输入搜索

分析

与特朗普的新国家安全顾问罗伯特奥布莱恩会面

然后,特别总统人质事务特使罗伯特·奥布莱恩在4月2,2019,国务院向在国外被俘虏的美国人家庭发表讲话。 (照片:国务院,迈克尔格罗斯)
然后,特别总统人质事务特使罗伯特·奥布莱恩在4月2,2019,国务院向在国外被俘虏的美国人家庭发表讲话。 (照片:国务院,迈克尔格罗斯)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

虽然有些人认为罗伯特奥布莱恩距离约翰博尔顿的强硬的战争外交政策还有一步之遥,但其他人认为他是一个以美国例外主义出售的传统“外交政策精英”。

美国总统唐纳德特朗普选择了人质谈判代表罗伯特奥布莱恩作为他的新安全顾问,取代鹰派约翰博尔顿,他因与外交事务发生冲突而被解雇或辞职。

奥布莱恩是一位在外交政策上有长期职业生涯的律师。 在2005的乔治·W·布什政府任职期间,他曾担任联合国大会的代表,曾与博尔顿一起工作,后来美国驻联合国大使奥布莱恩也曾与两位前国务卿康多莉扎·赖斯和希拉里克林顿

“我很高兴地宣布,我将任命罗伯特·奥布莱恩(Robert C. O'Brien)为国家部门负责人质事务的特别总统特使,他现任新任国家安全顾问。 我和罗伯特一起努力工作。 他会做得很好!“特朗普周三发推文。

奥布莱恩的任命是在9月14对沙特石油设施的无人机攻击之后发布的。 也门的胡塞叛乱分子声称对此次袭击事件负责,但华盛顿指责伊朗策划袭击事件,尽管美国没有提供有关伊朗演变的任何证据。

对奥布莱恩任命的反应

在被任命为特朗普的第四位国家安全顾问之前,当特朗普派奥布莱恩帮助谈判释放美国说唱歌手A $ AP Rocky时,奥布莱恩崛起,后者在瑞典斯德哥尔摩因街头斗殴而被捕。

今年早些时候,这位总部位于洛杉矶的律师也在释放被拘留在也门的美国人Danny Burch中发挥了作用。 Danny Burch是一名美国公民,当时他在2017的也门被绑架,为一家石油公司工作。

NPR国家安全通讯员 格雷格·米尔描述了奥布莱恩 与博尔顿的直言不讳相比,他是一个更温顺的人格。

“所以奥布莱恩是一个鲜为人知的人物,也有不同类型的个性。 通过声誉,他被视为和蔼可亲,友善,经理,谈判者 - 而不是这种尖锐的,直言不讳的人物,“Myre说。

前美国总统巴拉克•奥巴马(Barack Obama)领导的外交官乔尔•鲁宾(Joel Rubin)回应了迈尔的声明。

“他不是一个高调的人物,这很重要,” 副助理国务卿告诉半岛电视台。

曾担任过最后三届总统制政府职务的布雷特·麦克古尔克(Brett McGurk)称赞奥布莱恩(O'Brien)是NPR的重要职位。

“好吧,在国务院工作了两年,他是我的同事。 我在几个问题上与他合作过。 我想,看,他是 - 我认为这是一个明智的决定。 他很谨慎。 作为一名特别的总统特使和人质事务,有点关于这份工作......

“它是由奥巴马政府创建的。 这是一个困难的位置。 你必须在内部机构中进行导航。 你正在与人质家庭打交道。 你在和外国政府打交道。 你必须非常谨慎。 我认为他处理了 - 他处理得很好,“特朗普决定从叙利亚撤军后,去年年底退出特朗普政府的麦格尔克告诉他们 美国国家公共电台。

奥布莱恩是正确的选择吗?

奥布莱恩的任命引发了人们对华盛顿外交政策在与伊朗的紧张局势,与朝鲜无核化谈判的不确定性以及与中国持续的贸易争端中的看法所带来的希望和疑问。

国家安全顾问的作用至关重要; 他必须是一名优秀的谈判者和推动者。 国家安全顾问必须支持总统的政策,同时也知道当顾问和总统在问题上有所不同时如何沟通。

一些人认为奥布莱恩是正确的选择,因为他可以为特朗普提供更多的平衡存在,正如国务院中东情报局前副局长韦恩怀特所说的那样。

“他对美国外交政策的影响应该是一个稳定因素,与苛刻的,要求严格的约翰博尔顿相比,” 怀特对新华社说。

奥布莱恩的任命暗示特朗普渴望与博尔顿强硬的战术保持距离,而是考虑谈判,尽管怀疑他实际上已经准备好这样做了。 特朗普此前表达了与伊朗总统哈桑·鲁哈尼交谈的愿望,尽管德黑兰表示不会就华核问题与华盛顿进行谈判。

然而,鉴于Pompeo仍然可能是特朗普最具影响力的外交政策人物,一些人认为O'Brien的存在对国务院的影响不大。

人民抵抗联合协调员Kevin Zeese, 告诉Sputnik新闻 考虑到庞培对朝鲜的强硬立场,博尔顿的退出并不意味着支持战争期结束。

“Pompeo也是朝鲜的鹰派。 他不是像博尔顿那样的表演马鹰; 他也不是一个会与特朗普发生冲突的人,“ Zeese告诉Sputnik新闻。

然而,泽斯补充说,他不知道奥布莱恩的外交政策方式是什么样的,因为现在还为时过早。

“正如我所说,现在判断他还为时过早。 他曾在[乔治W.]布什执政期间,有一些经验,但他的经验很少。 至于作为外交政策的战略家,他从来没有达到那个水平,所以我们不知道他的想法是什么。

“他写的书,一本谈论美国例外论的书,以及如何重建美国在世界上的角色以及我们如何成为好人 - 你知道,我们从美国外交政策精英那里听到的所有废话 - 所以他看起来像是他的一个传统的外交政策精英,在保守的一面,庞培的男人,“泽斯补充道。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS

Meet Robert O’Brien, Trump’s New National Security Adviser

Then Special Presidential Envoy for Hostage Affairs Robert O'Brien speaks to families of Americans held captive abroad on April 2, 2019, at the Department of State. (Photo: State Department, by Michael Gross)
Then Special Presidential Envoy for Hostage Affairs Robert O'Brien speaks to families of Americans held captive abroad on April 2, 2019, at the Department of State. (Photo: State Department, by Michael Gross)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

While some see Robert O’Brien as a step away from John Bolton’s hawkish, pro-war foreign policy, others consider him a traditional “foreign policy elite” sold on U.S. exceptionalism.

U.S. President Donald Trump has chosen hostage negotiator Robert O’Brien as his new security adviser, replacing hawkish John Bolton who was either fired or resigned over clashes with the President regarding foreign affairs.

O’Brien is a lawyer with a long career in foreign policy. Under the George W. Bush administration in 2005, he served as a representative to the U.N. General Assembly where he once worked with Bolton, then the U.S. ambassador to the U.N. O’Brien has also worked with two former secretaries of state, Condoleeza Rice and Hilary Clinton.

“I am pleased to announce that I will name Robert C. O’Brien, currently serving as the very successful Special Presidential Envoy for Hostage Affairs at the State Department, as our new National Security Advisor. I have worked long & hard with Robert. He will do a great job!” tweeted Trump on Wednesday.

The O’Brien appointment comes following drone attacks on Saudi oil facilities on September 14. Houthi rebels in Yemen claimed responsibility for the attack, yet Washington accused Iran of masterminding the raid, though the U.S. has not provided any evidence of Iran’s evolvement.

Reactions to O’Brien’s Appointment

Before his appointment as Trump’s fourth national security adviser, O’Brien rose to prominence when Trump sent O’Brien to help negotiate the release of American rapper A$AP Rocky who was arrested in Stockholm, Sweden on assault charges stemming from a street fight.

Earlier this year, the Los Angeles-based lawyer also played a role in the release of American Danny Burch who was detained in Yemen. Danny Burch was an American citizen working for an oil firm when he was abducted in Yemen in 2017.

NPR national security correspondent Greg Myre described O’Brien as a more docile personality compared to Bolton’s outspokenness.

“So O’Brien is a much lesser-known figure, also has a different type of personality. By reputation, he’s seen as affable, friendly, a manager, a negotiator – not this sort of sharp-elbowed, outspoken figure,” said Myre.

Joel Rubin, a former diplomat who served under former U.S. President Barack Obama, echoed Myre’s statement.

“He is not a high-profile figure, and that’s important,” the deputy assistant secretary of state told Al Jazeera.

Brett McGurk, who has worked for the last three presidential administrations including working as part of the national security team under Bolton, praised O’Brien to NPR as the right man for the vital post.

“Well, for two years in the State Department, he was a colleague of mine. And I worked with him on a few issues. I think, look, he’s a – I think it’s a wise decision. He’s discreet. A little bit about that job as a special presidential envoy and hostage affairs…

“It was created by the Obama administration. And it’s a difficult position. You have to be navigating the inner agency. You’re dealing with the families of hostages. You’re dealing with the foreign governments. And you have to be very discreet. And I think he handled – he handled that job quite well,” McGurk, who quit the Trump administration at the end of last year following Trump’s decision to pull troops from Syria, told NPR.

Is O’Brien the Right Choice?

The appointment of O’Brien raises hopes and questions about what Washington’s foreign policy will look like amid tension with Iran, uncertainty over denuclearization talks with North Korea, and the ongoing trade dispute with China.

The role of national security adviser is crucial; he must be a good negotiator and facilitator. A national security adviser must support the president’s policies, while also knowing how to communicate when the adviser and the president differ over issues.

Some consider O’Brien the right choice as he can provide more of a balancing presence for Trump, as Wayne White, the former deputy director of the Middle East Intelligence Office of the State Department, argued.

“His impact on U.S. foreign policy should be a stabilizing element compared to the garrulous, demanding John Bolton,” White said to Xinhua.

The appointment of O’Brien hints at Trump’s desire to distance himself from Bolton’s hawkish tactics and instead consider negotiations, despite skepticism that he is actually ready to do so. Trump previously expressed his desire to talk to Iran’s President Hassan Rouhani even though Tehran stated there would be no talks with Washington regarding nuclear issues.

However, O’Brien’s presence is believed by some to have little impact on the State Department, given that Pompeo is still likely the most influential foreign policy figure to Trump.

Kevin Zeese, co-coordinator of Popular Resistance, told Sputnik News that Bolton’s exit does not mean that the pro-war period is over, given Pompeo’s hard stance on North Korea.

“Pompeo is a hawk on North Korea as well. He’s not a show horse hawk-like Bolton was; he also is not someone who is going to contradict Trump,” Zeese told Sputnik News. 

However, Zeese added that he had no idea what O’Brien’s foreign policy approach will be like as it is too early to tell. 

“As I said, it’s too early to judge him. He was in the [George W.] Bush administration, he has some experience, but he’s got minimal experience. And as far as being a strategist on foreign policy, he’s never been at that level, so we don’t know what his thinking is.

“He’s written books, a book that talks about American exceptionalism and how to rebuild America’s role in the world and how we’re the good guys – you know, all the nonsense we hear from the U.S. foreign policy elites – so he seems like he’s a traditional foreign policy elite, on the conservative side, Pompeo’s man,” Zeese added.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.