输入搜索

公司文化

新电影将解决芝加哥七世的历史性考验

反战活动家杰瑞鲁宾以及芝加哥七号阴谋审判中的其他被告在今年二月的1970照片中向新闻界发表讲话。 前排,左起:Rennie Davis,Rubin,Abbie Hoffman。 后排,左起:Lee Weiner,Bob Lamb和Thomas Hayden。
反战活动家杰瑞鲁宾以及芝加哥七号阴谋审判中的其他被告在今年二月的1970照片中向新闻界发表讲话。 前排,左起:Rennie Davis,Rubin,Abbie Hoffman。 后排,左起:Lee Weiner,Bob Lamb和Thomas Hayden。 (通过YouTube截图)

在此 芝加哥七的审判, 一部关于汹涌的1960的电影,描绘了美国历史上与当今时代相似的关键时刻。

Seth Rogen,Eddie Redmayne,Sacha Baron Cohen和Joseph Gordon-Levitt被确认将出演 芝加哥7的试验,基于“芝加哥七大”的1969试验。

历史案件涉及7名被告被​​联邦政府指控犯有多项罪名,包括阴谋和煽动暴乱,这些罪行来自芝加哥举行的1968民主党全国代表大会上的反文化抗议活动。

该公约正在为当时即将举行的总统选举选出候选人。 城市周围已经出现了集会和示威活动,主要是为了抗议林登·约翰逊总统的越南战争政策,这些政策在总统初选期间和大会内部都受到激烈争论。 抗议活动最终将出现在民主党大会上,闯入骚乱并与警方发生冲突。

Rogen将扮演Jerry Rubin,他是Cohen对面的青年国际党(Yippies)的创始人之一,他是激进的Abbie Hoffman,也是Yippie,Redmayne是Tom Hayden,民主社会学生(SDS)和Alex Sharp的创始人之一作为SDS创始人之一的Rennie Davis,七名被告中的四名。

Jonathan Majors,闻名于世 Hostiles 和Dustin Lance Black的 当我们上升 迷你剧,将扮演Bobby Seale。 Seale,一只黑豹,是该集团最初被称为“芝加哥八人”时被指控的第八被告。法官朱利叶斯霍夫曼让他在法庭上绑定并堵塞“因为他无法聘请律师时大声扰乱审判他的选择,“根据 a “芝加哥论坛报” 来自2008的文章.

Seale,其律师因住院而无法获得,大声要求法官给他一个继续,法官否认。 Seale最终因藐视法庭被判处四年徒刑,但后来被撤销。

戈登 - 莱维特将扮演理查德舒尔兹,他是该案件的两名检察官之一。

根据 好莱坞记者 Amblin Partners将制作这部电影。 史蒂文斯皮尔伯格原本计划在几年前指导这部电影,当时它还处于开发阶段。 相反,Aaron Sorkin(西翼 “社交网络”)将编写并指导它。 这将是索尔金的第二次导演努力 莫莉的游戏一部关于扑克泰坦的电影。

“我很高兴能够制作一部关于美国历史上最疯狂,最有趣,最激烈,最悲惨的试验之一的电影,”Sorkin说道。 声明.

事实上,最初的审判延长了几个月,由几位来自美国左派和反文化的高调人物称赞,包括歌手Phil Ochs,Judy Collins,Arlo Guthrie和Country Joe McDonald,作家Norman Mailer和Allen Ginsberg以及活动家Timothy Leary和牧师杰西杰克逊。

“C-7可能发生在'60'晚期,但现在是时候讲述这个故事了,而不是今天,”Sorkin补充道。

根据新闻稿,电影制片人肯定这部电影“直接说明了我们时代的分裂,以及年轻人如何能够掌控权力并改变世界。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

New Film Will Tackle Historic Trial of the Chicago Seven

Anti-war activist Jerry Rubin, along with other defendants in the Chicago Seven conspiracy trial, speaks to the press in this February 1970 photo. Front row, from left: Rennie Davis, Rubin, Abbie Hoffman. Back row, from left: Lee Weiner, Bob Lamb and Thomas Hayden.
Anti-war activist Jerry Rubin, along with other defendants in the Chicago Seven conspiracy trial, speaks to the press in this February 1970 photo. Front row, from left: Rennie Davis, Rubin, Abbie Hoffman. Back row, from left: Lee Weiner, Bob Lamb and Thomas Hayden. (Screenshot via YouTube)

The Trial of the Chicago Seven, a film about the turbulent 1960s, portrays a pivotal moment in U.S. history that has parallels to today’s era.

Seth Rogen, Eddie Redmayne, Sacha Baron Cohen and Joseph Gordon-Levitt are confirmed to star in The Trial of the Chicago 7, based on the 1969 trial of “the Chicago Seven.”

The historic case involved seven defendants charged by the federal government with multiple offenses, including conspiracy and inciting to riot, arising from counterculture protests in Chicago at the 1968 Democratic National Convention.

The convention was in the process of selecting candidates for the then upcoming presidential election. Rallies and demonstrations had already been springing up around the city, primarily in protest of President Lyndon B. Johnson’s policies for the Vietnam War, which were vigorously contested during the presidential primary campaign and inside the convention. Protests would eventually turn up at the Democratic convention, breaking into riots and clashes with police.

Rogen will play Jerry Rubin, one of the founders of the Youth International Party (Yippies) opposite Cohen as radical Abbie Hoffman, also a Yippie, Redmayne as Tom Hayden, one of the founders of Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and Alex Sharp as Rennie Davis, also one of the SDS founders, four of the seven defendants.

Jonathan Majors, known for Hostiles and Dustin Lance Black’s When We Rise miniseries, will play Bobby Seale. Seale, a Black Panther, was the eighth defendant charged when the group was initially dubbed “the Chicago Eight.” The judge, Julius Hoffman, had him bound and gagged in the courtroom for “loudly disrupting the trial when he could not have the lawyer of his choice,” according to Chicago Tribune article from 2008.

Seale, whose lawyer was unavailable due to hospitalization, vociferously demanded the judge give him a continuation, which the judge denied. Seale was eventually sentenced to four years in prison for contempt of court, though it was later reversed.

Gordon-Levitt will play Richard Schultz, one of the two prosecutors in the case.

According to The Hollywood Reporter  Amblin Partners will produce the film. Steven Spielberg had originally planned to direct the film several years ago while it was still in development. Instead, Aaron Sorkin (The West Wing and The Social Network) will write and direct it. It will be Sorkin’s second directorial effort following Molly’s Game, a movie about a poker titan.

“I’m thrilled to be making a movie about one of the craziest, funniest, most intense, most tragic and most triumphant trials in American history,” Sorkin said in a statement.

Indeed, the original trial extended for months, enlivened by several high-profile figures from the American left and counterculture called to testify, including singers Phil Ochs, Judy Collins, Arlo Guthrie and Country Joe McDonald, writers Norman Mailer and Allen Ginsberg, and activists Timothy Leary and Rev. Jesse Jackson.

“C-7 may take place in the late ’60s, but there’s no better time to tell this story than today,” Sorkin also added.

According to a press release the filmmakers affirm that the movie “speaks directly to the divisiveness of our times and how young people can take on power and change the world.”

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *