输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

阿片类药物分销商在十年内获得了23百万美元,以缓解流行病的政治痛苦

美国10人口中阿片类药物人均分布最多的七个县分别位于田纳西州,肯塔基州和西弗吉尼亚州。
人均阿片类药物分布最多的10美国七个县分别位于田纳西州,肯塔基州和西弗吉尼亚州。(照片:Ajay Suresh)

在过去十年中,全美最大的阿片类药物分销商,其子公司和员工为联邦候选人提供了超过10亿美元的竞选捐款。

(弗兰克巴斯, MapLight)尽管止痛药滥用的流行病被指责为过量服用和预期寿命缩短,但该国最大的阿片类药物分销商,其子公司和员工在过去十年中为联邦候选人提供了超过10亿美元的竞选捐款。

1,340联邦候选人 - 包括几乎是500现任国会议员 - 接受了这笔钱,其中包括众所周知的资深立法者,如威斯康星州民主党众议员Ron Kind,他们从这些公司中扣除了210,000,以及众议员克里斯等新议员。 Pappas,一位新罕布什尔州的民主党人,在获胜的15活动中获得了2018的捐款。

代表国会地区或州的阿片类药物使用率高于平均水平的立法者是药房和零售经销商竞选捐款的最大受益者之一,MapLight分析 高清媒体和华盛顿邮报获得的数据 找到。 即便如此 立法者发表了大约2,000声明 关于危机,投入其竞选活动的资金表明立法关注需求而非供应的主要原因。

虽然最大比例的止痛药涌入阿巴拉契亚,但MapLight分析发现,10最大的阿片类药物分销商在全国范围内传播其捐款。 Kind,其区域与爱荷华州和明尼苏达州接壤,是阿片类药物经销商资金的最大受众,报告了210,000捐款。 至少563,000克的羟考酮和氢可酮 - 每个男人,女人和孩子大约1,000毫克的止痛药 - 分布在他的2006和2012之间的地区。

像许多立法者一样,Kind谴责这种流行病。 他 共同制定了五点计划 在2018中攻击阿片类药物滥用,并注意到威斯康星州一年内阿片类药物过量服用的急诊室就诊次数增加了一倍。

“我们的毒品流行病在威斯康星州是一个全面动手的时刻,”他说。

立法,其中 通过了众议院 但在参议院死亡,呼吁提供更多的执法支持,扩大获得治疗的机会,鼓励替代性疼痛治疗,改善处方措施,增加获得精神保健的机会 - 但没有提供任何会阻碍经销商的计划。

R-Wisc。的前众议院议长Paul Ryan从最大的阿片类经销商处获得了155,635,使他成为10公司最大的竞选奖金获得者。 美国行动网络(AAN),隶属于Ryan和众议院共和党的保守的非营利性“黑钱”组织, 花了$ 2.5万 在2018中期选举期间,说服选民共和党人正在努力遏制这一流行病。 (在2016-17之间,AAN 收到$ 7.5万 来自美国药物研究和制造商,一个药物工业贸易集团 具有 计数 阿片类药物制造商Purdue Pharma和Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals成员。)

DEA数据显示,Ryan区的两个主要县接受了601,000克止痛药,或每个居民的1,650毫克。

“这种流行病不关心政党,社会地位,年龄,种族或家乡,”瑞安在密尔沃基哨兵报的2018专栏文章中写道。 “它并不关心你去过哪里 - 或者你去哪里 - 它只是破坏了生计 来自任何被困在其道路上的人。“

从痛苦中获利

阿片类药物的流行可能已经破坏了成千上万美国人的生计,但对于最大的经销商来说,这是非常好的生意,这些经销商从无处不在的零售商如沃尔玛和CVS到低调的运营商,如JM史密斯公司,一家私有企业南卡罗来纳州批发商。

八家公开上市的阿片类药物分销商中有六家 - 沃尔玛,Kroger,AmerisourceBergen,Cardinal Health,McKesson和CVS Health--在过去十年中的收入超过了1万亿美元。 公开交易的分销商报告的总收入为12万亿美元。

沃尔玛是美国最大的私人雇主,承认这种流行病的存在,并开始在2017推出一项企业管理计划,其中包括将处方限制在7天的供应范围内。 这家零售巨头表示,它将试图通过要求所有止痛药来遏制滥用行为 处方由2020以电子方式提交.

“我们站起来 愿与我们国家的领导人合作 关于打击处方药成瘾和滥用的解决方案,“公司首席执行官格雷格福兰在2017声明中表示。

与此同时,沃尔玛成为阿片类药物经销商的最大捐赠者,在这十年间向联邦候选人发放了近100万美元。 包括沃尔玛Bentonville总部在内的阿肯色州共和党众议员史蒂夫沃马克从该零售商那里获得了超过$ 7.7,使他成为大型阿片类经销商捐赠活动的第二大受益者。

Walmart,CVS,Walgreens,Cardinal,McKesson,AmerisourceBergen和Rite Aid都是联邦诉讼的被告之一。 大致是2,000市,县和部落政府。 俄亥俄州的诉讼声称,经销商应该采取行动,通过他们的业务来遏制数十亿止痛药的流动,而不是优先考虑人们的利润。 全国范围内的类似诉讼正在审理中,要求赔偿数十亿美元的流行病 估计180,000的生命 在2000和2015之间。

Reps.D-Hawaii的Tulsi Gabbard和D-Calif。的Ro Khanna介绍了旨在遏制5月份阿片类药物分布的少数法案之一。 该法案, 阿片类危机责任法案,在公司实体进行可疑营销或分销实践期间,将对阿片类药物销售的75百分比罚款处罚公司。虽然该立法主要针对药品制造商,但它也会对公司或那些“故意向国家或社区提供一定数量的阿片类药物的人,这个人知道这在医学上是不合理的。”

该法案由佛蒙特州独立的伯尼桑德斯在参议院提出 对首席执行官处以与其工资相等的罚款,以及任何股票收益。 其他顶级企业高管可能会失去25薪水和股票收益的百分比。

“虽然其中一些公司已经制造出来了 每年数十亿的利润他们没有对其在每年造成成千上万美国人死亡的流行病中所扮演的角色负全部责任,“桑德斯说,他是2020民主党总统候选人提名的主要竞争者。 “在地方,州和联邦政府每年花费数十亿美元处理阿片类药物流行病的影响的时候,我们必须让那些制造危机的制药公司和高管负起责任。”

桑德斯在参议院竞选活动中接受了来自顶级阿片类经销商的竞选捐款的1,165 $; 他的2016和2020总统竞选活动从136,000公司的员工那里获得了超过10的收入。 同样是2020竞争者的Gabbard已经从公司获得了14,000的房子活动,并为她的总统竞选获得了另外的350。 在2016当选的Kh​​anna报告称,最大的阿片类药物分销商没有捐款。

GovTrack是一个跟踪立法前景的网站 37通过众议院的几率47百分之几 获得参议院批准。

改变商业模式

缉毒局的数据证实了传统观点认为,阿片类药物流行病的中心发生在阿巴拉契亚地区。 美国10人口中阿片类药物人均分布最多的七个县分别位于田纳西州,肯塔基州和西弗吉尼亚州。

MapLight分析发现,田纳西州的汉布伦县在人均阿片类药物分布方面排名最高,足够的止痛药为每个人提供12,000毫克在2006和2012之间。 该县由代表菲尔·罗(Phil Roe)代表国会代表,他是一位退休的共和党产科医生,没有从阿片类药物经销商那里拿走钱。

然而,Roe是个例外。 在邻近的肯塔基州,参议院多数党领袖米奇麦康奈尔(Mitch McConnell)一直阻止竞选财务改革措施被立法者考虑,在这十年间从最大的经销商那里收集了超过$ 154,000。 根据DEA数据,McConnell州的平均居民在2,840和2006之间接受了2012毫克止痛药。 国家有 年龄调整后药物过量死亡率的第三高 根据疾病控制和预防中心的数据,在2017中。

在六年期间,西弗吉尼亚州的人均止痛药几乎达到了3,190毫克毫克。 该州的药丸消费仅落后于佛罗里达州(每人3,300毫克)和特拉华州(3,255毫克)。 参议员Joe Manchin,DW.Va。,他的网站有一个 整个部分专门讨论阿片类药物问题 自2011以来,至少推出了19单独账单,以解决阿片类药物危机,同时从六大经销商的员工那里购买49,550。

Manchin在接受2012采访时承认了分销商的政治权力,此前一项要求新的氢可酮处方被提议在参议院被击落。 “我们不想让任何人破产,”他告诉纽约时报。 “但也许连锁药店和药剂师需要改变他们的商业模式。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Opioid Distributors Gave $23 Million Over Decade to Ease Epidemic’s Political Pain

Seven of the 10 U.S. counties with the highest per-capita distribution of opioids were in Tennessee, Kentucky, and West Virginia.
Seven of the 10 U.S. counties with the highest per-capita distribution of opioids were in Tennessee, Kentucky, and West Virginia.. (Photo: Ajay Suresh)

The nation’s largest opioid distributors, their subsidiaries, and employees gave more than $23 million in campaign contributions to federal candidates over the last decade.

(By Frank Bass, MapLight) Even as an epidemic of painkiller abuse was blamed for record numbers of overdoses and reduced life expectancy, the nation’s largest opioid distributors, their subsidiaries, and employees gave more than $23 million in campaign contributions to federal candidates over the last decade.

The 1,340 federal candidates — including almost 500 current members of Congress — who accepted the money ranged from well-known veteran lawmakers such as Rep. Ron Kind, a Wisconsin Democrat who netted $210,000 from the companies, to newer legislators such as Rep. Chris Pappas, a New Hampshire Democrat who received a $15 contribution in his winning 2018 campaign.

Lawmakers representing congressional districts or states with higher-than-average rates of opioid use have been among the biggest recipients of campaign contributions from the pharmacy and retail distributors, a MapLight analysis of data obtained by HD Media and The Washington Post found. Even as lawmakers issued approximately 2,000 statements about the crisis, the money pouring into their campaigns suggests a major reason for a legislative focus on demand, rather than supply.

While the biggest share of painkillers poured into Appalachia, the MapLight analysis found that the 10 largest opioid distributors spread their contributions across the country. Kind, whose district borders Iowa and Minnesota, was the biggest House recipient of funds from opioid distributors, reporting $210,000 in donations. At least 563,000 grams of oxycodone and hydrocodone — roughly 1,000 milligrams of painkillers for every man, woman, and child — were distributed in his district between 2006 and 2012.

Like many lawmakers, Kind decried the epidemic. He cosponsored a five-point plan to attack opioid abuse in 2018, noting that emergency room visits for opioid overdoses doubled in Wisconsin over a single year.

“Our drug epidemic is an all-hands-on-deck moment in Wisconsin,” he said.

The legislation, which passed the House but died in the Senate, called for more law enforcement support, expanded access to treatment, encouragement of alternative pain treatments, improved prescribing practices, and increased access to mental health care — but offered no plans that would discourage distributors.

Former House Speaker Paul Ryan, R-Wisc., took $155,635 from the largest opioid distributors, placing him among the biggest recipients of campaign dollars from the 10 corporations. The American Action Network (AAN), a conservative nonprofit “dark money” organization affiliated with Ryan and the House GOP, spent $2.5 million during the 2018 midterm elections to persuade voters that Republicans were working to curb the epidemic. (Between 2016-17, AAN received $7.5 million from Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America, a drug industry trade group that has counted opioid manufacturers Purdue Pharma and Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals among its members.)

The DEA data showed that the two primary counties in Ryan’s district received 601,000 grams of pain pills, or about 1,650 milligrams for every resident.

“This epidemic does not care about political party, social status, age, race or hometown,” Ryan wrote in a 2018 op-ed piece for the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. “It does not care about where you’ve been — or where you’re going — it simply rips the livelihood from whoever is caught in its path.”

Profiting from Pain

The opioid epidemic may have ripped the livelihood from tens of thousands of Americans but proved to be very good business for the largest distributors, which ranged from ubiquitous retailers like Walmart and CVS to lower-profile operators such as J.M. Smith Corp., a privately held South Carolina wholesaler.

Six of the eight publicly held top opioid distributors — Walmart, Kroger, AmerisourceBergen, Cardinal Health, McKesson, and CVS Health — reported more than $1 trillion in revenue over the last decade. The publicly traded distributors reported $12 trillion in combined revenues.

Walmart, the nation’s largest private employer, acknowledged the existence of the epidemic and began rolling out a corporate stewardship program in 2017 that included limiting prescriptions to a seven-day supply. The retail giant has said it will attempt to curb abuse by requiring all pain medicine prescriptions to be filed electronically by 2020.

“We stand ready to work with our nation’s leaders on a solution to combat prescription drug addiction and misuse,” Greg Foran, the company’s chief executive, said in a 2017 statement.

Meanwhile, Walmart emerged as the top donor among opioid distributors, handing out almost $7.7 million to federal candidates during the decade. Rep. Steve Womack, an Arkansas Republican whose district includes Walmart’s Bentonville headquarters, received more than $190,000 from the retailer, making him the second-biggest recipient of campaign donations from the large opioid distributors.

Walmart, CVS, Walgreens, Cardinal, McKesson, AmerisourceBergen, and Rite Aid are among the defendants in a federal lawsuit filed by roughly 2,000 city, county, and tribal governments. The Ohio lawsuit claims the distributors should have taken action to curb the flow of billions of pain pills through their businesses but instead prioritized profits over people. Similar lawsuits around the country are pending, seeking billions in damages for the epidemic that claimed an estimated 180,000 lives between 2000 and 2015.

Reps. Tulsi Gabbard, D-Hawaii, and Ro Khanna, D-Calif., introduced one of the few bills aimed at curbing opioid distribution in May. The bill, the Opioid Crisis Accountability Act, would penalize corporations with a fine on 75 percent of their profits from opioid sales “during the period in which the corporate entity engaged in dubious marketing or distribution practices.” Although the legislation is primarily targeted at pharmaceutical manufacturers, it would also penalize corporations or people who are “knowingly supplying states or communities with a quantity of opioids that the person knows is not medically reasonable.”

The bill, which was introduced in the Senate by Vermont independent Bernie Sanders, would impose a fine on chief executives equal to their salaries, as well as any stock gains. Other top corporate executives could lose as much as 25 percent of their salary and stock gains.

“While some of these companies have made billions each year in profits, not one of them has been held fully accountable for its role in an epidemic that is killing tens of thousands of Americans every year,” said Sanders, a leading contender for the 2020 Democratic presidential nomination. “At a time when local, state and federal governments are spending many billions of dollars a year dealing with the impact of the opioid epidemic, we must hold the pharmaceutical companies and executives that created the crisis accountable.”

Sanders accepted $1,165 in campaign donations from the top opioid distributors for his Senate campaign; his 2016 and 2020 presidential campaigns reaped more than $136,000 from employees of the 10 corporations. Gabbard, also a 2020 contender, has taken $14,000 from the corporations for her House campaigns and another $350 for her presidential bid. Khanna, who was elected in 2016, reported no contributions from the largest opioid distributors.

GovTrack, a website that tracks the prospects of legislation, has given the bill a 37 percent chance of passing in the House and a 47 percent chance of winning Senate approval.

Changing Business Model

The Drug Enforcement Administration data confirms the conventional wisdom that the epicenter of the opioid epidemic occurred in Appalachia. Seven of the 10 U.S. counties with the highest per-capita distribution of opioids were in Tennessee, Kentucky, and West Virginia.

The MapLight analysis found that Hamblen County, Tenn., ranked highest on a per-capita basis for opioid distribution, with enough pain medicine to have provided every person with 12,000 milligrams between 2006 and 2012. The county is represented in Congress by Rep. Phil Roe, a retired Republican obstetrician who’s taken no money from opioid distributors.

Roe, however, is the exception. In neighboring Kentucky, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, a Republican who has blocked campaign finance reform measures from being considered by lawmakers, collected more than $154,000 from the largest distributors during the decade. The average resident of McConnell’s state received 2,840 milligrams of pain medicine between 2006 and 2012, according to the DEA data. The state had the third-highest age-adjusted rate of drug overdose deaths in 2017, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Almost 3,190 milligrams of painkillers per capita were handed out in West Virginia during the six-year period. The state’s pill consumption trailed only Florida (3,300 milligrams per person) and Delaware (3,255 milligrams). Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., whose website has had an entire section devoted to opioid issues since 2011, has introduced at least 19 separate bills to address the opioid crisis while taking $49,550 from employees of the six largest distributors.

Manchin acknowledged the political power of the distributors in a 2012 interview after a proposal to require new prescriptions for hydrocodone was shot down in the Senate. “We don’t want to put anybody out of business,” he told the New York Times. “But perhaps the chain pharmacies and druggists need to change their business model a bit.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.