.

最近几年购买了几批新戊巴比妥后 - 以及 推迟到期日 库存剂量 - 德克萨斯监狱系统有27致死剂量据“德克萨斯论坛报”获得的记录显示,今年的10执行计划已经足够了。 它的供应使德克萨斯州与其他大多数国家形成鲜明对比,而这些国家仍在努

巴尔的声明没有说明联邦政府将如何获取致命毒品或从哪里获得,但它表示新议定书“为联邦政府在近二十年失效后恢复死刑铺平了道路,并为该国的受害者伸张正义最可怕的罪行。“

根据美国联邦共和国的死刑,1988恢复了联邦死刑,但只有三名男子被处决 死刑信息中心:Timothy McVeigh在2001为俄克拉荷马城爆炸案,Juan Raul Garza大约一周后因德克萨斯州谋杀三名毒贩和路易斯琼斯在2003因德克萨斯谋杀一名女士而被捕。

周四,巴尔下令处决5起儿童和老人被杀的案件 - 包括一起德克萨斯案。 阿尔弗雷德·布尔乔亚(Alfred Bourgeois)在2004被判处死刑,因为他在克鲁斯蒂海军航空兵基地的酷刑,性骚扰和2岁女儿的死亡而被定罪。 他的执行定于1月13。

另外四名执行死刑的人是Daniel Lewis Lee,Lezmond Mitchell,Wesley Ira Purkey和Dustin Lee Honken。 在杀害未成年人方面,他们都被判有罪,除了资产阶级以外的所有人都被判有多人死亡。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

In Restarting the Federal Death Penalty, AG William Barr Looks to Texas

View of the execution chamber in a Florida prison.
View of the execution chamber in a Florida prison. (Photo: Florida Department of Corrections/Doug Smith)

U.S. Attorney General William Barr ordered the execution of five federal prisoners who now have execution dates set for December and January.

(By Jolie McCullough, Texas Tribune) In reviving the rarely used federal death penalty, the U.S. Department of Justice announced Thursday it would use the same lethal drug Texas uses in its executions.

Ordering five executions in December and January, U.S. Attorney General William Barr told the federal prisons bureau to adopt an execution method “which closely mirrors” the protocol used in Texas, Georgia and Missouri. A federal death sentence has not been carried out since 2003, when an unofficial moratorium began as questions arose over the constitutionality of lethal injection. There have only been three federal executions in the modern era.

The new protocol replaces the controversial three-drug lethal injection combinationwith the method that Texas has had since 2012 — using only pentobarbital, a sedative. Texas purchases the drug from compounding pharmacies kept secret from the public, where drugs are mixed without federal regulation. The state has used pentobarbital in 79 executions.

Lethal drugs have become hard for states to obtain in the last decade. In 2011, drug manufacturers began blocking their products from being used in lethal injections, making states across the country, including Texas, scramble to find new execution drugs. In recent years, states have either stopped executions because they can’t obtain lethal doses or tried untested, controversial mixtures — sometimes resulting in gruesome deaths.

Compounding pharmacies, whose identities have been shielded from the public recently under Texas law, have allowed the state to continue carrying out by far the most executions in the country. Thirteen men were put to death in Texas last year; the state with the second most executions, Tennessee, had three, according to the Death Penalty Information Center.

After purchasing several new batches of pentobarbital in recent years — as well as pushing back expiration dates of doses in stock — the Texas prison system has 27 lethal doses, more than enough to cover the 10 executions on the schedule this year, according to records obtained by The Texas Tribune. Its supply puts Texas in contrast with most other states, which still struggle to obtain the drugs.

Barr’s announcement did not indicate how the federal government would obtain lethal drugs or from where, but it said the new protocol is “clearing the way for the federal government to resume capital punishment after a nearly two decade lapse, and bringing justice to victims of the most horrific crimes.”

Since the federal death penalty was reinstated in 1988, only three men have been executed, according to the Death Penalty Information Center: Timothy McVeigh in 2001 for the Oklahoma City bombing, Juan Raul Garza about a week later for the Texas murders of three drug traffickers and Louis Jones in 2003 for the Texas murder of a female soldier.

On Thursday, Barr ordered executions in five cases in which children and elderly people were killed — including a Texas case. Alfred Bourgeois was federally sentenced to death in 2004, after being convicted in the torture, sexual molestation and death of his 2-year-old daughter at the Corpus Christi Naval Air Station. His execution is scheduled for Jan. 13.

The four other men set for execution are Daniel Lewis Lee, Lezmond Mitchell, Wesley Ira Purkey and Dustin Lee Honken. They all were found guilty in the killings of minors, with all but Bourgeois convicted in multiple deaths.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.