输入搜索

分析

联合国大会:值得关注的四大全球性问题

唐纳德·J·特朗普总统在纽约联合国总部星期二,即73,25,联合国大会第十三届2018rd会议上发表讲话。 (照片:白宫,Joyce N. Boghosian)
唐纳德·J·特朗普总统在纽约联合国总部星期二,即73,25,联合国大会第十三届2018rd会议上发表讲话。 (照片:白宫,Joyce N. Boghosian)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

随着美国“锁定和装载”伊朗,亚马逊火上浇油,印度和巴基斯坦争夺克什米尔,即将到来的联合国大会将成为各国处理几个重要问题的办理登机手续。

再次,联合国大会(UNGA)的另一届会议将于9月17开始,而高级别一般性辩论将从9月24开始到9月30。 过去的亮点包括委内瑞拉总统乌戈·查韦斯称乔治·布什为“魔鬼”,这是利比亚总统穆阿迈尔·加达菲(Muammar Ghaddafi)近两个小时的讲话,他在此期间撕毁了联合国宪章, 去年的奇观 当集会地板嘲笑美国总统特朗普时,他吹嘘自己的政府成就。

今年的会议,两极分化和国际紧张局势升级,可能会带来更多戏剧性的时刻。 UNGA是来自世界各地的国家元首最大的融合,每个国家都有15分钟的时间来讨论当今最紧迫的问题。 几乎200参与者已经安排在大会上发表演讲。

以下是可能主导联大第74次会议的四个问题:

印度和巴基斯坦对克什米尔的言论战争

巴基斯坦总理伊姆兰汗发誓要在联合国大会上提出克什米尔问题,并警告印度最近在查谟和克什米尔地区采取的侵略行动刺激了极端主义。

“下周,我将在联合国大会上发言,我不会让克什米尔人民失望。 我将支持克什米尔人的权利,因为过去没有人这样做过,“ 这位前板球明星在巴基斯坦占领的克什米尔首都穆扎法拉巴德举行集会时说道

对此,印度严厉批评巴基斯坦承诺将克什米尔问题提交联合国大会,称该国是“恐怖主义中心”。

巴基斯坦试图“滥用这个论坛,传播关于我国的毫无根据和欺骗性的叙述”,印度外交官 Sandeep Kumar Bayyapu周四表示.

“事实是,代表团代表了一个地理空间,现在被广泛称为恐怖主义中心,危害了我们地区内外的无辜生命。

“这种尝试早先没有成功,现在也不会成功,”他补充说。

自印度于8月370取消印度宪法第5条以来,争议地区的紧张局势已经恶化。 这项规定使查谟和克什米尔地区具有一定程度的自治特殊地位,主要是外交和国防问题。

正如Walter Yeates之前报道的Citizen Truth,克什米尔是一个以穆斯林占主导地位的地区,由印度和巴基斯坦分裂,两国都声称是他们自己的。 印度最近采取的行动引起了巴基斯坦的愤怒,声称这违反了国际法。 在谴责印度的印度民族主义政府时,巴基斯坦呼吁联合国安理会。

自第370条撤销以来,印度控制的克什米尔地区一直处于下列状态 虚拟锁定 由政府实施宵禁限制。

印度和巴基斯坦各自控制着大约一半有争议的地区,而中国则控制着北部较小的地区。 在英属印度分裂为巴基斯坦和1947的独立印度之后,邻国进行了三次血腥的战斗,其中两次是在克什米尔地区引发的。

巴勒斯坦问题

如果他赢得9月17的以色列大选,总理本杰明内塔尼亚胡发誓要吞并西岸的约旦河谷,引发全世界的愤怒和谴责。

巴勒斯坦民族权力机构总理穆罕默德·施塔耶回应说,如果内塔尼亚胡继续采取侵略行动,他将成为“该地区和平的主要破坏者”。

加沙的哈马斯发言人Fawzi Barhoum说,“拉马拉的巴勒斯坦权力机构应该与以色列断绝所有关系,主要是安全协调和停止与以色列的一切徒劳的和平谈判。”

印度尼西亚是目前联合国安理会非常任理事国之一,它建议伊斯兰国家组织(OIC)提出在联合国大会和联合国安理会中吞并西岸的问题。

“印度尼西亚认为以色列的竞选承诺涉及以色列的西岸吞并计划,这是一种诋毁国际法和公然违反联合国决议的行为,”多边合作总干事,Febrian A. Ruddyard, 周日,伊斯兰会议组织召开紧急会议,回应内塔尼亚胡的宣言.

伊斯兰会议组织的57成员的出席预计将把巴勒斯坦问题的讨论推向联合国特别会议。

除了西岸兼并之外,另一个与巴勒斯坦有关的关键问题是,在美国撤回财政援助和支助之后,联合国近东巴勒斯坦难民救济和工程处(近东救济工程处)的任务是否会延长。 内部道德报告 涉嫌道德滥用的机构。

在2018,美国暂停向近东救济工程处提供每年100万美元的年度财政援助,称其为“不可挽回的有缺陷的行动”。荷兰,瑞士和比利时紧随其后, Aljazeera报道.

7月下旬,2019公开了对近东救济工程处道德违规行为的内部调查。 法新社获得了该报告的副本, 说这些指控包括 “性行为不当,裙带关系,报复,歧视和其他滥用职权,谋取私利,压制合法异议,以及以其他方式实现个人目标。”

救济机构负责向约旦,叙利亚,黎巴嫩,约旦河西岸和加沙的超过100万欧元的巴勒斯坦难民提供援助。 目前的近东救济工程处任务期限仍然有效,直到6月5,30,但联合国大会每三年更新一次。

伊朗对美国的紧张局势

虽然 最近退出 特朗普强硬的国家安全顾问可能会为伊朗与美国之间的和平与外交带来新的希望,伊朗总统哈桑·鲁哈尼与美国总统唐纳德·特朗普在联合国大会上的会晤显然已被排除在外。

“这样的事件(在纽约举行的特朗普 - 鲁哈尼会议)也没有列入我们的议程,也不会发生。 这样的会议不会举行,“外交部发言人阿巴斯穆萨维 在发言中说 由伊朗国家电视台播出。

伊朗和美国之间的紧张局势爆发,后者放弃了伊朗核协议,也称为联合综合行动计划(JCPOA),由奥巴马政府在2015签署。 特朗普抨击该协议没有充分限制伊朗的核野心,尽管监测机构 - 国际原子能机构 - 多次报告称伊朗遵守该协议。

最近,在美国指责伊朗支持周六袭击沙特阿拉伯石油设施的背后,这种分歧进一步恶化。 虽然也门的胡塞叛乱分子声称对此次袭击事件负责,但美国和沙特阿拉伯仍坚称伊朗有责任,声称胡希人没有足够的武器来进行这样的袭击。

随着特朗普宣称美国被“锁定并装载”以抵御袭击,伊朗和美国之间的紧张关系很可能成为联合国大会激烈辩论的主题。 欧洲国家谴责美国撤出伊朗协议并寻求挽救这笔交易的方法,尽管他们未能建立一个替代金融体系来帮助伊朗逃避美国的制裁。

气候变化

联合国人权事务高级专员米歇尔巴切莱特 发出警告 上周,气候变化通过减少自然资源和引发饥荒,冲突和移民对人权构成严重威胁。

“在这个范围内,世界从未见过对人权的威胁,”她告诉日内瓦的联合国人权理事会。

她警告说:“所有国家的经济,每个国家的体制,政治,社会和文化结构,以及所有人民和子孙后代的权利都将受到气候变化的影响”。

巴切莱特的警告发生在最近几周全球聚光灯下,火灾仍在巴西的亚马逊热带雨林中肆虐。 巴西总统 Jair Bolsonaro因削弱环境保护而受到指责 这导致了森林砍伐和雨林火灾的激增。 危机也导致了危机 多彩的公众不和 在法国总统埃马纽埃尔·马克龙和博尔索纳罗之间,博尔索纳罗在马克龙的妻子身上开枪。

根据联合国的声明联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯将气候变化作为他的首要任务之一。 古特雷斯计划于9月举行气候行动峰会23,尽管在峰会开幕之前,古特雷斯计划举办9月青年气候峰会21。

通过气候峰会,葡萄牙外交官旨在推动各国在六个领域寻求解决方案:

  • 全球向可再生能源过渡。
  • 可持续和有弹性的基础设施和城市。
  • 可持续农业
  • 管理森林和海洋。
  • 恢复和适应气候影响。
  • 使公共和私人融资与净零经济保持一致。

其他关键主题,首次全民健康覆盖会议

除上述问题外,联合国报告联合国大会还将重点关注全民健康覆盖等问题。 在气候峰会的同一天,联合国将举办首次高级别会议 全民医疗保险。

在2015,联合国所有193成员国都同意了一系列可持续发展目标,其中之一, SDG3,包括一系列与健康有关的目标,包括实现全民健康覆盖。

“由于世界上至少有一半的人口无法获得他们所需的基本卫生服务,而且健康成本每年使近100万人陷入极度贫困,这次会议被视为获得国家元首和国家元首的政治承诺的最佳机会。政府优先考虑并投资于全民健康覆盖并确保所有人的健康,“ 写了联合国

联合国大会的其他重点将包括实现和资助2030可持续发展议程的其余部分,该议程分为 17可持续发展目标 并确保支持发展中的民族国家。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 18-2019-XNUMX

    联合国实际上已经走上了无情的国际联盟的道路。 结束所有战争的战争? 伊拉克入侵,战争如何确保无休止的战争? 谢谢Dubya(美国政治的Howdy Doody),切尼和“美国企业研究所”。

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howdy_Doody#/media/File:Buffalo_Bob_Smith_and_Howdy_Doody.jpg

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS

UN General Assembly: The Four Key Global Issues to Watch For

President Donald J. Trump addresses the 73rd session of the U.N. General Assembly Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2018, at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. (Photo: White House, Joyce N. Boghosian)
President Donald J. Trump addresses the 73rd session of the U.N. General Assembly Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2018, at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. (Photo: White House, Joyce N. Boghosian)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

With the US “locked and loaded” on Iran, the Amazon on fire and India and Pakistan feuding over Kashmir, the upcoming UN General Assembly will be a check-in for where countries stand on several important issues.

Once again, another session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) will commence on September 17 while the high-level general debate will run from September 24 to September 30. Past highlights have included Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez calling George Bush “the devil,” an almost two-hour-long speech by Libyan President Muammar Ghaddafi during which he tore up the UN charter, and last years spectacle when the assembly floor laughed at U.S. President Trump as he boasted of his administration’s achievements.

This year’s session, with polarization and international tensions rising, is likely to give rise to more dramatic moments. The UNGA is the largest convergence of heads of state from around the world and each is given 15 minutes to speak on today’s most pressing issues. Nearly 200 participants are already scheduled to deliver their speeches in the General Assembly.

Here are four issues likely to dominate the 74th meeting of the UNGA:

India and Pakistan War of Words Over Kashmir

Pakistan’s Prime Minister Imran Khan has vowed to raise the issue of Kashmir at the UNGA, warning that India’s recent aggressive actions in the region of Jammu and Kashmir has spurred extremism.

“Next week, I am going to address the U.N. General Assembly, and I will not disappoint the people of Kashmir. I will stand for the rights of Kashmiris as nobody did it in the past,” the former cricket star said while addressing a gathering in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir’s capital of Muzaffarabad

In response, India had harsh criticism for Pakistan’s promise to bring the Kashmir issue to the UNGA floor, calling the country a “hub of terrorism.”

Pakistan is attempting “to misuse this forum to spread baseless and deceitful narratives about my country,” Indian diplomat Sandeep Kumar Bayyapu said on Thursday.

“The truth is that the delegation represents a geographical space that is now widely known as the hub of terrorism that has jeopardized innocent lives in our region and beyond.

“Such attempts have not succeeded earlier and will not succeed now,” he added.

Tensions in the disputed region have deteriorated since India lifted Article 370 of India’s constitution on August 5. The provision had granted the regions of Jammu and Kashmir a special status with a degree of autonomy, except for primarily on issues of foreign affairs and defense.

As Walter Yeates previously reported for Citizen Truth, Kashmir is a predominantly Muslim area, split by India and Pakistan, which both countries claim as their own. The recent actions of India have drawn the ire of Pakistan, claiming such to be in violation of international law. Pakistan has made appeals to the United Nations Security Council while scolding the Hindu nationalist government of India.

Since the revocation of Article 370, the Indian controlled Kashmir region has been under a virtual lockdown with government-imposed curfew-like restrictions.

India and Pakistan each control roughly half of the contested region, while China controls a smaller region in the north. After the partition of British India into Pakistan and independent India in 1947, the neighboring countries have engaged in three bloody battles, two of which were sparked over the Kashmir region.

Palestine Issues

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu vowed to annex the Valley of Jordan in the West Bank should he win the Israeli election on September 17, sparked outrage and condemnation worldwide.

Palestinian National Authority Prime Minister Mohammad Shtayyeh responded that if Netanyahu followed through on the aggressive move he would be “a prime destroyer of peace in the region.”

While Fawzi Barhoum, a Hamas spokesman in Gaza, said, “Such an announcement should be encountered by the Palestinian Authority in Ramallah with cutting off all ties with Israel, mainly the security coordination and halt of all futile peace negotiations with Israel.”

Indonesia, one of the current non-permanent members of the U.N. Security Council, suggested the Organization of Islamic Countries (OIC) raise the issue of the annexation of the West Bank at the UNGA and the UNSC.

“Indonesia sees a campaign promise made in Israel concerning Israel’s west bank annexation plan as an act of discrediting the international law and a flagrant violation of U.N. resolutions,” Director General for Multilateral Cooperation, Febrian A. Ruddyard, said at on Sunday an emergency meeting of the OIC called in response to Netanyahu’s proclamation.

The presence of 57 members of the OIC is expected to push the discussion of the Palestine issue toward a special U.N. session.

Besides the West Bank annexation, another Palestine-related key issue is whether the mandate of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA) will be renewed following U.S. withdrawal of financial aid and support and an internal ethics report that alleged ethical abuses as the agency.

In 2018, the U.S. suspended its $300 million in annual financial aid to the UNRWA, calling it an “irredeemably flawed operation.” The Netherlands, Switzerland and Belgium then followed suit, as Aljazeera reported.

In late July of 2019, an internal investigation into ethical violations at the UNRWA was made public. AFP, which obtained a copy of the report, said the allegations include “sexual misconduct, nepotism, retaliation, discrimination and other abuses of authority, for personal gain, to suppress legitimate dissent, and to otherwise achieve their personal objectives.”

The relief agency is responsible for distributing aid to more than 5 million Palestinian refugees in Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, the West Bank and Gaza. The current UNRWA mandate is still valid until June 30, 2020 but is renewed by the UNGA every three years.

Iran vs US Tensions

While the recent exit of Trump’s hawkish National Security Advisor may bring renewed hope for peace and diplomacy between Iran and the U.S., a meeting between Iranian President Hassan Rouhani and U.S. President Donald Trump at the UNGA has been apparently ruled out.

“Neither is such an event (Trump-Rouhani meeting in New York) on our agenda, nor will it happen. Such a meeting will not take place,” Foreign Ministry spokesman Abbas Mousavi said in remarks broadcast by Iranian state TV.

Tensions between Iran and the U.S. broke out when the latter abandoned the Iran nuclear deal, also known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), signed under the Obama administration in 2015. Trump slammed the pact for not adequately restricting Iran’s nuclear ambitions, despite repeated reports from the monitoring agency – the International Atomic Energy Agency – that Iran was in compliance with the agreement.

Most recently, the disagreement worsened following U.S. accusations that Iran was behind attacks on Saudi Arabian oil facilities on Saturday. Though Houthi rebels in Yemen claimed responsibility for the attacks, the U.S. and Saudi Arabia insist Iran was responsible, claiming the Houthis did not have sufficient weaponry to carry out such an attack.

With Trump proclaiming the U.S. was “locked and loaded” to retaliate against the attacks, the tensions between Iran and the U.S. will likely be a subject of intense debate at the UNGA. European nations have condemned the U.S. for pulling out of the Iran Deal and sought ways to salvage the deal, though they have not been able to set up an alternative financial system to help Iran evade U.S. sanctions.

Climate Change

U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights Michele Bachelet issued a warning last week that climate change poses a severe threat to human rights by reducing natural resources and triggering famine, conflict and migration.

“The world has never seen a threat to human rights of this scope,” she told the U.N. human rights council in Geneva.

“The economies of all nations, the institutional, political, social and cultural fabric of every state, and the rights of all your people, and future generations, will be impacted” by climate change, she warned.

Bachelet’s warning comes after a worldwide spotlight in recent weeks landed on fires that are still raging in Brazil’s Amazon rainforest. Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro has been blamed for weakening environmental protections that have lead to a surge of deforestation and fires in the rainforest. The crisis also led to a colorful public feud between French President Emmanuel Macron and Bolsonaro during which Bolsonaro took shots at Macron’s wife.

According to a U.N. statement, U.N. Secretary-General Antonio Guterres has made climate change one of his top priorities. Guterres scheduled the opening of the Climate Action Summit for September 23, though prior to the summit’s opening Guterres scheduled a Youth Climate Summit for September 21.

With the climate summit, the Portuguese diplomat aims to push countries to solutions in six areas:

  • A global transition to renewable energy.
  • Sustainable and resilient infrastructures and cities.
  • Sustainable agriculture
  • Management of forests and oceans.
  • Resilience and adaptation to climate impacts.
  • Alignment of public and private finance with a net zero economy.

Other Key Topics, First-Ever Universal Health Coverage Meeting

Besides the aforementioned issues, the U.N. reports the UNGA will also be focused on issues like universal health coverage. On the same day as the climate summit, the U.N. will host its first-ever High-Level Meeting on Universal Health Coverage.

In 2015, all 193 member states of the U.N. agreed on a number of Sustainable Development Goals, one of which, SDG3, included a number of health-related goals including achieving universal health coverage.

“With at least half of the world’s population lacking access to the essential health services they need, and health costs pushing almost 100 million into extreme poverty each year, the meeting is being billed as the best opportunity to secure political commitment from Heads of State and Government to prioritize and invest in universal health coverage and ensure health for all,” wrote the U.N.

Other focuses for the UNGA will include achieving and financing the rest of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which is divided into 17 goals for sustainable development and ensuring support for developing nation-states.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry N Stout September 18, 2019

    The UN has effectively gone the way of the feckless League of Nations. War to end all wars? How about the Iraq invasion, the war to ensure neverending war? Thank you Dubya the (Howdy Doody of American politics) , Cheney, and the “American Enterprise Institute”.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howdy_Doody#/media/File:Buffalo_Bob_Smith_and_Howdy_Doody.jpg

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.