اكتب للبحث

الشرق الأوسط

رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي يتعهد بضم جزء من الضفة الغربية

رئيس وزراء إسرائيل بنيامين نتنياهو في سوتشي ، روسيا ، 14 May 2013.
رئيس وزراء إسرائيل بنيامين نتنياهو في سوتشي ، روسيا ، 14 May 2013. (الصورة: الكرملين)

قبل أسبوع من توجه إسرائيل إلى صناديق الاقتراع لتحديد مستقبل إسرائيل ونتنياهو ، تعهد نتنياهو بجريء بضم أراضي الضفة الغربية.

أعلن رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو يوم الثلاثاء عن نيته ضم وادي الأردن ، وهو جزء من الضفة الغربية التي تحتلها إسرائيل ، ولكن الفلسطينيين يدعون أنها أراضيها ، إذا فاز في الانتخابات المقبلة المقرر إجراؤها يوم الثلاثاء المقبل ، الموافق العاشر من سبتمبر.

في مؤتمر صحفي متلفز ، بثته عدد من القنوات التلفزيونية الإسرائيلية ، قال نتنياهو للمشاهدين، "أعلن اليوم عن نيتي أن أقدم ، بتشكيل الحكومة المقبلة ، السيادة الإسرائيلية على غور الأردن وشمال البحر الميت" ، مضيفًا أن توسيع السيادة الإسرائيلية على الأراضي يمثل "فرصة تاريخية".

وفقًا لصحيفة Ynetnews الإسرائيلية على الإنترنتلقد أبرز خطاب نتنياهو أيضًا نية رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي السماح ببناء المزيد من المستوطنات الإسرائيلية ، التي يطلق عليها قرارات الأمم المتحدة بشكل غير قانوني ، عبر الضفة الغربية التي تحتلها إسرائيل ، والتي زعمت إسرائيل أنها نتيجة حرب الأيام الستة لـ 1967.

استجابة الفلسطينيين

ورد الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس على إعلان نتنياهو بإعادة تأكيد حق فلسطين في الدفاع عن أهدافها وإعلان إلغاء جميع الاتفاقات مع إسرائيل إذا ما تقدم نتنياهو بخطة الضم.

"لدينا الحق في الدفاع عن حقوقنا وتحقيق أهدافنا بكل الوسائل المتاحة ، مهما كانت النتائج ، لأن قرارات نتنياهو تتناقض مع قرارات الشرعية الدولية والقانون الدولي" ، قال عباس.

رئيس وزراء السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية محمد شطية ، متحدثاً قبل فترة وجيزة من المؤتمر الصحفي لنتنياهو ، قال أنه بمجرد أن يتخذ نتنياهو مثل هذا العمل الأحادي ، يصبح "مدمرًا رئيسيًا للسلام في المنطقة".

في قطاع غزة ، رد حزب حماس الإسلامي الحاكم بالقول إن بيان نتنياهو لا يجلب أي تغيير في الحقائق على الأرض ولن يوقف المقاومة الفلسطينية.

وقال المتحدث باسم حماس في غزة: "يجب أن تصادف السلطة الفلسطينية في رام الله مثل هذا الإعلان بقطع جميع الروابط مع إسرائيل ، وخاصة التنسيق الأمني ​​ووقف جميع مفاوضات السلام غير المجدية مع إسرائيل". قال فوزي برهوم.

صاروخ النار خلال الحملة الانتخابية

بعد خطاب نتنياهو بفترة وجيزة ، قيل إن خمسة صواريخ على الأقل أطلقت من غزة على المناطق الإسرائيلية ، بما في ذلك مدن أسدود وعسقلان. في أسدود ، التي تبعد حوالي 40 عن غزة ، تم الإبلاغ عن إطلاق صواريخ بينما تحدث نتنياهو مع مؤيديه. ذكرت وسائل إعلام إسرائيلية أن الحراس هرعوا بنيامين نتنياهو على المسرح ونقلوه إلى قاعة المؤتمرات.

يأتي أحدث إعلان لرئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بعد أشهر قليلة من اعتراف واشنطن بسيادة إسرائيل على مرتفعات الجولان السورية المحتلة ، شمال إسرائيل.

ألمح السفير الأمريكي في تل أبيب ، ديفيد فريدمان ، في يونيو الماضي إلى ما يعتقد أنه حق إسرائيل في ضم بعض أجزاء الضفة الغربية على الأقل.

"في ظل ظروف معينة ،" وقال فريدمان لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز"أعتقد أن لإسرائيل الحق في الاحتفاظ ببعض الضفة الغربية ، لكن من غير المرجح أن تكون كذلك".

إسرائيل تتجه إلى صناديق الاقتراع الأسبوع المقبل

بعد انتخابات أبريل الماضي في إسرائيل ، تم تعيين نتنياهو ، الذي احتفظ بمنصب رئيس الوزراء على مدى العقد الماضي ، ليبدأ فترة ولاية رابعة على التوالي في نفس المنصب.

فاز حزب الليكود بزعامة نتنياهو بمقاعد 35 ، في حين فاز حلفاؤه الدينيون والقوميون ب 30 آخر ، والذي بدا وكأنه وضع نتنياهو على طريق نحو أغلبية قوية في البرلمان الذي يضم مقاعد 120 - تحتاج حكومة ائتلافية إلى أغلبية بسيطة من السيطرة على مقاعد 61 على الأقل .

ومع ذلك ، في مايو ، صوت برلمان إسرائيل ، المعروف باسم الكنيست ، على حل نفسه وإجراء انتخابات جديدة بعد فشل رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو في الوفاء بالموعد النهائي لتشكيل حكومة ائتلافية على الرغم من فوزه بإعادة انتخابه في أبريل.

اتهم منافس نتنياهو بيني جانتز ، زعيم الحزب الأزرق والأبيض ، نتنياهو باختيار الحفاظ على الذات باتباع الإجراءات السياسية في البلاد. وقال جانتز إن نتنياهو اختار "ثلاثة أشهر مجنونة" لحملة جديدة وملايين الدولارات الضائعة في انتخابات جديدة لأنه "عاجز قانونيًا" من خلال لوائح اتهام تلوح في الأفق ، كما ذكرت Ynet.

كما فاز حزب جانتس بمقاعد 35 خلال الانتخابات الإسرائيلية في أبريل. لكن على الرغم من العلاقة بين الأزرق والأبيض والليكود في الانتخابات ، تفوقت الأحزاب اليمينية شاس واليهودية التوراة اليهودية ويسرائيل بيتينو واتحاد أحزاب اليمين وكولانو على الأحزاب اليسارية وكان من المتوقع أن تشكل ائتلافًا الحكومة تمنح نتنياهو ولاية أخرى كرئيس للوزراء.

ستصوت إسرائيل مرة أخرى يوم الثلاثاء القادم ، سبتمبر 17 ، في انتخابات من المؤكد أن تراقب عن كثب في جميع أنحاء العالم.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
رامي المغاري

رامي المغاري كاتب مستقل وصحفي ومحاضر في قطاع غزة. ساهم رامي باللغة الإنجليزية في العديد من وسائل الإعلام في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك المطبوعات والإذاعة والتلفزيون. يمكن الوصول إليه على فيسبوك بصفته رامي منير المغاري وعلى البريد الإلكتروني باسم [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Israeli Prime Minister Vows to Annex Part of West Bank

Prime Minister of Israel Benjamin Netanyahu in Sochi, Russia, 14 May 2013.
Prime Minister of Israel Benjamin Netanyahu in Sochi, Russia, 14 May 2013. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

A week before Israel heads to the polls to determine the country’s and Netanyahu’s future, Netanyahu made a bold vow to annex West Bank territory.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu announced on Tuesday his intention to annex the Jordan Valley, a part of the West Bank that Israel occupies but Palestinians claim as its territory, if he wins the upcoming election which is slated for next Tuesday, Sept. 17.

In a televised press conference, aired by a number of Israeli TV channels, Netanyahu told viewers, “Today I announce my intention to apply, with the formation of the next government, Israeli sovereignty over the Jordan Valley and northern Dead Sea,” adding that extending Israeli sovereignty over the lands is a “historic opportunity.”

According to the Israeli online newspaper Ynetnews, Netanyahu’s speech also highlighted the Israeli PM’s intention to allow the construction of more Israeli settlements, dubbed illegal by U.N. resolutions, across the Israeli-occupied West Bank, which Israel claimed as a result of the 1967 Six-Day War.

Palestinians Respond

Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas responded to Netanyahu’s announcement by reaffirming Palestine’s right to defend its goals and declaring that all agreements with Isreal would be canceled if Netanyahu moved forward with the annexation plan.

“We have the right to defend our rights and achieve our goals by all available means, whatever the results, as Netanyahu’s decisions contradict the resolutions of international legitimacy and international law,” said Abbas.

Palestinian National Authority Prime Minister Mohammad Shtayyeh, speaking shortly before Netanyahu’s press conference, said that once Netanyahu takes such a unilateral action, he is then  “a prime destroyer of peace in the region.”

In the Gaza Strip, the ruling Islamist Hamas party responded by saying that the Netanyahu statement brings no change of facts on the ground and will not stop Palestinian resistance.

“Such an announcement should be encountered by the Palestinian Authority in Ramallah with cutting off all ties with Israel, mainly the security coordination and halt of all futile peace negotiations with Israel,” Hamas spokesman in Gaza Fawzi Barhoum said.

Rocket Fire During Election Campaigning

Shortly after Netanyahu’s speech at least five rockets were reportedly fired from Gaza into Israeli areas, including  Asdod and Ashkelon cities. In Asdod, which is about 40 kilometers away from Gaza, rocket fire was reported as Netanyahu spoke to supporters. Israeli media outlets reported that guards rushed Netanyahu off the stage and took him to a conference hall.

The latest announcement by the Israeli Prime Minister comes a few months after Washington recognized Israel’s sovereignty over the occupied Syrian Golan Heights, north of Israel.

The U.S. ambassador to Tel-Aviv, David Friedman, last June hinted at what he believed to be Israel’s right to annex at least some parts of the West Bank.

“Under certain circumstances,” Friedman told the N.Y. Times, “I think Israel has the right to retain some, but unlikely all, of the West Bank.”

Israel Heads to the Polls Next Week

After last April’s elections in Israel, Netanyahu, who has kept the post of prime minister for the past decade, was set to begin a fourth consecutive term in the same office.

Netanyahu’s Likud party won 35 seats, while his religious and nationalist allies won another 30, which seemed to put Netanyahu onto a path towards a solid majority in the 120-seat parliament – a coalition government needs a simple majority of control of at least 61 seats.

However, in May, the Isreali Parliament, known as the Knesset, voted to disband itself and hold a new election after Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu failed to meet the deadline to form a coalition government despite winning his re-election in April.

Netanyahu’s rival Benny Gantz, leader of the Blue and White party, accused Netanyahu of choosing self-preservation over following the country’s political procedures. Gantz said Netanyahu opted for “three crazy months” of a new campaign and millions of wasted dollars over new elections because he is “legally incapacitated” by looming indictments, as Ynet reported.

Gantz’ party also won 35 seats during Israel’s April elections. But despite the tie between Blue and White and Likud in the election, the right-wing parties Shas, United Torah Judaism, Yisrael Beiteinu, Union of Right-Wing Parties and Kulanu out-performed left-wing parties and were expected to form a coalition government giving Netanyahu another term as Prime Minister.

Israel will vote once again next Tuesday, September 17, in an election sure to be closely watched around the world.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.