输入搜索

美洲

秘鲁农民继续抗议中国矿业公司

农民的抗议活动始于二月4。 (照片由Peoples Dispatch提供)
农民的抗议活动始于二月4。 (照片由Peoples Dispatch提供)

由采矿公司入侵建设公路的公共土地是农民的私有财产。

(人民派遣)3月28,秘鲁Apurímac省Cotabambas省Challhuahuacho区38农民社区的领导人开始无限期罢工,以支持针对中国矿业公司MMG Limited Las Bambas的抗议活动。

自从2月4以来,位于查华华町地区Nueva Fuerabamba市的农民社区一直在抗议,要求政府和矿业公司为用于修建从Las Bambas到Matarani港口的道路的公共领土支付公平补偿。阿雷基帕地区。 农民们还限制道路超过50天限制MMG的车辆通过库斯科Chumbivilcas省的Yavi Yavi农场,这是Apurímac和阿雷基帕之间的一段公路。

社区成员还要求释放Fuerabamba农民社区主席Gregorio Rojas,以及3月21在利马被捕的法律顾问FrankChávezSotelo和JorgeChávezSotelo。 他们被指控煽动社区成员并向MMG公司的所有者勒索钱财。

Apurímac地区政府以及Abancay,Andahuaylas,Antabamba,Aymaraes,Chincheros和Grau等省的市长表示支持Fuerabamba农民社区的要求。

秘鲁是世界第二大铜生产国。 Las Bambas是秘鲁最大的铜矿,估计寿命超过20年。 运营始于2015,投资额为10十亿美元。 MMG有限公司每年生产约1000亿吨铜,并从提取的铜中获得四分之三的利润。

由采矿公司入侵建设公路的公共土地是农民的私有财产。 建筑正在影响社区的日常生活和健康。 此外,建筑尘埃也在损害他们的庄稼和牧场。 农民不仅被剥夺了对其土地的合法补偿,而且还因经济损失而受到指责。

在22三月,抗议者(主要是妇女和儿童)封锁了矿井入口,要求释放Rojas和法律顾问。 警察使用镇压措施和催泪瓦斯炸弹驱散人群。 3月24,一些2,000警察和300士兵从阿雷基帕被派往该市恢复秩序。

Red Muqui,一个由几个社会和农民组织组成的伞式组织,捍卫和促进尊重农村和农民社区的权利, 谴责 国家用来将要求合法化的“刑事定罪方法”。

“我们对Fuerabamba农民社区主席Gregorio Rojas以及律师ChávezSotelo的逮捕表示深切关注,因为指控他们将成为”犯罪组织“的一部分,检察官办公室指控他们。 关于律师,我们注意到必须进行迅速和公正的调查,以确定他们是否应对此负责。 可能存在不同的法律策略,但我们认为权利的辩护不能被定罪,特别是在捍卫人权方面。 刑法被非法使用的这些刑事定罪方法,是一种经常性的国家惯例,旨在拆除寻求加强对其权利的尊重的社区组织,“Red Muqui在一份声明中说。

安达瓦拉斯省(FREDIPA)的利益和发展的国防阵线呼吁在整个阿普里马克部门举行4月24的3小时罢工,以支持Fuerabamba的社区成员。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 库尔特 3-2019-XNUMX

    我只能希望秘鲁人民在委内瑞拉找到像马拉多这样的领导人。 资本家长期以来一直是南美洲和中美洲人民的牺牲品。 直到人类明白金钱是用来对付他们的武器,并废除它。 这个循环将不断重复。 真正的文明,不需要钱,你需要的劳动力,你可以得到文明的支持。 没有钱
    所以你永远不会缺少资金。 一个国有化的系统,它全部归
    所有人。 没有寡头能够像我们在美国那样购买政客来掠夺人民
    当这个系统最终出现时。 资本主义将永远消失。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS

Peruvian Peasants Continue Protests Against Chinese Mining Firm

The protests by the peasants began on February 4. (Photo by Peoples Dispatch)
The protests by the peasants began on February 4. (Photo by Peoples Dispatch)

The communal land, invaded by the mining company for constructing the highway, is the private property of the peasants.

(Peoples Dispatch) On March 28, leaders of over 38 peasant communities of the Challhuahuacho district of Cotabambas province in the Apurímac department of Peru began an indefinite strike in support of the protests carried out against the Chinese mining company, MMG Limited Las Bambas.

The peasant community of in Nueva Fuerabamba city in the Challhuahuacho district has been protesting since February 4, demanding that the government and the mining company pay fair compensations for the communal territory used for constructing roads to transport ore from Las Bambas to the port of Matarani in Arequipa region. The peasants have also blocked roads for more than 50 days to restrict the passage of MMG’s vehicles in the Yavi Yavi farm in the Chumbivilcas province of Cusco, a section of road between Apurímac and Arequipa.

The community members are also demanding the release of Gregorio Rojas, the president of the Peasant Community of Fuerabamba, as well as legal advisers Frank Chávez Sotelo and Jorge Chávez Sotelo, who were arrested on March 21 in Lima. They were accused of instigating the community members and extorting money from the owner of MMG company.

The regional government of Apurímac, as well as the mayors of the provinces of Abancay, Andahuaylas, Antabamba, Aymaraes, Chincheros and Grau, expressed their support to the demands of the peasant community of Fuerabamba.

Peru is the world’s second largest copper producer. Las Bambas is Peru’s largest copper mine, with an estimated lifespan of more than 20 years. Operations began in 2015, with an investment of USD 10 billion. MMG Ltd. produces around 400,000 tons of copper a year and earns three quarters of profit from the extracted copper.

The communal land, invaded by the mining company for constructing the highway, is the private property of the peasants. The construction is affecting the everyday life and health of the community. Moreover, the construction dust is also harming their crops and pastures. The peasants have not only been denied rightful compensation for their lands but are also being blamed for economic losses.

On March 22, the protesters, mostly women and children, blocked the entrance to the mine, demanding the release of Rojas and the legal advisers. The police used repressive measures and tear gas bombs to disperse the crowd. On March 24, some 2,000 police officers and 300 soldiers were sent from Arequipa to the city to restore order.

The Red Muqui, an umbrella organization comprising of several social and peasant organizations that defend and promote respect for the rights of rural and peasant communities, condemned the “method of criminalization” used by the State to delegitimize the demands.

“We show our deep concern for the arrest of the president of the Peasant Community of Fuerabamba, Gregorio Rojas, and of the lawyers Chávez Sotelo, due to the accusation that they would be part of a “criminal organization”, as the Prosecutor’s Office charges them. Regarding the lawyers, we note that there must be a prompt and impartial investigation to determine if they are responsible. There may be different legal strategies, but we believe that the defense of rights cannot be criminalized, especially when it comes to defending human rights. These methods of criminalization where the criminal law is illegitimately used, are a recurrent state practice to dismantle the community organizations seeking to enforce respect for their rights,” the Red Muqui said in a statement.

The Defence Front of the Interests and Development of the Province of Andahuaylas (FREDIPA) have called for a 24-hour strike on April 3 in the entire Apurímac department, in support of the community members of Fuerabamba.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Kurt April 3, 2019

    I can only hope that the Peruvian people find a leader like Marado in Venezuela. For far too long the capitalists have victimized the people of south and Central America. Until humanity understands that money is a weapon used against them, and abolishes it. This cycle will keep repeating itself. Truly a civilization where no money is required and your labor in what ever capacity it’s needed gives you support of the civilization. There is no money
    so you are never short of funds. A nationalized system where it is all owned by
    all the people. No oligarchs to buy the politicians in order to fleece the people, like we have in the USA
    When this system is finally brought forth. CAPITALISM will be gone for ever.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.