输入搜索

环境

石油和天然气公司加剧对科罗拉多州新民主党总督的攻击

国会议员贾里德·波利斯的官方照片
国会议员Jared Polis在2012担任国会议员的官方照片。

一则广告讽刺了波利斯,因为他们的职位与科罗拉多州的“Radicalifornia”更为一致,并且攻击他支持全民医疗保健。

(Tim Zelina和Andrew Perez, Maplight去年,两家在科罗拉多州拥有广泛利益的石油和天然气公司向一个共和党“黑钱”组织捐赠了100万新西兰元,同时它正在努力击败该州民主党候选人贾里德·波利斯。 尽管他们做出了最大的努力,但波利斯赢得了胜利,民主党已经通过了一项有关油气开发的标志性立法。

阿纳达科和贵族能源

近年来,总部位于德克萨斯州的能源公司Anadarko和Noble Energy已经成功开展了一系列活动,以阻止科罗拉多州制定新的石油和天然气法规。 这些公司已经打击了当地的水力压裂禁令,以及迫使石油和天然气业务进一步退出家园的努力。 即使在阿纳达科流线的煤气泄漏导致2017的致命爆炸之后,该公司也是如此 仍然保持足够的摇摆 共和党立法者阻止一项法案要求能源公司公开披露其天然气管线和井的位置。

民主党去年11月在州选举中取得了决定性的胜利,现在控制着科罗拉多州议会的两院。 前总督约翰·希肯洛珀(John Hickenlooper)是能源行业的常客,已完成第二任期,目前正在民主党总统初选中任职。 他被一位五届国会议员波利斯所取代 誓言 探索新的石油和天然气法规,谁已经兑现了他的承诺:上个月,他 签署了一项法案 赋予地方政府管理石油和天然气活动的权力。

新的公司文件阐明了阿纳达科和诺贝尔能源公司阻止波利斯成为州长的努力。 阿纳达科和诺贝尔能源公司做出了贡献 1 百万加元 $700,000分别隶属于State Solutions,Inc。,这是一家总部设在华盛顿特区的非营利组织,隶属于共和党州长协会。 州解决方案 花了$ 615,000 在电视和广播广告上针对波利斯和推广他的共和党对手,至少 $20,000 在Facebook广告上。 这个没有透露其捐赠者的非营利组织也开展了针对民主党的攻击广告 南卡罗来纳 俄勒冈.

共和党州长协会,Anadarko和Noble Energy没有回应MapLight提出的问题。

杰瑞德·波利斯的“Radicalifornia”广告

尽管State Solutions的资金来自石油和天然气利益,但它针对Polis的广告主要关注医疗保健和共和党的2017税法。 一则广告 嘲讽 Polis担任的职位更像是与Radicalifornia一致,而不是科罗拉多州,并且攻击他支持全民医疗保健。 另一则广告 攻击 Polis通过他的法案来扭转唐纳德特朗普总统签署的2017税法。

特朗普税法是阿纳达科的意外收获。 该公司报告称,“从新的美国税法中获得的利益可以弥补1十亿美元的利润,从而掩盖了本来会出现的小额财务损失”。 休斯顿纪事报.

阿纳达科,最近 议定 将被雪佛龙收购并正在考虑 还价 来自Occidental,Noble Energy在科罗拉多州的能源领域占据主导地位。 阿纳达科 产生 根据该州的数据显示,科罗拉多州的原油价格接近20%,并控制着该州的400,000亩 彭博,Noble Energy持有350,000英亩土地。

阿纳达科和诺贝尔能源公司以前的游说努力

当四个城市提出禁止在2013的城市范围内进行水力压裂时,阿纳达科的花费超过了 $327,000 反对这些措施的运动,阿纳达科和诺布尔能源 雇用 Pac / West Communications是一家游说和公关公司,旨在打击这些举措。 而三个城市 通过 提案,科罗拉多州最高法院后来 排除 城市不能禁止或规范水力压裂,因为他们的担忧被州法律所取代。

阿纳达科 捐赠 2014中的几个支持水准的组​​织。 该公司向科罗拉多自由联盟捐赠了250,000,并捐赠了超过100万美元用于保护科罗拉多州的环境,经济和能源独立(PCEEEI)。 委员会 收到 来自Noble Energy的另外$ 4百万。 在2015和2016之间,阿纳达科提供了超过 7.2 百万加元 支持科罗拉多州的政治组织和委员会, 包括 6.7 百万加元 到PCEEEI。 阿纳达科也给了 $107,000 在2016 to Vital for Colorado,一个致力于捍卫能源行业利益的黑钱集团。 贵族能源 5.6为PCEEEI提供160,000万美元,为2016提供XNUMX至Vital。

那一年,PCEEEI领导了一场广告宣传活动,说服选民不要签署支持投票措施的请愿书,禁止公司将石油和天然气井放置在2,500的房屋内,并赋予当地政府监管水力压裂的权力。

这些举措未能获得投票资格,PCEEEI和Vital for Colorado 捐赠了3.5万美元 “提高酒吧”,a 选票测量活动 使公民倡议更难以纳入全州选票。 Raise the Bar得到了众多其他与能源有关的政治组织的支持。 阿纳达科也 捐赠 $ 250,000直接向“提高标准。”然后 - 代表波利斯加入大多数州民主党反对这项措施,尽管它有 支持 来自Hickenlooper和三位前民主党州长。

支持者认为这将阻止不负责任的措施进入投票,但批评者嘲笑它是特殊利益集团的反民主力量,以阻止选民制定新的石油和天然气法规。 该修正案于11月2016通过了几乎57%的投票。 (一名联邦法官后来将部分法律视为违宪,但确实如此 恢复 上诉法院。)

阿纳达科2017爆炸

在2017中,通过切断的Anadarko流动管线抽气 引起了爆炸 摧毁了凡世通的一所房子并杀死了两个人。 在悲剧发生后,全州的活动人士发誓要采取行动,而Hickenlooper下令对该州的石油和天然气业务进行紧急审查。

爆炸发生几天后,阿纳达科说客 迫使立法者 反对民主党的立法,要求能源公司出版详细说明其天然气管线和油井位置的地图。 参议院共和党人成功地将该法案进行了审判,并在该法案获得表决之前予以扼杀。

科罗拉多州天然气和环境保护委员会 更新 它的规定,和 授权 公司限制废弃的流水线或完全移除它们。 阿纳达科 公布 在2018五月它已经与Firestone爆炸中的遇难者家属达成了和解协议。

民主党在科罗拉多州举行

11月,科罗拉多州民主党人扩大了他们在众议院的多数席位并控制了参议院。 他们还选举了Polis,他被认为是比他的前任Hickenlooper更进步的民主党人。

3月初,民主党领导 介绍 立法指示国家能源监管机构优先考虑公共健康,安全和环境而不是能源生产。 它还将使城镇能够管理石油和天然气活动并确定运营地点。 该法案获得了州共和党人和能源游说者的重大阻力,其中包括与阿纳达科和诺布尔能源有关的一些人。

行业说客成功地说服了民主党立法者迟到了 变化 立法,包括增加语言,要求任何地方政府监管符合“必要和合理”的标准。 城邦 该法案于4月16成为法律。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Oil And Gas Companies Fueled Attacks On Colorado’s New Democratic Governor

Official photo of Congressman Jared Polis
Official photo of Congressman Jared Polis as a Congressman in 2012.

One ad lampooned Polis as holding positions more in line with “Radicalifornia” than Colorado and attacked him for supporting universal health care.

(By Tim Zelina and Andrew Perez, Maplight) Two oil and gas companies with extensive interests in Colorado donated $1.7 million to a Republican “dark money” organization last year while it was working to defeat the state’s Democratic candidate for governor, Jared Polis. Despite their best efforts, Polis won, and Democrats have passed landmark legislation regulating oil and gas development.

Anadarko and Noble Energy

In recent years, Texas-based energy companies Anadarko and Noble Energy have bankrolled successful campaigns to prevent Colorado from enacting new oil and gas regulations. The companies have fought local fracking bans, as well as efforts to force oil and gas operations to be set back further from homes. Even after a gas leak from an Anadarko flow line caused a deadly explosion in 2017, the company still held enough sway with Republican legislators to block a bill requiring energy companies to publicly disclose the locations of their gas lines and wells.

Democrats won decisive victories in state elections last November and now control both houses of the Colorado General Assembly. Former Governor John Hickenlooper, a frequent ally of the energy industry, finished his second term and is now running in the Democratic presidential primary. He was replaced by Polis, a five-term congressman who vowed to explore new oil and gas regulations, and who has already made good on his promise: Last month, he signed a bill to give local governments the authority to regulate oil and gas activities.

New corporate filings shed light on Anadarko and Noble Energy’s efforts to stop Polis from becoming governor. Anadarko and Noble Energy contributed $1 million and $700,000, respectively, to State Solutions, Inc., a Washington, D.C.-based nonprofit organization affiliated with the Republican Governors Association. State Solutions spent $615,000 on TV and radio advertising targeting Polis and promoting his GOP opponent, and at least $20,000 on Facebook ads. The nonprofit, which does not disclose its donors, also ran attack ads targeting Democrats in South Carolina and Oregon.

The Republican Governors Association, Anadarko and Noble Energy did not respond to questions from MapLight.

Jared Polis ‘Radicalifornia’ Ads

Although State Solutions was funded by oil and gas interests, its ads against Polis focused on health care and Republicans’ 2017 tax law. One ad lampooned Polis as holding positions more in line with “Radicalifornia” than Colorado and attacked him for supporting universal health care. Another ad attacked Polis over his bill to reverse the 2017 tax law signed by President Donald Trump.

The Trump tax law was a windfall for Anadarko. The company reported a $1 billion profit “from benefits gained from the new U.S. tax law, covering up what would’ve been a small financial loss otherwise” according to the Houston Chronicle.

Anadarko, which recently agreed to be acquired by Chevron and is considering a counteroffer from Occidental, and Noble Energy dominate the energy landscape in Colorado. Anadarko produces nearly 20 percent of Colorado’s crude oil and controls 400,000 acres in the state, according to Bloomberg, and Noble Energy holds 350,000 acres.

Anadarko and Noble Energy’s Previous Lobbying Efforts

When four cities proposed bans on fracking within their city limits in 2013, Anadarko spent more than $327,000 on campaigns opposing the measures, and Anadarko and Noble Energy hired Pac/West Communications, a lobbying and public relations firm, to fight the initiatives. While three of the cities passed the proposals, the Colorado Supreme Court later ruled that cities cannot ban or regulate fracking, because their concerns are preempted by state law.

Anadarko donated to several pro-fracking organizations in 2014. The company gave $250,000 to the Colorado Liberty Alliance and donated more than $4 million to Protect Colorado’s Environment, Economy and Energy Independence (PCEEEI). The committee received another $4 million from Noble Energy. And between 2015 and 2016, Anadarko delivered more than $7.2 million to pro-energy political organizations and committees in Colorado, including $6.7 million to PCEEEI. Anadarko also gave $107,000 in 2016 to Vital for Colorado, a dark-money group that has worked to defend the energy industry’s interests. Noble Energy gave$5.6 million to the PCEEEI and $160,000 to Vital for Colorado in 2016.

That year, PCEEEI led an advertising campaign to persuade voters not to sign petitions supporting ballot measures that would have prohibited companies from placing oil and gas wells within 2,500 feet of homes and given local governments the authority to regulate fracking.

After the initiatives failed to qualify for the ballot, PCEEEI and Vital for Colorado donated $3.5 million to “Raise the Bar,” a ballot measure campaign to make it more difficult for citizen initiatives to be included on statewide ballots. Raise the Bar was supported by numerous other energy-linked political organizations. Anadarko also donated $250,000 directly to “Raise the Bar.” Then-Representative Polis joined most state Democrats in opposing the measure, although it had support from Hickenlooper and three former Democratic governors.

Proponents argued it would prevent irresponsible measures from reaching the ballot, but critics derided it as an anti-democratic power grab by special interests to block voters from setting new oil and gas regulations. The amendment passed in November 2016 with almost 57 percent of the vote. (A federal judge later blocked parts of the law as unconstitutional, but it was reinstated by an appeals court.)

Anadarko 2017 Explosion

In 2017, gas pumping through a severed Anadarko flow line caused an explosion that destroyed a house in Firestone and killed two people. In the wake of the tragedy, activists across the state vowed to take action, while Hickenlooper ordered an emergency review of the state’s oil and gas operations.

Only days after the explosion, Anadarko lobbyists pressed lawmakers to oppose Democrats’ legislation to require energy companies to publish maps detailing the locations of their gas lines and wells. Senate Republicans successfully filibustered the bill, killing it before it could be brought to a vote.

The Colorado Gas and Conservation Commission later updated its regulations, and mandated that companies cap abandoned flow lines or remove them entirely. Anadarko announced in May 2018 that it had reached a settlement with the families of the victims in the Firestone explosion.

Democrats Take Hold in Colorado

In November, Colorado Democrats expanded their majority in the state House and took control of the Senate. They also elected Polis, who’s considered to be a more progressive Democrat than his predecessor, Hickenlooper.

In early March, the Democratic leadership introduced legislation to direct state energy regulators to prioritize public health, safety and the environment over energy production. It would also empower cities and towns to regulate oil and gas activities and determine where operations are located. The bill garnered significant pushback from state Republicans and energy lobbyists, including some associated with Anadarko and Noble Energy.

Industry lobbyists succeeded in convincing Democratic lawmakers to make some late changes to the legislation, including adding language to require any local government regulation meet a “necessary and reasonable” standard. Polis signed the bill into law on April 16.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.