输入搜索

国家 TRENDING国

对DNC拒绝举行气候变化辩论的愤怒

托马斯佩雷斯与希拉里克林顿的支持者在美国参​​议员蒂姆凯恩在亚利桑那州凤凰城的玛丽维尔社区中心举行的竞选集会上发表讲话。 十一月2016。
托马斯佩雷斯与希拉里克林顿的支持者在美国参​​议员蒂姆凯恩在亚利桑那州凤凰城的玛丽维尔社区中心举行的竞选集会上发表讲话。 十一月2016。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“我们需要对此进行诚实的辩论,人们可以实际展示他们打算做什么,而不是在60秒内提供溴化物和保险杠贴纸评论。”

民主党全国委员会(DNC)因其拒绝将其十二项受制裁的辩论中的任何一项全部用于气候变化而面临着进步积极分子的愤怒。 根据华盛顿州州长杰伊·英斯利(Jay Inslee)的说法,DNC还禁止所有参与非DNC气候辩论的民主党候选人参加所有未来的官方辩论,此举被Inslee称为“完全不能接受“。

活动家面对DNC主席

周末,活动人士与DNC主席汤姆佩雷斯讨论了DNC的政策,主席 辩护 认为在一个问题上主持辩论“不切合实际”。

佩雷斯告诉活动人士说:“一旦你进行了一次单一的辩论,那么每次辩论都会成为一个单一的问题辩论,以解决这些问题。” “坦率地说,作为为巴拉克奥巴马工作的人,关于他的最显着的事情就是他坚韧不拔,而总统必须能够多任务。”

仅收到气候变化 5分钟 在三次2016大选辩论期间受到关注,但是 越来越多的选民 引用它作为2020最大的政策关注点。 由于气候变化具有对人类存在生存威胁的独特地位,并且由于进步参议员伊丽莎白沃伦和温和派拜登等候选人的气候计划存在显着差异,因此DNC决定的批评者认为气候变化值得拥有自己的官方辩论。

“这实际上是不切实际的:民主党的建立说,当他们甚至不愿意就此进行辩论时,我们将停止气候变化,” 啾啾 以青年为主导的日出运动,曾发行过 请愿 反对佩雷斯的决定与成千上万的签名。

DNC被指控没有详细气候计划的“屏蔽候选人”

“我们需要对此进行诚实的辩论,人们可以真正展示他们打算做什么,而不是在60秒内提供溴化物和保险杠贴纸评论,”Inslee告诉 滚石 在一次采访中。 2020充满希望,围绕其雄心勃勃的气候政策建立了他的整个活动,他说DNC是“屏蔽候选人”,他们没有制定详细的气候计划。

除了激进组织之外,像Elizabeth Warren,Bernie Sanders,Kristen Gillibrand和Beto O'Rourke这样的2020候选人支持气候特定的辩论,而DNC投票成员的53已经派出了Perez主席 决议草案 敦促他改变他的决定。

“我认为@DNC坚持没有人举行气候辩论的时间越长,看起来越狡猾,”有影响力的环保活动家比尔麦克基本说, 啾啾 在星期天。 “我们在总统辩论中从未谈过这个问题,我们必须立即处理。 我不明白为什么我们不应该花一夜时间。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. LikelyYou.com 4-2019-XNUMX

    美国青年气候罢工,其呼吁民主联盟主持气候辩论的请愿书已经获得了53,000签名,并发誓要反对委员会拒绝将全球性危机作为应有的国家聚光灯。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL TRENDING-NATIONAL

Outrage Over DNC Refusal To Hold Climate Change Debate

Thomas Perez speaking with supporters of Hillary Clinton at a campaign rally with U.S. Senator Tim Kaine at the Maryvale Community Center in Phoenix, Arizona. November 2016.
Thomas Perez speaking with supporters of Hillary Clinton at a campaign rally with U.S. Senator Tim Kaine at the Maryvale Community Center in Phoenix, Arizona. November 2016. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“We need an honest debate on this, where people can actually show what they intend to do rather than offer bromides and bumper-sticker comments in 60 seconds.”

The Democratic National Committee (DNC) is facing outrage from progressive activists over its refusal to devote any of its twelve sanctioned debates entirely to climate change. According to Washington Governor Jay Inslee, the DNC is also banning any Democratic candidate who participates in non-DNC climate debate from all future official debates, a move Inslee describes as “totally unacceptable.”

Activists Confront DNC Chairman

Activists confronted DNC Chairman Tom Perez over the weekend about the DNC’s policy, which the Chair defended by arguing it was “not practical” to host a debate on a single issue.

“Once you have one single-issue debate, then every debate leads to become a single issue debate in order to address the concerns,” Perez told the activists. “And frankly, as someone who worked for Barack Obama, the most remarkable thing about him was his tenacity to multitask, and a president must be able to multitask.”

Climate change received only five minutes of attention during the three 2016 general election debates, but a growing number of voters cite it as their greatest policy concern for 2020. Because climate change has the unique position of being an existential threat to humanity, and because there are significant differences between the climate plans of candidates like progressive Sen. Elizabeth Warren and moderate Joe Biden, critics of the DNC’s decision say climate change deserves its own official debate.

“What’s actually unrealistic: the Democratic establishment saying we’ll stop climate change when they aren’t even willing to have a debate on it,” tweeted the youth-led Sunrise Movement, who has issued a petition against Perez’ decision with tens of thousands of signatures.

DNC Accused of ‘Shielding Candidates’ Without Detailed Climate Plan

“We need an honest debate on this, where people can actually show what they intend to do rather than offer bromides and bumper-sticker comments in 60 seconds,” Inslee told Rolling Stone in an interview. The 2020 hopeful, who has built his entire campaign around his ambitious climate policy, said the DNC is “shielding candidates” who haven’t developed a detailed climate plan.

Beyond activist groups, 2020 candidates like Elizabeth Warren, Bernie Sanders, Kristen Gillibrand and Beto O’Rourke support the climate-specific debate, and 53 of the DNC’s voting members have sent chairman Perez a draft resolution urging him to change his decision.

“The longer I think about @DNC insisting no-one hold a climate debate, the sillier it seems,” Bill McKibben, an influential environmental activist, tweeted on Sunday. “We’ve literally never talked about this issue in a presidential debate, and we literally have to deal with it immediately. I don’t understand why we shouldn’t devote a night to it.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. LikelyYou.com September 4, 2019

    U.S. Youth Climate Strike, whose petition calling on the DNC to host a climate debate has garnered over 53,000 signatures, vowed to fight back against the committee s refusal to give the planetary crisis the national spotlight it deserves.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.