اكتب للبحث

NATIONAL تتجه-NATIONAL

الغضب على رفض DNC لعقد مناقشة تغير المناخ

توماس بيريز يتحدث مع أنصار هيلاري كلينتون في تجمع حاشد مع السناتور الأمريكي تيم كين في مركز ماريفيل المجتمعي في فينيكس ، أريزونا نوفمبر 2016.
توماس بيريز يتحدث مع أنصار هيلاري كلينتون في تجمع حاشد مع السناتور الأمريكي تيم كين في مركز ماريفيل المجتمعي في فينيكس ، أريزونا. نوفمبر 2016. (الصورة: غيج سكيدمور)

"نحتاج إلى نقاش صادق حول هذا الموضوع ، حيث يمكن للناس أن يظهروا فعلًا ما ينويون فعله بدلاً من تقديم البروميدات وتعليقات الملصقات في ثوان 60."

تواجه اللجنة الوطنية الديمقراطية (DNC) غضبًا من الناشطين التقدميين بسبب رفضها تكريس أي من مناقشاتها الـ 12 التي تمت الموافقة عليها بالكامل لتغير المناخ. وفقًا لحاكم واشنطن جاي إنسلي ، فإن DNC تحظر أيضًا أي مرشح ديمقراطي يشارك في النقاش حول المناخ غير DNC من جميع المناقشات الرسمية المستقبلية ، وهي خطوة تصفها Inslee بأنها "غير مقبول كليا".

نشطاء مواجهة رئيس DNC

واجه النشطاء توم بيريز رئيس DNC خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع حول سياسة DNC ، والتي الرئيس دافعت بحجة أنه "ليس من العملي" استضافة مناقشة حول قضية واحدة.

وقال بيريز للنشطاء "بمجرد أن يكون لديك نقاش حول قضية واحدة ، فإن كل نقاش سيؤدي إلى أن يصبح نقاشًا حول قضية واحدة من أجل معالجة المخاوف". "وبصراحة ، كشخص عمل مع باراك أوباما ، كان أبرز شيء عنه هو مثابته في القيام بمهام متعددة ، ويجب أن يكون الرئيس قادرًا على القيام بمهام متعددة."

تغير المناخ تلقى فقط خمس دقائق من الاهتمام خلال مناقشات 2016 الانتخابات العامة الثلاثة ، ولكن أ عدد متزايد من الناخبين استشهد بها كأكبر اهتمام بسياسة 2020. لأن تغير المناخ لديه موقف فريد من نوعه لكونه تهديد وجودي للبشرية ، ولأن هناك اختلافات كبيرة بين خطط المناخ للمرشحين مثل السناتور التقدمي إليزابيث وارين والمعتدل جو بايدن ، يقول منتقدو قرار المجلس الوطني الديمقراطي إن تغير المناخ يستحق مسؤوله الخاص النقاش.

"ما هو غير واقعي في الواقع: المؤسسة الديمقراطية تقول إننا سنوقف تغير المناخ عندما لا يكونون مستعدين لإجراء نقاش حوله" تويتد حركة شروق الشمس التي يقودها الشباب ، والتي أصدرت عريضة ضد قرار بيريز بعشرات الآلاف من التواقيع.

DNC متهم "حماية المرشحين" بدون خطة مناخ مفصلة

"نحن بحاجة إلى نقاش صادق حول هذا الأمر ، حيث يمكن للناس في الواقع أن يظهروا ما يعتزمون فعله بدلاً من تقديم البروميدات وتعليقات الملصقات في ثوان 60" ، قال Inslee رولينج ستون في مقابلة. وقال 2020 المأمول ، الذي بنى حملته بأكملها حول سياسته الطموحة للمناخ ، إن المجلس الوطني الديمقراطي "يحمي المرشحين" الذين لم يضعوا خطة مفصلة للمناخ.

إلى جانب المجموعات النشطة ، يدعم مرشحو 2020 مثل إليزابيث وارين وبيرني ساندرز وكريستين جيلبراند وبيتو أورورك النقاش الخاص بالمناخ ، وقد قام 53 من أعضاء التصويت في DNC بإرسال رئيس Perez a مشروع قرار لحثه على تغيير قراره.

يقول بيل مكيبن ، وهو ناشط بيئي مؤثر ، "كلما فكرت فيDNC وأصرت على ألا يعقد أحد مناظرة حول المناخ ، يبدو الأمر أكثر ذكاءً". تويتد بيوم الأحد. "لم نتحدث حرفيًا مطلقًا عن هذه المسألة في نقاش رئاسي ، وعلينا حرفياً أن نتعامل معها على الفور. لا أفهم لماذا لا يجب علينا تخصيص ليلة لها ".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. LikelyYou.com سبتمبر 4، 2019

    الولايات المتحدة - مناخ شباب الإضراب ، الذي تلقى التماسه على DNC لاستضافة مناقشة حول المناخ حصل على توقيعات 53,000 ، تعهد بالقتال ضد رفض اللجنة إعطاء أزمة الكواكب الأضواء الوطنية التي تستحقها.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

NATIONAL TRENDING-NATIONAL

Outrage Over DNC Refusal To Hold Climate Change Debate

Thomas Perez speaking with supporters of Hillary Clinton at a campaign rally with U.S. Senator Tim Kaine at the Maryvale Community Center in Phoenix, Arizona. November 2016.
Thomas Perez speaking with supporters of Hillary Clinton at a campaign rally with U.S. Senator Tim Kaine at the Maryvale Community Center in Phoenix, Arizona. November 2016. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“We need an honest debate on this, where people can actually show what they intend to do rather than offer bromides and bumper-sticker comments in 60 seconds.”

The Democratic National Committee (DNC) is facing outrage from progressive activists over its refusal to devote any of its twelve sanctioned debates entirely to climate change. According to Washington Governor Jay Inslee, the DNC is also banning any Democratic candidate who participates in non-DNC climate debate from all future official debates, a move Inslee describes as “totally unacceptable.”

Activists Confront DNC Chairman

Activists confronted DNC Chairman Tom Perez over the weekend about the DNC’s policy, which the Chair defended by arguing it was “not practical” to host a debate on a single issue.

“Once you have one single-issue debate, then every debate leads to become a single issue debate in order to address the concerns,” Perez told the activists. “And frankly, as someone who worked for Barack Obama, the most remarkable thing about him was his tenacity to multitask, and a president must be able to multitask.”

Climate change received only five minutes of attention during the three 2016 general election debates, but a growing number of voters cite it as their greatest policy concern for 2020. Because climate change has the unique position of being an existential threat to humanity, and because there are significant differences between the climate plans of candidates like progressive Sen. Elizabeth Warren and moderate Joe Biden, critics of the DNC’s decision say climate change deserves its own official debate.

“What’s actually unrealistic: the Democratic establishment saying we’ll stop climate change when they aren’t even willing to have a debate on it,” tweeted the youth-led Sunrise Movement, who has issued a petition against Perez’ decision with tens of thousands of signatures.

DNC Accused of ‘Shielding Candidates’ Without Detailed Climate Plan

“We need an honest debate on this, where people can actually show what they intend to do rather than offer bromides and bumper-sticker comments in 60 seconds,” Inslee told Rolling Stone in an interview. The 2020 hopeful, who has built his entire campaign around his ambitious climate policy, said the DNC is “shielding candidates” who haven’t developed a detailed climate plan.

Beyond activist groups, 2020 candidates like Elizabeth Warren, Bernie Sanders, Kristen Gillibrand and Beto O’Rourke support the climate-specific debate, and 53 of the DNC’s voting members have sent chairman Perez a draft resolution urging him to change his decision.

“The longer I think about @DNC insisting no-one hold a climate debate, the sillier it seems,” Bill McKibben, an influential environmental activist, tweeted on Sunday. “We’ve literally never talked about this issue in a presidential debate, and we literally have to deal with it immediately. I don’t understand why we shouldn’t devote a night to it.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. LikelyYou.com September 4, 2019

    U.S. Youth Climate Strike, whose petition calling on the DNC to host a climate debate has garnered over 53,000 signatures, vowed to fight back against the committee s refusal to give the planetary crisis the national spotlight it deserves.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.