输入搜索

中东

以色列总理誓言将附属于约旦河西岸部分地区

以色列总理本杰明·内塔尼亚胡在俄罗斯索契,X​​NUMX可能是14。
以色列总理本杰明·内塔尼亚胡在俄罗斯索契,X​​NUMX可能是14。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

在以色列前往民意调查确定该国和内塔尼亚胡未来的前一周,内塔尼亚胡发誓要吞并西岸领土。

以色列总理本雅明内塔尼亚胡周二宣布,如果他赢得即将于下周二举行的选举,即9月17,以色列占领的约旦河谷,即巴勒斯坦人所称的约旦河谷的一部分。

在一个由以色列电视频道播出的电视新闻发布会上, 内塔尼亚胡告诉观众,“今天我宣布,我打算在下届政府成立时,申请以色列对约旦河谷和死海北部的主权,”并补充说,扩大以色列对这片土地的主权是一个“历史机遇”。

据以色列在线报纸Ynetnews称内塔尼亚胡的讲话还强调了以色列总理打算允许在以色列占领的约旦河西岸建造被联合国决议称为非法的更多以色列定居点,以色列声称这是由于1967六日战争造成的。

巴勒斯坦人回应

巴勒斯坦总统马哈茂德·阿巴斯回应内塔尼亚胡的声明,重申巴勒斯坦捍卫其目标的权利,并宣布如果内塔尼亚胡推进吞并计划,将取消与伊斯泰尔的所有协议。

“我们有权利用一切可用手段捍卫我们的权利并实现我们的目标,无论结果如何,因为内塔尼亚胡的决定与国际合法性和国际法的决议相抵触,” 阿巴斯说.

巴勒斯坦民族权力机构总理穆罕默德·施塔耶在内塔尼亚胡新闻发布会前不久发表讲话, 说过 一旦内塔尼亚胡采取这种单方面行动,他就是“该地区和平的主要破坏者”。

在加沙地带,执政的伊斯兰哈马斯党回应说,内塔尼亚胡的声明不会改变当地的事实,也不会阻止巴勒斯坦人的抵抗。

哈马斯驻加沙发言人说:“拉马拉的巴勒斯坦权力机构应该与以色列断绝所有关系,主要是安全协调和停止与以色列的所有徒劳和平谈判。” Fawzi Barhoum说.

选举竞选期间的火箭火灾

内塔尼亚胡发表讲话后不久,据报道,至少有五枚火箭从加沙向包括阿斯杜德和阿什凯隆城市在内的以色列地区发射。 在距离加沙约40公里的Asdod,内塔尼亚胡与支持者谈话时报道了火箭弹。 据以色列媒体报道,警卫将内塔尼亚胡赶出舞台并将他带到会场。

在华盛顿承认以色列对以色列北部被占领的叙利亚戈兰高地的主权之后几个月,以色列总理发布了最新消息。

去年6月,美国驻特拉维夫大使大卫弗里德曼暗示他认为以色列至少吞并西岸某些地区的权利。

“在某些情况下,” 弗里德曼告诉纽约时报,“我认为以色列有权保留一些,但不太可能全部留在西岸。”

以色列下周前往投票站

继去年四月在以色列举行的选举之后,过去十年一直担任总理一职的内塔尼亚胡将在同一个办公室连续第四个任期开始。

内塔尼亚胡的利库德集团赢得了35席位,而他的宗教和民族主义盟友赢得了另一个30,这似乎使内塔尼亚胡走上了在120席位议会中占据绝对多数席位的道路 - 联合政府至少需要控制61席位。

然而,在5月份,被称为以色列议会的伊斯雷利议会投票决定解散自己,并在以色列总理本雅明内塔尼亚胡未能在最后期限之前组建联合政府,尽管他赢得了4月份的连任。

内塔尼亚胡的竞争对手,蓝白党领袖本尼甘特,指责内塔尼亚胡选择自我保护,而不是遵循国家的政治程序。 甘茨表示,内塔尼亚胡选择了新的竞选活动“三个疯狂的月份”,以及数百万美元因新选举而浪费的美元,因为他因“迫在眉睫的起诉书”而“合法地丧失了能力”, 正如Ynet报道的那样。

在以色列4月选举期间,甘茨党也赢得了35席位。 但是,尽管蓝与白与利库德集团在选举中脱颖而出,右翼政党沙斯,联合犹太教,以色列贝蒂努,右翼联盟和库拉努的表现超过了左翼政党,预计将组成一个联盟。政府给内塔尼亚胡另一个任期为总理。

以色列将在下周二,即9月17再次投票,这次选举肯定会受到全世界的密切关注。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari是加沙地带的自由撰稿人,记者和讲师。 拉米为全球多家媒体提供英语服务,包括印刷,广播和电视。 他可以在Facebook上作为Rami Munir Almeghari和电子邮件联系 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Israeli Prime Minister Vows to Annex Part of West Bank

Prime Minister of Israel Benjamin Netanyahu in Sochi, Russia, 14 May 2013.
Prime Minister of Israel Benjamin Netanyahu in Sochi, Russia, 14 May 2013. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

A week before Israel heads to the polls to determine the country’s and Netanyahu’s future, Netanyahu made a bold vow to annex West Bank territory.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu announced on Tuesday his intention to annex the Jordan Valley, a part of the West Bank that Israel occupies but Palestinians claim as its territory, if he wins the upcoming election which is slated for next Tuesday, Sept. 17.

In a televised press conference, aired by a number of Israeli TV channels, Netanyahu told viewers, “Today I announce my intention to apply, with the formation of the next government, Israeli sovereignty over the Jordan Valley and northern Dead Sea,” adding that extending Israeli sovereignty over the lands is a “historic opportunity.”

According to the Israeli online newspaper Ynetnews, Netanyahu’s speech also highlighted the Israeli PM’s intention to allow the construction of more Israeli settlements, dubbed illegal by U.N. resolutions, across the Israeli-occupied West Bank, which Israel claimed as a result of the 1967 Six-Day War.

Palestinians Respond

Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas responded to Netanyahu’s announcement by reaffirming Palestine’s right to defend its goals and declaring that all agreements with Isreal would be canceled if Netanyahu moved forward with the annexation plan.

“We have the right to defend our rights and achieve our goals by all available means, whatever the results, as Netanyahu’s decisions contradict the resolutions of international legitimacy and international law,” said Abbas.

Palestinian National Authority Prime Minister Mohammad Shtayyeh, speaking shortly before Netanyahu’s press conference, said that once Netanyahu takes such a unilateral action, he is then  “a prime destroyer of peace in the region.”

In the Gaza Strip, the ruling Islamist Hamas party responded by saying that the Netanyahu statement brings no change of facts on the ground and will not stop Palestinian resistance.

“Such an announcement should be encountered by the Palestinian Authority in Ramallah with cutting off all ties with Israel, mainly the security coordination and halt of all futile peace negotiations with Israel,” Hamas spokesman in Gaza Fawzi Barhoum said.

Rocket Fire During Election Campaigning

Shortly after Netanyahu’s speech at least five rockets were reportedly fired from Gaza into Israeli areas, including  Asdod and Ashkelon cities. In Asdod, which is about 40 kilometers away from Gaza, rocket fire was reported as Netanyahu spoke to supporters. Israeli media outlets reported that guards rushed Netanyahu off the stage and took him to a conference hall.

The latest announcement by the Israeli Prime Minister comes a few months after Washington recognized Israel’s sovereignty over the occupied Syrian Golan Heights, north of Israel.

The U.S. ambassador to Tel-Aviv, David Friedman, last June hinted at what he believed to be Israel’s right to annex at least some parts of the West Bank.

“Under certain circumstances,” Friedman told the N.Y. Times, “I think Israel has the right to retain some, but unlikely all, of the West Bank.”

Israel Heads to the Polls Next Week

After last April’s elections in Israel, Netanyahu, who has kept the post of prime minister for the past decade, was set to begin a fourth consecutive term in the same office.

Netanyahu’s Likud party won 35 seats, while his religious and nationalist allies won another 30, which seemed to put Netanyahu onto a path towards a solid majority in the 120-seat parliament – a coalition government needs a simple majority of control of at least 61 seats.

However, in May, the Isreali Parliament, known as the Knesset, voted to disband itself and hold a new election after Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu failed to meet the deadline to form a coalition government despite winning his re-election in April.

Netanyahu’s rival Benny Gantz, leader of the Blue and White party, accused Netanyahu of choosing self-preservation over following the country’s political procedures. Gantz said Netanyahu opted for “three crazy months” of a new campaign and millions of wasted dollars over new elections because he is “legally incapacitated” by looming indictments, as Ynet reported.

Gantz’ party also won 35 seats during Israel’s April elections. But despite the tie between Blue and White and Likud in the election, the right-wing parties Shas, United Torah Judaism, Yisrael Beiteinu, Union of Right-Wing Parties and Kulanu out-performed left-wing parties and were expected to form a coalition government giving Netanyahu another term as Prime Minister.

Israel will vote once again next Tuesday, September 17, in an election sure to be closely watched around the world.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.