输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

强生执政可能成为阿片类危机的重要先例

北美强生办公室
强生公司北美办事处(照片:公共领域)

“被告向各种不同的疼痛倡导团体和影响处方医生和其他医疗保健专业人员的组织支付了大笔款项。”

“在一项具有里程碑意义的决定中,一位俄克拉荷马州法官周一下令制药巨头强生公司支付1000万美元用于其在该州阿片类药物危机中的作用,”CNN 报道 本周早些时候,一项具有里程碑意义的决定可能导致制药公司对美国境内阿片类药物死亡率惊人的原因负责。

下列 图表 美国国家药物滥用研究所(NIH)提供的研究表明,最近药物过量,阿片类药物过量和处方阿片类药物过量导致死亡人数增加。

图1。 国家药物过量死亡 - 所有年龄段的人数,按性别划分,1999-2017。 超过70,200美国人死于2017中的药物过量,包括非法药物和处方阿片类药物 - 十年内2倍增加。 上图是一个条形图和线图,显示了涉及从1999到2017的所有药物的美国过量死亡总数。 药物过量死亡从16,849的1999上升到70,237的2017。 这些条形图由显示从1999到2017的性别死亡人数的线条重叠。 (来源:CDC WONDER)
根据性别,1999-2017,所有年龄段中涉及任何阿片类药物数量的全国过量死亡。 上图是条形图和线图,显示美国过量死亡涉及阿片类药物从1999到2017的总数。 任何阿片类药物包括处方阿片类药物(和美沙酮),海洛因和其他合成麻醉药(主要是芬太尼)。 药物过量死亡从8,048的1999上升到47,600的2017。 这些条形图由显示从1999到2017的性别死亡人数的线条重叠。 总体而言,男性中药物过量死亡人数较多。 (来源:CDC WONDER)
图4。 涉及处方阿片类药物的全国过量死亡 - 所有年龄段的人数,1999-2017。 上图是一个条形图,显示美国过量死亡的总数,涉及从1999到2017的处方阿片类药物(包括美沙酮)。 涉及处方阿片类药物的药物过量死亡从3,442的1999升至17,029的2017。 然而,自2016以来,死亡人数一直保持稳定。 这些条形图覆盖了显示涉及处方阿片类药物的死亡人数以及其他合成麻醉剂(主要是芬太尼)和没有其他合成麻醉剂从1999到2017的线条。 自2014以来,涉及处方阿片类药物和合成麻醉药的死亡人数一直在稳步增加,并表明涉及处方阿片类药物的死亡人数的增加是由芬太尼的使用所致。 (来源:CDC WONDER)

判决书和强生公司的回应

克利夫兰郡地区法官萨德·巴尔克曼(Thad Balkman)发表了一项判决书,其中涉及约翰逊和强生公司 他的裁决:

“事实表明,被告一般从事虚假和误导性的药物和阿片类药物营销,法律明确规定,这种行为足以作为确定俄克拉荷马州公害法第一要素所必需的行为或不作为。

...

“美国宪法第一修正案并未禁止对此处所抱怨的行为承担责任。 第一修正案的权利不得用作实现立法机构有权控制的实质性罪恶的借口。“

判决结束后,强生公司迅速发布了一份判决书 公开声明 在他们公司的网站上:

“强生公司(纽约证券交易所股票代码:JNJ)及其Janssen制药公司今天宣布,他们将对俄克拉荷马州针对阿片类药物制造商提起的克利夫兰县地方法院提起的572百万美元判决提出上诉。 公司有信心有充分理由对此决定提出上诉。“

“在这种情况下的决定是有缺陷的。 纽约州未能提供证据证明公司的产品或行为在俄克拉荷马州造成了公害。 国家的索赔违反了正当程序的基本原则,试图让公司对联邦法律和法规允许的行为负责,“该公司继续说道。

强生公司的营销实践和俄克拉荷马州的药丸厂

巴尔克曼决定中包含的两个关键点涉及约翰逊和约翰逊的营销方法,低度关注这些行动可能对俄克拉荷马州造成的“药丸厂”效应。

“被告向各种不同的疼痛倡导团体和组织支付了大笔款项,这些组织和组织影响处方医生和其他医疗保健专业人员。

...

“被告没有培训他们的销售代表关于可能表明'药​​丸厂'的红旗,包括例如门诊排队的患者的疼痛诊所或患者在候诊室昏倒的情况。

“为被告的销售人员开发的营销策略包括利用优惠券计划作为Duragesic和样本合作计划的营销工具,其中销售代表向医生提供了一张样品券,用于在药房兑换的一盒25mcg或50mcg补丁DURAGESIC的免费15日试用。'“

如果案件在上诉程序中得到维护,那将为制药公司追究其营销行为的责任开创先例。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Johnson & Johnson Ruling Could Set Major Precedent in Opioid Crisis

Johnson & Johnson Office in North America
Johnson & Johnson Office in North America (Photo: public domain)

“Defendants made substantial payments of money to a variety of different pain advocacy groups and organizations that influence prescribing physicians and other health care professionals.”

“In a landmark decision, an Oklahoma judge on Monday ordered pharmaceutical giant Johnson & Johnson to pay $572 million for its role in the state’s opioid crisis,” CNN reported earlier in the week regarding a landmark decision which could lead to pharmaceutical companies being held responsible for the alarming rate of opioid deaths within the United States.

The following graphs provided by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIH) highlight the recent increase in deaths by overall drug overdose, opioid overdose and prescription opioid overdose.

Figure 1. National Drug Overdose Deaths—Number Among All Ages, by Gender, 1999-2017. More than 70,200 Americans died from drug overdoses in 2017, including illicit drugs and prescription opioids—a 2-fold increase in a decade. The figure above is a bar and line graph showing the total number of U.S. overdose deaths involving all drugs from 1999 to 2017. Drug overdose deaths rose from 16,849 in 1999 to 70,237 in 2017. The bars are overlaid by lines showing the number of deaths by gender from 1999 to 2017. (Source: CDC WONDER)
National Overdose Deaths Involving Any Opioid—Number Among All Ages, by Gender, 1999-2017. The figure above is a bar and line graph showing the total number of U.S. overdose deaths involving opioids from 1999 to 2017. Any opioids includes prescription opioids (and methadone), heroin and other synthetic narcotics (mainly fentanyl). Drug overdose deaths rose from 8,048 in 1999 to 47,600 in 2017. The bars are overlaid by lines showing the number of deaths by gender from 1999 to 2017. Overall, there has been a higher number of drug overdose deaths among males. (Source: CDC WONDER)
Figure 4. National Overdose Deaths Involving Prescription Opioids—Number Among All Ages, 1999-2017. The figure above is a bar and line graph showing the total number of U.S. overdose deaths involving prescriptions opioids (including methadone) from 1999 to 2017. Drug overdose deaths involving prescription opioids rose from 3,442 in 1999 to 17,029 in 2017. Since 2016, however, the number of deaths has remained stable. The bars are overlaid by lines showing the number of deaths involving prescription opioids in combination with other synthetic narcotics (mainly fentanyl) and without other synthetic narcotics from 1999 to 2017. The number of deaths involving prescription opioids in combination with synthetic narcotics has been increasing steadily since 2014 and shows that the increase in deaths involving prescription opioids is driven by the use of fentanyl. (Source: CDC WONDER)

The Verdict and Johnson & Johnson’s Response

Thad Balkman, a Cleveland County District Judge, issued the verdict stating the following concerning Johnson & Johnson in his ruling:

 

“The facts show Defendants engaged in false and misleading marketing of both their drugs and opioids generally, and the law makes clear that such conduct is more than enough to serve as the act or omission necessary to establish the first element of Oklahoma’s public nuisance law.

“The First Amendment to the United States Constitution does not prohibit imposing liability for the acts complained of here. First Amendment rights may not be used as the means of the pretext for achieving substantive evils which the legislature has the power to control.”

 

Quickly after the verdict was rendered, Johnson & Johnson released a public statement on their company website:

“Johnson & Johnson (NYSE: JNJ) and its Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies today announced they will appeal the $572 million civil judgment entered in Cleveland County District Court in the State of Oklahoma’s lawsuit against opioid manufacturers. The Company is confident it has strong grounds to appeal this decision.”

“The decision in this case is flawed. The State failed to present evidence that the Company’s products or actions caused a public nuisance in Oklahoma. The State’s claims violate fundamental principles of due process by seeking to hold a company liable for conduct permitted under federal law and regulations,” the company continued.

Johnson & Johnson’s Marketing Practices and The Oklahoma Pill Mill

Two of the key points included in Balkman’s decision involve Johnson and Johnson’s marketing methods, with low regard to the possible “pill mill” effects such actions could have on the state of Oklahoma.

“Defendants made substantial payments of money to a variety of different pain advocacy groups and organizations that influences prescribing physicians and other health care professionals.

“Defendants did not train their sales representatives regarding red flags that could indicate a ‘pill mill,’ including, for example, pain clinics with patients lined up out the door or patients passed out in the waiting room.

“Marketing strategies developed for Defendants’ sales force included utilizing a coupon program as a marketing tool for Duragesic and sample co programs, in which a sales representative delivered to a physician a ‘sample voucher for a box of 25mcg or 50mcg patches redeemed at pharmacy for a free 15-day trial of DURAGESIC.'”

If the case is upheld in the appeals process, it would set a precedent of accountability of pharmaceutical companies being held accountable for their marketing practices.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.