اكتب للبحث

حضاره المميز

على #MeToo وأهوال هوليوود "الأريكة الصب" مع كاري ميتشوم

ناقش كاري ميتشوم هوليوود وتأثير #MeToo على الصناعة. (الصورة: يوتيوب)
ناقش كاري ميتشوم هوليوود وتأثير #MeToo على الصناعة. (الصورة: يوتيوب)

فيلم كاري ميتشوم الوثائقي الجديد هزاز الأريكة يحكي قصة مجموعة جديدة من المهنيين الشجعان في هوليوود يشاركون قصصهم للمرة الأولى ، بالإضافة إلى استعراض قضية هوليوود القديمة التي كان يمكن أن تغير التاريخ ومستقبل صناعة السينما.

مسكت الممثلة تنوعا لا يصدق ، منتج ، طاه ، و روبرت Mitchumحفيدة ، كاري ميتشوم للدردشة. كاري صريحة حول #MeToo و #TimesUp وتجاربها في هوليوود مع اسم قوي مثل ميتشوم. كل هذه الملاحظات موجودة في فيلمها الوثائقي الجديد حول "أريكة الصب" الشهيرة في هوليوود وجرائم المنتج المفترس والاس كاي (الذي حصل على سنوات 5 للاعتداءات الجنسية)، مسمي هزاز الأريكة، على VOD الآن.

لطالما أعجبت روبرت ميتشوم كممثل ورجل. من إحضار PI السابق الذي يختبئ من ماضيه جيف بيلي إلى الحياة في فيلم 1947 الأساسي Noir Out of the Past (اقرأ تحليلي له في 70 years on هنا) إلى مقرفه الغامض المرتقب ومعالج الداعية هاري باول في فيلم The Night of the Hunter (قد تتذكر ذلك من وشم شخصية ميتشوم: "جيد" من ناحية و "إيفل" من ناحية أخرى) ، لتصويره للغروي كان عالم الاجتماع ومجرم الجنس ماكس كادي (دور قام به روبرت دي نيرو في فيلم 1991 من إنتاج مارتن سكورسيزي) الذي يرهب عائلة غريغوري بيك في رأس الخوف في 1962 ، وكان ميتشوم بلا شك أحد أكثر فناني هوليوود تنوعًا.

تقدم The Mitchums (Robert Mitchum ، و Christopher Mitchum ، و Carrie Mitchum) جائزة 1989 Golden Globe لأفضل ممثلة مساعدة في سلسلة مصغرة أو تلفاز موشن. (الصورة: يوتيوب)

تقدم The Mitchums (Robert Mitchum ، و Christopher Mitchum ، و Carrie Mitchum) جائزة 1989 Golden Globe لأفضل ممثلة مساعدة في سلسلة مصغرة أو تلفاز موشن. (الصورة: يوتيوب)

#MeToo في 1950s

كان روبرت ميتشوم طرفًا في قصة #MeToo التي تعود إلى عصر 1950. أثناء تصوير فيلم Angel Face الخاص بـ 1953 مع الرصاصة Jean Simmons ، كان على Mitchum أن يصور مشهدًا يصفع فيه شخصيته شخصية Simmons في الوجه. جعل المخرج أوتو بريمنغر ميتشوم يقوم بالمشهد عددًا غير معقول من المرات. هذا تسبب في النهاية ميتشوم يستدير و صفعة Preminger بدلا من ذلك ثم الخروج. اشتكى بريمينغر للمنتج هوارد هيوز بعد أن أراد ميتشوم أن يطلق النار ؛ ورفض هيوز الطلب.

كان هناك دافع أعمق لسلوك Preminger أثناء التصوير. لم يكن هو الكمال في قالب من المخرجين مثل ستانلي كوبريك - كان يشارك في ما يرقى إلى الإساءة المنهجية للممثلة الرائدة له. لماذا ا؟ لأن هوارد هيوز طلب منه ذلك.

روبرت ميتشوم وجان سيمونز في "وجه الملاك" لـ 1953

روبرت ميتشوم وجان سيمونز في "وجه الملاك" لـ 1953

عندما حصل هيوز واستوديوه RKO Radio Pictures على السيناريو الخاص بـ Angel Face ، أرسله إلى Preminger لقراءة وتقييمه ، على أمل أن يقوم بتسجيل الدخول لتوجيهه. Preminger يكره البرنامج النصي على الرغم من ويريد أن تفعل شيئا حيال ذلك. هذا يؤدي إلى هيوز يلتقط شخصيا بريمنغر في سيارته ويخبره: "سأذهب حتى مع تلك العاهرة الصغيرة ... وأنت ستساعدني."

أعطى Hughes لـ Preminger إذنًا لإعادة كتابة السيناريو ووعده بمكافأة (انتهى بها جمعها) إذا كان بإمكانه إنهاء الفيلم في أيام 18 - مقدار الوقت المتبقي في عقد Simmons مع RKO. اشترت Hughes عقدها من استوديوهات J. Arthur Rank Studios في إنجلترا دون علمها. أدى استياء سيمونز لها قص شعرها: يفضل هيوز السيدات الرائدات الشعر الطويل في صور RKO ؛ لذا فسببت سيمونز أن هذا سيمنعه من استخدامها في أي شيء قبل انتهاء العقد. هيوز لن يكون حائزا على الرغم من ؛ أعطاها شعر مستعار لارتدائها في جميع أنحاء تصوير وجه الملاك.

توضح قصة Angel Face مدى انتشار المشكلات التي ساعدت #MeToo و #TimesUp على إبرازها - ومدى استمرارها. تتناول كاري هذا في المقابلة أدناه من وجهة نظرها الفريدة باعتبارها ميتشوم وشيف مشهور - صناعة المطاعم لديها هذه القضايا أيضًا. كما أنها تعطينا نظرة على عواطفها للحصول على طعام رائع لكل من البشر والحيوانات الأليفة (مشروع جديد لها).

استمتع بالمقابلة أدناه مع كاري ميتشوم وقبض على Rocking the Couch على VOD الآن. تحقق من مقابلتي مع منتج صخرة الأريكة أندريا إيفانز هنا.

اهلا بك يا كاري!

اهلا كيف حالك؟

أوه ، عظيم فقط. كيف حالكم؟

أنا بخير ، شكرا لك.

عظيم! لبدء الأمور ، كنت أتساءل عما إذا كان بإمكاننا الحصول على فكرة عما كان عليه الحال مع والدك وجدك في الأعمال التجارية؟ وبعد أن التعرف على الاسم؟

حسنًا ، أنت تعلم ، إنه أمر مضحك لأنه من الواضح أنك عندما تكون صغيرًا ، فأنت لا تعرف ذلك. ليس شيئًا يعبر عن عقلك. إنها تتعلق بمن سيوفر لك ملفات تعريف الارتباط أو الكعك.

[يضحك] هذا صحيح.

لم يكن الأمر كذلك على الأرجح ... لم يكن حتى أدركت أن هناك أشخاصًا آخرين كانوا على علم به ، وبدأت أتساءل عما يحدث. أنت تعرف ما أعنيه؟ لذلك ... انتظر لحظة واحدة.

لا توجد مشكلة.

آسف.

لا شيء للاعتذار ، كاري.

شكر. آسف ، شخص ما يحاول أن يهتم ببابي.

لا داعى للقلق.

إذن أجل. ربما لم أكن حتى ... كنت أدرك أنه أصبح شيئًا يجب النظر إليه. كان الأمر أكثر عندما بدأت في الدخول في الصناعة التي أصبحت شيئًا ما في طليعة أفكاري. لأن الناس إما يعرفون أسرتي ، شخصيًا ، وبعد ذلك استنادًا إلى مدى تفاعلهم ، كانوا سعداء حقًا بمقابلتي ، أم لا.

إذا كانت لديهم تجربة رائعة مع والدي أو جدي ، من الواضح أن الأمر كان أسهل بكثير بالنسبة لي ، مما لو كان جدي ، أكثر من والدي ، كان لديه مشاجرة بسيطة.

والأشياء يمكن أن تحصل على القليل من النرد. أعتقد أن الإجابة عن سؤالك هي في الحقيقة بمجرد معرفتي به ، لم أكن أعرف أي شيء آخر. أنت تعرف ما أعنيه؟ لقد كانوا دائمًا عائلتي ، وبالتالي ليس لدي مقارنة مستوى أساسي عما سيكون عليه الحال مع أسرتي.

بالتأكيد روبرت ميتشوم هو أفضل ممثل لي المفضل مع همفري بوجارت.

نعم.

ذكرني الفيلم الوثائقي "Rocking the Couch" و "#MeToo" ، ككلّ حقًا ، بقصة شاركت فيها روبرت. مرة أخرى عندما كانوا يصورون Angel Face ، مع إخراج Otto Preminger وإنتاج Howard Hughes.

نعم بالتأكيد.

كان ذلك المشهد حيث اضطرت شخصية جدك إلى صفعة شخصية جان سيمونز. و-

الحق ، أعتقد أنني رأيت هذا الفيلم مرة أخرى. هذا مضحك جدا ، نعم.

... ومن الواضح أن بريمنغر كان رعبا حقيقيا حيال ذلك ، وروبرت يستدير ويصفع المخرج. التي بريمنغر بالتأكيد تستحق هناك. من الواضح أن هاورد هيوز وأوتو بريمنغر كانا يضايقان جان سيمونز ، بشكل منهجي.

حق.

والسؤال الذي كنت أعلق عليه هو ، هل تعتقد أن #MeToo و #TimesUp ينتجان تغييراً حقيقياً ودائماً في هوليوود؟

أنت تعرف ، لقد أعطيت الكثير من التفكير. إنه أمر مضحك لأنني شاركت أيضًا في فيلم وثائقي عن جدي ... بروس [ويبر] الاستفادة من ذلك. لذلك ، كنت أقوم بالكثير من المقابلات والضغط على ذلك. إنه أمر مضحك لأن الكثير من الناس يقومون بذلك. نفس الشيء ، مثل العودة في وقت جدك ، كيف ... لا سيما النساء ، ولكن الرجال أيضًا ، عوملن على عكس الآن. وهل نرى أي نوع من التغيير الدائم؟

يجب أن آمل أن يكون أكبر تغيير في الأشخاص الذين وجدوا صوتهم ليقولوا ، لا. والوقوف عن أنفسهم. لا أعتقد حقًا أنك ستغير السلوك البشري المتأصل حيث يحاول شخص في السلطة استغلال شخص بدونه.

أنا أتفق.

انها مجرد نوع من الحقيقة القبيحة ، مثل كل هذا الوقت. أقصد ، أعتقد أنه من الواضح أنه بسبب الجوانب القانونية ، يكون الناس أكثر وعياً به. ولأن الناس يتعرضون للمساءلة. ربما سيقومون بمراقبة سلوكهم السيئ بعض الشيء. لكنني أعتقد أنه لا يزال مستمرا وآمل أن يلقي عليهم هذا الاهتمام غير المرغوب فيه ، وأن لديهم القوة في صوتهم ، وهذا هو الشيء الأكبر الذي أعتقد أن هذه الحركة ستحققه. هل هذه هي القدرة على قول لا ، وأن يسمع.

أود أن أعتقد أن هذه هي نهاية ذلك ، لكنني لست بهذه السذاجة. أنا فقط لا أرى الأسلاك الصعبة للسلوك السيئ وأن هيكل القوة هذا ينتهي فقط بين عشية وضحاها. لا أرى ذلك يحدث.

نعم ، سوف يستغرق بالتأكيد بعض الوقت. أنا معك في هذا ، 100 ٪.

وأعتقد حقًا أن الأمر المهم للغاية هو أن يجد الضحايا صوتهم وليسوا متواطئين ولا يسترون على الناس ولا ينحني لهم لأن هذا هو مصدر القوة. الأحمق سيكون الأحمق. هذا ما عليه الحال. لكن إذا قال عدد كافٍ من الناس لا ، فلن يكون لديهم قوتهم ، ولن يكون لديهم ضحية.

قطعا. نعم بالتأكيد. سأقوم بمراجعة الفيلم الوثائقي الآخر الذي ذكرته أيضًا.

أوه ، إنه رائع. تسمى بنات لطيفة لا البقاء لتناول الافطار. إنه في المسارح الآن في أوروبا. أنا لا أعرف ما هو التوزيع الغربي. لكننا كنا في البندقية مهرجان البندقية السينمائي وكنا في باريس في شهر فبراير للعروض الأولى الفرنسية. لقد كان رائعا حقا. إنه فيلم وثائقي رائع. [المدير] بروس ويبر هو عبقري.

قطعا. وكما تعلم ، بعض أفلامي المفضلة ... من الماضي هو في تلك القائمة. حب، من الماضي.

أنا أيضًا.

و ليلة من هنتر كذلك ، هو أيضا هناك. لكن ، كما تعلمون ، لا يمكنني القول أنني شاهدت فيلم Robert Mitchum لم يعجبني.

عشاق ماريا هو نوع من زاحف.

أنا لم أر ذلك. أنا إضافته إلى قائمتي.

لنرى. أنا نوع من القفز هنا قليلاً. ما الذي جذبك في البداية إلى Rocking the Couch ، كمشروع؟

أولاً وقبل كل شيء ، كنت أندريا [إيفانز] صديقين. أعني ، كنا نحاول معرفة اليوم الآخر عندما كنا نتحدث. لم نتمكن من معرفة متى لم نعرف بعضنا البعض.

[يضحك] هذا رائع.

كما تعلمون ، بدأنا في صابون صغيرًا جدًا. وكانت تعمل بالفعل بحلول الوقت الذي ضربت فيه المشهد. وهكذا ، كان لدينا دائمًا احترام واحترام متبادلين لبعضنا البعض. لكنني أعتقد أنها عندما اقتربت مني ، شعرت وكأنني حصلت على نسخة مختلفة من القصة لأرويها لأنني لم أختبر تجربة الأريكة المصبوبة. أنت تعرف ... مرة أخرى ، تعود إلى العائلة التي كانت أساسًا في هذه الصناعة بأكملها.

أعتقد أن الناس كانوا أكثر خوفًا من قبلي. وهكذا شعرت وكأنني كانت لدي تجربة بديلة لما معظم النساء ، بطريقة أو بأخرى ، في هذه الصناعة ... والرجال أيضًا. لا أريد أن أقول إنهم لم يتحدثوا فقط عن قضايا النساء. إنهم أكثر في دائرة الضوء الآن ولكنه حدث بالتأكيد للرجال والفتيان أيضًا.

لذلك شعرت وكأنني مسؤول عن مشاركة قصتي. وأعتقد أن أهم شيء يمكنني أن أراه هو المسؤولية التي يجب على كلا الجانبين تحملها حتى يعمل هذا ويلغي هذا. ليس فقط في صناعتنا ، ولكن في الأساس ، الحياة. أعني ، أنا طاهٍ الآن وأراه في صناعة المطاعم. ولدي أصدقاء في كل مهنة ، وكل مشوار الحياة. وكلهم يختبرون هذا النوع من الصراع على السلطة. وعادة ما تتمحور حول التحرش الجنسي.

وهكذا ، فإن صناعة الترفيه لديها تسليط الضوء عليها ، لكنها تبرز ما يحدث في كل مكان والناس هم ضحايا التمييز الجنسي الذين يجدون صوتهم.

قطعا. لقد جعلني أفكر فقط تيري كروز الذي كان مثالا يحتذى به هناك ما يحدث للرجال.

نعم بالضبط. و لقد حان كوري فيلدمان. أنا أعرف القصص ... كما تعلمون ، أخبرني أخي القصص. وأعتقد أنني كنت مندهشًا. شعرت أنه كان بالتأكيد تحت الحماية نفسها ، لكن ... حجاب مثلي. ولكن هناك دائمًا ذلك الشخص الذي سيحاول القيام بشيء ما.

ومثل أخي ، "أوه نعم ، لقد ضربت هذا الرجل." كنت مثل ، "انتظر ، ماذا؟" عبر المجلس.

إطلاقا. لسوء الحظ ، يميل الرجال إلى عدم الإبلاغ ، على الأقل عند النظر إلى بيانات الجرائم الجنسية.

تحدثنا قليلاً حول هذا الموضوع ، لكن السؤال الذي طرحته كان ، ما الذي تأمل أن يأخذه الناس معهم من Rocking the Couch؟

نعم ، وأعتقد باختصار ، أنه واحد ، إنه غير مقبول ، إنه غير مقبول. انها ليست الطريقة التي تتم بها الأمور. اثنان ، الكلام. وثلاثة ، لا تصبح جزءًا من المشكلة. وأعتقد أن هذا شيء أتناوله قليلاً في الفيلم الوثائقي. أعرف ، أو عرفت على وجه الخصوص ، الكثير من النساء اللائي كن على استعداد بالفعل للمشاركة في هذا النظام والنوم في طريقهن إلى القمة. وهي تجعل الأمر مروعًا حقًا لبقية الأشخاص الذين لا يريدون أن يكون لديهم هذا الخيار.

وأعتقد أن هؤلاء الأشخاص ، إذا كان هناك شيء ما بالتراضي وهذا هو ما يريدون أن يتصرفوا ، فهذا شأنهم. لكنهم يجعلون الأمر فظيعًا بالنسبة لأي شخص آخر لأنهم يسمحون لهؤلاء الأشخاص الذين لديهم القوة بأن يشعروا ، حسنا ، أن يشعروا أنه خيار. عندما لا ينبغي أن يكون حقا على الطاولة.

بالتأكيد وهذا يعود إلى هذا التغيير الثقافي كله أيضا. بلى. دعونا نأمل أن يحدث.

قليلا من محور السؤال أود أن أسأل الجميع. ما الذي يجعل فيلم رائع؟

بالنسبة لي ، كمشاهد ، أعتقد أن ما يصنع فيلمًا رائعًا هو عندما أكون مبكراً في وقت مبكر. لذلك ليس من الضروري أن أجلس هناك متسائلاً عما إذا كان يجب علي التبول أو ...

[يضحك] صحيح جدا.

أنت تعرف ما أعنيه؟ مثل يصرف قليلا. أعتقد ما هو الفيلم العظيم ، مثل كتاب عظيم. تحصل مدمن مخدرات في وقت مبكر ثم كل شيء من حولك يقع بعيدا. أنت غير مدرك لنفسك وأنت غير مدرك لمحيطك لأنك متورط في ذلك ، وأنك جزء منه ، عاطفياً. حتى لو لم تكن مثل الذبابة على الحائط ، فإنك تركب السفينة الدوارة. وبعد ذلك ، انتهى الأمر فقط ، أنا أقصد ، أعتقد أن أول فيلم رأيته في المسرح ، كان روب لوي وذهبت لأذهب لأرى مجتمع الشعراء الميتين.

أوه ، واو.

أعتقد أننا رأينا ذلك لاحقًا بعد فترة وجيزة ، بعد أن تم إطلاقه وكنا كلنا نجلس هناك فقط في المسرح ... ثم نظر إلي فقط. قال ، "واو. أنا سعيد للغاية لأنني لم أبدأ عندما كان هؤلاء الأطفال ، الآن. لأنني لم أحصل على هذه المهنة أبدًا. "لقد أسرتنا وكان فيلمًا رائعًا. ونحن نتجول قليلاً حول ويستوود لبضع ساعات ، في حالة ذهول. لأنها كانت قوية للغاية ، وكنا مشاركين فيها. هل كان لديك نوع من النزول بها ، هل تعلم؟ يتعافى منها.

وهذا بالنسبة لي هو الفيلم الرائع. الشيء الذي يدخل لك فقط.

هذا هو تعريف كبير. كما يمكنك أن تتخيل ، أحصل على مجموعة متنوعة من الإجابات مع تلك الإجابة.

نعم.

إنه سؤال كبير عن قصد. لكن لنرى. في الواقع آخر واحد كان لدي بالنسبة لك ، ما هو التالي؟

حسنًا ، إنه أمر مضحك ، لأنني قليلاً في كل ذلك ، لأنني رئيس الطهاة. وبصفتي شخصًا في صناعة الترفيه ، فإن أول شيء أقوم به هو أنني أريد إنتاج فيلم وثائقي عن Bruce Weber بالفعل.

يا؟

أحد الأشياء التي قام بها في فيلمه الوثائقي عن جدي ... هل بدأ فعلا الفيلم الوثائقي عندما كان جدي لا يزال حيا.

رائع. لذلك 1997 أو قبل ذلك.

وهناك الكثير من لقطات كبيرة ومقابلات معهم ، في ذلك. وهكذا ، لا ترى في كثير من الأحيان شخص يشارك في قصته على فيلم وثائقي. عادة ما يكون بعد وفاته أو لا تتم مقابلتهم لفيلم وثائقي خاص بهم. لذا ، لقد أحببت هذا النموذج حقًا وفكرتي هي أن يكون هناك أناس مختلفون ينتجون شرائح معينة.

وتحدثت مع أندريا [إيفانز] حول إنتاج ... معالجة الاتهامات والادعاءات التي وجهت ضد بروس.

يا؟

وعلى الرغم من كونه ... عندما تقرأ وثائق المحكمة ، لا توجد مزاعم حول "أوه ، لقد لمستني."

ولكن ، لا يزال هذا ادعاء ولا يزال جزءًا من حركة #MeToo بأكملها ولذا اعتقدت أن أندريا ستكون مثالية لإنتاج هذا الجزء. لديّ صديق آخر ... منتج أفلام وثائقية كان والده رئيسًا لدار الأزياء الكبير حقًا. وهكذا ، أود أن تنتج قصة أعماله بطريقة عصرية. وهكذا ، أريد أن أحصل على حوالي خمسة منتجين مختلفين معًا ووضع فيلم وثائقي معًا.

وأنا متحمس لذلك. ثم الشيء الآخر الذي أفعله ، هو أنني أقوم بنبات نباتي ، مصدره أخلاقيًا ، نوع من طعام الكلاب المستدام.

ذلك رائع.

وهو مختلف تماما عن الأشياء الأخرى. كما تعلمون ، بصفتي رئيس الطهاة ، عملت مع أليس ووترز للحصول على طعام مستدام في الكلية. كنت الطاهي التنفيذي للكلية. وأؤمن حقًا بحركة الطعام البطيئة. وأنا منقذ للحيوانات الأليفة ... الآن ، ليس لدي سوى ثلاثة كلاب. لكن عادة ما يكون لدي ثلاثة أو أربعة عمليات إنقاذ ، بالإضافة إلى عدد قليل من الأطفال.

وأنا مهتم حقًا بتغذية الحيوانات الأليفة. وأعتقد أنه يتبع الاتجاهات البشرية. وأعتقد أن هذا الاتجاه سيكون نحو المزيد من المواد الغذائية النباتية. إذا أخذنا في الاعتبار المناخ والبصمة الحالية للأكل من كمية اللحوم المستزرعة في المصنع ، فنحن نفعل ذلك ... خاصة في هذا البلد.

لكن ، أعتقد أنه أصبح شيئًا مفتونًا به ومتحمسًا له.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ويس هاوبريش

ويس هاوبريش هو محرر مساهم في فيلم 405 الحائز على جوائز في لندن: http://www.thefourohfive.com/film ... وهو مصور سينمائي وسينفيلي حائز على جوائز.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE FEATURED

On #MeToo and the Horrors of Hollywood’s ‘Casting Couch’ With Carrie Mitchum

Carrie Mitchum discuss Hollywood and the impact of #MeToo on the industry. (Photo: YouTube)
Carrie Mitchum discuss Hollywood and the impact of #MeToo on the industry. (Photo: YouTube)

Carrie Mitchum’s new documentary Rocking the Couch tells the story of a new group of brave Hollywood professionals sharing their stories for the first time, as well as reviewing an old Hollywood case that could have changed history and the future of the film industry.

I caught up with the incredibly versatile actress, producer, chef, and Robert Mitchum’s granddaughter, Carrie Mitchum for a chat. Carrie gets candid about #MeToo and #TimesUp and her experiences in Hollywood with such a powerful name as Mitchum. These observations are all in her new documentary on Hollywood’s infamous ‘casting couch’ and the crimes of predatory producer Wallace Kaye (who got 5 years for sexual assaults), called Rocking the Couch, on VOD now.

I have always admired Robert Mitchum as an actor and a man. From bringing the laconic ex-PI who’s hiding from his past Jeff Bailey to life in the essential 1947 film noir Out of the Past (read my analysis of it at 70 years on here) to his viscerally-freaky grifter and manipulator the preacher Harry Powell in The Night of the Hunter (you might remember this from Mitchum’s character’s knuckle tattoos: “GOOD” on one hand and “EVIL” on the other), to his portrayal of slimy sociopath and sex criminal Max Cady (a role played by Robert De Niro in Martin Scorsese’s 1991 remake) who terrorizes Gregory Peck’s family in 1962’s Cape Fear, Mitchum was undoubtedly one of Hollywood’s more versatile performers.

The Mitchums (Robert Mitchum, Christopher Mitchum, and Carrie Mitchum) present the 1989 Golden Globe award for Best Supporting Actress in a Mini Series or TV Motion Picture. (Photo: YouTube)

The Mitchums (Robert Mitchum, Christopher Mitchum, and Carrie Mitchum) present the 1989 Golden Globe award for Best Supporting Actress in a Mini Series or TV Motion Picture. (Photo: YouTube)

#MeToo in the 1950s

Robert Mitchum was party to a 1950’s-era #MeToo story as well. While filming 1953’s Angel Face with female lead Jean Simmons, Mitchum had to do a scene where his character slaps Simmons’s character in the face. Director Otto Preminger made Mitchum do the scene an absurd number of times. This ultimately caused Mitchum to turn around and slap Preminger instead and then walk out. Preminger complained to producer Howard Hughes after this that he wanted Mitchum fired; a demand Hughes refused.

There was a deeper motivation to Preminger’s behavior during filming. He was not being a perfectionist in the mold of directors like Stanley Kubrick – he was engaged in what amounted to systematic abuse of his lead actress. Why? Because Howard Hughes asked him to.

Robert Mitchum and Jean Simmons in 1953's "Angel Face"

Robert Mitchum and Jean Simmons in 1953’s “Angel Face”

When Hughes and his studio RKO Radio Pictures acquired the script for Angel Face, he sent it along to Preminger to read and evaluate, in the hope that he would sign on to direct. Preminger hated the script though and wanted nothing to do with it. This lead to Hughes personally picking Preminger up in his car and telling him: “I’m going to get even with that little bitch… And you’re going to help me.”

Hughes gave Preminger permission to rewrite the script and promised him a bonus (which he ended up collecting) if he could finish the film in 18 days – the exact amount of time left in Simmons’s contract with RKO. Hughes had bought her contract from England’s J. Arthur Rank Studios without her knowledge. Simmons’s displeasure led her to cut her hair off: Hughes preferred long-haired leading ladies in RKO’s pictures; so Simmons reasoned this would prevent him from using her in anything before her contract was up. Hughes would not be stymied though; he gave her a wig to wear throughout Angel Face’s filming.

The story of Angel Face shows just how prevalent the problems #MeToo and #TimesUp have helped bring to light are – and just how long-lasting. Carrie addresses this in the interview below from her unique perspective as a Mitchum and a celebrity chef – the restaurant industry has these issues too. She also gives us a look at her passions for great food for both humans and pets (a new project of hers).

Enjoy the interview below and catch Rocking the Couch on VOD now. Check out my interview with Rocking the Couch producer Andrea Evans here.

Welcome Carrie! 

Hey… How are you?

Oh, just great. How are you?

I’m well, thank you.

Great! To start things off, I was wondering if we could get an idea of what it was like growing up with your father and your grandfather in the business? And having that name recognition?

Well, you know, it’s funny because obviously when you’re really little, you’re not aware of it. It’s not something that crosses your mind. It’s more about who’s going to give you cookies or cake.

[Laughs] This is true.

It wasn’t until probably… It wasn’t until I was aware that other people were aware of it, that I started to wonder what was going on. You know what I mean? So… Hold on one second.

No problem.

Sorry.

Nothing to apologize for, Carrie.

Thanks. Sorry, someone’s trying to fuss with my door.

No worries.

So yeah. It’s probably not until I was… That I became aware of it that it became even something to look at. It was more when I started to get into the industry that it became something that was sort of in the forefront of my thoughts. Because people would either know my family, personally, and then depending on how their interaction was, they were either really happy to meet me, or not.

If they had a great experience with my dad or my granddad, obviously it was a lot easier for me, than if my grandfather, more so than my father had, had a little altercation.

And things could get a little dicey. I guess, really to answer your question, is once I became aware of it, I really didn’t know any different. You know what I mean? They’d always been my family, and so I don’t have a base level comparison what it would be like not to grow up with my family.

Oh, most definitely. Robert Mitchum is a top favorite actor of mine with Humphrey Bogart. 

Yeah.

The documentary Rocking the Couch, and #MeToo, really as a whole, reminded me of a story that involved Robert. Back when they were filming Angel Face, with Otto Preminger directing and Howard Hughes producing.

Oh, yes.

It was that scene where your grandfather’s character had to slap Jean Simmons’ character. And-

Right, I think I just saw that movie again. That’s so funny, yeah.

… And evidently Preminger was being a real jerk about it and Robert turns around and slaps the director. Which Preminger definitely deserved there. So apparently Howard Hughes and Otto Preminger were both basically harassing Jean Simmons, kind of systematically.

Right.

And the question that I had attached to that was, do you think #MeToo and #TimesUp are producing real lasting change in Hollywood?

You know, I’ve given that a lot of thought. And it’s funny because I also participated in a documentary on my grandfather’s… Bruce [Weber] leveraged it. So, I’ve been doing a lot of, both interviews and press on that. And it’s funny because a lot of people bring up that. The same sort of thing, like back in your grandfather’s time, how… Especially women, but men too, were treated as opposed to now. And do we see any sort of permanent change?

I have to hope that the biggest change is going to be in people having found their voice to say, no. And to stand up for themselves. I don’t really think you’re going to change inherent human behavior where someone in power tries to exploit someone without.

I agree.

It’s just sort of like an ugly truth that, as all this time. And I mean, I think that obviously because of legalities people are more aware of it. And because people are being held accountable. Perhaps they’re going to censor their bad behavior a bit. But I think it’s still going to continue and my hope is that the people that have this unwanted attention thrown at them, have the strength in their voice, and that’s what the biggest thing that, I think, this movement will accomplish. Is that the ability to say no, and be heard.

I would love to think that, you know, this is the end of that, but I’m not that naïve. I just don’t see the hard wiring of bad behavior and that power structure just ending overnight. I don’t see that happening.

Yeah, it will definitely take time. I’m with you on that, 100%.

And I think really, what’s so important is that victims find their voice and aren’t complicit and don’t cover up for people and don’t bend to it because that’s where the strength comes from. An asshole is going to be an asshole. That’s just the way it is. But if enough people say no, they won’t have their force, they won’t have a victim.

Definitely. Yeah, most definitely. I’m going to have to check out that other documentary, you mentioned too. 

Oh, it’s fantastic. It’s called Nice Girls Don’t Stay For Breakfast. It’s in theaters now in Europe. I don’t know what the west distribution is. But we were in Venice for the Venice Film Festival and we were in Paris in February for the French premieres. It’s been really cool. It’s a great documentary. [Director] Bruce Weber’s a genius.

Definitely. And, you know, some of my favorite movies… Out of the Past is on that list. Love, Out of the Past.

Me too.

And Night of the Hunter as well, is also on there. But, you know, I can’t say I’ve ever seen a Robert Mitchum movie I haven’t liked.

Maria’s Lovers is kind of creepy.

I haven’t seen that one. I’m adding it to my list.

Let’s see. I’m kind of jumping around here a bit. What initially attracted you to Rocking the Couch, as a project?

First and foremost, Andrea [Evans] and I had been friends. I mean, we were trying to figure out the other day when we were talking. We couldn’t figure out when we didn’t know each other.

[Laughs] That’s awesome.

You know, we both started in soaps pretty young. And she was already working by the time I hit the scene. And so, we’ve always had a mutual respect and liking of each other. But I think that when she approached me, I felt like I had a different version of the story to tell because I didn’t really experience the casting couch. You know… Again, it goes back to coming from a family that was basically on the inside of that whole industry.

I think people were more intimidated by me. And so I felt like I had an alternate experience to what most women, in one way or another, in this industry… And men too. I don’t want to say that they didn’t and just speak of the women cases. They’re more in the spotlight now but it definitely happened to men and boys as well.

So I just felt like I have a responsibility to share my story. And I think that the most important thing that I can see is the responsibility that both sides needs to take in order for this to work and to abolish this. Not just in our industry, but basically, life. I mean, I’m a chef now and I see it in the restaurant industry. And I have friends in every career, every walk of life. And they all experience this kind of power struggle. And it usually centers around sexual harassment.

And so, the entertainment industry has a spotlight on it, but it accentuates what’s happening everywhere and people are victims of the sexist finding their voice.

Definitely. It just made me think of Terry Crews who’s been an example there of what’s happening to men.

Yes, exactly. And Corey Feldman has come out. I know stories… You know, my own brother has told me stories. And I guess I was sort of surprised. I felt like he definitely had been sort of under the same protection, but… Veil as me. But there’s always that person that’s going to try something.

And my brother’s like, “Oh yeah, I hit that guy.” Yeah so. I was like, “Wait, what?” So, it definitely happens. Across the board.

Absolutely. Unfortunately men tend to not report, at least when looking at sex crime data.

We kind of talked a bit about this, but the question I had was, what do you hope people will take with them from Rocking the Couch?

Yeah, and I think in a nutshell, is one, it’s not acceptable, it’s not okay. It’s not how things are done. Two, speak up. And three, don’t become part of the problem. And I think that’s a thing that I address a little bit in the documentary. I know, or knew especially, plenty of women that were actually willing to participate in that system and sleep their way to the top. And they just make it really horrible for the rest of the people that don’t want to have that option.

And I think that, those people, if something’s consensual and that’s how they wanted to behave, that’s their business. But, they’re making it horrible for everyone else because they’re allowing these people with the power to feel that, that’s okay, to feel that it’s an option. When it really shouldn’t be on the table.

Oh, absolutely. And that goes back to that whole cultural change too. Yeah. Let’s hope it’s happening.

A bit of a pivot to a question I like to ask everybody. What makes a great film?

For me, as a viewer, I think what makes a great film is when I’m hooked early. So I don’t have to sit there sort of wondering if I have to pee or…

[Laughs] so true. 

You know what I mean? Like a little distracted. I think what a great film is, like a great book. You get hooked early and then everything around you falls away. You’re unaware of yourself and you’re unaware of your surroundings because you become so involved, that you’re a part of it, emotionally. Even if you’re not like a fly on the wall, you ride the roller-coaster. And then when it’s over, you just sort of go… I mean, I think the first film I saw in a theater, was Rob Lowe and I went to go see Dead Poets Society.

Oh, wow.

We saw it a little bit later, I guess, after it had been released and we both were just sitting there in the theater… And then he just looked at me. He said, “Wow. I’m so glad I wasn’t starting out when these kids were, are now. Because I’d never have this career.” They captivated us and it was just such a great film. And we just sort of walked around Westwood for a few hours, in a daze. Because it was so powerful, and we were so involved in it. You sort of had to come off it, you know? Recover from it.

And to me, that’s what a great film is. Something that just entrances you.

That’s a great definition. As you can imagine, I get a variety of answers with that one.

Yeah.

It’s a purposely big question. But, let’s see. Actually the last one that I had for you, is what’s next?

Well, it’s funny, because I’m a little bit all over that, because of being a chef. And as someone in the entertainment industry, the first thing I’m doing is I want to produce a documentary on Bruce Weber actually.

Oh?

One of the things he did in his documentary on my grandfather… Is he actually started the documentary when my grandfather was still alive.

Wow. So 1997 or before.

And there’s a lot of great footage and interviews with them, in it. And so, you don’t see oftentimes a person participate in their own story on a documentary. It’s usually posthumous or they’re not being interviewed for their own documentary. So, I really liked that model and my idea is to have various people produce certain segments.

And I spoke with Andrea [Evans] about producing… Addressing the accusations and allegations that have been made against Bruce.

Oh?

And even though his are… When you read the court documents, there’s no allegations of, “Oh, he touched me.” It’s more, “He made me uncomfortable.”

But, it’s still an allegation and it’s still a part of the whole #MeToo movement and so I thought Andrea would be perfect to produce that segment. I have another friend who… A documentary film producer whose father was president of this really big fashion house. And so, I would like her to produce the story of his work in fashion. And so, I want to get about five different producers together and put a documentary together.

And I’m excited about that. And then the other thing I’m doing, is I’m doing a vegan, ethically sourced, sort of sustainable dog food.

That’s great.

Which is completely different from the other things. You know, as a chef, I’ve worked with Alice Waters, to get sustainable food into the college level. I was the executive chef of a college. And I just really believe in the slow food movement. And I am a pet rescuer… Right now, I only have three dogs. But I usually have three or four rescues, plus a few fosters.

And I’m really interested in pet nutrition. And I believe it follows human trends. And I think that the trend is going to be towards more plant-based food. If we consider climate and the current imprint of eating the amount of factory farmed meat we do… Especially in this country.

But, I guess it became something that I got really fascinated with and excited about.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Wess Haubrich

Wess Haubrich is the contributing editor of London's award-winning The 405 film: http://www.thefourohfive.com/film ... He is a award-winning photographer and cinephile.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.