输入搜索

公司文化

波多黎各有一首新的抗议歌曲,新歌的目标是州长Rosselló

抗议者于7月15聚集在波多黎各圣胡安外面。 (图片:YouTube)
抗议者于7月15聚集在波多黎各圣胡安外面。 (图片:YouTube)

“我们所说的就是我们在街头看到的。 我们正在讲述我们现在所处的那个故事。“

周三,波多黎各录音艺术家Bad Bunny,Residente和iLe发布了针对波多黎各州长里卡多罗塞洛的抗议歌曲。 这首新歌被称为“Afilando Los Cuchillos”,已经在Youtube上获得了超过2百万的观看次数,Youtube已经是波多黎各人口的三分之二。

由于最近的争议,这首歌的标题翻译成英文的“Sharpening the Knives”并加入了对Rosselló的广泛抗议。

就在上周六,Rosselló和他的员工之间的889私人聊天页面是 泄露 两位州长的前官员因腐败指控被FBI逮捕。 这些聊天显示,州长正在进行庸俗的对话,这种对话是同性恋,厌恶女人,并嘲笑飓风玛丽亚的受害者。

作为回应,波多黎各人已经走上街头 大规模抗议活动,呼吁Rosselló的辞职 - 包括在圣胡安省州长官邸La Fortaleza。

截至周二,Rosselló没有辞职,声称他没有从事非法行为 - 只是“不恰当”的行为。 州长对他在声明中的评论表示道歉,声称他已经工作了很长时间并且正在释放紧张局势。 他于1月2017首次宣誓就职。

新的抗议歌曲解决了岛上腐败和滥用的持续历史,他们认为这是独裁者。 歌词包括:“我们很敏锐,像刀子一样/闪耀到边缘/杂草必须从种植园中移除/所以他们都没有利用我的东西。”

“我们基本上讲的是一个故事,好像我们是一家报纸,但更好。 更开放,更直接,更原始,“其中一位歌手iLe告诉他们 美国国家公共电台。 “我们所说的就是我们在街头看到的。 我们正在讲述我们现在所处的那个故事。“

歌手Residente补充说,歌曲标题中的刀是一个隐喻,用于切断岛上的系统性腐败。

其他主要的波多黎各明星也对罗塞洛总督表示谴责。 流行歌星瑞奇·马丁(Ricky Martin)因为同性恋而受到州长本人的侮辱,百老汇的创作者和明星林曼纽尔米兰达(Lin Manuel Miranda)在“社会媒体”上发表了讲话,鼓励公民抗议。

顺便提一下,美国本周与总统唐纳德特朗普的评论也有类似的哗然,这些评论被许多人视为种族歧视。 总统告诉四位民主党女议员“回去“他们的家人移民的国家。

众议院作出回应 表决 周二谴责特朗普的推文,但周三阻止了弹劾特朗普的提议。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Puerto Rico Has a New Protest Anthem, New Song Targets Governor Rosselló

Protestors gathered outside in San Juan, Puerto Rico on July 15. (Photo: YouTube)
Protestors gathered outside in San Juan, Puerto Rico on July 15. (Photo: YouTube)

“What we are saying is what we are seeing in the streets. We are telling a story of the moment we are in right now.”

Puerto Rican recording artists Bad Bunny, Residente, and iLe released a protest anthem aimed at Puerto Rico governor Ricardo Rosselló, on Wednesday. The new song is called “Afilando Los Cuchillos” and has already racked up over 2 million views on Youtube, which is already two-thirds of the population of Puerto Rico.

The title of the song translates to “Sharpening the Knives” in English and joins the widespread protest for Rosselló to step down, due to recent controversy.

Just this past Saturday, 889 pages of private chats between Rosselló and members of his staff were leaked after two of the governor’s former officials were arrested by the FBI on corruption charges. The chats revealed the governor engaging in vulgar dialogue that was homophobic, misogynistic, and mocking the victims of Hurricane Maria.

In response, Puerto Ricans have taken to the streets in mass protests, calling for Rosselló’s resignation—including at La Fortaleza, the official residence of the governor in San Juan.

As of Tuesday, Rosselló has not resigned, claiming that he hadn’t engaged in illegal acts—only “inappropriate” ones. The governor did apologize for the comments in his statement, stating that he had been working long days and was releasing tensions. He was first sworn into office in January 2017.

The new protest anthem addresses the island’s continual history of corruption and abuse at the hands of what they perceive as a dictator. Lyrics include: “We are sharp, like knives/Sparkling up to the edge/Weed must be removed from the plantation/So that none of them take advantage of what is mine.”

“We’re basically telling a story as if we were a newspaper but even better. More open, more direct and more raw,” one of the singers, iLe, told NPR. “What we are saying is what we are seeing in the streets. We are telling a story of the moment we are in right now.”

Singer Residente added that the knife in the song title is a metaphor for cutting through systemic corruption on the island.

Other major Puerto Rican stars have voiced their condemnation over Governor Rosselló. Pop star Ricky Martin, who was insulted by the governor himself for being gay, and Lin Manuel Miranda, the creator and star of Broadway hit “Hamilton”, both spoke out on social media—encouraging citizens to protest.

Incidentally, there’s a similar uproar in the U.S. this week with President Donald Trump—over comments that were deemed racist by many. The president told four Democratic congresswomen to “go back” to the countries from which their families emigrated.

The House of Representatives responded by voting on Tuesday to condemn Trump’s tweets, but on Wednesday blocked a proposal to impeach Trump.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.