اكتب للبحث

أفريقيا

واشنطن تحظر دخول مسؤول سوداني سابق بسبب مزاعم التعذيب

صلاح غوش
صلاح غوش في مقابلة مع Sudania24. التاريخ: سبتمبر 2016. (الصورة: لقطة شاشة YouTube)

زعمت الولايات المتحدة أن لديها "معلومات موثوق بها" تفيد بأن مسؤولًا أمنيًا سودانيًا سابقًا كان متورطًا في التعذيب خلال فترة ولايته كقائد أمن في البلاد.

أعلنت الإدارة الأمريكية يوم الأربعاء أنها تحظر دخول قائد أمني سوداني سابق إلى الولايات المتحدة ، فيما تقول واشنطن إنه تورط الرئيس في تعذيب المحتجين السودانيين.

رفض قرار واشنطن دخول صلاح غوش ، الرئيس السابق لجهاز الأمن السوداني الذي يخشى أن يكون جهاز المخابرات والأمن الوطني وعائلته ، بما في ذلك زوجته وابنته إلى الولايات المتحدة.

واتهم واشنطن غوش بتعذيب المتظاهرين المدنيين خلال فترة حكمه كرئيس جهاز الأمن والمخابرات الوطني. لقد عمل Ghosh على نحو متقطع في جهاز NISS منذ 1989 عندما قام انقلاب أولاً بإخراج عمر البشير الذي تم إقالته حديثًا إلى السلطة.

انتهى عهد غوش كرئيس جهاز الأمن والمخابرات الوطني في 2009 عندما اتُهم بالتخطيط لانقلابه على البشير. غوش ، مع ذلك ، تم العفو عنه وإعادة تعيينه من قبل البشير كرئيس لجهاز الأمن في فبراير من 2018.

أصبح جهاز الأمن والمخابرات تحت قيادة غوش وكالة قوية ومخيفة وغالبًا ما اتخذت إجراءات صارمة ضد خصوم الحكومة ووسائل الإعلام.

في 2019 أدت الاضطرابات الشعبية في السودان ضد الأوضاع الاقتصادية المتدهورة في جميع أنحاء الدولة العربية الأفريقية إلى الإطاحة بالرئيس السوداني عمر البشير ونهاية حكم 30 الذي دام عاماً كاملاً. بعد يومين فقط من إطاحة الجيش السوداني بالرئيس البشير في أبريل ، استقال غوش من منصب رئيس جهاز الأمن والمخابرات الوطني.

اتهامات التعذيب والقتل

منذ ديسمبر من 2018 ، عاش السودان من خلال مظاهرات حاشدة احتجاجًا على الأسعار المرتفعة للسلع والسلع بالإضافة إلى التضخم. دفعت الاحتجاجات الجيش السوداني إلى الإطاحة بالرئيس الاستبدادي عمر البشير الذي ظل في السلطة لأكثر من ثلاثة عقود. ومع ذلك، تحولت الاحتجاجات الدموية كما فتح المجلس العسكري السوداني الذي تولى السلطة في غياب البشير النار على المتظاهرين.

أسفر العنف عن إدانة واسعة للجيش السوداني ومخاوف من أن يصبح السودان دكتاتورية عسكرية. في أبريل الماضي ، أصدرت منظمة العفو الدولية بيانًا يدعو إلى التحقيق مع غوش في دوره في القمع العنيف للمتظاهرين أثناء ثورة 2019.

"من الأهمية بمكان أن تحقق السلطات السودانية الجديدة في دور صلاح غوش في قتل العشرات من المحتجين السودانيين خلال الأشهر الأربعة الماضية ، وكذلك في مزاعم التعذيب والاحتجاز التعسفي وغيرها من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان تحت إشرافه جهاز الأمن والمخابرات السوداني. وقالت منظمة العفو الدولية في البيان إن الاستقالة من السلطة يجب ألا تعني الهروب من المساءلة عن الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان.

"يجب على السلطات الجديدة في السودان معالجة انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان السابقة وإجراء إصلاحات تمس الحاجة إليها لضمان عدم تكرار الجرائم البشعة بموجب القانون الدولي الذي شهدته البلاد على مدار العقود الثلاثة الماضية.

وأضافت منظمة العفو الدولية أنه "يتعين على السلطات السودانية الجديدة أن تعلن بشكل عاجل عن مكان وجود الرئيس السابق عمر البشير وتسليمه على الفور إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لضمان إمكانية إقامة العدل عن الفظائع التي ارتكبت خلال فترة حكمه الثلاثة عقود".

وفقا لصحيفة ديلي نيشن المستندة إلى كينياقال ممثلو الادعاء السودانيون إنهم حاولوا ، دون جدوى ، اعتقال غوش في مايو الماضي.

تعليقات الولايات المتحدة

وتعليقًا على قرار حظر دخول غوش وعائلته ، قال وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبو إن وزارته "لديها معلومات موثوق بها تفيد بأن صلاح غوش كان متورطًا في التعذيب أثناء توليه منصب رئيس جهاز الأمن والمخابرات الوطني".

كما أشار المسؤول الأمريكي الرفيع المستوى إلى أن واشنطن دعمت الشعب السوداني أثناء انتقاله بعيدًا عن عهد البشير.

وقال بومبيو في بيان "ننضم إلى الشعب السوداني في دعوته إلى حكومة انتقالية بقيادة مدنية بحق وتختلف جذرياً عن نظام البشير وخاصة فيما يتعلق بحماية حقوق الإنسان".

انتقال السودان إلى الحكومة الجديدة

وفي وقت سابق من هذا الشهر ، وقع المجلس العسكري الانتقالي وقادة المعارضة المدنية السودانية اتفاقًا لتقاسم السلطة في العاصمة السودانية الخرطوم. يسمح الاتفاق لخصوم البلاد بحكم السودان لفترة انتقالية مدتها ثلاث سنوات تليها انتخابات عامة.

سيخضع الاتفاق الذي تم توقيعه حديثًا والذي ينص على الفترة الانتقالية لمجلس سيادي عسكري مدني مشترك يحكم البلاد عن طريق تناوب السلطة. سيشارك ما مجموعه ستة مدنيين وخمسة أفراد من الجيش في حكم البلاد ، مع تولي الجيش السيطرة على فترة 21 أشهر ، تليها إدارة يقودها مدنيون في شهر 18.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

رامي المغاري

رامي المغاري كاتب مستقل وصحفي ومحاضر في قطاع غزة. ساهم رامي باللغة الإنجليزية في العديد من وسائل الإعلام في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك المطبوعات والإذاعة والتلفزيون. يمكن الوصول إليه على فيسبوك بصفته رامي منير المغاري وعلى البريد الإلكتروني باسم [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

    1

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ن ستاوت أغسطس 15، 2019

    تعذيب؟ ما التعذيب؟ إنه مجرد "تسليم استثنائي" و "استجواب تجريبي".

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AFRICA

Washington Bans US Entry of Former Sudanese Official Over Torture Claims

Salah Ghosh
Salah Ghosh in an interview on Sudania24. Date: September 2016. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

The U.S. claimed it has “credible information” that a former Sudanese security official was involved in torture during his term as the nation’s security chief.

The American administration announced on Wednesday it was banning the entry of a former Sudanese security chief into the U.S., over what Washington says was the chief’s involvement in the torture of Sudanese protesters.

Washington’s decision denied the entry of Salah Ghosh, the former head of Sudan’s feared security outfit the National Intelligence and Security Service (NISS), and his family, including his wife and daughter into the United States

Ghosh was accused by Washington of torturing civilian protesters during his reign as head of the NISS. Ghosh had worked on and off at the NISS since 1989 when a coup first brought the recently-deposed Omar al-Bashir to power.

Ghosh’s initial reign as chief of the NISS ended in 2009 when he was accused of plotting his own coup against al-Bashir. Ghosh, however, was ultimately pardoned and reappointed by al-Bashir as head of the security service in February of 2018.

The NISS under Ghosh became a powerful and feared agency which often cracked down on government opponents and media.

In 2019 popular unrest in Sudan against worsened economic conditions across the Arab African country lead to the ousting of Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir and the end of his 30-year-long reign as President. Only two days after Sudan’s military toppled President al-Bashir in April, Ghosh resigned as head of the NISS.

Accusations of Torture and Killing

Since December of 2018 Sudan has lived through mass demonstrations in protest of the soaring prices of goods and commodities as well as inflation. The protests pushed the Sudanese army to overthrow the authoritarian President Omar al-Bashir who had remained in power for more than three decades. However, the protests turned bloody as the Sudanese military council which assumed power in al-Bashir’s absence opened fire on protestors.

The violence resulted in widespread condemnation of Sudan’s military and fears that Sudan would become a military dictatorship. Last April, Amnesty International released a statement calling for the investigation of Ghosh into his role in the violent suppression of protestors during the 2019 uprising.

“It is crucial that Sudan’s new authorities investigate Salah Gosh’s role in the killings of scores of Sudanese protesters over the past four months as well as allegations of torture, arbitrary detention and other human rights violations under his supervision of Sudan’s NISS. Resignation from power must not mean an escape from accountability for serious human rights violations,” said Amnesty International in the statement.

“The new authorities in Sudan must address past human rights violations and undertake desperately needed reforms to ensure that there can be no repeat of the heinous crimes under international law the country has witnessed over the past three decades.

“Sudan’s new authorities must also urgently declare the whereabouts of former President Omar al-Bashir and immediately hand him over to the International Criminal Court to ensure justice can be served for the atrocities committed during his three decades in power,” Amnesty International added.

According to the Kenyan-based Daily Nation, Sudanese prosecutors said they attempted, unsuccessfully, to arrest Ghosh last May.

US Comments

Commenting on the decision to ban the entry of Ghosh and his family, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said that his department “has credible information that Salah Ghosh was involved in torture during his tenure as chief of NISS.”

The U.S. high-ranking official further noted that Washington supported the Sudanese people as they transitioned away from the reign of al-Bashir.

“We join the Sudanese people in their call for a transitional government that is truly civilian-led and differs fundamentally from the Bashir regime, particularly on the protection of human rights,” Pompeo said in a statement.

Sudan Transitions to New Government

Earlier this month, Sudan’s transitional military council and civilian opposition leaders signed a power-sharing deal in the Sudanese capital of Khartoum. The deal allows the country’s rivals to rule Sudan for a transitional period of three years to be followed by general elections.

The newly signed agreement stipulated the transitional period would be governed by a joint military-civilian sovereign council that will rule the country by means of a rotation of power. A total of six civilians and five individuals from the military will share in ruling the country, with the military taking the reigns for a period of 21 months, followed by an 18-month civilian-led administration.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout August 15, 2019

    Torture? What torture? It’s just “extraordinary rendition” and “experimental interrogation”.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.