输入搜索

国家 未分类

McConnell在快速火灾确认中推进13终身特朗普评判

肯塔基州参议员Mitch McConnell在马里兰州国家港口的2014保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。
肯塔基州参议员Mitch McConnell在马里兰州国家港口的2014保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“参议员必须结束对我们司法制度,传统和民主的公然不尊重。 他们必须要求每个提名都进行唱名表决,以便公众知道参议员的立场。“

参议院本周确认了13一生的司法提名人,确定了特朗普政府可能最持久的遗产:国家法院的保守转型。

“我们将继续推动这些提名,” 麦康奈尔说 在投票之前。 “长期以来,这些相当无争议的司法提名人就像这些被我们的民主党同事所拖延和拖延。”

Progressives批评麦康奈尔的言论是虚伪的,因为参议院多数党领袖在奥巴马总统任期内臭名昭着,并且已经改变了他的会议室的规则以实现快速确认。

从2009到2013,麦康纳尔率领参议院阻止79奥巴马提名人。 在美国历史上的每一届总统政府直到那时,只有68总统候选人提名 被封锁了。 麦康纳尔有名 否认 奥巴马总统的最高法院选举梅里克加兰进行了一次确认听证会,在该国最高法院留下了一年多的空缺。

“McConnell在两年内只确认了18 Obama区法官。 现在,他想在一周内确认19特朗普地区法官,“ 啾啾 Christopher Kang,进步倡导组织Demand Justice的首席法律顾问。 “这是唯一可能的,因为共和党人改变了参议院的规则。”

对司法改革的批判

领导人会议的Kristine Lucius,一个民权组织, 与MSNBC交谈 周三,关于麦康奈尔(McConnell)与特朗普被提名人一起加入司法机构的举动。 Lucius使用了 目前的案例有可能打击平价医疗法案 作为终身法院确认将产生的长期后果的一个例子。

“现在在第五巡回法院审理的案件是一个真正的教育时刻,让选民了解法院的影响,” 卢修斯说。 “特朗普正试图通过法庭立即行事,而他通过立法无法做到这一点。”

卢修斯是众多批评参议院的活动家之一,他们允许麦康奈尔推进提名人,而不是为更严格的审查程序而奋斗。

几乎所有特朗普的任命人员都得到了科赫资助的联邦党人协会的支持,众多被提名者都是 没经验 并被指控 歧视。 正如克里斯托弗康 指出:特朗普最近的十一名选民拒绝支持布朗诉教育委员会,这是1954最高法院裁定将学校隔离视为违宪的决定。

“参议院应该作为一个支持,以保护我们独立和公正的司法机构,”卢修斯说。

麦康奈尔的双重标准

在2013中,麦康奈尔对奥巴马任命的阻挠促使当时的参议院多数党领袖哈里·里德使用“核选择,“一个有争议的漏洞,允许参议院推翻60投票规则。 麦康奈尔不祥 警告 民主党人,“你可能会比你想象的更加后悔。”

在阻止Merrick Garland之后,McConnell使用了 核选择 在2017取消了最高法院提名人的阻挠议案,填补了特朗普选择法官Neil M. Gorsuch的空缺。 后来,麦康奈尔承诺“直接犁过去“Brett Kavanaugh的确认程序尽管存在可信的性侵犯指控,但仍指定了第二个成功的最高法院对特朗普政府的选择。

麦康奈尔继续使用核能 选项 a 第二次 在四月2019,削减民主党可以将确认流程从30小时延迟到2小时的时间。 麦康奈尔也掏空了“蓝色单“,这个过程允许参议员反对他们所在州的被提名人。

参议院司法委员会前主席,参议员Patrick Leahy, 砰的一声 麦康奈尔决定利用核选项绕过参议院对被任命者的审查:

“这是极右翼的想法,即将年轻的,意识形态的提名人淹没联邦司法机构的动机,其中许多人 - 正如我们在司法委员会中一次又一次地看到的那样 - 根本没有资格在我们国家的法庭上服务。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 八月2,2019

    美国提供了一个非常不具代表性的政府的杰出榜样。 也许这是“两个邪恶中较小的”情况。 或者可能不是。

    回复
  2. 拉里西默斯 八月5,2019

    裁判的3是民主党参议员在与共和党的交易中选出的民主党人。

    事实上,特朗普的一些司法提名人也是由奥巴马提名的。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL UNCATEGORIZED

McConnell Advances 13 Lifetime Trump Judges In Rapid-Fire Confirmations

Senator Mitch McConnell of Kentucky speaking at the 2014 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland.
Senator Mitch McConnell of Kentucky speaking at the 2014 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“Senators must put an end to this blatant disrespect to our judicial system, traditions, and democracy. They must demand that each nomination receives a roll call vote, so the public knows where their senators stand.”

The Senate confirmed 13 lifetime judicial nominees this week, entrenching what may be the most enduring legacy of the Trump administration: the conservative transformation of the nation’s courts.

“We’re going to continue to move these nominations forward,” McConnell said before the votes. “For too long, fairly uncontroversial judicial nominees just like these have been held up and delayed by our Democratic colleagues.”

Progressives criticized McConnell’s statements as hypocritical, as the Senate Majority Leader was notoriously obstructive during President Obama’s tenure and has changed the rules of his chamber to enable the rapid-fire confirmations.

From 2009 to 2013, McConnell led the senate in blocking 79 Obama nominees. In every presidential administration in US history until that point, only 68 presidential nominees had been blocked. McConnell famously denied President Obama’s Supreme Court pick Merrick Garland a confirmation hearing, leaving a vacancy in the country’s highest court for over a year.

“McConnell confirmed only 18 Obama district judges in two years. Now, he wants to confirm 19 Trump district judges in one week,” tweeted Christopher Kang, chief counsel for progressive advocacy group Demand Justice. “This is only possible because Republicans went nuclear and changed the Senate rules.”

Criticism Of The Judicial Restructuring

Kristine Lucius of the Leadership Conference, a civil rights group, spoke to MSNBC on Wednesday about McConnell’s move to load the judiciary with Trump nominees. Lucius used the current case to potentially strike down the Affordable Care Act as an example of the long-term consequences the lifetime court confirmations will have.

“That case pending right now in the fifth circuit is a real education moment for voters to understand the impact of the courts,” said Lucius. “Trump is trying to do right now through the courts what he was not able to do through legislation.”

Lucius was among the numerous activists who criticized the senate for allowing McConnell to advance the nominees without fighting for a more rigorous vetting process.

Nearly all of Trump’s appointees are backed by the Koch-funded Federalist Society, and numerous nominees are inexperienced and have been accused of discrimination. As Christopher Kang pointed out, eleven of Trump’s most recent picks refused to endorse Brown v. Board of Education, the 1954 Supreme Court decision that ruled school segregation as unconstitutional.

“The senate is supposed to be acting as a backstop to protect our independent and fair judiciary,” said Lucius.

McConnell’s Double Standard

In 2013, McConnell’s obstructions of Obama appointees motivated then-Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid to use the “nuclear option,” a controversial loophole that allows the senate to override the 60-vote rule. McConnell ominously warned Democrats, “you may regret this a lot sooner than you think.”

After blocking Merrick Garland, McConnell used the nuclear option in 2017 to eliminate the filibuster for Supreme Court nominees, filling the vacancy with Trump pick Judge Neil M. Gorsuch. Later, McConnell pledged to “plow right through” Brett Kavanaugh’s confirmation process despite credible allegations of sexual assault, appointing the second successful Supreme Court pick of the Trump administration.

McConnell continued to use the nuclear option a second time in April 2019, slashing the time Democrats could delay confirmation processes from 30 hours to 2 hours. McConnell also gutted “blue slips”, a process that allows Senators to object to nominees in their state.

Sen. Patrick Leahy, former chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee, slammed McConnell’s decision to use the nuclear option to bypass senate scrutiny of the appointees:

“It is motivated by the far-right’s desire to flood the federal judiciary with young, ideological nominees, many of whom- as we have seen time and again in the Judiciary Committee- are simply unqualified to serve on our nation’s courts.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry Stout August 2, 2019

    The USA provides an outstanding example of very unrepresentative government. Maybe it’s a “lesser of two evils” situation. Or maybe not.

    Reply
  2. Larry Simmers August 5, 2019

    3 of the judges are Democrats chosen by Democratic senators in deals with the GOP.

    In fact, some of Trump’s judicial nominees were also nominated by Obama.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.