输入搜索

亚太

朝鲜:一个前沿的可再生能源国家?

总统唐纳德·J·特朗普和韩国共和国总统月亮在星期天,6月30,2019,在朝鲜非军事区划分朝鲜和韩国的分界线告别工人党金正恩韩国主席。 (照片:Shealah Craighead)
总统唐纳德·J·特朗普和韩国共和国总统月亮在星期天,6月30,2019,在朝鲜非军事区划分朝鲜和韩国的分界线告别工人党金正恩韩国主席。 (照片:Shealah Craighead)

朝鲜已转向更新能源解决方案,以抵消对化石燃料和水力发电故障的国际制裁。

虽然国际社会谴责朝鲜是一个落后和孤立的国家,但事实证明,对该国的国际制裁实际上刺激了这个僻静国家的创新和环境责任。

上周朝鲜政府消息人士告诉韩国新闻机构NK Economy 朝鲜已经开始依赖替代能源来发电并为政府提供电力设施。

据报道,朝鲜政府官方新闻机构阿里郎·梅里(Arirang Meari)表示,该国西部沿海的洪水和雨水管理机构已经安装了风力发电机和太阳能电池板。 新闻社补充说,过去,政府机构使用三台发电机替换新的替代能源。

联合国安理会(UNSC)制裁迫使朝鲜开发可再生能源,从风能到太阳能,以保持经济活力。 在离开“核不扩散条约”(NPT)之后,世界的机构在新民主义同时对平壤实施禁运。

联合国安理会禁止朝鲜煤炭和矿石出口,导致电力短缺。 然而, 联合国报告显示 隐士国家仍在出口煤炭和非法进口石油。

正如他在2019新年致辞中所强调的那样,朝鲜领导人金正恩正在努力关注水力发电以解决电力问题。 但是,朝鲜水力发电基础设施的某些部分工作不正常,导致无法满足该国的电力需求。

“萨姆苏发电厂有裂缝,水流出,工厂无法产生足够的电力。 电厂的建设几乎使萨姆苏县的整个农业区都淹没在水中,当地人被强行迁移到其他地区。 居民不满意,因为发电厂没有产生大量电力,“Ryanggang省的一位消息人士表示, 据Daily NK报道.

在2014初期开发七年后,该电厂的运行因大坝泄漏而中断。 尽管进行了修复,但泄漏仍然是一个问题,五年后,导致工厂无法生产所需的电力。

朝鲜利用风能和太阳能发布的消息并不是该国首次涉足可再生能源。 朝鲜在2014的帮助下,在XNUMX建立了第一个可再生能源温室 总部位于瑞士的人道主义机构Agape International。 该建筑采用以粪便为基础的气体来温暖温室,冬季也可用于农业。

可再生能源如何在其他国家使用?

可再生能源是指在使用时不会耗尽的能源,如太阳能,风能,波浪能,潮汐能和地热能。 正如2015的巴黎气候协议所述,可再生能源的使用是世界减少碳排放的承诺之一。

在2018结束时,波兰卡托维兹的气候会议呼吁结束煤炭作为能源的使用。 但是,并非所有国家都准备好采取能源生产的重大变革。 波兰是该活动的主办国,为其煤炭工业提供了更多保护,这意味着煤炭的使用将继续。

斐济敦促澳大利亚停止使用煤炭,并在周二(8月13)至周四(8月,15)举行的在图瓦卢偏远岛屿举行的太平洋岛屿论坛之前转向替代能源, Deutsche WELLE 报告。

据称,澳大利亚现在更加专注于应对中国在亚太地区日益增长的影响力,而不是解决碳排放问题。 位于柏林的气候监测组织Climate Analytics表示,由于化石燃料的燃烧和耕作,澳大利亚仍然是世界上最大的排放国之一。 气候分析预测,澳大利亚的温室气体将比8.6气候协议中规定的限值高出2015%。

瑞典和丹麦等斯堪的纳维亚国家是引领替代能源的国家之一 由澳大利亚人报道 气候理事会。

但是,其他发展中国家也处于领先地位。 例如,哥斯达黎加在过去四年中通过地热,太阳能和风能等替代能源产生了95%的电力。 经过十年的无尽努力,乌拉圭的可再生能源运行率几乎达到了100%。

美国被列入气候委员会的报告,“11国家领导可再生能源收费”。 根据能源部的国家可再生能源实验室(NREL), 可再生能源可以通过80在美国产生2050%的电力。 气候理事会表示,美国太阳能行业也创造了比煤和核能更多的就业机会。

也许最重要的是,今年4月美国在美国历史上第一次产生了来自可再生资源的能源,而不是煤炭。 正如Citizen Truth的Peter Castagno先前报道的那样可再生能源产生了美国总功率的23%,而煤只产生了20%,而能源专家称这反映了临时季节性波动和可再生技术的长期改善。

此外,在2015-2016期间,美国的太阳能行业雇佣了374,000人,而化石燃料行业仅使用了187,117。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. Dcwilson 八月15,2019

    是的,奴隶是可再生资源! NK的工会又在哪里? 如果他们如此喜欢受到压迫的工人,那么他们为什么要把他们的主题保持如此低调呢?

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

North Korea: A Cutting-Edge, Renewable Energy Nation?

President Donald J. Trump and Republic of South Korea President Moon Jae-in bid farewell to Chairman of the Workers’ Party Kim Jong Un Korea Sunday, June 30, 2019, at the demarcation line separating North and South Korea at the Korean Demilitarized Zone. (Photo: Shealah Craighead)
President Donald J. Trump and Republic of South Korea President Moon Jae-in bid farewell to Chairman of the Workers’ Party Kim Jong Un Korea Sunday, June 30, 2019, at the demarcation line separating North and South Korea at the Korean Demilitarized Zone. (Photo: Shealah Craighead)

North Korea has turned to renewal energy workarounds to offset international sanctions on fossil fuels and faulty hydroelectric power.

While the international community has condemned North Korea as a backward and isolated state, it turns out international sanctions on the country have, in fact, spurred innovation and environmental responsibility in the secluded nation.

North Korean government sources last week told South Korean news service NK Economy that North Korea has started to rely on alternative energy to generate electricity and power government facilities.

The country’s flood and stormwater management agency on the western coast has installed wind power generators and solar panels, Arirang Meari, the North Korean government’s official news outlet, reported. In the past, the government agency used three power generators before replacing them with the new alternative energy sources, the news service added.

U.N. Security Council (UNSC) sanctions have forced North Korea to develop renewable energy sources, from wind to solar to keep its economy alive. The world’s body imposed an embargo on Pyongyang in 2003 after it left the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT).

The UNSC bars North Korean coal and ore exports, leading to the scarcity of electricity. However, a U.N. report shows the hermit state is still exporting coal and importing oil illegally.

North Korean leader Kim Jong-un is trying to focus on hydroelectric power to solve the electricity problem as he stressed in the 2019 New Year’s address. However, some parts of North Korea’s hydroelectric infrastructure are not working properly and leading to a failure to meet the country’s electricity demand.

“The Samsu power plant has cracks where water is flowing out, and the plant cannot produce enough electricity. The construction of the power plant left almost the entire farming area in Samsu County submerged in water, and locals were forcibly relocated to other areas. Residents are unhappy because the power plant isn’t producing much electricity,” said a Ryanggang Province-based source, as Daily NK reported.

The power plant’s operation was disrupted by a dam leakage in 2014, seven years after its initial development. Despite the repairs, the leaks are still a problem five years later, leading to the plant’s failure to produce as much electricity as needed.

The announcement of North Korea’s use of wind and solar power is not the country’s first foray into renewable energy sources. North Korea set up its first renewable energy-powered greenhouse in 2014, with the assistance of Switzerland-based humanitarian agency, Agape International. The building is run on manure-based gas to warm the greenhouse, which also can be used in farming in winter.

How Is Renewable Energy Used in Other Countries?

Renewable energy refers to energy sources which are not depleted when used such as solar, wind, waves, tides, and geothermal heat. The use of renewable energy is one of the world’s commitments to cutting carbon emissions, as stated in the Paris climate accord in 2015.

The climate conference in Katowice, Poland, at the end of 2018 called for the end of coal’s use as an energy source. However, not all countries were ready to adopt a drastic change in energy production. Poland, the event’s host country, pushed for more protection for its coal industry, meaning the use of coal would continue.

Fiji has urged Australia to stop using coal and turn to alternative energy ahead of the Pacific Islands Forum held in the remote island of Tuvalu, from Tuesday (August 13) to Thursday (August,15), as Deutsche Welle reported.

Australia is also now allegedly more focused on countering China growing influence in the Asia Pacific region than on tackling carbon emissions. The Berlin-based climate watchdog group, Climate Analytics, stated that Australia is still one of the world’s top emitters due to fossil-fuel combustion and farming. Climate Analytics predicted that Australian greenhouse gases would be 8.6% higher than the limit stated in the 2015 climate accord.

Scandinavian nations such as Sweden and Denmark are among the countries leading the charge on alternative energy, according to a report by the Australian-based Climate Council.

However, other developing countries are taking the lead too. Costa Rica, for example, has generated 95% of its electricity from alternative energy sources such as geothermal, solar and wind power over the past four years. Uruguay is almost 100 percent run on renewable energy after an endless effort for a decade.

The United States was included in The Climate Council’s report, “11 Countries Leading the Charge On Renewable Energy.” According to the Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), renewable energy could generate 80% of electricity in the U.S. by 2050. The U.S. solar energy sector also creates more jobs than coal and nuclear combined, the Climate Council said.

Perhaps most significantly, this April the United States generated more power from renewable resources than coal for the first time in U.S. history. As Citizen Truth’s Peter Castagno previously reported, renewables produced 23% of total U.S. power while coal only produced 20%, in a shift that energy experts say reflects both temporary seasonal fluctuations and long-term improvements in renewable technology.

Additionally, during the 2015-2016 period, the solar industry in the U.S. employed 374,000 people while the fossil fuel sector only 187,117.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Dcwilson August 15, 2019

    Yes, slaves ARE a renewable resource! Where are NK’s Labor Unions again? If they like the downtrodden workers so much, then why are they keeping theme them so downtodden?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.