输入搜索

分析 在焦点 - 中东 中东

特朗普政府是否允许恐怖组织制定其伊朗政策?

市长Rudy Giuliani在6月33,30的“自由伊朗 - 另类”聚会上向2018美国政要和前官员签署了一份声明,发给Maryam Rajavi。 (照片:Maryam Rajavi)
市长Rudy Giuliani在6月33,30的“自由伊朗 - 另类”聚会上向2018美国政要和前官员签署了一份声明,发给Maryam Rajavi。 (照片:Maryam Rajavi)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

作为白宫现在强大的参与者,MKO / MEK集团已经成为一股不可忽视的力量,最有可能损害和平。

上个月,国会议员以罕见的举动跨越了党派路线,加入了两党的共同努力 遏制 美国总统唐纳德特朗普的好战推文和对伊朗的评论。 投票不是否决权。 与此同时,似乎MKO / MEK,也被称为伊朗的人民圣战组织,一个长期反对伊朗政府的团体,在白宫有强硬派的耳朵。

Mujahedin-e-Khalq(MEK)曾经是美国的死敌,过去几年来,由于希望看到伊朗政府崩溃,它已经成为几个西方政府的战术盟友。

两者经常被描述为邪教 专家 前成员该组织负责在1970s中杀害伊朗的六名美国人。 在1979伊朗革命的高峰期,该组织欢呼美国驻德黑兰大使馆,以及随后的人质危机。 五十二名美国外交官被扣为人质新西兰元。

然而,当党的领导人忽视了这种暴力和灌输的历史 Maryam和Masoud Rajavi 提议在德黑兰推动现代政权更迭,并成为美国认为伊朗绝对神权政治的唯一可行替代方案。

伊丽莎白鲁宾在纽约时报的2003上发表的一篇报道题为:“拉贾维崇拜“最好地说明了MKO / MEK的现实。

此举恰逢中东呼吁进行广泛的民主改革和结束西方军事干预主义,美国宣布在新西兰国家联盟决定将MKO / MEK从其恐怖主义名单中删除。

虽然MKO / MEK可能不赞成德黑兰的毛拉,但与华盛顿的叙述一致,它使用形容词“民主”几乎不适用于只能被称为邪教般的准军事组织,围绕着对其创始人和领导人的崇拜,马苏德和玛丽亚姆拉贾维。

十多年来,人权观察一直谴责MKO / MEK继续对其成员及其领导者标签作为其意识形态对手的无数严重侵权行为。 一个 28页的报告 揭露其成员在不敢违抗时所面临的虐待行为,包括声称那些希望离开该集团的人遭受“长期单独监禁,严重殴打和酷刑”。

在2018,唐纳德特朗普的私人律师鲁迪朱利安尼在巴黎举行了MKO / MEK集会,呼吁在德黑兰改变政权。 国家安全顾问约翰·博尔顿(MKO / MEK最强大和最热心的倡导者之一)的到来,使该组织前所未有地接近白宫并重新开始政治生活,尽管人们担心白宫基本上已经将其政策与伊朗保持一致与该集团的政治教条主义。

向一群MKO / MEK成员发表讲话, 博尔顿 对伊朗政权的垮台和极端组织的崛起毫不含糊地说。

“对阿亚图拉的统治存在着可行的反对,今天反对派集中在这个会议室......政权的行为和目标不会改变,因此唯一的解决办法就是改变政权本身,”博尔顿宣布到房间。

“总统政策审查的结果应该是确定阿亚图拉霍梅尼的1979革命不会持续到40岁生日......美国宣布的政策应该是推翻德黑兰的毛拉政权......行为和目标该政权不会改变,因此唯一的解决办法就是改变政权本身,“博尔顿继续说道。

背景和影响

相信在5,000和13,000成员之间,MKO / MEK在1960s中成立,是对Shah Reza Pahlavi(一种马克思主义和伊斯兰主义的混合体)的压迫统治的反应。 该组织出生于暴力事件中,其历史充满了对流血和恐怖主义行为的呼吁。

在1981中,它在伊朗引发了一系列攻击,最终导致包括74国会议员在内的27高级官员被杀。 那年晚些时候,其针对性的爆炸袭击声称伊朗总统和总理的生命。

自从1980s流亡以来,首先是在伊拉克晚期独裁者萨达姆侯赛因的保护下,他的军队与MKO / MEK军队一起对抗伊朗,然后是几个欧洲政府,特别是法国和阿尔巴尼亚的乐趣。

Eli Clifton国家研究所的一名研究员发出警告,反对MKO / MEK在美国的影响力,“当[MKO]成员去国会山并与国会议员会面时,他们往往是听到的唯一声音,因为在国会山上根本没有很多伊朗裔美国人。“

此外,克利夫顿强调,通过前线团体运作的组织如何向那些在他们的活动中发言的人写出非常大的支票,从而补贴政治支持。 每个演讲的估算范围为$ 30,000到$ 50,000。 据估计,博尔顿已经收到了超过$ 180,000的多个赛事。 他最近的财务披露显示他在40,000的MKO / MEK活动中获得了一次2017的演讲。

在2018 Trita Parsi,伊朗国家委员会的领导人 在Twitter上:“人们,这一点非常明确:博尔顿的任命基本上是与伊朗的战争宣言。 在庞培和博尔顿的帮助下,特朗普正在组装一个WAR CABINET。“

这并不是说所有的政治家和/或国家官员,无论是在美国还是在欧洲,都因为该组织在身份政治方面的聪明表现而堕落。 正如国会两党为抑制对伊朗发动强硬战争的呐喊所做的努力所表明的那样,许多人仍然愿意对伊朗采取任何行动。

超过二十多名众议院共和党人加入民主党投票,以阻止总统唐纳德特朗普在未经国会批准的情况下对伊朗采取军事行动。 鉴于总统倾向于推动其行政特权的限制,这样的措施是一个值得欢迎的喘息机会。 由民主党众议员罗·卡纳和共和党众议员马特·盖茨提出的这项措施将禁止联邦资金在没有国会祝福的情况下被用于对伊朗采取军事行动。 该指标通过了251-170。

“众议院和参议院领导人必须承认国会的意愿,并包括一项强有力的规定,禁止在会议期间出台的国防法案的最终版本中与伊朗进行未经授权的战争,”参议员Tom Udall(D-NM)在评论中说。对新闻界。

欺骗和操纵

虽然很多人会对这项措施感到安慰,但白宫仍然与MKO / MEK关系密切,因为任何人都无法对这种政治和意识形态的纠缠无动于衷,特别是如果我们考虑到如果战争爆发我们可能面临的可怕后果。地区已经受到骚乱的困扰; 尽管Wahhabis和Salafis表达了伊斯兰激进主义始终存在的威胁。

正如Murtaza Hussain最近在拦截国家的一篇文章所述,MKO / MEK已成为华盛顿反伊朗立场的参考点,任何人都不能进一步接受,至少如果我们认真对待事实而不是小说 是的,在这种情况下,白宫似乎正在整理“假新闻”,以制定其伊朗议程。

正如文章所推断的那样,华盛顿关于伊朗的数据可能并不真实......至少不是适合世界上最强大的军队。

拦截文章 :“在2018,总统唐纳德特朗普正试图抛弃他的前任在2015与伊朗签署的具有里程碑意义的核协议,他正在寻找方法来赢得持怀疑态度的新闻。 白宫声称,核协议允许伊朗增加军事预算,华盛顿邮报记者萨尔瓦多里佐和梅格凯利要求提供消息。 作为回应,白宫传递了一篇名为Heshmat Alavi的作家在“福布斯”上发表的一篇文章。

然而,“Heshmat Alavi似乎不存在。 两名消息人士告诉“拦截”,阿拉维的角色是由伊朗反对派组织Mojahedin-e-Khalq开展的宣传活动,其名称为MEK。“Alavi,截获的假设,只是集​​体努力战争的产物。伊朗。

来自MEK的高级叛逃者哈桑·海拉尼(Hassan Heyrani)据说过去帮助塑造和指导了类似的虚假宣传活动,他告诉拦截阿拉维的在线角色是如何“由MEK政治部门的一群人经营”。

“他们写下他们指挥官指挥的任何东西,并用这个名字在报刊上刊登文章。 这不是也不是真正的人,“海拉尼进一步断言。

虽然我们可能已经习惯了特朗普先生的好战言论和不实之词,但是与伊朗开战以适应一个因其恐怖主义活动和邪教意识形态臭名昭着的团体的野心的可能性应该让我们停下来。

尽管并非所有人都认为伊朗目前的政权在意识形态上是令人愉悦的,但却认为改变有利于一个不允许其成员的团体 结婚 因为它会分散他们的政治目的,并且对他们的领导人的正当崇拜马苏德和玛丽亚姆拉贾维是不明智的。

MKO电子军队 - 阿尔巴尼亚由德黑兰春天学院提供。

作为一个运气良好的机器,受益于伊朗在该地区的大量敌人,例如沙特阿拉伯王国,MKO / MEK长期以来通过建立其电子军队渗透到主流媒体和社交媒体。 在接受采访时 Al Bawaba 2018前高级MKO / MEK官员Masoud Khodabandeh阐明了沙特阿拉伯对该集团的财政支持,解释了利雅得政权如何通过各种第三方进行漏斗,金条,现金和其他价值数亿美元的贵重物品。

在其他启示中,Khodabandeh描述了萨达姆侯赛因在伊拉克沦陷后的情况, Prince Turki bin Faisal Al Saud 成为装备的主要支持者。

“我会说,在萨达姆倒台后,当时由萨达姆赞助的马苏德[Rajavi]经营的MKO改为由Maryam [Rajavi]在Prince Turki bin Faisal Al Saud的赞助下经营的组织。 ,“ 他说。

伊朗的一些组织和官员的报告揭示了MKO / MEK在媒体中的深度嵌入程度,即使是最成熟的新闻机构,其数据操纵现在也被视为福音。

例如,赫斯马特·阿拉维(Heshmat Alavi)的事实存在受到质疑,一直是福布斯,希尔,每日来电者和联邦党人等媒体的常客,他们乞求媒体共谋的问题,为该组织强有力的政治议程服务。

最近 记录 在伊朗发表的论文指出,该组织有系统地操纵媒体,因为其领导层试图将自己作为伊朗目前治理体系,法学家治理的唯一民主替代品,吸引更加自愿的战争鹰派来促进对外交的好战。

MKO / MEK的未来之路是什么?

最近几周,与伊朗,国家官员和德黑兰活动人士的语调强硬相关的时间表引发了对该组织未来的质疑,这是基于Maryam Rajavi的病情。 伊朗消息人士证实,他们认为拉贾维夫人患有癌症,因此将MKO / MEK的直接政治可持续性置于极大的不确定性之下。

Masoud Rajavi未能出现在公众场合多年,据信他居住在阿尔巴尼亚,MKO / MEK在那里重新安置了大部分成员,其中大多数成员都很喜欢他们的50和60。

虽然像MKO / MEK这样的群体具有依赖于个性崇拜的意识形态前提,在这种情况下是一对夫妇的群体,但由于显而易见的原因而有限的范围,我们不应该低估其混淆地缘政治水域的能力。如果他们的观点在强硬的反伊朗议程下被煽动起来。

如果我们考虑多年来Intercept所记录的这个小组是如何通过大量游说来消除它的恐怖主义过去,现在已经成为伊朗当前政权的可接受的替代方案,达到数百万美元,MKO / MEK的通过“影响者”玷污广泛的地缘政治话语的能力不应低估,因此国会监督美国行政部门的重要性。

通过报告 罗伯特麦基 发布于3月的2018发布了一个重要警告:

“尽管人们怀疑MEK的政治派别,伊朗全国抵抗委员会,比艾哈迈德沙拉比的伊拉克国民议会证明的更可靠,但是花费大量支付给付费代言,已经为该集团赢得了两党愿意签署华盛顿政治家的名单。作为支持者。 在前一届2016庆祝活动中,博尔顿加入了另一位前联合国大使比尔理查森的演唱。 前总检察长Michael Mukasey; 前国务院发言人PJ克劳利; 前国土安全部顾问Frances Townsend; 前众议员Patrick Kennedy,DR.I。; 和前佛蒙特州州长霍华德迪恩。 这场巴黎晚会由前里根政府官员琳达·查韦斯主持。“

在政治上否认伊朗不应该转化为与我们知道促进和实施令人发指的恐怖主义行为的团体的便利联盟。 最近在利比亚和叙利亚政权更迭的尝试,通过武装化不太理想的派系,在最终证明手段合理的基础上,应当作为警示故事。

不久前为一群人提供的不仅仅是对美国外交官的不幸感到高兴,在美国总统面前,特朗普不仅如此热衷于捍卫和弘扬,而且还在发声。

观看MKO / MEK的力量增长和访问至少应该让我们停下来。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
凯瑟琳沙克丹

凯瑟琳是中东地缘政治分析家和评论员,特别关注也门和海湾国家。 她曾出版过几个着名媒体,包括:赫芬顿邮报,人造卫星,公民真相,新闻电视,新东方展望,转发,MintPress,阿亚图拉哈梅尼的网站,开放民主,外交政策期刊,杜兰,美国先驱报Tribune,Katehon等等。 在英国和法国受过教育,自从2011以来,Catherine对也门的专业知识和研究已多次被联合国安理会引用。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 八月2,2019

    包括中国在内华盛顿几十年非常脏衣服的贸易协议怎么样? (虽然我担心有洗衣板的1,386,000,000人员可能太少了。)

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS In Focus-Middle East MIDDLE EAST

Is the Trump Administration Allowing a Terrorist Group to Shape Its Iran Policy?

Mayor Rudy Giuliani presents a statement signed by 33 U.S. dignitaries and former officials to Maryam Rajavi at the “Free Iran – The Alternative” gathering, June 30, 2018. (Photo: Maryam Rajavi)
Mayor Rudy Giuliani presents a statement signed by 33 U.S. dignitaries and former officials to Maryam Rajavi at the “Free Iran – The Alternative” gathering, June 30, 2018. (Photo: Maryam Rajavi)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

A now powerful player in the White House, the MKO/MEK group has become a force to be reckoned with, most likely to the detriment of peace.

In a rare move last month Congressional members crossed party lines to join in a bipartisan effort to curb U.S. President Donald Trump’s belligerent tweets and comments about Iran. The vote was not veto proof. At the same time, it appears the MKO/MEK, also known as the People’s Mujahedin of Iran, a group long opposed to the Iranian government, has the ear of the hardliners in the White House.

The Mujahedin-e-Khalq (MEK), which was once a sworn enemy of the United States, has over the past few years reinvented itself as a tactical ally to several Western governments in view of its desire to see Iran’s government collapse.

Often described as a cult by both experts and former members, the group was responsible for the killing of six Americans in Iran in the 1970s. At the height of 1979 Iranian Revolution the group cheered the storming of the U.S. embassy in Tehran, and the subsequent hostage crisis that followed. Fifty-two American diplomats were held hostage for a period of 444 days.

Such a history of violence and indoctrination was nevertheless ignored when party leaders Maryam and Masoud Rajavi offered to push for a modern-day regime change in Tehran and pose as the only viable alternative to what America sees as an absolute theocracy in Iran.

A report by Elizabeth Rubin published in 2003 in the New York Times, entitled: “The Cult of the Rajavi” best encapsulates the reality of the MKO/MEK.

In a move that coincided with calls in the Middle East for broad democratic reforms and an end to Western military interventionism, the United States announced its decision in 2012 to remove the MKO/MEK from its terrorism list.

While the MKO/MEK may disapprove of Tehran’s mullahs, in alignment with Washington’s narrative, its use of the adjective “democratic” hardly applies to what can only be described as a cult-like paramilitary organization revolving around the worship of its founders and leaders, Masoud and Maryam Rajavi.

For well over a decade now, Human Rights Watch has denounced the countless serious rights violations the MKO/MEK continues to perpetrate against both its members and those its leadership labels as its ideological opponents. A 28-page report sheds light on the abuses its members face should they dare disobey, including claims that those wishing to leave the group have been subjected to “lengthy solitary confinements, severe beatings and torture.”

In 2018, Rudy Giuliani, Donald Trump’s personal lawyer, addressed an MKO/MEK rally in Paris, calling for regime change in Tehran. The arrival of National Security Advisor John Bolton, one of the MKO/MEK’s most powerful and enthusiastic advocates, has given the group unprecedented proximity to the White House and a new lease of political life notwithstanding fears the White House has essentially aligned its policy on Iran with that of the group’s political dogmatism.

Addressing a crowd of MKO/MEK members, Bolton called in no uncertain terms for the fall of Iran’s regime and the rise of the extreme group.

“There is a viable opposition to the rule of the ayatollahs, and that opposition is centered in this room today … The behavior and objectives of the regime are not going to change, and therefore the only solution is to change the regime itself,” Bolton announced to the room.

“The outcome of the president’s policy review should be to determine that the Ayatollah Khomeini’s 1979 revolution will not last until its 40th birthday … The declared policy of the United States should be the overthrow of the mullahs’ regime in Tehran … The behavior and the objectives of the regime are not going to change and, therefore, the only solution is to change the regime itself,” Bolton continued.

Background and Influence

Believed to have between 5,000 to 13,000 members, the MKO/MEK was established in the 1960s as a reaction to the oppressive rule of Shah Reza Pahlavi, a mixture of both Marxism and Islamism. Born in violence, the group has seen its history peppered with calls for bloodshed and acts of terrorism.

In 1981 it led a series of attacks in Iran, which culminated with the killing of 74 senior officials, including 27 MPs. Later that year, its targeted bombing attacks claimed Iran’s president and prime minister’s lives.

Since the 1980s the group has lived in exile, first under the protection of late Iraqi dictator Saddam Hussein whose troops fought with MKO/MEK troops against Iran, then at the pleasure of several European governments, most notably France and Albania.

Eli Clifton, a fellow at the Nation Institute warned against the MKO/MEK’s influence in the U.S. noting, “When [MKO] members go and swarm Capitol Hill and seek meetings with the members of Congress, they’re very often the only voices that are heard, because there is simply not a lot of Iranian-American presence on Capitol Hill.”

Moreover, Clifton stressed how the organization, which operates through front groups, writes very large checks to those speaking at their events, thus subsidizing political support. Estimates are in the range of $30,000 to $50,000 per speech. Bolton is estimated to have received upwards of $180,000 to speak at multiple events. His recent financial disclosure shows that he was paid $40,000 for one speech at an MKO/MEK event in 2017.

In 2018 Trita Parsi, leader of the National Iranian American Council wrote on Twitter: “People, let this be very clear: The appointment of Bolton is essentially a declaration of war with Iran. With Pompeo and Bolton, Trump is assembling a WAR CABINET.”

That is not to say that all politicians and/or state officials, whether in the United States or in Europe, have fallen for the group’s clever play on identity politics. As demonstrated by Congress’ bipartisan efforts to curb hawkish cries for war on Iran, many still are willing to make no moves on Iran.

Over two dozen House Republicans joined Democrats to vote for a measure blocking President Donald Trump from taking military action against Iran without congressional approval. In the light of President’s propensity to push the limits of his executive prerogatives, such a measure comes as a welcome respite. The measure, introduced by Democratic Rep. Ro Khanna and Republican Rep. Matt Gaetz, would prohibit federal funds from being used for military action against Iran without the blessing of Congress. The measure passed 251-170.

“House and Senate leaders must recognize the will of Congress and include a strong provision to bar an unauthorized war with Iran in the final version of the defense bill that comes out of conference,” said Sen. Tom Udall (D-NM) in comments to the press.

Deception and Manipulation

Although many will take comfort in the measure, the White House remains too closely tied to the MKO/MEK for anyone to be callous about such political and ideological entanglement, especially if we consider what dire consequences we may all face should war break out in a region already plagued by unrest; notwithstanding the ever-present threat of Islamic radicalism, as expressed by Wahhabis and Salafis.

As a recent article by Murtaza Hussain in The Intercept states, the MKO/MEK has become too much of a reference point to Washington’s anti-Iranian stance for anyone to entertain any further, at least not if we are serious about acting on facts as opposed to fiction. And yes, in this instance the White House does appear to be collating “fake news” to formulate its Iranian agenda.

As the article infers, Washington’s data on Iran may not be real … at least not in a fashion befitting the most powerful military in the world.

The Intercept article reads: “In 2018, President Donald Trump was seeking to jettison the landmark nuclear deal that his predecessor had signed with Iran in 2015, and he was looking for ways to win over a skeptical press. The White House claimed that the nuclear deal had allowed Iran to increase its military budget, and Washington Post reporters Salvador Rizzo and Meg Kelly asked for a source. In response, the White House passed along an article published in Forbes by a writer named Heshmat Alavi.”

However, “Heshmat Alavi appears not to exist. Alavi’s persona is a propaganda operation run by the Iranian opposition group Mojahedin-e-Khalq, which is known by the initials MEK, two sources told The Intercept.” Alavi, the Intercepts posits, is but the product of a collective effort for war against Iran.

Hassan Heyrani, a high-ranking defector from the MEK who is said to have helped shape and directed similar disinformation campaigns in the past told the Intercept how Alavi’s online persona is “run by a team of people from the political wing of the MEK.”

“They write whatever they are directed by their commanders and use this name to place articles in the press. This is not and has never been a real person,” Hayrani further asserted.

While we may have all grown accustomed to Mr. Trump’s bellicose rhetoric and untruths, the possibility of a war with Iran to fit the ambitions of a group made infamous for its terrorist activities and cultish ideology ought to give us pause.

And though not all may look upon Iran’s current regime as ideologically pleasing, to argue change in favor of a group that disallows its members to marry for it would distract them from their political purpose and due worship of their leaders Masoud and Maryam Rajavi is ill-advised.

MKO electronic army – Albania Courtesy of The Spring Institute, Tehran.

A well-oiled machine benefiting from the largess of Iran’s wealthy enemies in the region, for example, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the MKO/MEK has long infiltrated both mainstream media and social media through the establishment of its electronic army. In an interview for Al Bawaba in 2018 Masoud Khodabandeh, a former high-ranking MKO/MEK official, shed light on Saudi Arabia’s financial support for the group, explaining how Riyadh regime has funneled, gold bars, cash and other valuables worth hundreds of millions of dollars through various third parties.

Among other revelations, Khodabandeh described how after the fall of Saddam Hussein in Iraq, Prince Turki bin Faisal Al Saud became the outfit’s main supporter.

“I would say that after the fall of Saddam, the MKO, which was then being run by Masoud [Rajavi] under the patronage of Saddam, changed to the organization run by Maryam [Rajavi] under the patronage of Prince Turki bin Faisal Al Saud,” he said.

Reports by several organizations and officials in Iran have revealed how deeply embedded the MKO/MEK is within the media to the extent that its data manipulation is now regarded as gospel by even the most well-established of news agencies.

Heshmat Alavi, whose factual existence has been put into question, for example, has been a regular in outlets such as Forbes, The Hill, the Daily Caller, and The Federalist, begging the question of media complicity to serve the group’s powerful political agenda.

A recent documentary published in Iran argues the group’s systematic manipulation of the media as its leadership attempts to present itself as the only democratic alternative to Iran’s current system of governance, the Governance of the Jurist, enticing ever-more willing war hawks to promote belligerence over diplomacy.

What Lies Ahead for MKO/MEK?

In recent weeks, a timeline that coincides with a hardening of tone against Iran, state officials and activists in Tehran have raised questions as to the group’s future based on Maryam Rajavi’s illness. Sources in Iran have confirmed they believe Mrs. Rajavi suffers from cancer, consequently putting the MKO/MEK’s immediate political sustainability under much uncertainty.

Masoud Rajavi, who has failed to appear in public for several years, is believed to reside in Albania, where the MKO/MEK relocated most of its members, most of whom are well into their 50s and 60s.

While groups such as the MKO/MEK, with an ideological premise that relies on a cult of personality, in this case, that of a couple, have for obvious reasons a limited reach, we ought not to discount its ability to muddy our geopolitical waters should their views be fanned under a hawkish anti-Iranian agenda.

If we consider how the group, as documented by the Intercept over the years has managed through heavy lobbying to wash away its terrorist past to now pose as an acceptable alternative to Iran’s current regime, to the tune of millions of dollars, the MKO/MEK’s ability to taint the broad geopolitical discourse through “influencers” should not be discounted, hence the importance of Congressional oversight on the U.S. Executive branch.

A report by Robert Mackey published in March 2018 issues a crucial warning:

“Despite such doubts that the MEK’s political wing, the National Council of Resistance of Iran, is any more reliable than Ahmad Chalabi’s Iraqi National Congress proved to be, spending lavishly on paid endorsements has earned the group a bipartisan roster of Washington politicians willing to sign up as supporters. At a previous gala in 2016, Bolton was joined in singing the group’s praises by another former U.N. ambassador, Bill Richardson; a former attorney general, Michael Mukasey; the former State Department spokesperson P.J. Crowley; the former Homeland Security adviser Frances Townsend; the former Rep. Patrick Kennedy, D-R.I.; and the former Vermont Gov. Howard Dean. That Paris gala was hosted by Linda Chavez, a former Reagan administration official.”

To disavow Iran politically should not translate into an alliance of convenience with groups we know to have promoted and perpetrated heinous acts of terrorism. Recent attempts at regime change in Libya and Syria, through the weaponization of less than desirable factions, on the basis that the end justified the means should serve as cautionary tales.

To offer more than an ear to a group, which not too long ago, rejoiced at the misfortune of U.S. diplomats certainly flies in the face of the America President Trump has been not only so keen on but vocal on defending and promoting.

To watch the MKO/MEK grow in strength and access ought at the very least to give us pause.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Catherine Shakdam

Catherine is a geopolitical analyst and commentator for the Middle East with a special focus on Yemen and the Gulf countries. She has been published across several prominent media outlets including: The Huffington Post, Sputnik, Citizen Truth, Press TV, The New Eastern Outlook, RT, MintPress, Ayatollah Khameini’s website, Open Democracy, the Foreign Policy Journal, The Duran, The American Herald Tribune, Katehon, and many more. Educated in both the UK and France, Catherine’s expertise and research on Yemen have been quoted by the UN Security Council on several occasions since 2011.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 2, 2019

    How about a trade deal that includes China doing Washington’s decades of very dirty laundry? (Although I’m afraid that 1,386,000,000 folks with washboards might be too few for the job.)

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.