输入搜索

国家

穆尔瓦尼表示,民主党人永远不会看到特朗普的纳税申报表

管理和预算办公室主任Mick Mulvaney在马里兰州国家港口举行的2018保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发言。 (摄影:Gage Skidmore)。 总统唐纳德·J·特朗普访问位于巴黎郊外的Suresnes美国公墓,作为退伍军人节和纪念100十周年纪念日的纪念活动,11,1918停战结束了第一次世界大战,11月11,2018。 国防部(摄影:海军军官1st级Dominique A. Pineiro)
管理和预算办公室主任Mick Mulvaney在马里兰州国家港口举行的2018保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发言。 (摄影:Gage Skidmore)。 总统唐纳德·J·特朗普访问位于巴黎郊外的Suresnes美国公墓,作为退伍军人节和纪念100十周年纪念日的纪念活动,11,1918停战结束了第一次世界大战,11月11,2018。 国防部(摄影:海军军官1st级Dominique A. Pineiro)

“他们只是想关注这个问题,因为他们不想和我们讨论政策问题。”

白宫办公厅主任Mick Mulvaney表示,民主党将永远不会在福克斯新闻周日获得特朗普的纳税申报表,称该问题为“政治噱头“。

“他们只是想关注这个问题,因为他们不想和我们讨论政策,”Mulvaney说。 使总统财务记录透明化的呼吁与潜在的利益冲突有关。 特朗普总统并未将其金融资产置于盲目信任之中,其政府颁布的政策可能有利于其商业利益。

总统此前表示,他将在完成IRS审计后立即在2016选举期间发布纳税申报表。 三年后的四月7,2019,特朗普总统 给了一个更新 他所谓的审计:

“我们正在接受审计,尽管有人说,我们正在努力解决这个问题。 看来,我总是在接受审计。 但是我已经接受了很多年的审计,因为数字很大,我想当你有一个名字时,你就会被审计。 但直到我没有接受审计,我才不会这样做。“

穆尔瓦尼的评论是针对House Ways and Means主席理查德尼尔(D-Mass。)上周正式要求特朗普总统纳税申报表的回应。 除了八位总统商业实体的纳税申报表外,尼尔还要求特朗普总统六年回国2013-2018。 在他的信中引用的IRS代码Neal授权他向任何人索取税务文件。

众议院情报委员会主席亚当席夫 说过 特朗普的法律团队拒绝接受尼尔的国税局请求,“没有法律依据”。

Mulvaney先生在担任代理参谋长之前担任特朗普总统的消费者金融保护局(CFPB)主任和管理和预算主任。 Mulvaney在CFPB任职期间导致消费者投诉激增,并引发了消费者投诉 75%减少 公开宣布执法行动。 据报道 截距,CFPB指控一名男子以1美元的价格收购了针对退伍军人的八年骗局。 这名男子马克科贝特非法交换美国服务人员的养老金,用于“欺诈性利率”的“现金垫款”。

众议院金融服务委员会的新成员,消费者保护专家,加州大学新生代表Katie Porter否认了1美元的罚款,这是更广泛趋势的一部分,被称为“Mulvaney折扣“在Mulvaney接任后暂时冻结消费者保护工作后,CFPB的当时代理主管积极收缩了被认为对非法行为负责的多个行为人的罚款。 “在特朗普总统当选后,没有理由认为从事消费金融服务的人决定以前所未有的速度开始遵守法律,”众议员波特说。

Mulvaney对保护消费者和惩罚金融犯罪的态度松懈,这使得有理由对特朗普总统的纳税申报表持怀疑态度。 总统尚未宣布发布财务文件的日期,这种情况可能导致广泛的法律纠纷。


特色图片:管理和预算办公室主任Mick Mulvaney在马里兰州国家港口举行的2018保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。 (摄影:Gage Skidmore)。 总统唐纳德·J·特朗普访问位于巴黎郊外的Suresnes美国公墓,作为退伍军人节和纪念100十周年纪念日的纪念活动,11,1918停战结束了第一次世界大战,11月11,2018。 国防部(摄影:海军军官1st级Dominique A. Pineiro)

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Mulvaney Says Democrats Will Never See Trump’s Tax Returns

Office of Management and Budget Director Mick Mulvaney speaking at the 2018 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo by Gage Skidmore). President Donald J. Trump visits Suresnes American Cemetery located outside Paris, as part of Veterans Day and commemorations marking the 100th anniversary of the Nov. 11, 1918 armistice that ended World War I, Nov. 11, 2018. DOD (Photo by Navy Petty Officer 1st Class Dominique A. Pineiro)
Office of Management and Budget Director Mick Mulvaney speaking at the 2018 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo by Gage Skidmore). President Donald J. Trump visits Suresnes American Cemetery located outside Paris, as part of Veterans Day and commemorations marking the 100th anniversary of the Nov. 11, 1918 armistice that ended World War I, Nov. 11, 2018. DOD (Photo by Navy Petty Officer 1st Class Dominique A. Pineiro)

“They just want the attention on the issue because they don’t want to talk to us about policy.”

White House Chief of Staff Mick Mulvaney said Democrats will never get Trump’s tax returns on Fox News Sunday, calling the issue a “political stunt.”

“They just want the attention on the issue because they don’t want to talk to us about policy,” Mulvaney said. The call to make the President’s financial records transparent has to do with potential conflicts of interests. President Trump has not put his financial assets in a blind trust, and the policies his administration has enacted could be benefitting his business interests.

The President previously said he would release his tax returns during the 2016 elections as soon as he completed an IRS audit. Three years later on April 7, 2019, President Trump gave an update on his alleged audit:

“We’re under audit, despite what people said, and we’re working that out. I’m always under audit, it seems. But I’ve been under audit for many years because the numbers are big, and I guess when you have a name, you’re audited. But until such time as I’m not under audit, I would not be inclined to do that.”

Mulvaney’s comment comes in response to House Ways and Means Chairman Richard Neal (D-Mass.) formally requesting President Trump’s tax returns last week. Neal has requested six years of President Trump’s returns from 2013-2018, in addition to tax returns from eight of the president’s business entities. The IRS code Neal cited in his letter gives him the authority to request tax documents from anyone.

House Intelligence Committee Chairman Adam Schiff said there was “no legal ground” for the Trump’s legal team to refuse Neal’s IRS request.

Mr. Mulvaney served as President Trump’s director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and director of Management and Budget before taking over as acting Chief of Staff. Mulvaney’s tenure at the CFPB resulted in a spike in consumer complaints and a 75% reduction in publicly announced enforcement actions. As reported by the Intercept, the CFPB charged a man $1 dollar for operating an eight-year scam targeting veterans. The man, Mark Corbett, was illegally exchanging American service people’s pensions for “cash advances” that carried deceptive interest rates.

Freshman Rep. Katie Porter, D-Calif., a new member of the House Financial Services Committee and a consumer protection expert, disavowed the $1 dollar fine, part of a broader trend that has been labeled the “Mulvaney discount.” After a temporary freeze on consumer protection work when Mulvaney took over, the then-acting director of the CFPB actively shrunk fines on multiple actors deemed responsible for acting unlawfully. “After President Trump’s election, there’s no reason to think that those working in consumer financial services decided to begin complying with the law at an unheard-of rate,” said Rep. Porter.

Mulvaney’s lax attitude on protecting consumers and punishing financial crime lends reason to hold his opinion on President Trump’s tax returns with skepticism. The President has yet to announce a date for the release of the financial documents, and the situation could lead to an extensive legal battle.


Featured Image: Office of Management and Budget Director Mick Mulvaney speaking at the 2018 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo by Gage Skidmore). President Donald J. Trump visits Suresnes American Cemetery located outside Paris, as part of Veterans Day and commemorations marking the 100th anniversary of the Nov. 11, 1918 armistice that ended World War I, Nov. 11, 2018. DOD (Photo by Navy Petty Officer 1st Class Dominique A. Pineiro)

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.