اكتب للبحث

الرأي

فقط تحالف الحماقة يريد حربًا مع إيران

الرئيس دونالد ترامب والسيدة الأولى ميلانيا ترامب ينضمان إلى الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز آل سعود ، ورئيس جمهورية مصر العربية ، عبد الفتاح السيسي ، الأحد ، مايو 21 ، 2017 ، للمشاركة في الافتتاح الافتتاحي للمركز العالمي لمكافحة المتطرفين أيديولوجية. (الصورة الرسمية للبيت الأبيض بواسطة شيلا كرايجيد)
الرئيس دونالد ترامب والسيدة الأولى ميلانيا ترامب ينضمان إلى الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز آل سعود ، ورئيس مصر عبد الفتاح السيسي ، الأحد ، مايو 21 ، 2017 ، للمشاركة في الافتتاح الافتتاحي للمركز العالمي لمكافحة المتطرفين أيديولوجية. (الصورة: البيت الأبيض ، شيلا كرايجيد)
(الآراء والآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.)

إذا كنت ترغب في تحديد أكثر القوى تهورًا في عالمنا اليوم ، فلا تنظر إلى أبعد من إسرائيل والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

لا جدوى من رفع هذا الشعار القديم ، "لا دم مقابل النفط". لم يكن لها تأثير في المرة الأخيرة. لا قصف العراق ، كما قلنا في 2002 و 2003 ، ولكن دون جدوى. كان جورج دبليو بوش وأصدقاؤه يفكرون في تدمير تلك البلاد ، وهو ما فعلوه.

أطلق دونالد ترامب جون بولتون. بدا الأمر كما لو أنه سيكون من المقبول التنفس الصعداء. لكن ذلك كان سابق لأوانه. لم يكن بولتون الحك الوحيد لشن حرب ضد إيران. وكذلك كان مايك بومبو من وزارة الخارجية ، وكذلك مجموعة كبيرة من تجار الأسلحة ، جماعات الضغط ، صقور المؤسسات ، والأشخاص الذين يعتقدون أن على الولايات المتحدة أن تقصف إيران نيابة عن إسرائيل والسعودية.

اعتاد الحوثيون في اليمن على الهجوم على حقول النفط الشرقية بالمملكة العربية السعودية. لكن ذلك لم يكن كافيا. لم يكن كافياً أن يقول العراقيون إن إيران لم تستخدم الأراضي العراقية لإطلاق الطائرات بدون طيار. أكدت الولايات المتحدة أن الهجوم تم بواسطة إيران. لا حاجة لمزيد من القول. ليست هناك حاجة لسحب شخص مثل كولن باول أمام مجلس الأمن الدولي. في الواقع ، لا يوجد أحد مثل كولن باول في إدارة ترامب. لا يمتلك أي من أعضاء مجلس الوزراء نوع الجاذبية التي يمكن تبديدها بالكذب.

كان رد فعل إيران هادئًا. قررت الحكومة في طهران عدم الرضوخ تحت غيوم العاصفة من واشنطن. إنه يهدد كندا بعقوباتها الخاصة إذا لم يفرج الكنديون عن الأصول الإيرانية المضبوطة. استولى الإيرانيون على ناقلة نفط كانت تحمل الديزل إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة بسبب التهريب. صرح الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني للقمة السورية في أنقرة بتركيا بأنه لا يمكن أن يكون هناك استقرار في سوريا طالما بقيت القوات الأمريكية هناك. إيران ترفض الرموش. لقد اتخذت موقفا مفاده أنها يجب أن تقف قوية وتدعو إلى الخداع الأمريكي.

هذا خدعة خطيرة.

لكنها أيضا واحدة محسوبة.

التجارة ، وليس القنابل

يعرف الإيرانيون أنه لا توجد شهية في أوروبا لحرب أمريكية أو حتى لضربة عسكرية أمريكية. هذا الأسبوع ، يوجد مايكل بوك ، رئيس أداة دعم التبادل التجاري (INSTEX) ، في طهران. INSTEX هي الآلية التي أنشأها الاتحاد الأوروبي لتجنب العقوبات الأمريكية أحادية الجانب. التقى بوك مع محافظ البنك المركزي الإيراني ورئيس SATMA - المؤسسة الإيرانية التي أنشئت لتسهيل INSTEX. يتوق الأوروبيون إلى استئناف التجارة مع إيران. إنهم غير مهتمين بزبد ترامب.

كما أن الأتراك ، الذين التقى مسؤولوهم المصرفيون مع الإيرانيين لمناقشة كيفية إعادة التجارة خارج المدار الأمريكي. إن تركيا مهتمة بإصدارها من INSTEX وتقوم بمعايرة ما يعنيه أن تتاجر تركيا وإيران باستخدام عملاتهما الخاصة (بالريال أو الليرة). قال كلا البلدين إنهما يرغبان في زيادة التجارة إلى 30 مليار دولار ، أي ثلاثة أضعاف حجم التجارة.

حتى البريطانيون المتورطون في فوضى خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي ، ليسوا متحمسين للحرب. قال وزير الخارجية البريطاني دومينيك راب إن "الصورة ليست واضحة تمامًا" بشأن من قصف حقول النفط السعودية. وقال ديمتري بيسكوف إنه يبدو مثل الروس (لا توجد "استنتاجات متسرعة" ، والصينيون (ليس من السهل "توزيع اللوم".

روسيا والصين

من وجهة نظر روسيا والصين ، فإن القصف الأمريكي لإيران سيقوض مشاريعهم الاقتصادية في أوراسيا. هناك خوف في موسكو وبكين من أن مثل هذه المغامرة الأمريكية تمزق أي قدر ضئيل من الاستقرار قد تحقق من البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​إلى جبال هندو كوش. تترك محادثات السلام الأمريكية الفاشلة في أفغانستان تلك البلاد مفتوحة الآن لمبادرات القوى الإقليمية ، بما في ذلك الصين وروسيا.

أحد الجوانب غير المعروفة للمحادثات بين الولايات المتحدة وحركة طالبان حول أفغانستان كان دور الصين. في يونيو ويوليو ، جاء كل من عبد الغني بارادار - كبير مفاوضي طالبان - وزلماي خليل زاد - المفاوض الأمريكي - إلى بكين في أوقات مختلفة. لعبت الصين دوراً رئيسياً في حث باكستان على الضغط على طالبان في هذه المحادثات. حتى عندما تراجعت الولايات المتحدة ، ستواصل الصين بناء علاقات مع مختلف الفصائل في أفغانستان. هذا أمر ضروري للممر الاقتصادي الصيني - الباكستاني والممر الاقتصادي عبر الهيمالايا ، والذي يوجه مبادرة الحزام والطريق جنوبًا إلى باكستان ونيبال.

من شأن الحرب الأمريكية ضد إيران أن تقلب الوضع الأمني ​​الرهيب بالفعل في أفغانستان ، وسوف تمزق سوريا والعراق ، وكذلك لبنان. هذا شيء لا تريده الصين ولا روسيا. هذا هو السبب في أن الولايات المتحدة لن تحصل على قرار مجلس الأمن المؤيد لضرب إيران. سيكون عليها أن تفعل ذلك من جانب واحد. لا يوجد حلفاء لترامب باستثناء إسرائيل والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة: هذا تحالف من الحماقة.

تهور

التهور ليس هو الحالة المزاجية في طهران ولا في موسكو أو بكين. يجب أن يكون واضحا الآن.

إذا كنت ترغب في تحديد أكثر القوى تهورًا في عالمنا اليوم ، فلا تنظر إلى أبعد من إسرائيل والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

قال بنيامين نتنياهو في إسرائيل إنه يريد ضم المستوطنات غير القانونية في الضفة الغربية إلى إسرائيل وترك منطقة صغيرة مستطيلة محاصرة. هذا الردف سيشمل رام الله. من المرجح أن يتم اختطاف القدس الشرقية بالكامل في هذه الخطوة. هذا هو الاستهتار. سيكون رد الفعل في فلسطين انتفاضة أخرى ، ومن المرجح جداً أنه سيؤدي إلى ضربات صاروخية ليس فقط من غزة بل من لبنان أيضًا. مثل هذا الضم سيكون دعوة للحرب.

المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة في حالة حرب ضد اليمن منذ 2015. إنها حرب مروعة ، حرب متهورة ، لا نهاية لها في الأفق. يريد ترامب المشورة بشأن كيفية التعامل مع إيران من مهندس تلك الحرب - محمد بن سلمان. هذا جنون من أعلى المستويات - يسأل رجلًا في خضم حرب مستعصية ما إذا كان يجب خوض الحرب.

الذي يقودنا إلى الولايات المتحدة هدد ترامب بالحرب ضد فنزويلا وإيران. لقد استخدم جهاز الحرب والعملة الأمريكية بالكامل لشن حرب مختلطة ضد هذه الولايات. لم يعاقب حتى الآن على عملية تفجير. ولكنك لم تعرف أبدا. بينما أقوم بكتابة هذه السطور ، قد يقوم ترامب بتوقيع وثيقة تخويل الحرب.

لا أحد على هذا الكوكب يريد حروب ترامب. يمكننا السير في الشوارع كما فعلنا في 2003 ، والولايات المتحدة لن تهتم بنا. بالتأكيد ، لم يفعل بوش ، وبالتأكيد لن يفعل ترامب. الولايات المتحدة قوة متهورة. يحتاج إلى التحقق.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
فيجاي براشاد

فيجاي براشاد مؤرخ ومحرر وصحفي هندي. وهو زميل الكتابة وكبير المراسلين في رحالةمشروع معهد الإعلام المستقل. هو رئيس تحرير كتب LeftWord ومدير Tricontinental: معهد البحوث الاجتماعية. وقد كتب أكثر من عشرين كتابا ، بما في ذلك الأمم المظلمة: تاريخ شعوب العالم الثالث (The New Press، 2007)، الدول الفقيرة: تاريخ محتمل للجنوب العالمي (فيرسو ، 2013) ، موت الأمة ومستقبل الثورة العربية (مطبعة جامعة كاليفورنيا ، 2016) و النجمة الحمراء على العالم الثالث (LeftWord ، 2017). يكتب بانتظام في Frontline و Hindu و Newsclick و AlterNet و BirGün.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ن ستاوت سبتمبر 18، 2019

    الغطرسة المطلقة تولد أعمال حمقاء على الإطلاق.

    "لا أبدًا ، أبدًا ، لا تؤمن مطلقًا بأن أي حرب ستكون سلسة وسهلة ، أو أن أي شخص يشرع في هذه الرحلة الغريبة يمكنه قياس المد والجزر والأعاصير التي سيواجهها." - تشرشل

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

OPINION

Only the Coalition of the Foolish Wants a War With Iran

President Donald Trump and First Lady Melania Trump join King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud of Saudi Arabia, and the President of Egypt, Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, Sunday, May 21, 2017, to participate in the inaugural opening of the Global Center for Combating Extremist Ideology. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)
President Donald Trump and First Lady Melania Trump join King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud of Saudi Arabia, and the President of Egypt, Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, Sunday, May 21, 2017, to participate in the inaugural opening of the Global Center for Combating Extremist Ideology. (Photo: White House, Shealah Craighead)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

If you want to identify the most reckless powers in our world today, look no further than Israel, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and the United States of America.

There’s no point in dredging up that old slogan, No Blood for Oil. It had no impact the last time. Don’t bomb Iraq, we said in 2002 and 2003, to no avail. George W. Bush and his friends had it in mind to destroy that country, which they did.

Donald Trump fired John Bolton. It seemed as if it would be acceptable to breathe a sigh of relief. But that was premature. Bolton was not the only one itching for a war against Iran. So was Mike Pompeo of the State Department, and so are a legion of arms dealers, lobbyists, establishment hawks, and people who believe that the United States should bomb Iran on behalf of Israel and Saudi Arabia.

Yemen’s Houthis took credit for the attack on Saudi Arabia’s eastern oilfields. But that was not enough. It was not enough that the Iraqis said that Iran did not use Iraqi territory to launch the drones. The U.S. asserted that the attack was done by Iran. No more needed to be said. There was no need to drag someone like Colin Powell before the UN Security Council. In fact, there is no one like Colin Powell in the Trump administration. None of his Cabinet members has the kind of gravitas that can be squandered with a lie.

The reaction from Iran has been calm. The government in Tehran has decided not to cower beneath the storm clouds from Washington. It threatens Canada with its own sanctions if the Canadians do not release seized Iranian assets. An oil tanker that was carrying diesel to the United Arab Emirates has been seized by the Iranians on the grounds of smuggling. Iran’s President Hassan Rouhani told the Syria Summit in Ankara, Turkey, that there can be no stability in Syria as long as U.S. troops remain there. Iran refuses to blink. It has taken the position that it must stand strong and call the U.S. bluff.

This is a dangerous bluff.

But it is also a calculated one.

Trade, Not Bombs

The Iranians know that there is no appetite in Europe for a U.S. war or even a U.S. military strike. This week, Michael Bock, the chair of the Instrument for Supporting Trade Exchanges (INSTEX), is in Tehran. INSTEX is the mechanism created by the European Union to sidestep the U.S. unilateral sanctions. Bock has met with the governor of the Central Bank of Iran and the head of SATMA—the Iranian institution created to facilitate INSTEX. The Europeans are eager to restart trade with Iran. They are not interested in Trump’s froth.

Nor are the Turks, whose senior banking officials have met with the Iranians to discuss how to reestablish trade outside the U.S. orbit. Turkey is interested in its own version of INSTEX and is calibrating what it would mean for Turkey and Iran to trade using their own currencies (in the rial or the lira). Both countries have said that they would like to increase trade to $30 billion—three times the highest trade volume.

Even the British, embroiled in their Brexit mess, are not eager for war. UK Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab said that “the picture is not entirely clear” as to who bombed the Saudi oil fields. He sounded like the Russians (no “hasty conclusions,” said Dmitry Peskov) and the Chinese (not easy to “apportion blame,” said Hua Chunying).

Russia and China

From the perspective of Russia and China, a U.S. bombardment of Iran would undermine their economic projects in Eurasia. There is fear in Moscow and Beijing that such an American adventure would rip apart whatever small measure of stability has been achieved from the Mediterranean Sea to the Hindu Kush mountains. The failed U.S. peace talks in Afghanistan leave that country now open to the initiatives from regional powers, including China and Russia.

One little-known aspect of the U.S.-Taliban talks over Afghanistan has been the role of China. In June and July, both Abdul Ghani Baradar—the Taliban’s chief negotiator—and Zalmay Khalilzad—the U.S. negotiator—came to Beijing at different times. China played a key role in urging Pakistan to pressure the Taliban in these talks. Even as the U.S. has stepped away, China will continue to build relations with various factions in Afghanistan. This is essential for the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor and the Trans-Himalayan Economic Corridor, which draw the Belt and Road Initiative southward into Pakistan and Nepal.

A U.S. war against Iran would upend the already terrible security situation in Afghanistan, and it would tear apart Syria and Iraq, as well as Lebanon. This is something that neither China nor Russia would like. That is why the U.S. will never get a favorable UN Security Council resolution to hit Iran. It would have to do it unilaterally. There are no allies for Trump apart from Israel, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates: This is a Coalition of the Foolish.

Recklessness

Recklessness is not the mood in Tehran—nor in Moscow or Beijing. That should by now be clear.

If you want to identify the most reckless powers in our world today, look no further than Israel, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and the United States of America.

Israel’s Benjamin Netanyahu has said that he wants to annex the illegal settlements in the West Bank into Israel and leave a small, encircled rump territory occupied; this rump would include Ramallah. East Jerusalem would also likely be snatched fully in this move. This is recklessness. The reaction in Palestine would be another intifada, and—very likely—it would occasion rocket strikes not only from Gaza but also from Lebanon. Such an annexation would be an invitation to war.

Saudi Arabia and the UAE have been at war against Yemen since 2015. It is a ghastly war, a reckless war, one for which there is no end in sight. Trump wants advice on how to deal with Iran from the architect of that war—Mohammed bin Salman. This is madness of the highest kind—asking a man who is in the midst of an intractable war whether one should go to war.

Which brings us to the U.S. Trump has threatened war against Venezuela and Iran. He has used the entire apparatus of the U.S. war and money machine to conduct a hybrid war against these states. He has thus far not sanctioned a bombing run on them. But you never know. As I type these lines, Trump might be signing a document to authorize war.

No one on the planet wants Trump’s wars. We can march on the streets as we did in 2003, and the U.S. would not pay attention to us. Certainly, Bush did not, and certainly Trump will not. The U.S. is a reckless power. It needs to be checked.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Vijay Prashad

Vijay Prashad is an Indian historian, editor and journalist. He is a writing fellow and chief correspondent at Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute. He is the chief editor of LeftWord Books and the director of Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research. He has written more than twenty books, including The Darker Nations: A People’s History of the Third World (The New Press, 2007), The Poorer Nations: A Possible History of the Global South (Verso, 2013), The Death of the Nation and the Future of the Arab Revolution (University of California Press, 2016) and Red Star Over the Third World (LeftWord, 2017). He writes regularly for Frontline, the Hindu, Newsclick, AlterNet and BirGün.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout September 18, 2019

    Absolute arrogance begets absolutely foolish actions.

    ““Never, never, never believe any war will be smooth and easy, or that any one who embarks on that strange voyage can measure the tides and hurricanes he will encounter.” — Churchill

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.