输入搜索

环境 TRENDING TRENDING环境

特朗普总统签署两项行政命令以增加管道生产

抗议者持有标志声明没有管道,没有同意,在金德摩根管道集会9月9th,2017在加拿大温哥华。 (照片:William Chen)
抗议者持有标志声明没有管道,没有同意,在金德摩根管道集会9月9th,2017在加拿大温哥华。 (照片:William Chen)

这些命令部分是为了发展东北宪法管道,该管道在纽约引用“清洁水法案”拒绝之后一直停滞不前。

特朗普总统周三签署了两项行政命令,旨在加快跨州和国际边界的化石燃料基础设施的发展。 其中一项命令赋予总统独家授权,以“发布,拒绝或修改”国家边界基础设施项目的许可。

特朗普总统说:“当我们遇到问题时,总统 - 而不是官僚机构 - 将有唯一的权力做出最终决定。”

批评者称这些命令在联邦权力方面有所超越。

“特朗普总统正在削减公众的声音,试图强迫整个美国社区的肮脏能源项目,”他说 约书亚阿克塞尔罗德,自然资源保护委员会的律师。

这些命令部分是为了发展东北宪法管道,该管道在纽约引用“清洁水法案”拒绝之后一直停滞不前。 第一顺序中的一项规定将是 寻求削弱 蓝州通过“清洁水法案”阻止管道项目的能力,该法案要求寻求基础设施许可的申请人首先获得可能发生潜在水污染的州的许可。

宪法管道路线图(照片由宪法管道)

宪法管道路线图(照片由宪法管道)

州长Andrew Cuomo 被称为 这个命令是“严重超越联邦权力”,他说,“各州必须在像管道这样的能源基础设施建设过程中发挥作用。”

在接受记者采访时 DemocracyNow!,土着环境网络的组织者Dallas Goldtooth描述了他认为对国家权利的虚伪:

“你知道,我们现在看到的这些行政命令只不过是对国家保护其家园或保护其国家居民和这些国家境内土地的权力的侵略行为,主要是针对清洁水法案。 真的,特朗普想要做的就是剥夺各州对管道项目或其他基础设施,化石燃料项目实施环境法规的能力,并将这种权力仅仅交给联邦政府。 你知道,这是荒谬的,你知道,特朗普作为共和党的代表或傀儡,全心全意地支持一种意识形态,即联邦政府对国家边界内发生的事情有最终决定权。并且国家很少有办法解决这些问题。“

特朗普总统称气候变化为“中国的骗局,“增加了化石燃料的生产,并将环境法规作为其总统任期的核心。 总统 批准的 Dakota Access Pipeline尽管受到土着社区的广泛抗议,但在2017早期,以及 发了一个permi对于Keystone XL管道上个月来说,超过了美国地区法官拒绝的早期许可证。 他的最新许可也是 在法庭上受到质疑.

石油高管认为,这些订单可能有助于保持油价低位,同时限制委内瑞拉和伊朗的出口。 Dale Redman,总部位于德克萨斯州的ProPetro首席执行官, 说过,“这些对我们国家和能源企业有利的事情继续帮助我们独立于能源。”

特朗普总统在德克萨斯州执行了行政命令,这是一个富含化石燃料的共和党州,民主党在2018取得了历史性的进步。 行政命令很可能面临来自州政府的广泛法律挑战。


特色图片:9月9th,2017在加拿大温哥华举行的Kinder Morgan管道拉力赛期间,抗议者举着标语表示没有管道,没有同意。 (照片:William Chen)

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT TRENDING TRENDING-ENVIRONMENT

President Trump Signs Two Executive Orders To Increase Pipeline Production

Protester holding sign stating No Pipeline, No Consent, during a Kinder Morgan Pipeline Rally on September 9th, 2017 in Vancouver, Canada. (photo: William Chen)
Protester holding sign stating No Pipeline, No Consent, during a Kinder Morgan Pipeline Rally on September 9th, 2017 in Vancouver, Canada. (photo: William Chen)

The orders are in part an attempt to develop the northeastern Constitution pipeline, which has been stalled after New York cited the Clean Water Act to reject it.

President Trump signed two executive orders on Wednesday, seeking to speed the development of fossil fuel infrastructure across state and international borders. One of the orders gives the president the exclusive authority to “issue, deny, or amend” permits for infrastructure projects on national borders.

“The president — not the bureaucracy — will have sole authority to make the final decision when we get caught up in problems,” said President Trump.

Critics call the orders an overreach in federal authority.

“President Trump is curtailing the public’s voice in an attempt to force dirty energy projects on communities across America,” said Joshua Axelrod, a lawyer with the Natural Resources Defense Council.

The orders are in part an attempt to develop the northeastern Constitution pipeline, which has been stalled after New York cited the Clean Water Act to reject it. One provision in the first order will seek to weaken blue states’ ability to block pipeline projects with the Clean Water Act, which requires applicants seeking infrastructure permits to first get permission from states where potential water contamination could occur.

Map of Constitution pipeline route (Photo by Constitution Pipeline)

Map of Constitution pipeline route (Photo by Constitution Pipeline)

Governor Andrew Cuomo called the order a “gross overreach of federal authority,” arguing, “states must have a role in the process for sitting energy infrastructure like pipelines.”

In an interview with DemocracyNow!, Dallas Goldtooth, an organizer with Indigenous Environmental Network, described what he perceived as hypocrisy regarding state’s rights:

“You know, what we’re seeing right now with these executive orders is nothing but an act of aggression against the authority for states to protect their homelands or protect the residents of their state and the lands within the borders of those states, mainly targeting the Clean Water Act. Really, what Trump wants to do is take away the states’ abilities to enforce environmental regulations against pipeline projects or other infrastructure, fossil fuel projects, and take and give that power solely to the federal government. You know, this is—it’s kind of absurd that, you know, Trump, being a representative or the figurehead of the Republican Party, is wholeheartedly endorsing an ideology that the federal government has a final say over what happens within the borders of a state and that the state has very little recourse to address these issues.”

President Trump, who has called climate change a “Chinese hoax,” has made increasing fossil fuel production and slashing environmental regulations a centerpiece of his presidency. The president approved of the Dakota Access Pipeline, despite widespread protests from the indigenous community, in early 2017, and issued a permit for the Keystone XL pipeline last month, overriding an earlier permit rejected by a US district judge. His newest permit is also being challenged in court.

Oil executives argue the orders could help keep oil prices low while limiting exports from Venezuela and Iran. Dale Redman, CEO of Texas-based ProPetro, said, “these are things that are good for our country and for the energy business to continue to help us be energy independent.”

President Trump delivered the executive orders in Texas, a fossil fuel-rich Republican state where Democrats made historic gains in 2018. The executive orders will most likely face extensive legal challenges from state governments.


Featured Image: Protester holding sign stating No Pipeline, No Consent, during a Kinder Morgan Pipeline Rally on September 9th, 2017 in Vancouver, Canada. (photo: William Chen)

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.