输入搜索

意见

只有愚蠢的联盟才能与伊朗开战

唐纳德·特朗普总统和第一夫人梅拉尼娅·特朗普与沙特阿拉伯国王萨勒曼·本·阿卜杜拉齐兹·沙特和埃及总统阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·阿尔西西,5月21,2017一起参加全球打击极端分子中心的首次开幕仪式思想。 (白宫官方摄影:Shealah Craighead)
唐纳德·特朗普总统和第一夫人梅拉尼娅·特朗普与沙特阿拉伯国王萨勒曼·本·阿卜杜拉齐兹·沙特和埃及总统阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·阿尔西西,5月21,2017一起参加全球打击极端分子中心的首次开幕仪式思想。 (照片:白宫,Shealah Craighead)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

如果你想确定当今世界上最不鲁莽的力量,那么以色列,沙特阿拉伯,阿拉伯联合酋长国和美利坚合众国就是最好的选择。

挖掘旧口号“无血油”是没有意义的。 它最后一次没有影响。 不要轰炸伊拉克,我们在2002和2003中说,无济于事。 乔治·W·布什和他的朋友们想要摧毁他们所做的那个国家。

唐纳德特朗普解雇了约翰博尔顿。 呼吸松弛似乎是可以接受的。 但那还为时过早。 博尔顿并不是唯一一个对伊朗发动战争的人。 美国国务院的迈克庞培也是如此,还有一大批军火商,说客,鹰派人士以及相信美国应该代表以色列和沙特阿拉伯轰炸伊朗的人。

也门的Houthis因袭击沙特阿拉伯东部油田而受到赞扬。 但这还不够。 伊拉克人说伊朗没有利用伊拉克领土发射无人机是不够的。 美国声称这次袭击是由伊朗完成的。 不再需要说了。 在联合国安理会面前没有必要像科林鲍威尔这样的人。 事实上,特朗普政府中没有像科林鲍威尔这样的人。 他的内阁成员都没有那种可以挥霍的庄严。

伊朗的反应一直平静。 德黑兰政府决定不在华盛顿的暴风云下畏缩。 如果加拿大人不释放被扣押的伊朗资产,它将威胁加拿大自己的制裁。 一辆载有柴油到阿拉伯联合酋长国的油轮被伊朗人以走私为由劫持。 伊朗总统哈桑·鲁哈尼在土耳其安卡拉举行的叙利亚峰会上表示,只要美国军队留在那里,叙利亚就不会有稳定。 伊朗拒绝眨眼。 它采取的立场是,它必须坚强并称美国虚张声势。

这是一个危险的虚张声势。

但它也是一个计算的。

贸易,不是炸弹

伊朗人知道欧洲没有兴趣参加美国的战争甚至是美国的军事打击。 本周,支持贸易交易所(INSTEX)的主席Michael Bock在德黑兰。 INSTEX是欧盟为避开美国单边制裁而建立的机制。 博克已经会见了伊朗中央银行行长和SATMA的负责人 - 这是为促进INSTEX而设立的伊朗机构。 欧洲人渴望重启与伊朗的贸易。 他们对特朗普的泡沫不感兴趣。

土耳其人的高级银行官员也没有与伊朗人会面,讨论如何在美国轨道外重建贸易。 土耳其对其自己的INSTEX版本感兴趣并且正在校准土耳其和伊朗使用他们自己的货币(在里亚尔或里拉)交易意味着什么。 这两个国家都表示他们希望将贸易额增加到30亿 - 三倍于最高贸易额。

即使是卷入英国脱欧的英国人也不急于战争。 英国外交大臣多米奇·拉布(Dominic Raab)表示,对于谁轰炸沙特油田,“情况并不完全清楚”。 他听起来像俄罗斯人(没有“仓促的结论”,德米特里佩斯科夫说)和中国人(不容易“分担责任,”华春英说)。

俄罗斯和中国

从俄罗斯和中国的角度来看,美国对伊朗的轰炸将破坏他们在欧亚大陆的经济项目。 在莫斯科和北京,人们担心,无论从地中海到兴都库什山脉的稳定程度如何,这样的美国冒险都会破裂。 美国在阿富汗的和平谈判失败,使该国现在对包括中国和俄罗斯在内的地区大国的倡议持开放态度。

美国与塔利班谈判阿富汗问题的一个鲜为人知的方面就是中国的作用。 6月和7月,塔利班的首席谈判代表阿卜杜勒·加尼·巴拉达和美国谈判代表扎尔迈·哈利扎德在不同时间来到北京。 中国在敦促巴基斯坦在这些谈判中向塔利班施加压力方面发挥了关键作用。 即使美国已经离开,中国仍将继续与阿富汗各派建立关系。 这对于中巴经济走廊和跨喜马拉雅经济走廊至关重要,后者将“一带一路”倡议向南推进到巴基斯坦和尼泊尔。

美国对伊朗的战争将颠覆阿富汗已经非常可怕的安全局势,它将撕裂叙利亚和伊拉克以及黎巴嫩。 这是中国和俄罗斯都不会喜欢的。 这就是为什么美国永远不会得到有利的联合国安理会决议来打击伊朗。 它必须单方面地做到这一点。 除了以色列,沙特阿拉伯和阿拉伯联合酋长国之外,特朗普没有任何盟友:这是一个愚蠢的联盟。

鲁莽

鲁莽不是德黑兰的情绪,也不是莫斯科或北京。 现在应该清楚这一点。

如果你想确定当今世界上最不鲁莽的力量,那么以色列,沙特阿拉伯,阿拉伯联合酋长国和美利坚合众国就是最好的选择。

以色列的本杰明内塔尼亚胡曾表示,他希望将西岸的非法定居点并入以色列,并留下一个小的,被环绕的臀部占领区; 这个臀部将包括拉马拉。 在这一举动中,东耶路撒冷也可能被完全抢走。 这是鲁莽。 巴勒斯坦的反应将是另一次起义,而且很可能会发生火箭袭击,不仅来自加沙,而且来自黎巴嫩。 这种兼并将是对战争的邀请。

自2015以来,沙特阿拉伯和阿联酋一直在对抗也门。 这是一场可怕的战争,一场鲁莽的战争,一场无处可见的战争。 特朗普希望从那场战争的建筑师穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼那里得到关于如何与伊朗打交道的建议。 这是最高级的疯狂 - 要求一个处于艰难战争中的人是否应该参加战争。

这让我们走向美国特朗普威胁要对委内瑞拉和伊朗发动战争。 他利用美国战争和金钱机器的整个装置对这些国家进行混合战争。 到目前为止,他还没有批准对他们进行轰炸。 但你永远不知道。 当我输入这些行时,特朗普可能会签署一份文件以授权战争。

地球上没有人想要特朗普的战争。 我们可以像在2003那样在街头游行,美国也不会关注我们。 当然,布什没有,当然特朗普也不会。 美国是一个鲁莽的力量。 需要检查。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Vijay Prashad

Vijay Prashad是印度历史学家,编辑和记者。 他是一名写作研究员和首席记者 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。 他是主编 LeftWord书籍 和Tricontinental的主任:社会研究所。 他写了二十多本书,包括 黑暗国家:人民的第三世界历史 (The New Press,2007), 贫穷国家:全球南方可能的历史 (Verso,2013), 民族之死与阿拉伯革命的未来 (加州大学出版社,2016)和 第三世界的红星 (LeftWord,2017)。 他经常为Frontline,Hindu,Newsclick,AlterNet和BirGün写作。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 18-2019-XNUMX

    绝对的傲慢会产生绝对愚蠢的行为。

    “从来没有,永远不要相信任何战争将是顺利和轻松的,或者任何一个开始这次奇怪航行的人都可以衡量他将遇到的潮汐和飓风。” - 丘吉尔

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

OPINION

Only the Coalition of the Foolish Wants a War With Iran

President Donald Trump and First Lady Melania Trump join King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud of Saudi Arabia, and the President of Egypt, Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, Sunday, May 21, 2017, to participate in the inaugural opening of the Global Center for Combating Extremist Ideology. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)
President Donald Trump and First Lady Melania Trump join King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud of Saudi Arabia, and the President of Egypt, Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, Sunday, May 21, 2017, to participate in the inaugural opening of the Global Center for Combating Extremist Ideology. (Photo: White House, Shealah Craighead)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

If you want to identify the most reckless powers in our world today, look no further than Israel, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and the United States of America.

There’s no point in dredging up that old slogan, No Blood for Oil. It had no impact the last time. Don’t bomb Iraq, we said in 2002 and 2003, to no avail. George W. Bush and his friends had it in mind to destroy that country, which they did.

Donald Trump fired John Bolton. It seemed as if it would be acceptable to breathe a sigh of relief. But that was premature. Bolton was not the only one itching for a war against Iran. So was Mike Pompeo of the State Department, and so are a legion of arms dealers, lobbyists, establishment hawks, and people who believe that the United States should bomb Iran on behalf of Israel and Saudi Arabia.

Yemen’s Houthis took credit for the attack on Saudi Arabia’s eastern oilfields. But that was not enough. It was not enough that the Iraqis said that Iran did not use Iraqi territory to launch the drones. The U.S. asserted that the attack was done by Iran. No more needed to be said. There was no need to drag someone like Colin Powell before the UN Security Council. In fact, there is no one like Colin Powell in the Trump administration. None of his Cabinet members has the kind of gravitas that can be squandered with a lie.

The reaction from Iran has been calm. The government in Tehran has decided not to cower beneath the storm clouds from Washington. It threatens Canada with its own sanctions if the Canadians do not release seized Iranian assets. An oil tanker that was carrying diesel to the United Arab Emirates has been seized by the Iranians on the grounds of smuggling. Iran’s President Hassan Rouhani told the Syria Summit in Ankara, Turkey, that there can be no stability in Syria as long as U.S. troops remain there. Iran refuses to blink. It has taken the position that it must stand strong and call the U.S. bluff.

This is a dangerous bluff.

But it is also a calculated one.

Trade, Not Bombs

The Iranians know that there is no appetite in Europe for a U.S. war or even a U.S. military strike. This week, Michael Bock, the chair of the Instrument for Supporting Trade Exchanges (INSTEX), is in Tehran. INSTEX is the mechanism created by the European Union to sidestep the U.S. unilateral sanctions. Bock has met with the governor of the Central Bank of Iran and the head of SATMA—the Iranian institution created to facilitate INSTEX. The Europeans are eager to restart trade with Iran. They are not interested in Trump’s froth.

Nor are the Turks, whose senior banking officials have met with the Iranians to discuss how to reestablish trade outside the U.S. orbit. Turkey is interested in its own version of INSTEX and is calibrating what it would mean for Turkey and Iran to trade using their own currencies (in the rial or the lira). Both countries have said that they would like to increase trade to $30 billion—three times the highest trade volume.

Even the British, embroiled in their Brexit mess, are not eager for war. UK Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab said that “the picture is not entirely clear” as to who bombed the Saudi oil fields. He sounded like the Russians (no “hasty conclusions,” said Dmitry Peskov) and the Chinese (not easy to “apportion blame,” said Hua Chunying).

Russia and China

From the perspective of Russia and China, a U.S. bombardment of Iran would undermine their economic projects in Eurasia. There is fear in Moscow and Beijing that such an American adventure would rip apart whatever small measure of stability has been achieved from the Mediterranean Sea to the Hindu Kush mountains. The failed U.S. peace talks in Afghanistan leave that country now open to the initiatives from regional powers, including China and Russia.

One little-known aspect of the U.S.-Taliban talks over Afghanistan has been the role of China. In June and July, both Abdul Ghani Baradar—the Taliban’s chief negotiator—and Zalmay Khalilzad—the U.S. negotiator—came to Beijing at different times. China played a key role in urging Pakistan to pressure the Taliban in these talks. Even as the U.S. has stepped away, China will continue to build relations with various factions in Afghanistan. This is essential for the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor and the Trans-Himalayan Economic Corridor, which draw the Belt and Road Initiative southward into Pakistan and Nepal.

A U.S. war against Iran would upend the already terrible security situation in Afghanistan, and it would tear apart Syria and Iraq, as well as Lebanon. This is something that neither China nor Russia would like. That is why the U.S. will never get a favorable UN Security Council resolution to hit Iran. It would have to do it unilaterally. There are no allies for Trump apart from Israel, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates: This is a Coalition of the Foolish.

Recklessness

Recklessness is not the mood in Tehran—nor in Moscow or Beijing. That should by now be clear.

If you want to identify the most reckless powers in our world today, look no further than Israel, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and the United States of America.

Israel’s Benjamin Netanyahu has said that he wants to annex the illegal settlements in the West Bank into Israel and leave a small, encircled rump territory occupied; this rump would include Ramallah. East Jerusalem would also likely be snatched fully in this move. This is recklessness. The reaction in Palestine would be another intifada, and—very likely—it would occasion rocket strikes not only from Gaza but also from Lebanon. Such an annexation would be an invitation to war.

Saudi Arabia and the UAE have been at war against Yemen since 2015. It is a ghastly war, a reckless war, one for which there is no end in sight. Trump wants advice on how to deal with Iran from the architect of that war—Mohammed bin Salman. This is madness of the highest kind—asking a man who is in the midst of an intractable war whether one should go to war.

Which brings us to the U.S. Trump has threatened war against Venezuela and Iran. He has used the entire apparatus of the U.S. war and money machine to conduct a hybrid war against these states. He has thus far not sanctioned a bombing run on them. But you never know. As I type these lines, Trump might be signing a document to authorize war.

No one on the planet wants Trump’s wars. We can march on the streets as we did in 2003, and the U.S. would not pay attention to us. Certainly, Bush did not, and certainly Trump will not. The U.S. is a reckless power. It needs to be checked.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Vijay Prashad

Vijay Prashad is an Indian historian, editor and journalist. He is a writing fellow and chief correspondent at Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute. He is the chief editor of LeftWord Books and the director of Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research. He has written more than twenty books, including The Darker Nations: A People’s History of the Third World (The New Press, 2007), The Poorer Nations: A Possible History of the Global South (Verso, 2013), The Death of the Nation and the Future of the Arab Revolution (University of California Press, 2016) and Red Star Over the Third World (LeftWord, 2017). He writes regularly for Frontline, the Hindu, Newsclick, AlterNet and BirGün.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout September 18, 2019

    Absolute arrogance begets absolutely foolish actions.

    ““Never, never, never believe any war will be smooth and easy, or that any one who embarks on that strange voyage can measure the tides and hurricanes he will encounter.” — Churchill

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.