输入搜索

欧洲

关于巴尔干地区不卫生和难以居住的难民营中警察虐待的报道

移民在穿越克罗地亚时与波斯尼亚警方坠毁
在试图越境进入克罗地亚时,移民与波斯尼亚警察发生冲突。 (图片来自YouTube)

由于难民人数在欧洲膨胀,“巴尔干路线”爆炸,不卫生和过度拥挤的营地正在迫使移民与警察发生冲突。

10月最后一周,克罗地亚边境的难民与警方发生冲突,他们抗议当局以及在不卫生和拥挤的条件下将他们留在波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那(波黑)的封闭边界的暴行。

寻求庇护者和克罗地亚警察 持续轻伤.

过度拥挤的难民营

在冲突发生一周后,移民和寻求庇护者仍留在Maljevac过境点,阻止通行并拒绝返回附近的Velika Kladusa镇的前营地。 他们的营地在过去的一个半月内没有自来水或电力 被描述为不适宜居住.

Maljevac于10月30重新开放,波斯尼亚当局正在努力将在边境停留一周或更长时间的人搬迁到位于波黑西北部的新设施,即独立巴尔干通讯社 报告.

在过去的几个星期里,波黑当局开始阻止从波黑西北地区到首都萨拉热窝的移民,随着冬季临近,移民会有更多的资源。 10月21,他们宣布克罗地亚边境附近的Bihac和Velika Kladusa市在数量增加到每天几乎200的数量后被关闭给其他移民。 10月24,也就是克罗地亚警察在Maljevac过境点使用催泪瓦斯散布数百人的同一天,波斯尼亚当局截获了一辆从萨拉热窝向北行驶的100人的大篷车,并组织了返回。

根据Snezana Galic的说法作为区域警察的发言人,由于“安全局势恶化”,采取了这种新方法。

本月早些时候开设了两个新的住房设施,以改善目前缺乏住宿条件,这使得许多家庭和个人同时在临时帐篷和废弃建筑物中停留数月。

这两个设施使该国的床位数量增加了一倍,现在已达到1,700左右。 根据国际移民组织(IOM)的说法,到了冬天,他们希望能够提供更多的2,000。

警方虐待指控

今年9月,欧盟高级官员呼吁对克罗地亚警方进行调查,了解有关波黑边境地区移民和寻求庇护者遭受严重身体虐待的报道。

欧洲委员会人权专员Dunja Mijatovic写道 9月20向克罗地亚总理安德烈·普伦科维奇致敬,强调了这些担忧。

“根据联合国难民事务高级专员办事处的说法,”米贾托维奇写道,“据称,克罗地亚自2,500开始以来就集体驱逐了2018移民。 其中,1,500报告称,他们被拒绝获得庇护程序,而这些人的700在摘要驱逐期间报告了执法人员的暴力和盗窃行为。“

这封信刊登于9月20,遭到克罗地亚内政部Davor Bozinovic的拒绝,他因缺乏证据而拒绝了这些指控。

“到目前为止,警方尚未确认任何强制手段适用于移民的案件。 同样,关于警察对第三国国民进行盗窃行为的指控也未得到证实,“Bozinovic写道。

人道主义援助团体积累的媒体报道和持续的文件证明,这些侵犯难民权利的行为持续了好几个月,但最近才引起了米贾托维奇等政治家的关注和劝说。

在2017,一个名为Dobrodosli的难民援助组织 - 克罗地亚人为“欢迎” - 提出了两项​​控诉,称当局一直有系统地将难民驱逐到波斯尼亚 - 黑塞哥维那和塞尔维亚等其他巴尔干国家。

Dosodelli认为,根据欧盟关于庇护程序的指令,移民有权获得有关庇护的翻译服务和信息,以及向有关当局提交案件的权利。

但沿着通往北欧的移民路线的国家的扣留和驱逐途径使波斯尼亚 - 黑塞哥维那和克罗地亚能够达成协议,欧盟的货币补偿作为协助前者获得移民和难民助手条款的手段。

“克罗地亚共和国与波斯尼亚 - 黑塞哥维那签署了一项积极和成功的回归协议,规定了非法入境者的回归,”当局在回应Buzinkic和Dobrodosli去年的投诉时表示。

'巴尔干路线'爆炸

然而,波斯尼亚 - 一个有自身经济问题的国家 - 正在努力跟上新巴尔干路线的重要一步,这条路线将移民从非洲,中东和亚洲国家混合到欧盟。

选择通往北欧的这条路线的移民数量在过去一年中有所增长,超过13,000个人在2018的前九个月抵达波斯尼亚,而755只有2017。 但由于克罗地亚作为这条路线上的一个穿越国的阻力,波斯尼亚北部边境小镇Velika Kladusa爆炸成一个资源太少的无人管理的营地。

“成千上万的移民在Bihac和Velika Kladusa的城市,”意大利MEP Elly Schlein说。 “据无国界医生组织(MSF)和其他非政府组织称,他们的生活设施不足,缺乏足够的基本医疗援助。”

在Velika Kladusa,帐篷和临时避难所在空旷但经常被洪水淹没的土地上涌现,而在Bihac,1,000周围的人们睡在一个没有窗户或大屋顶的废弃学生宿舍里。

包括施莱因在内的欧洲议会(欧洲议会议员)的二十二名成员已提交议会审讯该地区生活条件的请求。 在非政府组织和主要新闻媒体开始记录并报告克罗地亚边防警察在拘留和驱逐过程中残酷虐待的指控后,他们的注意力被召集到该地区。

“卫报”8月份从Velika Kladusa报道,拍摄了肩部受伤,头部受伤,以及受害者因与克罗地亚警察相遇而被砸的电话。

In 另一个帐户一名妇女在7月份由No Name Kitchen出版后,描述了她试图过境的小组被发现之后的情景。

“难民们正处于圈子中间。 警察像一个圆圈,他们用警棍殴打他们。 5警察在5单身男子。 每个警察都在殴打一个男人并继续殴打他们。 一名男子在哭,另一名男子在呕吐,他们想回到波斯尼亚,但警察一直在殴打他们。 结束后,我们走了一段路到波斯尼亚的土地,警察再次殴打他们,5警察再次击败5男子。“

在关于borderviolence.eu的一份声明中,一名47岁的伊拉克妇女描述了她和她的14岁儿子是如何被殴打的,脸部,手臂和腿部受伤。 他们还带走了她的钱,手机和笔记本电脑。

“考虑到这些故事中有这么多故事,我认为在边境的另一边进行独立调查以了解正在发生的事情符合每个人的利益”,西班牙巴尔干协调员Peter Van der Auweraert国际移民组织(IOM) 告诉半岛电视台.

移民在穿越克罗地亚时与波斯尼亚警方坠毁

在试图越境进入克罗地亚时,移民与波斯尼亚警察发生冲突。 (图片来自YouTube)

对难民危机和虐待指控的回应

克罗地亚内政部通过电子邮件回复半岛电视台,称其“强烈驳回”对警察暴行的指控,并且他们对报案和投诉的调查没有发现在与边境寻求庇护者互动期间滥用或被盗的证据。

但是,一些欧盟政客,如米贾托维奇和施莱因,认为应该进行更彻底的调查,同时关注克罗地亚的暴行和波斯尼亚难民救济状况。

施莱因说:“波黑将收到欧盟的移民资金,其中包括6月分配的1.5百万和8月份的另外6百万,其应该提供适当的接待。” “这就是为什么我们要求委员会监督这些资金的使用情况。”

随着冬季的临近,改善的紧迫性使当局和移民都感到紧张。

“我们非常幸运,到目前为止天气温和,”来自IOM的Peter Van Der Auweraert说。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

As refugee numbers swell in Europe and the “Balkan route” explodes, unsanitary and overcrowded camps are forcing migrants into clashes with police.

Refugees at the Croatian border clashed with police in the last week of October as they protested reported brutality from authorities and the closed border that holds them in Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) under unsanitary and crowded conditions.

Both asylum seekers and Croatian policemen sustained minor injuries.

Overcrowded Refugee Camps

For one week following the clash, the migrants and asylum seekers remained at the Maljevac border crossing, blocking passage and refusing to return to their former camp in the nearby town of Velika Kladusa. Their camp, which has had no running water or electricity over the past month and a half, is described as unlivable.

Maljevac was reopened on October 30, and Bosnian authorities are working to relocate those who have spent a week or more at the border to a new facility in northwest BiH, the Independent Balkan News Agency reports.

For the past several weeks, Bosnian authorities have begun deterring migrants from the northwestern region of BiH to the capital city Sarajevo, where there are more resources for the migrants as winter approaches. On October 21, they announced that the municipalities of Bihac and Velika Kladusa near the Croatian border were closed off to additional migrants after numbers had grown to almost 200 arrivals per day. On October 24, the same day that Croatian police used tear gas to diffuse hundreds at the Maljevac crossing, Bosnian authorities intercepted a caravan of 100 individuals traveling north from Sarajevo, and organized their return.

According to Snezana Galic, a spokesperson for the regional police, this new approach was taken due to the “deteriorating security situation.”

Two new housing facilities were opened earlier this month to improve upon the current lack of accommodations, which has left many families and individuals in makeshift tents and abandoned buildings for months at a time.

These two facilities have doubled the number of available beds in the country, which now reaches around 1,700. By winter, according to the International Organization for Migration (IOM), they hope to provide 2,000 more.

Accusations of Police Abuse

This September, top EU officials called for an investigation into the Croatian police for reports of harsh physical abuse of migrants and asylum seekers in the border regions with BiH.

The Council of Europe’s Human Rights Commissioner Dunja Mijatovic wrote a letter to Croatian Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic on September 20, highlighting those concerns.

“According to UNHCR,” Mijatovic wrote, “Croatia has allegedly collectively expelled 2,500 migrants since the beginning of 2018. Among them, 1,500 reported having been denied access to asylum procedures and 700 of those persons reported violence and theft by law enforcement officers during summary expulsions.”

The letter, published on September 20, was met with a repose from Croatian Ministry of Interior Davor Bozinovic, who rejected the accusations due to lack of evidence.

“Up to this point, no cases of coercive means being applied to migrants by police officers have been confirmed. Likewise, the allegations that police officers have committed acts of theft against third-country nationals have not been confirmed either,” Bozinovic wrote.

Accumulating media reports and persistent documentation by humanitarian aid groups have insisted of these violations of refugee rights for many months, but have only recently attracted the attention and persuasion of politicians such as Mijatovic.

In 2017, a refugee aid organization called Dobrodosli – Croatian for “welcome” – filed two complaints that authorities had been systematically deporting refugees to other Balkan nations such as Bosnia-Herzegovina and Serbia.

Dosodelli argued that in adherence with the EU Directive on Asylum Procedures, migrants were entitled to translation services and information about asylum, as well as the right to present their case to the appropriate authorities.

But the detain and deport approach of nations along the migrant route to Northern Europe allowed Bosnia-Herzegovina and Croatia to establish an agreement, with monetary compensation from the EU as means to assist the former in their migrant and refugee aide provisions.

“The Republic of Croatia has an active and successful return agreement with Bosnia-Herzegovina that regulates the return of those who have entered illegally,” authorities said in response to Buzinkic and Dobrodosli’s complaints last year.

The ‘Balkan Route’ Explodes

However, Bosnia – a nation with economic issues of its own – is struggling to keep up as a major step of the new Balkan Route which leads migrants from a mixture of African, Middle Eastern, and Asian nations to the EU.

The numbers of migrants choosing this route to Northern Europe has grown over the last year and more than 13,000 individuals arrived in Bosnia in the first nine months of 2018, compared with only 755 in 2017. But with pushback from Croatia as a through-country on this route, the Northern Bosnian border town of Velika Kladusa exploded into an unmanaged camp with too few resources.

“Thousands of migrants are in the cities of Bihac and Velika Kladusa,” Italian MEP Elly Schlein said. “According to Doctors Without Borders (MSF) and other NGOs, they are living in inadequate facilities and lack sufficient basic medical assistance.”

In Velika Kladusa, tents and makeshift shelters sprung up in an empty but often flooded field, whereas in Bihac, around 1,000 individuals sleep in a derelict student dorm which lacks windows or a substantial roof.

Twenty-two Members of the European Parliament (MEPs), including Schlein, have submitted requests for a parliamentary interrogation into the living conditions of this space. Their attention had been called to the area after NGOs and major news sources began to document and report allegations of brutal abuse by the Croatian border police during the detain and deport process.

The Guardian reported from Velika Kladusa in August, photographing lashed shoulders, head wounds, and smashed telephones which victims attributed to their encounters with the Croatian police.

In another account, published by No Name Kitchen in July, a woman describes the scene after the group she had attempted to cross the border with was found.

“The refugees were in the middle of the circle. The police like a circle, and they were beating them with batons. 5 police men on 5 single. Every police man was beating one single man and kept beating them. One man was crying and other was vomiting, they wanted to go back to Bosnia, but the police kept beating them. After they finished, we walked a bit to the Bosnian land and the police again kept beating them, again 5 policemen were beating 5 men.”

In a statement on borderviolence.eu, a 47-year-old Iraqi woman describes how she and her 14-year-old son were beaten, with injuries to the face, arms and legs. They also took her money, a phone and a laptop.

“Given the fact that there are so many of these stories, I think it’s in everyone’s interest to have an independent inquiry to see what is going on, on the other side of the border,” Peter Van der Auweraert, the Western Balkans coordinator for the International Organization for Migration (IOM) told Al Jazeera.

migrants crash with Bosnian police while crossing into Croatia

Migrants clash with Bosnian police while trying to cross into Croatia. (Image via YouTube)

Response to Refugee Crisis and Abuse Allegations

Croatia’s Interior Ministry responded to Al Jazeera by email, saying that it “strongly dismisses” allegations of police brutality, and that their investigations into the reports and complaints had uncovered no evidence of abuse or theft during interactions with asylum seekers at the border.

But some EU politicians, such as Mijatovic and Schlein, believe that a more thorough investigation is due, with attention to both Croatian brutality and the state of Bosnian refugee relief.

“Bosnia-Herzegovina receives EU funds for migration, including 1.5 million allocated in June and another 6 million in August, with which it should be providing appropriate reception,” Schlein said. “This is why we are asking the Commission to monitor how those funds are used.”

With winter swiftly approaching, the urgency of improvements leaves both the authorities and the migrants tense.

“We are very lucky that the weather has been mild so far,” said Peter Van Der Auweraert from IOM.

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.