输入搜索

亚太

缅甸军方谴责反对浸信会领袖的诽谤诉讼,要求特朗普寻求帮助

在7月份与特朗普总统会晤时,Reverand Samson。 (图片:ABC新闻截图)
在7月份与特朗普总统会晤时,Reverand Samson。 (图片:ABC新闻截图)

在一系列缅甸政府对直言不讳的批评者进行镇压之后,一名缅甸浸信会领导人在与特朗普总统举行的第二次40会议后面临军事诉讼。

“萨姆森牧师,你想简单地说出你的故事吗?”

Sam Brownback退后一步,牧师Hkalam Samson博士走向美国总统唐纳德特朗普。 牧师牧师是缅甸克钦浸信会的负责人。 他戴着一顶黑色和红色的帽子,戴在耳朵上,还有一件象牙色的夹克,上面饰有柔和的粉红色和绿色刺绣。 牧师参孙关于20的言论需要“折磨”。

布朗贝克是美国驻国际宗教自由大使。 这是7月中旬在白宫举行的。 他邀请了来自世界各地的一小群宗教少数派代表与特朗普会面,其中包括牧师萨姆森和另一位克钦牧师,他是另一位克钦牧师。 16服刑数月 与记者合作,记录缅甸在附近掸邦的军事空袭。

“作为缅甸的基督徒,我们受到缅甸军政府的压迫和折磨。 我们没有机会......为了宗教自由,“参孙告诉特朗普。 他要求美国政府支持缅甸的民族领袖为民主和联邦制而努力。

牧师参孙获得40秒钟给特朗普他的信息。 总统感谢他,会议继续进行。 到8月底,缅甸军方将起诉他对特朗普的评论。 美国实际上会支持参孙,但目前尚不清楚这是否使他无法入狱。

萨姆森感谢特朗普,美国政府的制裁

Samson是克钦邦的领导人,克钦邦是缅甸北部的一个大型基督教徒占多数的地区。 克钦独立军(KIA)和其他民族武装团体自1962以来一直在该地区与缅甸军队(也称为Tatmadaw)作战。 130,000人员在国内流离失所.

来自克钦独立军(KIA)的学员准备在缅甸克钦邦Laiza集团总部进行军事演习

来自克钦独立军(KIA)的学员准备在缅甸克钦邦的Laiza集团总部进行军事演习。 (图片:Paul Vrieze,美国之音)

参孙还利用特朗普的几秒钟来感谢美国政府批准了监督若开邦罗兴亚穆斯林种族清洗的武装将军。

7月16,在参孙访问白宫的前一天,美国国务院公开禁止缅甸军方的四名领导人及其家属进入美国。

“我们仍然感到关切的是,缅甸政府没有采取任何行动追究那些对侵犯人权和侵犯人权行为负责的人的责任,并且不断有报道称缅甸军方在全国各地侵犯和侵犯人权行为,” 声明 来自国务卿迈克庞培。

缅甸中校指责参议员诽谤

在牧师访问之后,美国的浸信会领导人担心这两人会遭到报复。 他们写信给联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯和美国政府官员,他们对Samson和Langjaw Gam Seng处于“迫在眉睫的危险”表示担忧。美国驻缅甸大使Scot Marciel在仰光机场与他们会面并返回密苏里州首都密支那。克钦邦。

但不久之后,缅甸军方克钦邦分支中校Than Htike上校对Samson提起诉讼,指控他 诽谤。 法律投诉提到了参孙对特朗普的评论。

克钦浸信会公约发布了一份声明,以回应诉讼。 它引用了圣经,约翰8:32:“真相将使你自由。”

根据参孙的说法,军方提出放弃诉讼以换取坦白信。 相反,他在Facebook上写道:“我不想为了自己的个人逃避而交换真相。 在60多年的流血压迫期间,我要尊重所有被虐待,强奸和折磨的人。“

参孙指的是民族武装团体与缅甸军队之间数十年的冲突。

美国谴责缅甸军事诉讼

媒体的关注很快就在案件和国务院周围 谴责 诉讼。

“中校对索姆牧师的刑事诉讼旨在不当地限制他的言论自由,可能会破坏他代表成千上万国内流离失所者的批判性工作,”国务院的声明说。

该声明值得注意的是它对特定案件的关注,但它所使用的语言是标准的低承诺美国外交政策:“根据他受保护的言论进行这一刑事诉讼并逮捕参孙牧师的决定将深入令人不安“。

缅甸军方撤销对参孙的法律控诉

目前尚不清楚该声明对缅甸军方的影响有多大,或者幕后发生了什么样的谈判,但在9月9,克钦邦法官宣布军方已经撤销对Samson的法律控诉。

“我对Tatmadaw的建设性决定感到高兴,”Samson说。 “越来越多的国际[压力]可能导致了这一决定。”

位于克钦邦的社区组织克钦联盟总裁Gum San Nsang认为,美国对缅甸的政策仍有很长的路要走。

“美国政府对缅甸军队相当软弱。 随着美国宗教界的持续宣传,它将推动美国政府改变其现行政策,“Gum San Nsang告诉公民真相。 “[缅甸军方]目前处于种族灭绝,种族清洗和危害人类罪的国际调查的十字路口。 美国外交政策的转变可能会使相信缅甸将军的联合国成员国能够被提交给一个特别法庭。“

牧师参孙的诉讼不是一个孤立的案例

像牧师参孙这样的案件在缅甸很常见。 军方和政府官员利用国家的法律制度,诽谤等指控,瞄准批评者或他们认为威胁特定国家议程的人,就像他们在军事统治时期那样。

两名路透社记者因16九月份对罗宁亚平民大屠杀事件报道有关的罪行而在2017监狱服刑数月。 U Wa Lone和U Kyaw Soe Oo的监禁引起了广泛的谴责,其中包括教皇弗朗西斯。 自从昂山素季的全国民主联盟(NLD)党赢得50选举以来,2015记者面对指控。

在Wa Lone和Kyaw Soe Oo的审判期间,缅甸警察在Insein Township的一个法庭外守卫。

在Wa Lone和Kyaw Soe Oo的审判期间,缅甸警察在Insein Township的一个法庭外守卫。 (照片:Aung Naing Soe,美国之音 - 公共领域)

法院尚未确定适用于Samson案件的法律代码,但可能是同样的诽谤 法官曾经将Langjaw Gam Seng送进监狱。

在朝鲜民主解放党宣布缅甸军方遭受酷刑,强迫劳动和强迫迁离的声明之后,若开邦人权活动家Khaing Myo Thun因诽谤和煽动而被指控犯有19罪。

参孙寻求对联邦党民主,宗教自由的支持

萨姆森牧师要求特朗普支持缅甸过渡到联邦主义民主 - 这意味着若开邦和克钦族等民族地区和国家将增加自治权。 他还要求美国政府帮助制止宗教迫害并促进宗教自由。

Gum San Nsang说,军方对Samson评论的反应并不新鲜。

“缅甸是一个不宽容的社会。 没有人在军队之上,甚至没有土地法。 自从1962的军事政变以来,缅甸军队仍然是该国的霸权国家,“Gum San Nsang说。 “即使在这个'过渡'时代,缅甸也很少有人没有入狱。”

根据Gum San Nsang的说法,反对牧师参孙的案件很不寻常,因为它针对的是宗教领袖。 “另一方面,像[U] Wirathu这样不断吐出仇恨和偏见的佛教极端主义僧侣受到保护。”

缅甸军方坚持“自由意志”强制诉讼撤回

缅甸军方认为,国际压力在他们决定放弃对参孙的诉讼中没有发挥作用。

“在法院判决是否要对Hkalam Samson博士提出指控之前,我们撤回了此案。 放弃此案的原因是基于自由意志,而不是因为任何压力,“缅甸军方发言人Zaw Min Tun准将说。

伊洛瓦底和其他新闻媒体的记者试图联系中校征求意见,但他没有回应。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Skylar Lindsay

Skylar Lindsay是一位从事东南亚和中东项目的作家和摄影师。 他现在可能正在骑自行车。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Myanmar Military Drops Defamation Lawsuit Against Baptist Leader Who Asked Trump For Help

Reverand Samson as he met with President Trump in July. (Photo: ABC News screenshot)
Reverand Samson as he met with President Trump in July. (Photo: ABC News screenshot)

Following a string of Myanmar government crackdowns on outspoken critics, one Myanmar Baptist leader faced a military lawsuit after a 40-second meeting with President Trump.

“Reverend Samson, you want to tell, briefly, your story?”

Sam Brownback steps back and Reverend Dr. Hkalam Samson steps toward U.S. President Donald Trump. Reverend Samson is head of Myanmar’s Kachin Baptist Convention. He wears a black-and-red cap that sits above his ears and an ivory jacket with muted pink-and-green embroidery. It takes Reverend Samson about 20 words to get to “torture.”

Brownback is the U.S. ambassador-at-large for international religious freedom. It’s mid-July at the White House. He’s invited a small group of religious minority representatives from around the world to meet Trump, including Reverend Samson and Langjaw Gam Seng, another Kachin pastor who served 16 months in prison for working with journalists to document Myanmar military airstrikes in nearby Shan State.

“As Christians in Myanmar, we have been very oppressed and tortured by the Myanmar military government. We don’t have a chance… for religious freedom,” Samson tells Trump. He asks for the American government to support ethnic leaders in Myanmar to work toward democracy and federalism.

Reverend Samson gets 40 seconds to give Trump his message. The president thanks him and the meeting moves on. By the end of August, the Myanmar military will have sued him over his comments to Trump. The U.S. will actually speak out in support of Samson, though it’s not clear if this is what kept him out of prison.

Samson Thanks Trump, US Government For Sanctions

Samson is a leader from Kachin State, a large Christian-majority area in Myanmar’s north. The Kachin Independence Army (KIA) and other ethnic armed groups have been fighting the Myanmar military, also known as the Tatmadaw, in the area off-and-on since 1962 and 130,000 people are internally displaced.

Cadets from the Kachin Independence Army (KIA) preparing for military drills at the group's headquarters in Laiza, Kachin State, Myanmar

Cadets from the Kachin Independence Army (KIA) preparing for military drills at the group’s headquarters in Laiza, Kachin State, Myanmar. (Photo: Paul Vrieze, VOA)

Samson also used a few of his seconds with Trump to thank the U.S. government for sanctioning Tatmadaw generals who oversaw the ethnic cleansing of Rohingya Muslims in Rakhine State.

On July 16, the day before Samson visited the White House, the U.S. Department of State publicly barred four leaders of the Myanmar military and their families from entering the U.S.

“We remain concerned that the Burmese government has taken no actions to hold accountable those responsible for human rights violations and abuses, and there are continued reports of the Burmese military committing human rights violations and abuses throughout the country,” read a statement from Secretary of State Mike Pompeo.

Myanmar Lieutenant-Colonel Accuses Samson of Defamation

After the pastors’ visit, Baptist leaders in the U.S. were worried the two would face reprisal. They wrote to U.N. Secretary-General António Guterres and U.S. government officials expressing concern that Samson and Langjaw Gam Seng were in “imminent danger.” U.S. Ambassador to Myanmar Scot Marciel met them at the airport in Yangon and they returned to Myitkyina, the capital of Kachin State.

But soon afterward, Lieutenant-Colonel Than Htike of the Myanmar military’s Kachin State branch filed a lawsuit against Samson accusing him of defamation. The legal complaint mentioned Samson’s comments to Trump.

The Kachin Baptist Convention released a statement in response to the lawsuit. It quotes the Bible, John 8:32: “The truth shall set you free.”

According to Samson, the military offered to drop the lawsuit in exchange for a letter of confession. Instead, he wrote on Facebook: “I don’t want to trade off the truth [for] my own individual escape. I would like to give respect to all who are murdered, raped and tortured wrongfully during the 60 years of blood-shedding oppression.”

Samson is referring to the decades of conflict between ethnic armed groups and the Myanmar military.

US Condemns Myanmar Military Lawsuit

Media attention mounted around the case and the Department of State soon condemned the lawsuit.

“The Lieutenant Colonel’s criminal complaint against Reverend Samson seeks to unduly limit his freedom of expression and potentially could disrupt his critical work on behalf of tens of thousands of internally displaced people,” read the statement from the Department of State.

The statement is notable for the attention it pays to a specific case, but the language it uses is standard low-commitment U.S. foreign policy: “A decision to pursue this criminal complaint and arrest Reverend Samson on the basis of his protected speech would be deeply troubling.”

Myanmar Military Rescinds Legal Complaint Against Samson

It’s not clear how much of an impact the statement had on the Myanmar military or what negotiations were happening behind the curtain, but on September 9, a Kachin State judge announced that the military had rescinded the legal complaint against Samson.

“I’m happy about the Tatmadaw’s constructive decision,” Samson said. “Growing international [pressure] probably led to the decision.”

Gum San Nsang, president of the Kachin Alliance, a community-based organization in Kachin State, believes that U.S. policy on Myanmar still has a long way to go.

“The U.S. government has been fairly soft on the Burmese military. With sustained advocacy from the American religious community, it will push the U.S. Government to make changes to its current policy,” Gum San Nsang told Citizen Truth. “[The Burmese military] is currently in the crosshairs of international investigation for genocide, ethnic cleansing and crimes against humanity. A shift in U.S. foreign policy could empower U.N. member states which believe Burmese generals should be referred to a special tribunal.”

Reverend Samson’s Lawsuit Is Not An Isolated Case

Cases like Reverend Samson’s have become common in Myanmar. The military and government officials use the country’s legal system, and charges like defamation, to target critics or those they see as threatening a particular national agenda, much as they did while the country was under military rule.

Two Reuters reporters spent 16 months in prison for crimes related to reporting on the Inn Din massacre of Rohingya civilians in September 2017. The imprisonment of U Wa Lone and U Kyaw Soe Oo drew widespread condemnation, including from Pope Francis. As many as 50 reporters have faced charges since Aung San Suu Kyi’s National League for Democracy (NLD) party won elections in 2015.

Myanmar police officers stand on guard outside a courtroom in Insein Township during Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo's trial.

Myanmar police officers stand on guard outside a courtroom in Insein Township during Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo’s trial. (Photo: Aung Naing Soe, VOA – Public domain)

The court hadn’t yet determined which legal code to apply in Samson’s case but it could have been the same defamation charge that a judge used to send Langjaw Gam Seng to prison.

Rakhine human rights activist Khaing Myo Thun spent 19 months behind bars on charges of defamation and incitement following a statement by the Arakan Liberation Party that implicated the Myanmar military in torture, forced labor and forced evictions.

Samson Seeks Support For Federalist Democracy, Religious Freedom

Reverend Samson asked Trump to support Myanmar to transition to a federalist democracy—meaning that ethnic areas and states like Rakhine and Kachin would have increased autonomy. He also asked the U.S. government to help stop religious persecution and promote religious freedom.

Gum San Nsang says the military’s reaction to Samson’s comments isn’t new.

”Burma is an intolerant society. No one is above the military, not even the law of the land. Since the military coup of 1962, the Burmese military remains the hegemonic power of the country,” said Gum San Nsang. “There are very few activists in Burma who haven’t set foot in prison, even during this ‘transition’ era.”

According to Gum San Nsang, the case against Reverend Samson was unusual because it targeted a religious leader. “On the other hand, a Buddhist extremist monk like [U] Wirathu who continually spews hatred and bigotry is protected.”

Myanmar Military Insists ‘Free Will’ Compelled Lawsuit Withdrawal

The Myanmar military maintains that international pressure didn’t play a role in their decision to drop the suit against Samson.

“We withdrew the case before the court decided whether Dr. Hkalam Samson was to be charged. The reason for dropping the case is based on free will and not because of any pressure,” said Brigadier General Zaw Min Tun, spokesperson for the Myanmar military.

Reporters at The Irrawaddy and other news outlets attempted to reach the lieutenant-colonel for comment, but he did not respond.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Skylar Lindsay

Skylar Lindsay is a writer and photographer working on projects in Southeast Asia and the Middle East. He is probably on his bicycle right now.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.