输入搜索

环境

PG&E的强制停电揭示了旧电力系统中的缺陷

卡尔大火是在Shasta和Trinity县燃烧的2018加州野火。 日期:7月26,2018。 (照片:BLM的Eric Coulter)
卡尔大火是在Shasta和Trinity县燃烧的2018加州野火。 日期:7月26,2018。 (照片:BLM的Eric Coulter)

环保主义者和其他公用事业改革的支持者认为,强制停电是加利福尼亚应该取代PG&E并投资于更安全,可再生基础设施的信号。

为了避免在炎热,多风和干燥的天气下引发野火,太平洋天然气电力公司采取了先发制人的措施,将800,000县部分地区的22加利福尼亚州附近的居民断电。 该公用事业公司因迫使加州居民遭受创纪录的停电而面临激烈的批评,公共官员指责该公司的一系列失败导致公用事业“社区野火安全计划”负责人Sumeet Singh称“不得已“。

“我们没人对此感到高兴,” 加州州长加文·纽瑟姆(Gavin Newsom)说。 “我们在PG&E有一个过时的系统,需要对其进行升级。”

PG&E对加利福尼亚火灾负责

PG&E在1月份宣布破产,以应对其在加州多次火灾中的数十亿美元潜在债务。 三月份确定调查人员 PG&E的故障设备引发了2018营地大火,炸死了129人,并摧毁了成千上万的房屋。

As 公民真相的Leighanna Shirey 一月份写道:“加州消防局Cal Fire于去年六月成立, PG&E设备 导致17的野火在2017中蔓延到北加州。 Cal Fire援引了其针对12火灾的调查结果,并引用了各州地方检察官的证词。”

调查人员发现,其中一些火灾是由掉在电线上的树木引起的,引起了当地,州和联邦官员的谴责,他们表示PG&E未能在靠近电线的地方砍伐树木。

4月,北加利福尼亚州地方法院法官William Alsup 猛击PG&E 在没有提供预防性维护工作的情况下专注于利润。

Alsup法官说:“ PG&E抽出了4.5亿美元的股息,并让这棵树的预算枯萎了。”

Alsup法官下令新的联邦监督对PG&E的砍伐树木计划进行随机检查,如果公用事业公司未能砍伐正确的树木,则威胁要进行另一次听证。

PG&E律师里德·沙尔(Reid Schar)回答说:“外面有很多树,我们没有全部注视,”阿尔萨普的要求不切实际。

“那是你自己造成的问题,” Alsup回答。 “很多钱用于本应归您所有的股息。 与依靠您安全地完成工作的加利福尼亚人民取得一致。”

强制停电是PG&E过时的标志吗?

环保主义者和其他公用事业改革的支持者认为,强制停电是加利福尼亚应该取代PG&E并投资于更安全,可再生基础设施的信号。

公用事业改革网络的发言人明迪·斯派特(Mindy Spatt)表示:“ PG&E的标准应高于此。” 守护者。 “没有人愿意像我们过去看到的那样看到另一场大火,但我们必须记住,这些关闭措施有望解决的问题是PG&E的过失和无能,以及PG&E着火的倾向。”

Spatt说:“消费者宁愿关掉电源,而不愿烧毁房屋和企业,但宁愿拥有不引发火灾的公用事业。”

“旧金山纪事报 报告称,成千上万的残疾人和患病的PG&E客户因先发制人的停电消息而感到震惊。 尽管医院将继续运转,PG&E将为弱势客户实施一项援助计划,但在停电期间,许多残疾人或病人将无能为力。

纳帕县居民和残障权益倡导者吉娜·比特·蒙德(Gina Biter-Mundt)告诉《纽约时报》:“社区中有些非常脆弱的人可能没有财力只能购买发电机。” 编年史。 “我担心那些真正依赖动力的人,尤其是氧气能够呼吸的人。”

在此 监护人的何慧敏 文章写道,随着气候变化继续加剧极端天气,先发制人的封锁将成为新的规范。

“必须有一个比做的更好的解决方案,”在2018营地大火毁灭的县天堂的市议员迈克尔·祖科利洛(Michael Zuccolillo)告诉他 守护者。 “你不能告诉公众我们正在建立一个强大的耐火系统,然后在有20mph风时将其关闭……这听起来像是1900中会发生的事情。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

PG&E’s Forced Power Outage Reveals Flaws in Archaic Power System

The Carr Fire is a 2018 California wildfire that burned in Shasta and Trinity counties. Date: July 26, 2018. (Photo: Eric Coulter, BLM)
The Carr Fire is a 2018 California wildfire that burned in Shasta and Trinity counties. Date: July 26, 2018. (Photo: Eric Coulter, BLM)

Environmentalists and other proponents of utility reform argue the forced outage is a sign that California should replace PG&E and invest in safer, renewable infrastructure.

Pacific Gas & Electric cut power to around 800,000 California residents in parts of 22 counties in a preemptive effort to avoid sparking a wildfire in the face of hot, windy, and dry weather. The utility company has faced fierce criticism for forcing the record power outage on California citizens, with public officials blaming the company for a series of failures that have led to what Sumeet Singh, head of the utility’s Community Wildfire Safety Program, calls “a last resort.”

“None of us are happy about this,” said California Governor Gavin Newsom. “We have an antiquated system at PG&E that needs to be upgraded.”

PG&E Liable for California Fires

PG&E declared bankruptcy in January in response to billions in potential liabilities for its role in numerous California fires. Investigators determined in March that PG&E’s faulty equipment started the 2018 Camp fire, which killed 129 people and devastated tens of thousands of home.

As Citizen Truth’s Leighanna Shirey wrote in January, “Cal Fire, California’s fire agency, established last June that PG&E equipment caused 17 of the wildfires that spread across Northern California in 2017. Cal Fire referred its findings for 12 of those fires to various county District Attorneys’ offices, citing possible state law violations.”

Investigators found some of these fires to have been caused by trees falling on power lines, drawing the condemnation of local, state, and federal officials, who say PG&E failed in its responsibility to cut trees in close proximity to lines.

In April, North California District Judge William Alsup slammed PG&E for focusing on profits while failing to provide precautionary maintenance work.

“PG&E pumped out $4.5 billion in dividends and let the tree budget wither,” Judge Alsup said.

Judge Alsup ordered new federal oversight to perform random inspections on PG&E’s tree-cutting program, threatening another hearing if the utility company failed to cut the right trees.

“There’s a lot of trees out there, and we don’t have eyes on all of them,” PG&E attorney Reid Schar replied, arguing Alsup’s demand was unrealistic.

“That’s a problem of your own making,” Alsup responded. “A lot of money went to dividends that should’ve gone to your trees. Get square with the people of California, who depend on you to do the job safely.”

Is the Forced Power Outage a Sign of an Outdated PG&E?

Environmentalists and other proponents of utility reform argue the forced outage is a sign that California should replace PG&E and invest in safer, renewable infrastructure.

“PG&E should be held to higher standards than this,” Mindy Spatt, a spokeswoman for the Utility Reform Network, told the Guardian. “No one wants to see another fire like the fires we’ve seen in the past, but we have to remember that the problem that these shutoffs are hopefully going to address are PG&E’s negligence and incompetence, and PG&E’s propensity to ignite fires.”

“Consumers would rather have their power shut off than have their homes and businesses burnt down, but they would also rather have a utility that didn’t start fires,” Spatt said.

The San Francisco Chronicle reports that thousands of disabled and sick PG&E customers were alarmed by news of the preemptive blackout. While hospitals will remain functioning and PG&E will operate an assistance program for vulnerable customers, many disabled or sick people will go without energy during the outage.

“There are some very vulnerable people out in the community who probably don’t have the financial means to be able to just purchase a generator,” Napa county resident and disability rights advocate Gina Biter-Mundt told the Chronicle. “I’m concerned those people that really are dependent on power, especially for oxygen to be able to breathe.”

The Guardian’s Vivian Ho writes that the preemptive shutoffs will become the new norm as climate change continues to increase weather extremes.

“There’s got to be a better solution than what were doing,” Michael Zuccolillo, a town councilor in Paradise, a county that was devastated by the 2018 Camp fire, told the Guardian. “You can’t tell the public we’re building a great fire-resistant system and then turn it off when there’s a 20mph wind … It sounds like something that would happen in the 1900s.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.