输入搜索

国家

道指暴跌800点后经济衰退担忧加剧

美国总统唐纳德特朗普在马里兰州国家港口举行的2017保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。
美国总统唐纳德特朗普在马里兰州国家港口举行的2017保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“收益曲线都是哭泣的木材,经济衰退几乎已成为现实,投资者正在绊倒自己,以摆脱困境。”

美国股市周三暴跌至今年最糟糕的一天,应对多种增加全球经济衰退可能性的信号。

最引人注目的是“反向收益率曲线”的出现,指的是短期债券的收益率高于长期债券。 由于长期债券需要更多的时间来偿还,它们应该比短期债券支付更高的收益率。 但在不安全时期,反向收益率曲线显示出投资者对经济的信心在摇摆不定。

收益率曲线反转是经济衰退最可靠的预测因素之一,在过去50年的每次经济衰退之前。 周三是自2007大萧条之前收益率曲线第一次倒转。

经济记者达米安•帕莱塔(Damian Paletta)告诉记者,“我认为倒退的收益率曲线就像经济衰退的死亡控制一样,将经济锁定在经济周围。 “华盛顿邮报”。 “过去的九次经济衰退都是由反转的收益率曲线预示的,这就是为什么股票市场会有信心,因为现在一个人会在这个之后出现。”

经济学家将美中贸易战的不确定性列为经济衰退焦虑的主要原因之一,以及即将到来的英国脱欧的潜在冲击。 特朗普总统拒绝承认周三贸易战的负面影响,尽管周二他们在本周早些时候导致股市陷入困境之后确实退回了关税。

“中国不是我们的问题,尽管香港没有帮助,”特朗普说 周三发推文。 “我们的问题在于美联储。 提高太多太快。 现在太慢了削减...传播太多了,因为其他国家说谢谢你让杰伊鲍威尔和美联储无能为力。 德国和许多其他人正在玩这个游戏! 疯狂倒退产量曲线! 我们应该很容易获得丰厚的回报和收益,但美联储正在阻止我们。 我们会赢!“

同时,德国和英国的经济 似乎合同和中国报告自2002以来其工业产出增长最弱。 本周早些时候阿根廷股市暴跌50%,这是自1950以来任何经济体的第二大崩盘。

MUFG联合银行首席金融经济学家克里斯•鲁普基(Chris Rupkey)表示,“这些经济正处于大幅下跌的曲线上,这些明星是一致的。” 岗位。 “收益曲线都是哭泣的木材,经济衰退几乎已成为现实,投资者正在绊倒自己,以摆脱困境。”

金融时报的Rana Foroohar 同样认为全球经济衰退正在进行中。 Foroohar认为,美联储削减利率和推出量化宽松政策的策略,即中央银行从金融机构购买国债以刺激经济的货币政策,将不足以避免经济衰退。

Foroohar还怀疑在不久的将来美中贸易协议的可能性,进一步加剧了全球市场的不确定性。

“简而言之,修昔底德陷阱是真实的,” Foroohar写道,指的是当一股崛起的大国威胁到执政权力时,冲突是不可避免的。 “代替美国外交政策在2020(民主党主要候选人尚未表达的一个)中的一些重大转变,美国和中国现在处于一场将重塑全球经济和政治的长达数十年的冷战。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 八月15,2019

    智人是致命的缺陷,尼克松,里根,克林顿,杜比亚和特朗普在白宫的存在足以证明,尽管证据无数。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Recession Fears Grow As Dow Plunges 800 Points

President of the United States Donald Trump speaking at the 2017 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland.
President of the United States Donald Trump speaking at the 2017 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“The yield curves are all crying timber that a recession is almost a reality, and investors are tripping over themselves to get out of the way.”

The U.S. stock market plunged to its worst day of the year on Wednesday, responding to multiple signals that increase the likelihood of a global recession.

Most striking was the appearance of the ‘inverted yield curve,’ which refers to when short-term bonds give greater yields than long-term bonds. Since long-term bonds require more time to be paid back, they are supposed to pay better yields than short-term bonds. But in times of insecurity, the inverted yield curve emerges to signal that investors’ faith in the economy is wavering.

The yield curve inversion is one of the most reliable predictors of economic downturn, having preceded every recession in the past 50 years. Wednesday was the first time the yield curve inverted since the run-up to the Great Recession in 2007.

“I consider the inverted yield curve like a recession death grip that locks itself around the economy,” economic reporter Damian Paletta told the Washington Post. “The last nine recessions have been presaged by an inverted yield curve, which is why the stock market feels confident now that one will come after this one.”

Economists listed uncertainty from the U.S.-China trade war as among the top reasons for recession anxiety, as well as potential shock from an upcoming hard-Brexit. President Trump refused to acknowledge the negative effects of the trade war on Wednesday, although he did walk back tariffs on Tuesday after they led to an ailing stock market earlier in the week.

“China is not our problem, though Hong Kong is not helping,” Trump tweeted on Wednesday. “Our problem is with the Fed. Raised too much & too fast. Now too slow to cut…Spread is way too much as other countries say THANK YOU to clueless Jay Powell and the Federal Reserve. Germany, and many others, are playing the game! CRAZY INVERTED YIELD CURVE! We should easily be reaping big Rewards & Gains, but the Fed is holding us back. We will Win!”

Meanwhile, Germany and the United Kingdom’s economies appeared to contract, and China reported its weakest growth in industrial output since 2002. Argentina’s stock market plunged by 50% earlier this week, the second biggest crash of any economy since 1950.

“The stars are aligned across the curve that the economy is headed for a big fall,” Chris Rupkey, chief financial economist at MUFG Union Bank, told the Post. “The yield curves are all crying timber that a recession is almost a reality, and investors are tripping over themselves to get out of the way.”

Rana Foroohar of the Financial Times similarly argues a global recession is underway. Foroohar argues that the Federal Reserve’s strategies of slashing interest rates and launching quantitative easing, a monetary policy where the central bank buys treasury securities from financial institutions to stimulate the economy, will not be enough to stave off the recession.

Foroohar also doubts the likelihood of a US-China trade deal in the near future, further contributing to uncertainty in the global market.

“In short, the Thucydides Trap is for real,” Foroohar wrote, referring to the theory that when a rising power threatens a ruling power, conflict is inevitable. “In lieu of some big shift in US foreign policy post 2020 (one that none of the major Democratic candidates has yet articulated) the US and China are now in a multi-decade cold war that will reshape the global economy and politics.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout August 15, 2019

    Homo sapiens is fatally flawed, and the presence of Nixon, Reagan, Clinton, Dubya, and Trump in the White House is proof enough, although the proofs are innumerable.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.